Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers mechanical auto repair and towing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jim's Auto Repair & Towing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jim's Auto Repair & Towing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 14, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1973 Business started locally: 01/01/1973 Business incorporated 12/29/2000 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jim McCabe, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim McCabe, Owner
Business Category

Towing - Automotive Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto - Emissions Testing Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Repair - Maintenance Lubricating Service - Automotive

Alternate Business Names
Jim's Automotive Inc

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold a boat 15 years ago and filed a report of sale as required. Said boat was found abandoned on private property recently and Jim's towing was called to haul it away. They were paid by the property owner to haul it. Apparently the new owner did not transfer the title so it was still in my name. Jim's Towing sent me a bill for the towing and storage to date of over $400 and said $45 per day would be added until it was paid. It was disguised as an official document or legal notice from the DOL and district court and stated that if I did not pay I would be issued a citation and would be denied renewal of my driver's license which I later learned was false. I requested a copy of the report of sale I filed when I sold it but was told by the DOL that the records had been purged and are every 6 to 10 years so there was no record of it. I was also told that by Jim's secretary when I first contacted them so they know there's no way I can produce the document. Now they have sold the boat at auction and I was sent a bill for $914.54. for storage. On this bill they credited what the property owner paid them to remove it. Now I have learned that there is a $500 cap on what they can charge but that was not stated on the bill for $914.54. In summary, I sold a boat a long time ago and did everything right. I submitted a report of sale but the DOL did not keep it because they regularly purge their records and Jim's Towing know that and uses it to their advantage because they know I cannot produce the document and therefore claim that since I am the last registered owner I am liable for the outrageous bill. I have been on the phone with them several times and they are unbending and unreasonable and I believe unethical because of their deceptive tactics: Letters disguised as legal notices, bills for what they have already been paid for and bills for more than they are legally allowed to charge. Plus trying to get money from someone they know does not owe them.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Bill's Towing to acknowledge that it is very likely even though I cannot prove it due to the policies of the Washington State Department of Licensing that the boat is not mine and i did not abandon it. I would also like for them to adjust the bill to reflect the fact that I owe nothing and to not refer it to a collection agency as it will not be paid by me.

Business Response:

RE: Better Business Bureau

Case ID ******** *********** complaint

The boat was requested privately impounded by Green Diamond resource Co. from their forest land.

Green Diamond paid the tow in the amount of $288.71 plus tax 24.54 total 313.25, that was paid and
applied to the bill on 05/20/16. ( see rcw 46-55-037 )

The boat accrued twenty days of storage at $45.00 per day, = $900.00 plus tax of $76.50 = $976.50
owing and unpaid . (see rcw 46-55-140)

The boat sold auction for $10.00 plus tax, 0.85 = $ 10.85, that was paid and applied to the bill.

At time of auction the subtotal for all charges was $1213.25 plus tax of $ 103.13 = $ 1316.38.

At the time of the auction all moneys paid toward the impound and tow were $ 298.71 plus tax of
25.39 $324.10.

Grand total charges $1316.38

Grand total paid $324.10

Balance due after auction, $992.28

Jims has deducted from the bill the total paid by Green Diamond and the moneys paid at auction and as
per rcw 46-55-140 ************ will be billed$ 500.00 plus tax of$ 42.50 = $ 542.50 also per rcw

For information ******** ********** is not the registered owner, I am assuming ******* *********
is his wife.

The *********** have received all the proper forms and paper work, including a hearing request
forms and rights of redemption with procedures, all provided by jims and DOL which he has chosen to

DOL has no record of a sellers report on file but it does have ******* as registered owner and I am
required by law to use the information supplied by DOL for ownership responsibility!

The *********** have not received the final bill yet, just the summation of the sale and amounts

I am sending copies of notice that were sent to the ********** .

The first notice after getting owner information from DOL dated 4/2B/16 in the amount of $447.50
sent class A mail.

The second notice sent certified mail return receipt requested, on 5/04/16 in the amount of $672.50

Green Diamond made a payment of$ 313.25 paid toward ********** bill on 5/20/16.

Attached you will find a copy of the DOL ownership information and copies of the Vehicle Impound
notice and Rights of Redemption and Opportunity for a Hearing notices ,as they were sent to the

I am also sending copies of the RCWs as they apply to this Impound and I have underlined the sections
that apply for your convenience .

Please note that the boat had a current registration as late as 2002 to the **********.

