BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the retail sale of tires, and general mechanic services. This company provides the retail sale of tires and general mechanic services. This company provides the retail sale of tires and general mechanic services. This company provides the retail sale of tires and general mechanic services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Tire Warehouse Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Tire Warehouse Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on American Tire Warehouse Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 2003 Business started: 10/01/1974 Business started locally: 10/01/1974 Business incorporated 10/02/1974 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Elizabeth Rocheleau, Marketing Manager Mr. Clay Bidlack, Manager Mr. Kevin Easley, Manager Mr. Bryan McMahan Mr. Mark McMahan Mr. Rawn McMahan, Vice President Mr. Ronald McMahan, Vice President Mr. Valda McMahan, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Rawn McMahan, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Elizabeth Rocheleau, Marketing Manager
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Retread & Repair Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Wheels Battery Repairing & Rebuilding Home Centers

Alternate Business Names
American Tire & Auto

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Tire Warehouse Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 219 3rd Ave

    Fairbanks, AK 99701 (907) 336-7878

  • 7835 Old Seward Hwy

    Anchorage, AK 99518

  • 832 E 4th Ave

    Anchorage, AK 99501

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Tire & Auto displays a large sign that they honor a 10% Military Discount. When I went to pay for my new Blizzak tires, they would not honor their military discount. The gentleman (****) refusing me my discount states the denial is due to the "buy 3 and get the 4th tire free" promotion. However, the 4th tire IS NOT free. Instead they have marked the $160 tire up to $229 each. This is not a discount but rather a clever play on numbers to make customers think they are getting a good deal. I knew they were doing this. But, felt the 10% Military discount would still make it slightly advantageous to purchase my tires from their business. I have no problem that they manipulate numbers to draw customers. However, I do have an issue with them refusing to honor their own advertised military discount. Product_Or_Service: Blizzak tires Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I deserve the military discount that they advertise.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/27) */ Mr. ******* shopped with American Tire Whs. during one of our largest sales of the year. he received 25% percent off his tires instead of our everyday 10 % off we give military personnel. it is our practice to give all of our customers the best deal at that current time; which we did. he wanted another 10% off because of the sign hanging on the wall that says we give military 10 percent off. We gave him 25 percent off and feel we have honored the discount .As far as manipulating numbers; if he found the tires for 160.00 why not buy them? Our sale is based on retail pricing and DOES give our customers a good deal. Plus he received a 70.00 mail in rebate which is more than an extra 10% percent off. but because we are an A+ rated business; we will send him a check for 91.60. Regards; American Tire management. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/10/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) American Tire Management, Yes, I will accept the $91.60. My only goal was to receive the military discount you advertise. Military discounts are a big deal to me. I spent 26 years in the Army. You are right outside two very large military installations, I think it's a very nice gesture to those who protect our freedoms, that you offer a small discount. I had no intention of mad-mouthing your business. As for the 25% discount you mention; and, why didn't I buy the tires at the $160 tires... I did. You were charging $687 for 4 tires ($229 x 3). This equals $171 per tire, which is very close to the going rate of $160. When I also considered that you offer a military discount, and support our service members, I knew I wanted to buy from your business. I don't fault you for the clever "25% off" advertisement. You are a business and need to attract customers. When I looked at the total cost I still saw that I was getting a good deal. Lastly, the $70 *********** rebate you mention is from the tire manufacture; NOT your business. It is inappropriate for you to try to claim credit for a rebate another business offers. I hope this helps illustrate my original point. The ONLY discount I am receiving from your business is the 10% military discount. Thank you for understanding and your continued support for our troops.

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought blizak tires from them last Sept. 5, 2013 Thursday. And so we did ask them if they winterized car, he told me yes bring it Friday and states it will only take 3 hours for our car to be done. They also said that they want to check our car because it is noisy. After 3 hours, we went to get the car they said that it is not done yet so we can come back the next day which is Saturday. We came back saturday afternoon only to find out that it is still not done, they don't have the courtesy to call us and let us know whats happening. **** said that they can't find the correct size for the block heater but they will have to order it from napa, etc different places like Anchorage, and so we didn't able to get the car back again it stayed to the shop for the weekend since they are close Sunday.My husband and i are already disappointed because the winterization that he said will be done for 3 hours took more than 3 days already. My husband told them that since it taking so long just give the car back and we can bring it to a different shop, but since they started it they said we cant getthe car back because they already pulled something from the car and they have to put it back wait for overnight to get the coolant seat it. So we agreed okay just make it start so we can get the car back because we are struggling without it. Come tuesday they said something is wrong because it is not starting, and so **** said that they fried up the starter so they need to replace it, and that the starter ail be ordered at first in Seattle then he gave us a call and said that they ordered it from Anchorage. and so the waiting game has finally get into us we said okay just give us our car back, today Thursday sept 12, 2013 **** said that even they put a starter they are not sure that our car will work because something is wrong with the internal wirings which they dont do in their shop. Having our car stayed over there for a week just for the winterization and telling me that after all these attempts to put the block heater the car wont start makes me feel that these guys are not only incompetent, inefficient and unprofessional to leave our car not working, doesnt want to start at all, where in fact i brought it in good condition i drove it without any problem at all. They shouldve at least offered us something to make the inconvenience that they brought to us loosing our car for a week and counting a relief that we can have it back in good running condition. I am taking this initial complaint but if i dont get our car back in the way it was when i brought it in their shop we are considering filing a complaint. I am hoping that they can at least have the professionalism to admit their shortcomings and have the car back the condition that i the car has when i brought it. Thank you for better business bureau i hope that this one will be resolved in a fairly manner because it is already causing a lot of stress and we are already in financially distress because of our car being in the shop and the last thing we want to hear is the car we used for our daily living will be just off because of simple winterization. Thanks and More power. i hope to hear from you soon.

