Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

J & L Transmissions Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 841-6991 Fax: (971) 279-5648 8228 SE Taylor St, Portland, OR 97216 http://www.jltransmission.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automotive and transmission repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J & L Transmissions Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J & L Transmissions Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on J & L Transmissions Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 25, 2011 Business started: 02/01/2011 Business started locally: 02/01/2011 Business incorporated 07/12/2011 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jose Marroquin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jose Marroquin, President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Hours of Operation
8:00am - 6:00pm Monday - Friday
8:00am - 2:00pm Saturday
Closed Sunday

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

J & L Transmissions Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 16739 NE Halsey St

    Portland, OR 97230

  • 8228 SE Taylor St

    Portland, OR 97216 (503) 841-6991

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 4, 2015 I took my daughter's 2001 Honda CRV in for a rebuilt transmission, it was there for two weeks finally got it back on 9/18/15. However it wasn't fixed, they tried to blame the issues on an exhaust leak. Which I believe they cause, because it wasn't there before they touch it. I had the exhaust fixed and on 10/5/15 I returned it to J&L for the second time. Then they told me it was a bad torque converter, which was supposed to be new with the first rebuilt. Another two week in the shop, finally get back on 10/16/15, but it still has issues and they over filled it with transmission fluid. The next day I looked that it. J & L transmission had also broken of two of the wheel lugs nuts. I called them on 10/19/15 they said that they would replaced the transmission completely this time! however they needed two more weeks to get one. So three week later they have not called me with any information. I called them today, They told me that they FORGOT about my transmission. Their customer services totally the worst. They also have a practice of low bidding a quote only to increase it once they have the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I want a FULL REFUND plus the cost to repair the broken and stripped lug nuts. I would also like apology from the owner.

Business Response: The customer asked that we rebuild the transmission, we completed the work but it wasn't working after two months. He brought back the vehicle and we re-did the work on the transmission asnd I told him if he has any other problems I will get another transmission.He called me back a week later and he told me was still having problems so I offered to give the new transmission. I got the new transmission and tried to contact the customer by phone and left a couple of messages but he hasn't call you back to schedule the work. We are willing to provide the transmission but we will not offer a refund. If you can bring us the car we will take care of it.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:The customer asked that we rebuild the transmission, we completed the work but it wasn't working after two months. He brought back the vehicle and we re-did the work on the transmission asnd I told him if he has any other problems I will get another transmission.He called me back a week later and he told me was still having problems so I offered to give the new transmission. I got the new transmission and tried to contact the customer by phone and left a couple of messages but he hasn't call you back to schedule the work. We are willing to provide the transmission but we will not offer a refund. If you can bring us the car we will take care of it.

 

It took over two weeks, the car was in the shop, and it wasn't fixed.  They told me that the engine light was on because of the catalytic converter needed to be replaced, however the transmission still had issues shifting between gears.  They charged me and gave the car back to me not fixed. And they knew it! I got the catalytic converter and  exhaust leak fixed. And returned the vehicle back to J & L within weeks NOT two months! Again, ever time I called them, they had some excuses of why the car wasn't done. I have phone records of these calls. After getting the vehicle back for the second time, its still NOT working. I CALLED THE NEXT DAY.  They told me they would get another transmission and call in two weeks when they had it. I never got a call back. After four weeks I called them again, and was told " WE FORGOT ABOUT YOUR TRANSMISSION" . Also, after I received the car back it had one broken off lug nut and two stripped lug nuts and THEY ADMITTED THAT THEY DID IT! They overfilled the transmission as well. I DO NOT TRUST THEM TO WORK ON ANYTHING. Their shop is a total disaster area, very messy, dirty and unorganized. They have lied to me and not done satisfactory work. I believe that they would do more damage if they work on it again.
Sincerely,

***** *******

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to J and L Transmission to have the transmission rebuilt where I paid a substantial amount of money for the rebuild. This was 10/10/2013 of last year. They were supposed to fix my transmission and have my vehicle back on the road. Since the original repair was done, my vehicle has been back to their repair shop approx 7 times this year because the repair was not completed correctly. One time I went to the shop to pick up my vehicle they said was finished and drove it around the block and immediately had to return it because my transmission was slipping where my car did not want to go. again-pulling it back in the driveway to their shop my car did not want to go up the hill. I called and spoke to **** the owner this morning (as my vehicle is still under warranty) and he of course remembered my vehicle and told me to bring my car back in. Now i live 2 hours and 23 minutes away and i told mr **** how can i get my vehicle back there will they pay for a tow. **** said No. Vehicle is still under warranty for parts and labor at this time I am writing this.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the total cost of the original repair. In order to take it to another shop to get the work done correctly. I no longer trust the work that J & L Transmission performs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/11/28) */ customer brought car back only 3 times and not 7 because of a leak from seal, replaced seal twice, and we replaced the axle at no charge to customer last year. Customer recently called and said they were having different issues with car, so I said to bring car to shop to have it looked at. They said to send the tow truck but our warranty does not cover towing as we mentioned to them. Then I told her to drive it over to shop because it is drive-able. Customer is welcomed to bring car back anytime, which is still under warranty.

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I broke down 120 miles from home, at night. I determined it was probably the transmission, and found J&L Transmissions on my phone. When I called, the man said they could tow my car, diagnose it, and repair it. I gave him my car make and model and the symptoms. He told me that the estimate for a complete transmission repair was $1773, in his words "Worst case, just in case". There might be an additional charge for fluid. My car was towed in and I signed the estimate form, in the dark. The tow truck driver pointed out the estimate cost, but I could not read the details on the form because it was dark. Two days later, "***" called with the results of the diagnosis. He said that I needed a new valve body, which would be about $980, and a torque converter for about $350. He said that the torque converter was not part of the transmission, so that was extra. I confirmed that the total would be about $1300. I told my husband it wasn't going to be quite as bad as it could have been. When my husband went to pick up the car tonight, he was presented with a bill for well over $3000. I asked to speak to ***, who called me back and said that the $1300 he called me about on Saturday was in ADDITION to the original "worst case" estimate of $1773.11. He never once mentioned in the Saturday call that this would be the case. I feel this was extremely misleading and deceptive. I was told the most the repair would cost would be $1773. I was never told that the valve body and torque converter would be added on to the original estimate. They knew that I lived over 100 miles away, I was broke down at night in a strange place, and I feel they took advantage of me, lied to me and were very deceptive.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the repair cost that I paid over $1773.11, and a written apology for their deceptive business practices.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/02/24) */ J&L Transmissions has offered a partial refund. I am satisfied now with their service. Please close this complaint. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on J & L Transmissions Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart