BBB Accredited Business since

Whittington Tile & Stone Inc

Phone: (360) 377-5678 Fax: (360) 377-5687 4001 State Hwy 3 W, Bremerton, WA 98312 http://www.whittingtontileandstone.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers granite, marble, tile, stone, quartz, and limestone.  retail and wholesale, installation, and fabrication.  Cabinets, tile and stone tools and supplies  


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Whittington Tile & Stone Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Whittington Tile & Stone Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Whittington Tile & Stone Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 2000 Business started: 07/01/1993 in WA Business started locally: 07/01/1993 Business incorporated 04/12/2000 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Whittington, President Mrs. Phyllis Whittington, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Whittington, President
Business Category

Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Granite Cabinets Countertops Porcelain Products Stone - Natural Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Whittington Tile & Stone Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4001 State Hwy 3 W

    Bremerton, WA 98312 (360) 377-5678

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In super short, on 4/14/15 I signed a contract only for an ******* Slab for my kitchen counter tops. Whittington Tile and Stone (WTS) stated they had to order the slab due to not carrying it in stock. WTS scheduled 2 template dates & an install date, all three dates were contingent on THEIR busy schedule. Later that day I called to cancel the order & worker stated it would be OK. I revisited WTS in early May because we were still interested in counter tops. Through the course of multiple conversation topics worker and I became frustrated. By the end of the conversation worker stated I "did not have to go through" with anything & she asked me "What do you want to do?" I stated "I wished I could go back to the beginning & not start any of this." At this point worker threw up her hands, stated in agreement with me, & stormed up the stairs out of the slab yard. I left WTS. NEVER ONCE DID WTS INQUIRE ABOUT PAYMENT ON ANY SLAB! I made no further attempts to contact WTS. WTS did not show for any 2 template or install dates. On June 11, worker sent me an email stating "...I know you are still undecided about which stone..." fully admitting I have not chosen, picked out, or reserved any stone to include any ******* Black SHE brought up in a 5/6 email. Later in June I received a past due bill. On August 3rd, my lawyers informed WTS I had no intentions on paying a bill for a cancelled contract. WTS replied with I reserved ******* Black remnants for my bathroom countertops. On August 7, I took photographs with a dated newspaper, showing ABSOLUTELY NO ******* BLACK REMNANTS in their slab yard. 1)If I had not cancelled my order then why hasn’t WTS order it yet? 2)Why NEVER to inquire about ordering it for me? BECAUSE THEY KNOW I CANCELLED IT! 3)Does WTS truly think we are stupid enough to believe that in less than four days they found a buyer,made templates, & started fabrications on these supposed ******* Black remnant slabs? Then where did they go? They NEVER exist!

Desired Settlement: A complete cease and desist from the company by a zeroing out of any and all claims to any money billed and/or owed, and no future or further claims on anything to be made by Whittington Tile and Stone. I want all parties to go their separate ways with no further communications and a zero balance against me and my husband.

Business Response: 9-3-2015

I’ve attached copies of correspondence with **** and *********
************* legal aide.  We do not
stock a large supply of stone in our yard. Our vendors stock most all of their
quartz in Seattle area.  So when we order
slabs, we can pick them up the same day if needed.

 Since **** and
********* ************* signed contract was for quartz, ( since quartz is a man
made stone) it was not necessary to hand select the slab they are the
same.  Unlike **** and *********
************* bath vanities which needed to be hand selected from free remnants
in the yard. The ********** slabs were ordered on PO**** on 4/14/15. As per **** and *********
************* signed contract.      

This can be confirmed base off of a recent Yelp review.

As stated in response to attorney correspondences (attached),
we offer customers a discount when not paying by credit card / checks.  Mrs. ************* was in the middle of giving
us the deposit when she asked about a discount, we told her, she could bring
deposit back.  We were not concerned with
the money at this time because we could also pick it up at template, as we have
done in the past to accommodate our customers.      

