BBB Accredited Business since

Gateway Transmission Inc

Phone: (360) 679-0700 Fax: (360) 873-8056 1100 NE Goldie St, Oak Harbor, WA 98277 http://www.gatewaytranny.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers transmissions and auto repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gateway Transmission Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gateway Transmission Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gateway Transmission Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2003 Business started: 07/01/2000 Business started locally: 07/01/2000 Business incorporated 07/01/2000 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Orsborn, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Orsborn, President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile


Additional Locations

  • 1100 NE Goldie St

    Oak Harbor, WA 98277 (360) 679-0700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car here when the clutch went out on Feb. 4th, 2015. They gave me a loaner car, which broke down the following day. They promised to give me another, but when I called they kept saying it hadn't come back yet and they would call me as soon as it did. They never called, and when I went in I found out they had given it to someone else and wouldn't even be bothered to tell me. They gave us multiple quotes on the price, but never an actual written estimate until I told them to put my car back together and that I was taking it somewhere else. My car sat in their shop for 6 days and nothing was done except to disassemble it. When I told them to put it back together enough to put it on a tow truck, the manager got angry and said they were going to charge me the full 9 hours of labor. The entire job was only supposed to take 9 hours to complete. He stated they had spent 4.5 hours taking it apart, and that he would need an additional 2 hours to semi-assemble it again to tow. He then tried to charge me for 7 hours of labor, until I pointed out that he had said 6.5. He also charged me for return shipping on the clutch he ordered ($50) and then another $100 for the restocking fee that he said he was being charged. He said he could show me receipts, but was only able to show the receipt for the shipping and he explained that they had told him the $100 over the phone. He had partially reassembled it and put the extra parts in the back of the car. He then insisted that I pay cash, because he didn't trust me and thought I was going to cancel my debit card charge after I got my car. I was angry saying that he couldn't do this because he accepts credit cards and he had no reason to assume I would try to cancel the charge. He discriminated against me on this and said I was trying to cheat them. He then produced a paper for me to sign stating that I verify that all parts were received and that I would not hold them responisble for any damage. This was after I had already given him $1,048 in cash for the car. When I told him I wouldn't sign the paper because I am not a mechanic and I wouldn't know if all the parts were there until my dealership had a chance to check he got angry and said that he wouldn't let me have the car until I signed it. This was after I had already paid him and he still threatened not to allow me to tow my car out. He had also written up a statement explaining his side of what has transpired, including a quote on the total he had originally told us. This total was different than any of the other paperwork he had ever given me, leading me to believe that he had no idea where the numbers were coming from. In total, we were given probably 5 different amounts over the 7 days my car was in his shop, and we only received a written estimate after I wanted the car out of his shop. I plan on taking this case to small claims court to get back the money that I feel he took without warrant.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back as I feel that they didn't keep their promise of providing me with a loaner car, which was the reason I came to them in the first place. Also, they didn't do any actual work on my car, they just partially disassembled it and let it sit there for days on end.

Business Response:

***** had her car towed in for diagnosis and repairs on Wed, Feb 4th.  On Thursday, Feb 5th, we diagnosed a bad clutch and provided an estimate and a loaner car and ***** authorized the repair. We also ordered the parts on that day, and ***** or her husband were advised that the parts would arrive during the following week.  On Friday, Feb 6th, we completely removed the transmission, clutch, and flywheel so that the vehicle would be ready when the parts arrived early the next week. We found the clutch and flywheel completely destroyed, as ***** had continued to drive the car until all the clutch lining was shredded and the clutch disc, pressure plate, and dual mass flywheel were metal to metal and grinding gouges into each other.  At this point, we contacted the ******** to inform them that the flywheel was unservicable, and unsurfacable, and that a proper repair would have to include replacing the dual-mass flywheel. This item is only available from the Volvo dealer, at great cost.  That day, ***** had a problem with the loaner vehicle and requested that we retrieve it and supply another to her.  The very next business day, Monday, Feb 9th, we had a loaner car available to give *****, but she stormed into the office demanding that we push the car outside so that she could tow it to King Volvo.  I showed her the state of disassembly of her vehicle, which had the entire subframe, front suspension, motor mounts, transmission, and clutch removed.  The engine was secured by a special brace and chain, and there was literally nothing to even attach the front wheels to.  This is what ***** refers to when she states "my car sat in their shop for 6 days and nothing was done..."  I explained that for safely towing the car, as well as liability issues, the vehicle would have to be reassembled to tow.  That meant paying me the entire labor amount for replacing the clutch without fixing anything!  The clutch parts, including the flywheel were all dealer parts, so the price I quoted her was exactly the same as the dealer would charge, becouse they were the same parts at the same price. She kept insisting that the dealer would do it for 1000 dollars less than us, by resurfacing the flywheel instead of replacing it.  Interestingly, while her car was in the dealer's shop, they suddenly needed to drive down from Bellingham (a 45 minute one way commute) to re-purchase the flywheel from us! Amazingly, ***** insisted that we reassemble the car without installing the new parts, even though it was clear that she would end up spending the money all over again in Bellingham.  I did everything I could to prevent her making such a rash and foolhardy decision, but she was so angry at not having a loaner car over the weekend that she was ready to cut off her nose to spite her face. Of course I would only take cash as a payment, as her actions were irrational at best, and she showed by her actions, words and attitudes that she was not stable or to be trusted. The repair was on schedule when she made the decision to tow the car, as the repair was half completed and were only waiting for parts that had been ordered. (Incidentally, if you don't count  the day that the car was towed in at the end of the day, or weekends, or the morning she told us to stop working on the car, then it was only in the shop 2 days, not 6.)   As I reminded *****,  it is important to point out that it is extremely irresponsible to back out of a business commitment simply because you were annoyed, while expecting everyone else to cover your legitimate expenses.  In short, we provided every opportunity for ***** to choose the most cost-effective option to repair her vehicle, while going out of our way to produce a second loaner car for her, but could not break through the angry emotionalism that she surrounded herself with.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The dealer never repurchased the fly wheel from them, they simply took it back into their stock. And Gateway says that my fly wheel was gouged severely and was not able to be resurfaced, however the dealership was able to take it to a machine shop who repaired it easily for $75. I paid approximately half the price at the dealer than what Gateway quoted. I find it unbelievable that they say this all happened because I was angry and irrational over the loaner car, and that I back out of a business deal. Truth is that they did not live up to what they promised and they broke the deal first, which led me to believe that they were not trustworthy enough to fix my car correctly. I only became upset when the owner and managers both got angry with me because they were losing business and basically told me that they would not put my car back together. Even after I paid them the $1000 they still did not want to release my car to me until I signed a waiver saying that I would not hold them responsible for anything, which is clearly illegal and unethical. I made a huge mistake taking my car into a cut rate repair shop who clearly was only in it for the money. 

Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response:

******,

 

I know that this case (complaint # ********) has been closed successfully.  I would like to reopen it. 

After diligent introspection, I realize that I did not give Ms. ****** the benefit of the best of my abilities as a service writer. I also allowed emotion to cloud my judgment.  My failure to adequately and professionally assist an upset customer led to unnecessary cost, aggravation, and inconvenience for my customer.  Therefore, I would like to offer a full refund to ***** ******.

 

Sincerely,

Bill O******

President

Gateway Transmissions

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gateway Transmission Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)