Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since


Additional Locations

Phone: (866) 346-3283 Fax: (425) 369-8111 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 2308, Issaquah, WA 98027 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers driver safety education, court diversion courses, and fleet training.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that NTSI DBA NTSI Corp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on NTSI DBA NTSI Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 06, 2012 Business started: 06/01/1987 Business started locally: 06/01/1987 Business incorporated 03/13/2012 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jeff Chase, President Ms. Jill Sullivan, Vice President, Western Region Mr. Alex Smith, Vice President, Eastern Region
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Chase, President
Principal: Ms. Jill Sullivan, Vice President, Western Region
Business Category

Traffic School Drivers Education

Alternate Business Names
National Traffic Safety Institute

Additional Locations

  • 1065 12th Ave NW
    Suite E3

    Issaquah, WA 98027

  • PO Box 2308

    Issaquah, WA 98027 (425) 369-9000


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted NTSI twice to receive a copy of my certification to provide to my insurance company. All that I have received was a course completion that I printed out. However, my insurance company requires a copy of the certificate which NTSI has failed to provide upon my completion of the course.

Desired Settlement: If NTSI can not provide a certificate, my assumption is that they are not a legitimate defensive driving school and they obtained my money without providing me services. Since they have failed to e-mail or contact me with my certificate, I am requesting an immediate refund asap so that I can take another defensive driving course in the state of New York and not online because they are scammers.

Business Response: .

RE: Complaint ID-********
To Whom It May Concern,
This letter is in response to notification of compliant ID-********, filed on June 5th, 2016 by an NTSI client. The attachments for this response are confidential and should not be displayed publicly; provided to substantiate the actions taken by NTSI Staff. 
This client registered for a class on 05/10/2016 and completed the class on 05/16/2016. As per  the State of New York, Department of Motor Vehicles, Rules and Regulations, Part 138, Section 138.10(j), NTSI staff printed and mailed a Defensive Driving Certificate on 05/17/2016 to the address entered by the client on 05/10/2016.
On 06/01/2016, NTSI Staff received an email from the client inquiring after the certificate (Attachment 1). On 06/01/2016, NTSI Staff responded to the email to confirm the address on file to ensure the certificate had been mailed to the correct location (Attachment 2). On 06.05/2016 NTSI received an email from the client that did not confirm the address and threatened a complaint with BBB (Attachment 3). Unfortunately, the email she sent that request to was unattended and had an autoresponse that directed the sender to call in or email another NTSI Staff member (Attachment 4).  No additional response was received. NTSI Staff followed up on 06/07/2016 to confirm the address before sending out another certificate (Attachment 5). On 06/07/2016 the client responded with the full address (Attachment 6). The address entered by the student on 05/10/2016 was missing the apartment number. On 06/07/2016, NTSI Staff updated the student record to include the apartment number (Attachment 7). On 06/07/2016, NTSI reprinted and mailed the Defensive Driving Certificate (Attachment 8). 
On 06/08/2016, NTSI Staff received the original mailing sent on 05/17/2016 back through USPS (Attachment 9). 
NTSI Staff took every action they could to ensure the student received their information in as timely a manner as possible. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced by the client, but without the proper address requested during registration, a mailed certificate has little chance of arriving at the desired destination. With the corrected address, NTSI Staff sent out a certificate and have not heard back from the client. 
If there are any questions or concerns, please contact our office at 800-733-6874 or email us at
Alex S****
Vice President of Operations
PO Box 2308
Issaquah, WA 98027
(800) 726-6874 *** ****
"Enhancing responsibility one attitude at a time."

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I have received my certificate!


***** *****

5/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Today May 10, 2016 I purchased an online defensive driving course, filled out all of the required questions. However, I am unable to click and view any of the courses that have been provided online. The course must be completed in 30 days.

Desired Settlement: Full $25.00 refund

Business Response:

Please see attached response to the complaint.  Should additional information be required, please let us know promptly.

To Whom It May Concern,

This letter is in response to notification of compliant ID-********, filed on May 10, 2016 by an NTSI
client. On May 10th, 2016, NTSI received an email from client stating a compliant was filed with the BBB
against NTSI. Upon receipt of email, contact was attempted on May 10, 2016 to client by email and a
message was left.

On May 11, 2016 the client returned our call and informed us the compliant was in reference to an
inability to advance to the next module within the New York 6-hour on-line defensive driving course.
Our customer service representative explained that in order to be in compliance with the State of New
York, Department of Motor Vehicles, Rules and Regulations, Part 138, Section 138.4, the course must be
6-hours in length; therefore, students cannot advance to the next module until the timer on each module
runs down to zero. This requirement and technical feature is explained in the Introduction Module; the
first module completed by students. The client also mentioned she was attempting to click ahead into the
module titles that were not yet available for review as the student has not entered or accessed those
modules. Our customer service representative informed the client they are able review only those modules
that have been completed and that the list in question was for review purposes only. To continue the
course, students must click on the Course Title on the main menu. There was no mention of requiring a
refund by the client. The conversation ended with the client satisfied with the explanations given and
stated she would continue the course.

On May 16, 2016, the client completed the online course. On May 17, 2016 the clients certificate of
completion was generated, printed, and mailed to address on file. It appears this complaint was made
prematurely and the matter has been resolved amicably with the client.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on NTSI DBA NTSI Corp
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)