Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Gateway Transmissions Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 424-3100 View Additional Phone Numbers 1301 E College Way, Mount Vernon, WA 98273 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.gatewaytranny.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers transmissions, clutches, preventative maintenance, service and rebuilding.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gateway Transmissions Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gateway Transmissions Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gateway Transmissions Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1989 Business started: 05/01/1981 Business started locally: 05/01/1981 Business incorporated 02/11/1999 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Orsborn, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Orsborn, President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service Brake Service


Additional Locations

  • 1301 E College Way

    Mount Vernon, WA 98273 (360) 424-3100 (866) 236-1413

  • 1522 Riverside Dr

    Mount Vernon, WA 98273

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business damaged the wheel on the vehicle they performed alignment on. Alignment was not completed correctly and business is refusing to work with me to resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: I have tried to offer different options to the business without a response. First option was a new set of wheels as the set that I have is discontinued. Next option is the repair the wheel at a local shop in Tacoma under thier possession. I also offered to have it taken care of and get reimbursed for my time and money.

Business Response: Complainant had front end alignment performed. There is no evidence that the wheel was damaged while in our possession. Complainant picked up vehicle, then returned after we were closed to report a fresh scrape on his wheel. Complainant demanded new set of custom wheels, cost approximately $4500. We declined. Next he said he could get a different set of wheels for $2000. We again declined. This is first time we have heard that he feels the alignment was done incorrectly. We would be willing to refund amount spent at shop to satisfy warranty. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:above pictures show damage of the wheel and evidence of yellow paint from machine inside shop. I had the alignment checked out again after reviewing paperwork that I had received to verify the alignment was done correctly, it was way off spec and I was charged to do a 4 wheel alignment. This was determined after verifying the car was done incorrectly even thier results show the rear wheels were not adjusted. 

Sincerely,

****** *****

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: had a different engine installed went to pick up car engine light on they tested it said it is a random miss fire and than cleared it. it came back on so i purchased a new ignition coil installed my self. Than took it for a test drive to Oak Harbor on the way back the car started to act funny pulled over and checked it out I noticed it was leaking oil. Took it back and they said they will look at it today 4-11-2014 so I had to call out from work.

Desired Settlement: to have a reliable car to get back and forth to work, without paying any more for it already paid over 4100 dollars for repairs. For they said they repaired everything it should be good for a long time

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 15, 2014/06/02) */ We were unaware of the complaint until mid May, as you guys were sending stuff to our old address. By the time we received the complaint, we were already dealing with the issues that caused the complaint. There were essentially two separate issues, a check engine light caused by a misfire. The customer had been advised that it was necessary to replace spark plugs and spark plug wires, among other tuneup components when we originally replaced the engine with a used motor. She declined those items. Ultimately, she would authorize them one by one, and some items she replaced herself, but that unnecessarily drew out the process of solving the engine misfire issue. The second issue was the leak, and we could not solve the leak issue with the motor that we installed, so we re-replaced that motor under warranty and solved the leak problem. At this time the vehicle works excellent and there are no leaks and no check engine light. I believe the customer will be happy with this car, as it is a reliable vehicle for commuting. **** ******* President Car Care Clinic Gateway Transmissions Ph: XXX-XXX-XXXX http://GatewayTranny.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 17, 2014/06/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When a used engine is installed it should be checked for leaks and or replace seals if it has been out of the vehicle for any length of time to prevent leaks. This has been the worst experience every with a car repair place. The last time cost me over 300 dollars in repairs including spark plug wires I did not have say in. This has caused a family hardship. As in missed days from work, going without food or other stuff. They stated a rough price for everything then it has ended up about 2 thousand dollars plus more. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/06/25) */ We make every effort to repair every vehicle so that there will not be any issues or problems for the customer. The seal that was leaking was replaced at the original repair, and three additional times. Each time involved removing the transmission to replace the seal. This is a very costly and time consuming process that the customer was not charged for. We finally were able solve the issue by using a different brand of seal. The 300 dollars in repairs was to correct an engine miss that we had been trying to get the customer to fix for the last 5 visits. The additional time it took to repair the engine misfire that was directly linked to worn out components that the customer refused to let us replace is entirely her own fault. The spark plug wires that she says she did not authorize were replaced within the 300 dollar budget that she did authorize for diagnosis and repair of the misfire problem. The price that she originally agreed upon for a used engine, shipped and installed, was $3200. She subsequently authorized an additional $500.- for a water pump, timing belt, spark plugs, and miscellaneous items that had to be purchased. That is all that she paid, and it was exactly as agreed upon. We do not begin repairs based on a "rough price". We only perform repairs after a customer approves of our estimate. I believe the customer will be happy with this car, as it is a reliable vehicle for commuting. **** ******* President Car Care Clinic Gateway Transmissions Ph: XXX-XXX-XXXX http://GatewayTranny.com Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 24, 2014/06/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I ok with it but I will not use them again or refer anyone to them ever


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gateway Transmissions Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)