Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dusty's Transmissions

Phone: (541) 664-6561 Fax: (541) 664-7403 250 N Front St, Central Point, OR 97502 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.dustystransmissions.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair and transmission repair services. Specialists in drive train remanufacturing and rebuilding of automatic transmissions, manual transmissions, clutches, 4wd units, differentials and all related systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dusty's Transmissions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Dusty's Transmissions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dusty's Transmissions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1979 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Duste, Owner Mr. Matt R Duste, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Duste, Owner
Principal: Mr. Matt R Duste, Member
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service

Products & Services

Dusty's Transmissions offers the following product(s): 4WD units-Transfer cases, Automatic Transmissions, Differentials, Drivetrain servicing, Standard Transmissions

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8 - 5
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Credit Cards     

Additional Locations

  • 250 N Front St

    Central Point, OR 97502 (541) 664-6561

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/30/15 driving from Eugene Oregon to Death Valley for vacation I stopped in Medford Oregon. At the first red light I came to my Toyota Matrix with 87,000 miles on it (always taken care of and serviced) would not accelerate, the engine sounded fine, but there was a grinding noise in every gear. With the help of nice people in Medford I pushed it to a parking lot and got a hotel, it was 6pm and all mechanic shops were closed. 8am the next day I called ******** ************* ***** they had the best reviews on my Google search, unfortunately they were extremely busy and wouldn't be able to look at my car for a couple of days, they did ask me what was happening with my car and after hearing the info told me, "It sounds like it could just be a broken axle, the fix will take a couple of hours and you could be on the road." They gave me the names of 3 other transmission shops in town and I called Dusty's Transmissions because it was 3 miles from where my car was parked. I told them what ******** ************* told me and they said they could look at it, gave me a number to a tow truck company and I had my car towed there. Around noon Matt from Dusty's Transmissions called and gave me the bad news, "It looks like something snapped in your differential and turned everything to powder, your going to need a new transmission and it will cost you $3000-$3500." Hearing that I knew my vacation plans were over, I told Matt I was going to rent a truck and car dolly from ***** and take my car home. He suggested I let them fix it and save the money on towing it home as the price of the fix would be similar in Eugene. I spent $270 to get my car home, had my awesome mechanic take a look at it, he called me the next morning and said your car is fixed, you owe me $225. It was a broken axle, diagnosed immediately when he put my car on the lift. I spoke with Dusty, he apologized and said it was an honest mistake, we were in a hurry and didn't put your car on the lift and offered to take me to dinner.

Desired Settlement: Dusty cannot give me 9 days off from work and my trip to Death Valley, I would like him to pay the $270.00 it cost me to have my car towed to Eugene.

Business Response:

Dave D from Dusty's Transmissions here.  I talked with ********* from BBB about this issue today.  ******* ******* brought here vehicle in to us a month or so ago with a complaint of "No Movement and a grinding noise".  We had a full schedule however told her we would try to work in a diagnosis seeing as she was travelling and on the road.  We had every lift full so one of our techs went under the hood of vehicle and we put vehicle in gear.  He heard a loud grinding noise form what appeared to be the rear of transmission and axles weren't moving.  At this point we went with the assumption that the Differential part of the ******** had broken.  We let *** ******** know the kind of money a complete transmission job could cost on this type of vehicle.  She chose to have vehicle towed home.  I got a call awhile later from *** ***** saying that she had taken it to her local repair facility and they had put it up on lift and found a broken axle.  I can only assume the axle was broken at this inside towards the ******** which is why the axles weren't moving when our techs checked it out.  What we have is a mis-diagnosis on our part.  Had we put vehicle on lift we would have found the broken axle.

I make no excuses here.  We flat out made a mistake in not waiting until we had a lift available and could get a better look at the problem.

*** ******* was understandably very upset that her vacation was ruined by this situation.  I let her know that there was never any attempt to mislead her in any way.  We just plain and simple misdiagnosed her problem.  I told her that we felt very badly about it and that even though there was no way I could give her back her lost vacation that the next time she was down this way that I would like to buy a nice dinner for her and her family in one of our nicer restaurants as a "Goodwill Gesture".

I have been contacted by the BBB and explained the situation to them.  I then called *********** ******* on 5/11/15 and talked with her again about the situation.  I stressed again our apologies for the misdiagnosis and mentioned the BBB she said she was requesting a $270 reimbursement for the tow bill to her home.

Again I want to stress that we are embarrassed about the mistake.  We are proud of the reputation that we have earned over these last 37 years in business.  And I offered to send a check in the amount of $270 as a goodwill gesture apologized again for the lost vacation time.

The conversation between *** ****** and I ended well and she has agreed to this resolution to this issues.  And a lesson has been learned here.  We flat out made a mistake by assuming we had a broken differential and not waiting until we had a free lift to put it in the air and confirm our diagnosis.

Thank You


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Dusty's Transmissions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)