May 6

 **** and *********
************* were called to confirm  template
date, at that time Mrs. ************ asked if we had any other options to bring
price down less than the  *********, if
not she may want to go back to tropic brown ( one of her other quotes.)  We also discussed going to slab select and see
if we could find something else she might like at a better price.     Later that day, we emailed a quote of a new bundle
that we just brought in, as a less expensive option this was the ******* black.
   Our job is to help  **** and ********* ************* find the
color they like the best in their price range they need to be in.   ********* ************ then informed us that
the template on the 13th would not work and reconfirmed the template
for the 19th.  Prior to the 19th
during a visit to our store, ********* ************ informed us that they were
still not ready and needed to call us back with a new template date.

   front of customer file time line as written
over the last 11 months

 

We cannot cancel verbally on the off chance that we might
make a mistake. Even though no money had transferred hands a contract was
signed as a guarantee of work, for us to provide a service with no time line for
final decisions to be made.  A lot of
labor hours went into estimating, searching, one on one time looking at
material, and now correspondences.  A
cancellation request would have voided the signed contract and the bill.

******* Black has never been a factor in any dollar amount
in question.  I’m not sure what Mrs ************
 took a picture of but I still have slabs
remaining in the yard as well as many ******* Black remnants, and slabs with
newspaper ****** *** dated 9-2-2015.    We did not take pictures of all remnants.



As stated in other responses if we had received any
cancelation request we would have worked something out, especially if request
was made same day, or even over the next two weeks, no charges would have been
incurred. We did not receive any request verbally or otherwise until the first
letter from her attorney.  Now that this
has become a lengthy process, our company has incurred additional expense.

 

 

 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

P****** Whittington states 1) “Any communication could have prevented this, And any
request I would have worked with you.” (8/3/15 email) and 2)”If we had received
any cancellation request we would have worked something out, especially if
request was made same day, or even over the next two weeks, no charges would
have been incurred. We did not receive any request verbally or otherwise until
the first letter from her attorney.” (BBB rebuttal 9/3/15). In the first letter
P****** states “Your letter we received today (August 3, 2015) is the first and
only request to cancel their contract.” (August 3, 2015 email)

I did verbally
inform WTS salesperson M******** on the day of signing the contract, about my
wanting to cancel the contract and again I stated to P****** at a later date about
cancelling my contract. Here is where P****** contradicts her own statements
regarding not knowing about any cancellation.

·       If P****** or WTS had yet to be informed that I wanted to cancel my contract for the ********* contract then
why FIVE DAYS LATER did P****** draft a completely brand new bid contract for a
completely different stone in Tropic Brown for the exact same kitchen counter
tops (see attached Tropic Brown bid)

·       If P****** or WTS had yet to be
informed I wanted to cancel my contract for the ********* contract then why 22
days later did she draft a brand new contract for my kitchen counter tops with
a completely different stone in ******* Black? (5/6/15 email)

Because I
cancelled the signed contract *********. P****** was trying to replace the
********* contract with an entirely new contract for my kitchen counter tops.

·       If P****** or WTS had yet to be
informed about my cancellation then why would P****** later state in an email “I
know you are still undecided about which stone” (6/11/15 email)

Because I
had already cancelled my signed contract. She thoroughly states she had already
been courteously holding ******* Black remnants for my vanities. (8/28/15
letter) So if she was already holding vanity remnants then by default the
undecided stones must be the kitchen counter tops.

 

·       If I did cancel the May 13th
appointment due to being “too busy” as P****** claims then why does she later
state I showed up to the WTS show room on that day? (8/3/15 letter)



Because I didn’t cancel the appointment. I stayed home that
day (minus the 40 minutes to pick up my son from school) I actually remember
this because I still had the appointment reminder pop up on my phone and WTS no
showed. If I was “too busy” as she states then how did I have enough time to
drive 30 minutes to WTS showroom, have a lengthy conversation, and then drive
home all within business hours? Because it didn’t happen that way.

Also, what WTS isn’t telling you is that I never picked out a sink. No sink, no
template. WTS can’t do a template without a sink choice. I didn’t pick a sink
because I had already cancelled the contract. P****** also states during this
time frame they were so busy. (8/28/15 letter) WTS no showed to the
appointment, I did not verbally cancel the appt.