Desired Settlement: just make sure the car is running and starting without any problems and the expenses that they are charging us be reasonable enough. i dont mind paying if our car is okay but giving it back to us not working is a huge problem, i brought it in their shop running and now they're telling me some problems that resulted from their winterization that possibly might trigger the car to be damaged. it is causing us financially, emotionally stress because we used it for our everyday living and we want it back in the way it was before.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/01) */ i would like to respond by saying that on 9/4/13 the vehicle came into our shop with the right front tire completely ran flat with wholes in the sidewall. the customer had drove it this way. may I add that these tires were not purchased from American Tire. We sold them Blizzaks at the proper size for the vehicle. (which they were running the wrong size when it arrived) The vehicle also had stripped lug studs that hold the tire on the car. vehicles should not be on the road this way. it is dangerous. we replaced all possible lug nutswe could also because they were mismatched when the car came in. prior to any service this car had a vehicle service check light on. when we finished with the tires and went to pull it out it made a horrible sound. *** ****** told our service writer that he wanted a winterization done. our service writer asked the owner about the horrific sounds the car was making and the husband replied it's been going on for a long time I don't know why my wife hasn't had it fixed yet. we make the ******'s an appt. for the winterization on a Friday the 6th of Sept. they brought it in the afternoon at 3pm. so work didn't start until Sat. morning because it is a minimum of 3 hours. the engine heater came from Napa and it didn't fit the vehicle even though we ordered it from the vin. # of the car. so we tried several models. this car calls for installation from the back of the engine. very difficult and time consuming. Customer was informed of everything along the way. and we are closed on Sundays. we could not do the work for the original bid. the original price was for a standard winterization. we wanted to seal the car properly and it did have to spend the night until Tuesday. On Tuesday we went to start the car to pull it outside so it could be picked up and it wouldn't start. we spent more mechanical hours at no charge diagnosising that this vehicle had electrical issues that caused the starter to burn up. that was what the horrible sound was when it was here the first time. either the customer tows the car to a shop for electrical repairs or the starter had to be replaced but could not be guaranteed because the electrical had to be fixed and we DO NOT DO electrical work of this nature as we told the customers. the ******'s said put a starter in and we'll pick it up. it was completed on Tuesday and they didn't even come for the car for 3 more days. it just sat here. we discounted all the work that was done by our shop to them for the inconvience w/ the block heater. we didn't charge them for any of our diagnostic time finding the electrical issue either. this car was not in good shape the first or second time it came to our shop.American Tire will be the first to say when we prefer not to do certain work that is not our specialty. we will be sending them a check for the amount to rent a car for the 3 days it was here for the winterization. Saturday/Sunday and Monday. The husband knew the vehicle had issues long before they brought it to our shop. we will put a check in the mail today for 120.00. we apologize we couldn't do the FULL winterization in a timely manner. but we did all we could for these customers. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2013/10/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) yes i can see that, 40 years maybe in supplying tires you are outstanding, may i add that the car has a personalized rims thats the reason why u change it because the winter tires wouldn't fit the size of our personalized rims, which we did pay. stop saying we let the car stay over there for 3 days, for 1 day, yes because i had to wait for my husband to see and decide what we should do, i even went to see a jag to ask for legal actions because you apparently did not want to take care of your customers, also the car did start yes, but it was worst, it smelled like something is burning and when we arrived at fairbanks imports it sounds like almost dying. Then the automatic lock of our door is not working anymore, before u did anything to our car it is working fine, up to now it doesn't wanna lock and i had to do it manually every time. Yes you should refund our money and not only that you should pay for the damages it caused us, which i do not wish for any future customers. I will gladly accept it because that is ours after all the stress it brought to us, i still think it is not enough but i want to move forward and forget this horrible experience from you guys. i already forwarded the mechanics diagnosis to BBB, should you get a copy and see the shortcomings you did, feel free to cover for the expenses that we had to pay out of your incompetent mechanics. The pulley you said thats causing the noise unfortunately did not happen to be the same as they told us, heres what they say : Tech found wire tapped into energizing wire for starter, tech cut and capped off. knowing you changed the starter and tried your best to make the car starts, which however fails all your attempts, like finding the correct size of the block heater and installing in wrong location. I wish that you being graded A by BBB will abide and holds true to the services and products being rendered. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/10/08) */ We have been in business for 40 years and have a good reputation. Our listing with the BBB is an A score. Meaning just that. The vehicle did sit here another 3 day for you to pick it up and it did run when it was pulled out on Tuesday 9/10/13 for pickup. You picked it up on Friday 9/13/13.We stand behind the two items we put on for the partial winterization. They have nothing to do with the electrical issues your vehicle was having before it arrived at our shop. However because we are an upstanding business and you are not happy with the service you received; we will refund the monies for the winterization and new starter that the car needed less the military discounts you were given. Plus the 120.00 for the price of a rental car for the 3 extra days we had the car originally. Safety is our priority that is why we had to fix the condition of your lug nuts and missing lug studs your vehicle had when you came in so you wouldn't lose a tire and wheel. The check will be in the mail for a total of 617.82. Sincerely, American Tire and Auto.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on American Tire Warehouse Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart