Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dick's Wrecker Service

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 772-4040 Fax: (541) 779-1818 4048 Crater Lake Ave, Medford, OR 97504 http://www.dickstowing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers towing and transport services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dick's Wrecker Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Dick's Wrecker Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dick's Wrecker Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 28, 2004 Business started: 03/01/1977 Business started locally: 03/01/1977 Business incorporated 05/02/1988 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Terry Hadley, President Mrs. Donna Hadley, Secretary Mr. Maynard Hadley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry Hadley, President
Business Category

Towing - Automotive Motor Vehicle Towing (NAICS: 488410)

Alternate Business Names
J M Northwest Inc

Additional Locations

  • 4048 Crater Lake Ave

    Medford, OR 97504

  • PO Box 1025

    Medford, OR 97501 (541) 772-4040

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My SUV was stuck in a cow pasture and because an OSP State Trooper called in the tow, Dicks Towing is charging me $200 an hour! It took them 4.5 hours to get my SUV plus another truck to help. Is this standard?? I asked the officer if I could make the call and he said no, he already did. Now it's been two days and costing me $1,454 to get it back. I can't afford this, it's insane. I need help but don't know where to turn. PLS get back to me ASAP, thank you.

Desired Settlement: To Not charge me $200 an hour, just charge me the normal rate since I did ask the officer not to make the call for me. That would bring the balance down substantially. (I would only have to pay around $400) This would be Greatly Appreciated! Thank You

Business Response: The driver in question was trying to elude the police. That's why it ended up in a field. Approximately 200 feet in a  muddy field. I took about 4 1/2 hours to recover and get back to our yard. It also needed two trucks, the first truck got stuck and had to be pulled out, also due to where the car was. When any tow company is called by law enforcement it is $200 per h plus mileage. Any tow company charges same or more. The Oregon state police officer on scene was officer ***** #***********. PS we had to wait 20 minutes for the officer to release.

7/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I unfortunately did not see a special event sign when I parked outside a bar in Jacksonville Oregon and after responsibility getting a ride home, awoke to find my truck had been towed. Ok, my fault, I should have been more vigilant in my parking. I arrived at Dick's towing at the at the same time as my truck thanks to a friend that saw it on the back of the tow truck only to be told to get it back I own them $315! They literally had it for one hour and towed it 8.3 miles. This price in no way reflects the services provided.

Desired Settlement: Refund of at least 60%

Business Response: Jackson County Sheriff called to have us remove a car that was blocking traffic and we have to expedite to remove that vehicle. It was blocking traffic and there were no keys on California Street which is the main street going through Jacksonville. Our rate for any police call is $200, no matter where the vehicle is located , then there is additional charges for mileage and a dolly. I felt bad for the young man, so I did already dock some money off, when he picked up his vehicle. If you want to check around with other tow companies, we are comparable in pricing. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Dick's Wrecker Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)