 

·       I would like to point out again that
there is no “cancelation policy” in the contract just a “full deposit refund”.
I never paid any money so therefore is no need for a written request to refund
of zero dollars.



·       Also of note, P****** is stating the
********* slab was ordered on 4/14/15 and the validity of proof is on an undisclosed,
anonymous, internet review website, Yelp.


Why not validate the PO with the real PO from the supply
company? Does WTS not have a copy of this PO or do they not have the ability to
obtain such PO from the supply company? WTS had roughly 5 hours to make a PO
before I called back and cancelled my contract. That is plenty of time to draft
a PO but that does not mean it was sent.

Al so of note, why with my contract:





1)     Why is WTS ordering the slab with the 24 hour
cancellation window? Do they typically risk having to call back the supply
company and waste both companies times with recalling and cancelling a PO?



2)    Why is a slab being ordering BEFORE a
template? This is not proper procedure. You need counter top measurements first
to make sure proper slab amount. They never measured my counter tops therefore
no PO is to be made.

3)    Why has WTS waited 143 day to notify me,
the client, that the slab has been order and inferring that the ********* slab
might be in existence. 143 days to notify the client of anything that has to do
with the signed (yet cancelled) contract. This makes no sense to NOT inform the
client unless they didn’t notify because the contract was cancelled.

4)    WTS had ample opportunities and time
to inform me about the ********* slab in the 143 days after 4/14/15 and in any
of the two letters to my lawyers. Why now, why only document any PO existence with
this BBB claim? It makes no sense to with hold such information from the client
for so long or from any discussions concerning this matter.

5)    WTS is not actually stating the
********* slab is actually obtained by the supply company or by WTS. Just vague
information where lack of information, inferring, and the imagination by the
reader is beneficial to them.

6)    If by May 6th, P****** was
drafting another kitchen counter top bid with a completely different slab then
why would she continue to have the ********* slab PO still valid? Any costs incurred
by anything having to do with an ********* slab are a result of WTS lack of
taking action to my cancellation request.

  

I took
photos of WTS slab yard because I wanted to prove that WTS did not have any
********* slabs or ******* Black remnants (refer back to the courteously hold) with
my name on them (per typical procedure) in their possession. I saw neither an
********* slab nor ******* black remnants on 8/7/15, the day of the photos.

Also note, that my photos show 3 new, full ******* Black slabs on the forklift
pallet. So it is very logical, by the time P****** was taking her photos on 9/2/15,that
******* Black remnants would now exists in their slab yard. P******, you stated
you were “not sure what Mrs. ************ took a picture of” (9/3/15 letter)
but the lack of ********* slabs and lack of ******* Black remnants are the
reasons why I took photos of your slab yard.

I too have
incurred loss of income. I have spent many hours working on this issue when I
should have been working my job. My employer is also taking a great loss of
income because of my delay on working on a grant from the government for minority
and women’s business owners.

P****** also
states she is only moving forward with this because she has “been falsely
accused by legal representation I will hold up my contract.” (8/28/15 letter).
I don’t see where the false accusations are and her own statements contradict
her denial of being informed in any shape or form about cancelling of my
contracts.

Bottom line
is I cancelled this contract and P******’ own written words back up my claim of
cancelling.



Sincerely,

********* ************

Business Response: Wow!   I have been very reasonable.  I attached copy of valid PO from vendor and  I attached all  correspondences with her attorney on previous reports  for you to view.  Even though the purchase order was placed until the stone is cut our customers can get quotes on other colors and change their mind , and other quotes were given but no new contract was signed  nor any written cancellation request prior to her attorney.
 
unfortunately I now  have a complaint against us when we have done nothing wrong.   It is a shame that anyone can make up a story and put it out there for all to see.  I am very thankful that there is now a customer complaint  board that is  public record for businesses to use.     Continuing to go in this circle is a mute point.  All of the true facts are in writing. Also ******* was her point of contact but she did not work the day Mrs. * says she talked to her.(  I would gladly produce payroll records.)
 Now that our business has been damaged by false accusations, which there seems to be no end to  You can file this as unresolved. 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Whittington Tile & Stone Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart