This business is not BBB accredited.

Star West Satellite, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 814-8402 View Additional Phone Numbers 1289 Innovation Way, Post Falls, ID 83854 http://www.starwestsatellite.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a Regional Service Provider for DISH Network. The company only handles the service and installation side of DISH Network.  Star West has no control over programming, pricing, or warranty of DISH Network equipment and services/call centers it provides for in its service area.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Star West Satellite, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Star West Satellite, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 09, 2004 Business started: 10/14/1994 in MT Business started locally: 09/17/1998 Business incorporated 10/14/1994 in MT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Pete Sobrepena, Owner/President Ms. Theresa Alderman, Control Team Ms. Miranda Johnson, Control Team
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Miranda Johnson, Control Team
Principal: Mr. Pete Sobrepena, Owner/President
Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service Satellite Communication - Common Carrier Satellite Equipment & Supplies Satellite Telecommunications (NAICS: 517410)

Alternate Business Names
Starwest Satellite

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Star West Satellite, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1289 Innovation Way

    Post Falls, ID 83854

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1320 W A St

    Pasco, WA 99301

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2200 N Elder St

    Nampa, ID 83687

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2263 Wright Ave Ste 4

    Twin Falls, ID 83301

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4003 Professional Way Ste A

    Idaho Falls, ID 83402

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    420 28th St N
    Unit 7

    Lewiston, ID 83501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    465 Ash Rd Ste F

    Kalispell, MT 59901

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    580 Pronghorn Trl

    Bozeman, MT 59718

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6804 Commercial Ave Ste A

    Billings, MT 59101

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6900 Kestrel Dr Ste 12

    Missoula, MT 59808

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had an installer from Dish network sent to our house( star west is the installation company) first the installation job was horrible, wires running through doorways wires running across and down walls. We had an issue with the installer taking our ****** ***. dish . we are still paying for ****** ***. but can not watch it due to our dish missing. We made serveral attempts to call the installer with no answer, finally he said he would return our dish back to us, which never happened. We call star west and were told that don't have our dish it was RETURNED and maybe we should do a better job looking for it. We called again and wanted to send them the text from the installer showing he has our dish but they were not going to allow it . I asked to speak with someone else and was told nobody else works there. We were able to forward the text to Dish network and the next day two guys from star west dropped off a dish and said it was ours. We checked the serial number and it did not match. After two weeks of dealing with this We received a phone call from star west claiming to be the owner and apologized and said he did not know of everything going on. He said He would mail us a check to cover the cost of the dish and pay to dispose of the dish they left at our house . well it's been over 9 mailing days and no check . we called last week and inquiried about the check and got the runaround.

Desired Settlement: The money that is owed to us should be done through money gram so this Can be taken care of today.

Business Response:

Mrs ******* was installed with Dish on 8/23/2015, at that time when the technician was installing their Dish Network system, he removed (what he thought to be) the old ****** ** dish. During the appointment that the customer made 8/26 it was brought to our attention that the customer was going to have both Dish Network and ****** ** in their home. This is not normally the case with our customers, we find that they usually have one or the other, but not both competing systems at the same time. The previous technician did follow our courtesy procedure by removing the dish. By the time that the local office had heard about the need for the customer to have their original ****** ** dish back, it had already been recycled.  We informed the customer that we would bring by another similar ****** ** dish to the customer, but the serial numbers wouldn't match because it wasn't going to be the same dish. We had to wait until we had removed another dish to give them one. We were able to return a ****** ** dish back to the customer on 8/31.

Serialized equipment is only account specific when it is tied to receivers; at no time was the customer in jeopardy with ****** ** regarding the different serial numbers on their dish.

We have completed training with our technicians to ensure that we do not accidently take customer’s equipment.

It was during this process that Mrs ******* called our corporate office ( 8/26) and talked with a member of our support staff, Mrs ******* was verbally abusive and threatening our support member and asked for a supervisor. It was at this time our support member was by herself and no longer felt comfortable/safe speaking to the customer any longer. 

The case was escalated properly with our Operations Manager and the Compliance and Ethics Department at Dish Network. Due to the nature of the threats and abusive language we only were going to deal with Mrs ********* husband Mr. *****

Our Operations Manager called Mr. **** on 9/3 and settled for the cost of re-installing the ****** ** system and the alleged damage to their drywall.

We typically take 7-10 business days to process payment, with the Labor Day Holiday we have until 9/18. If after that date Mr. **** hasn't received payment then he may contact us to inquire.