As for the $ 500.00 limit on his tow and impound, Mr. ********* is correct, but it applies to the
after auction lien & deficiency. In this case outstanding unpaid lien is $ 992.28 but RCW 46-55-140
paragraph 1 allows a maximum of $500.00 and of course plus tax.

As for the claim of a seller report I refer you to RCW 46-55-05 paragraph 1 & 4, if a sellers report
is not on file it is the responsibility of the owner to prove!

It should be noted that Mr.*********** has not paid anything on this matter and he has attempted to
try this case in the court of social media i.e. bad reviews on all the websites he can find, and now
discredit my company with the BBB!

He refused to use the court to settle this matter even when supplied with the forms and
opportunity to do so.

Thank you for your time in this matter and await your answer.


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I was sent a bill for over $500.00 several times. Up to $1200.00 or so.  Nowhere did it say they were only summations. He only told me the limit was $500 when I talked to him on the phone.  If I had paid the higher bills would I have been reimbursed?  The original bill also included the charge for the towing, which Green diamond had already paid.  My wife and I had originally considered just paying the bill because of his false and deceptive statement that my wife would be issued a citation and would not be allowed to renew her driver’s license if it was not paid.  (Page 13 of his PDF, which is false because it only applies if the impound took place at the request of law enforcement, which it was not).   I asked for some time to sort things out and could the storage fees be suspended or waived. I was told that the storage charges of $45.00 per day would continue until it was paid.

The forms were sent by Jim’s towing, not Jim’s towing and DOL.  Nor from the court, they were deceptively presented that way to look like official court or government documents.   I called the DOL and they said they had nothing to do with it and knew nothing about it.  The agent even told me that tow operators like to “push the envelope” to try to scare people into just paying up.  The original notice I got from Jim’s Towing was made to appear to have been sent by the DOL.  

The forms for hearing requests which were sent to me only referred to hearings to dispute the validity of the impound, the amount of towing charges,  or to redeem the vehicle, none of which I thought applied to me.  I am not the owner of the vehicle and I have no interest in it.  I sold it and properly filled out a report of sale, which the DOL subsequently disposed of.  I honestly assumed (wrongly) that I could explain the situation directly to Jim’s Towing and once presented with the facts, he would realize that I am not responsible for this bill.  I, naively I guess, assumed he would be ethical and reasonable and did not think I would need to go to court over it.  Looking back at the forms, I only had 10 days and that has long passed.  

The DOL, the record keeping agency, does not keep vehicle reports of sale for more than 6 years so there is no way I can produce it. I am a pretty diligent record keeper but I also go through my filing cabinet every few years and dispose of records more than 7 years old as is customary.  I sold the boat in 2002 or 2003.  That’s 13 years ago.

He says he is “Required by law” to use the information supplied by DOL, I believe that should read “Allowed by law”. He knows I am not responsible but just wants to go after anybody he can to get more money.

As for his statement that it is my responsibility to prove a seller report was filed per RCW 46.55.105; all you have to do is read paragraph 4 of the RCW, which he included (page 8 of his PDF).  It says the seller must prove only if there is reason to believe the new owner was not aware the transfer took place or did not take possession of the vehicle.  Neither of which apply.

In summary.  I believe Jim’s Towing engages in deceptive business practices to bully and extort money from innocent people by sending “legal notices” with false information.  He has already been paid by the property owner who asked him to remove a derelict boat from their property.   I have done nothing wrong, I did all that was legally required at the time I sold the boat 13 years ago.  At the time, I had no idea the DOL would not keep the report of sale more than 6 years.  Jim’s Towing does know it and knows I cannot produce the document but continues to try to coerce me to pay a bill he knows I most probably do not owe and has threatened to damage my good name and credit by referring it to a collection agency.


******* **********

Business Response: Re: Answer to letter of complaint # ********
Registered Owner: ******** **********
1962 Saber Craft Boat

Our Xilyxis Tow Administrator supplies all our DOL forms which they down load off of DOL website.

4/28/2016: Date of impound. Authorization of impound #DLR-430-507.

4/28/2016: 24-hr. Notice to Registered and Legal owner
Forms: DLR 438-510 (R/8/15)WA
DLR-430-506 (R/8/15)WA
DLR-430-508 (R/4/13)WA
other two forms provided for information only:
Important Legal Notice
Sellers Beware

4/28/2016: Faxed to DOL Abandon Vehicle Report Desk

5/2/2016: 10:59AM Report received from DOL on registered and legal owner. ******** ** **********
***** ******** **** *** ** Rochester Wa. 98579-9009

No Report of Sale on report.

5/2/2el6: 1:31PM Report from DOL VS SWAT Acct. Admin. received.
Registered and Legal owner: ********** ***********

No report of sale info on report.

5/3/2816: Certified letter sent to registered and legal owner.
Forms included: Legal Notice
Form letter informing legal and registered
owner of progress of abandoned vehicle process and balance
as of fees incurring (storage)and initial tow as of date
of certified letter. Storage incurred daily until vehicle
is picked up) also DOL forms supplied from their website.
DLR-430-509 (R/2/14)WA

DLR-430-596(R/8/15)WA DLR-439-508 (R/4/13)WA

5/20/2916: Green Diamond paid a portion on the registered and legal owners bill. The boat had been
in our storage yard for
22 days which is $990.99 worth of storage. Green Diamond paid $313.25. The total bill at the time
was #1,414.03.

6/8/2916: Date of auction, the boat was to be sold at 1:30pm. It was sold for $10.00 plus tax total
of $10.85.

The payment from Green Diamond and the auction price was deducted from the lien and a letter was
sent to the registered owner, notifing them what balance remained.
The remaining balance was $914.54 plus tax which made
a total of $992.28.

If the registered owner refuses to pay then at that time the lien is sent to collection. Since it
is a private property impound the $500.00 plus tax, which is a total of $542.59, cap applies. Then
the bill of $542.59 is sent to Fairway Collection.

No one was being deceptive. The forms are from the DOL website which our Xilyxis Tow Administrator
downloaded and supplied to us.

We are regulated on how we process impounds, according to RCW laws and WAC. Copies of those RCW
laws were provided. There was no false information sent to registered owner or the Better Business

It is not the property owners responsibility to pay for registered owners garbage vehicles or boat.

This was an impound and there are rules and regulations and Jim's
Automotive Inc. processed impound to the letter of the law
according to regulations, which the Better Business Bureau was sent

Washington State Patrol was notified of the situation since they are the ones that inspect our
business and paperwork every year. The
inspector from Wa. State Patrol came in on 9/12/2016 approx. 12:58PM
to inspect all paperwork regarding the above impound and found
that all forms and paperwork were properly done according to all the
RCW laws and regulations.

These false accusations that have been posted on the internet and now the Better Business Bureau
are not appreciated at all. We have been in business for over thirty years and have taken pride in

our business practices of doing our paperwork properly and according to the laws and regulation.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

In the first notice I received there was nothing included except forms with DOL letterhead.  No cover letter or correspondence of any kind to indicate it came from Jim’s Towing.  Everything had DOL letterhead on it and it appeared to come from the DOL.  The other two forms that were provided “for information purposes only”, the “Important Legal Notice” and “Sellers Beware” were on top.  The “Important Legal Notice” was the cover sheet and stated that my wife would be issued an infraction and denied renewal of her driver’s license if we did not pay this.  That was blatantly false.  The RCW it referred to specifically states that the impound would have to have been at the direction of law enforcement for it to apply.

He states that all forms were downloaded from the DOL website.  Just because forms are available for download from the DOL does not mean they apply.  I believe Jim’s Towing deliberately and deceptively put that notice which was not applicable nor relevant to this situation on top to try to scare us into thinking we had no choice but to pay this bill which we are not responsible for.

Jim’s Towing knows that since I sold the boat more than 6 years ago there would be no record of a report of sale since the DOL purges their records every 6 years.  His secretary even told me that before I contacted the DOL and they confirmed it.  However he continues to insist that since the DOL has no record of a report of sale that I am responsible. How can I be expected to prove it was done if the DOL discarded it?   I also purge my filing cabinet every few years and get rid of old records.  I don’t specifically remember discarding it but I do have a copy of every single report of sale from vehicles I’ve sold for the last 8 years and from now on will definitely not discard any more of them.

I will admit I have never dealt with anything like this before and was a little overwhelmed. It was difficult to find the time during working hours to make all these phone calls and figure out exactly what was going on.  And I felt extreme pressure due to the fact that $45.00 per day would be added to the bill, (They were adamant and unbending on that).  I honestly thought I could reason with them.  I believe he is being greedy and unreasonable by continuing to push this issue. He has been paid for his trouble by Green Diamond, the ones who called him to make the tow.  The real money apparently is in “storage”.  The longer he can keep it in his yard the more he makes.  It may be legal but it’s still a scam.


******* **********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jim's Auto Repair & Towing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)