Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers lodging, tours, sightseeing tours, and cruises.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alaska Denali Travel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alaska Denali Travel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 11, 2006 Business started: 03/01/1997 Business started locally: 03/01/1997 Business incorporated 07/27/1995 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Thomas McAleer, General Manager Ms. Beth Brandon, Director of Marketing Ms. Patty Sleight, VP Administration
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Beth Brandon, Director of Marketing
Principal: Mr. Thomas McAleer, General Manager
Business Category

Tours - Operators & Promoters Travel Agencies & Bureaus Resorts Ski Centers & Resorts Travel Escorts Vacation Rentals Aircraft Charter, Rental & Lease Cruises Railroads - Ticket Agencies Sightseeing Tours Ski Tours Tour Operators (NAICS: 561520)

Alternate Business Names
Alaska Denali Tours Alaskan Park Properites Inc Denali Backcountry Lodge LLC Denali Lodges

Additional Locations

  • 1301 W Parks Hwy Ste 5

    Wasilla, AK 99654 (907) 376-1990 (877) 233-6254 (907) 376-1992


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used my discover credit card to book the back country adventure on Friday, July 18th, 2014. I left home that same day arriving in AK. My son was ill on Sunday and I tried repeatedly to reach AK Denali Travel to cancel the reservation only to get voice-mail and left a message. I was not told at any time there was a penalty for cancellation. My credit card was charged for $358 on July 19th. Upon returning home I contacted AK Denali Travel repeatedly to get a refund for the charge only to be transferred from one person to another with no resolution only "I'm sorry"

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the $358 or possibly a credit for future use with no date constraints.

Business Response: Due to an extremely short operating season, we must adhere to a strict cancellation policy, which includes no refunds within 30 days of travel. Full cancellation terms can be found here:

Our booking terms are not uncommon to the area, and were explained by our reservation agent at the time of booking. While we are sorry to hear Ms. ******** was not feeling well enough to make it Denali, it is situations such as this that we strongly recommend Traveler's Insurance. As previous discussed with Ms. ********, we are happy to assist as possible should she wish to make a claim for compensation through her travel insurance provider.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from Alaska Denali Travel is no different than the original response. Their short operating season is no justifiable reason for ripping off customers. As before, I was not informed of the cancellation policy,and at this point a credit for future use would be a reasonable solution.

Business Response: Due to an extremely short operating season, our booking terms and cancellation policies are very strict. Our reservation agents are trained to explain the cancellation policy, which applies even when booking are made within the 30-day cancellation period, as Ms. ********'s was. This policy is also clearly communicated on our website and in our brochure. We are disappointed that Ms. ******** and her son could not join us on the tour, but have recommended that she file a claim with her travel insurance carrier.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their response continues to be the same with no reconciliation. I have offered to take something less than my original request of full refund but Alaska Denali Travel is refusing to offer any alternative.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Alaska Denali Travel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)