Consumer Response: Never once did we ok them to take the dish, also we need the orignial dish back per ****** ***. Dish does not work for ****** ***. so for them to make assumption about what we need is wrong. Also we were told several times dish installers do not touch other companies equipment. My husband was told they were mailing a check that day and has called back twice to iquire and was told it was mailed out, never once was there any mention about a 10 day processing period. Lastly I never made a threat to any of their employees. I had the conversation recored. The only thing that she did not like was when I told her to shut up and listen because she continued to call me a list and would not allow me to talk. Was I frustrated yes! Who wouldn't be. Also I read enough reviews for star west and as you read I'm not the only one they have called a liar.

Consumer Response:
BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



Regards,

***** *******

7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called on July 10, 2015 because my dish was not working. I was scheduled for a technician to arrive on July 14,2015- I waited for 11 hours for a technician and no one showed. I spoke with a dispatch manager on July 15, 2015 regarding this matter and was assured that a technician would arrive first thing July 18, 2015. I phoned both the Dish network & Southwest Satellite to confirm my appointment and I also received a confirmation call stating that a technician would be here between 8 am & 9:30 am. At approximately 8:30am I received a phone call stating that they were not coming and that they rescheduled me for July 19, 2015 between 8am & 12pm, but that was no guarantee that anyone would show. How can a business schedule appointments, confirm them & just not show with no reason other than a "scheduling conflict"? I was also told that no appointment is guaranteed!

Desired Settlement: All I want is for a technician to show when scheduled. And to find out how the above can happen.

Business Response:

Hello,

 

While we realize and accept that this customer did have multiple appointments scheduled with our company we did do everything in our power to rectify the situation. The technician that was scheduled had a family emergency and unfortunately there was not another technician within a 200 mile radius. On 7/18/2015 as soon as we knew about the inability to complete the job we contacted the customer and made special arrangements to schedule them the very next day as a 1st am appointment.

 

The appointment was completed on 7/19/2015 as the first morning appointment.

 

Thank you,
*******

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** **********

This addressed the second day of appointments that were scheduled and rescheduled. There was never any mention of a family emergency,they only told us it was cancelled.I have dozens of emails and phone messages from Dish confirming that someone would be here at at certain time,telling us to be sure someone was home waiting for them to arrive.I am on vacation from Pittsburgh,Pa. and my time here is extremely important to me and to sit and wait for a technician for two days is totally unacceptable,especially a company that brags in their advertisements about there superior customer service.
           As I said earlier,their response was for the Saturday the 18th appointment that was cancelled with no explanation.
           My major complaint is the Tuesday the 14th appointment,when we waited for 11 hours ,after receiving several phone messages and emails that they were coming at 8-12,then 12 to 3,then4 to 5,then 6 to 7:30,then at seven o'clock they called and said they were not coming at all and we had to schedule another appointment for sometime the following week.Where on earth do you get put to the back of the line if the appointment is cancelled by them.We should have been the first appointment the next day and I called and argued that point to no avail.
           Their response seems to be not an admission of bad service,but but making up excuses.They are trying to cover their butts so they do not get a bad review.I would like an apology from someone of high position from their customer service and not some overseas operator reading off cue cards.
                                                                         
                                                                                                                                                         Sincerely,
                                                                                                                                                   ***** **********




Business Response:

Hello,

 

 

We realize everyone’s time is valuable and we do apologize for any inconvenience.  We did call and apologize to the customer.

 

Thank you,

*******

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I bought a brand new home in Airway Heights, WA. We had Dish installed and I specifically expressed that nothing be attached to our brand new home. A technician from Star West Satellite came while I was at work and installed the dish in the middle of our back yard, attaching the cable all along one side of our brand new home. They came out and relocated the dish, took the cable off from the side of the home, but refuse to replace the damaged siding. This is not acceptable, we want the damaged siding replaced with new siding, they ruined it, so now they can replace it.

Desired Settlement: Replace the damaged siding with new siding that identically matches the original.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,

We were made aware of this customer's damage claim through normal channels of damage reporting with Dish Network. We are working with the customer to provide the best possible solution for repair. We had made the decision prior to this complaint to replace their siding. We just hadn't reached out to the customer and informed them of our decision. The local manager of that office will be in touch with the builders of the home to see if they can replace the damaged siding.

Thank you,
*******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Star West Satellite, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart