Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Providing Cable TV and Internet services to Cheney, Medical Lake and 4 Lakes communities.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Davis Communications Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Davis Communications Inc. include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

14 Customer Reviews on Davis Communications Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 11
Total Customer Reviews 14

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 09, 1999 Business started: 09/04/1980 in WA Business started locally: 09/04/1980 Business incorporated 09/04/1980 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Gainer, General Manager Ms. Jennifer Rawley
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Carol Campbell, Office Manager
Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite VOIP (Voice Over Internet Protocol) Sales & Service Internet Services

Alternate Business Names
Cheney Cable DCI Cable Medical Lake Cable

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Davis Communications Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1920 4th St

    Cheney, WA 99004 (509) 235-5144 (509) 624-7129

  • PO Box 117

    Cheney, WA 99004

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June of 2015 became a customer of Davis Communication. I purchased a plan that was supposed to be providing me with 10 mbs of speed for my internet. I had problems sometimes with speed and being able to download and stream videos using this service. When the number of people in my household increased, the current speed was not sufficient for the household use. I called Davis Communication and asked to increase my internet to a speed of 20 mbs of speed. I was still having minors problems with speed but nothing to complain about. It was brought to my attention that I am able to check the speed of my internet through an XBOX 1 gaming system. I was told by my roommate that for the past 3 months My speed has only been averaging 5 mbs of speed. When I he showed me how to check the speed of the internet, our box was only producing 2 mbs of speed. The next day I went to the Davis Communication office and asked why I was only getting 5 mbs when I was paying for 20 mbs. The employee explained to me that they did not have the equipment to provide the speed I was paying for. I then asked since I have been paying for 20 mbs and have only been given 5 mbs, how will I be compensated for the service I am paying for, but not receiving. The employee went in the back to speak with someone and came back shortly to tell me that there is nothing they can do for me. I asked to speak with a manager and was not given that opportunity. Davis Communication is telling everyone who purchases their service that they may receive 20 mbs of speed, even though they knowingly cannot. They are aware of the problem and are continuing to sell a product they cannot provide.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded the entire amount of money I have spent on Davis Communication internet over the last year because I have not been given the service that I have been paying for.

Business Response:

Called customer to discuss situation 3/18/2015.
DCI Customer services
********

3/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have the issue of having really poor service with Davis communications. I have been paying for 20mgps and i only receive on a good day about 5mgbs. I feel that are ripping off alot of people in cheney with their price stating that they are giving you 20mgbs when they cant even give you that amount. The hardest part to swallow is that they know about it and they do not say anything, they have expressed that they are not capable of being able to produce such rates, but still charge individuals full price. I believe that is fraud and should be investigated,

Desired Settlement: I would like them to explain to the people of cheney why they have been lying about their services and remove false advertisment. I have even noticed that BBB.org has multiple comlaints about the same issue, and yet has their been a resolve. I would like to either have the service we are contracted or for them not to have the advertisment and have the proper advertisment.

Business Response: As of 03/03/2016 we have had one customer with the name ***** ******** with the same phone number he provided, who was disconnected back in 08/09/2013 for non payment, and was set to collections. Second, we have only one customer at the address *** *** ** ** ********* * with not a corresponding name of who wrote the complaint. I checked this person's account at the only address active in that complex , and they have 10 mg internet not 20 mg. Also looking at their modem, it is online and looking well, and did not see any calls or tickets in with our 24 hour internet support.  In turn, if the customer at that location(the customer who is on the account) can give us a call at ************ or call our 24/7 internet support number at ************** we will figure out the issue and resolve it. 


Thank you, 

***** *****
Davis Communications Inc.
*********************** ************

3/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been with Davis Communication as my internet service provider for about 5 months now. I currently pay 85 dollars a month for 30 MBPS download speed and 5 MBPS upload speed. I'm not receiving the speeds I'm paying for, and haven't been for some time now. I test the speeds regularly throughout the day to see if they've increased or decreased, and on a good day i'm lucky to get the advertised speeds for 1 hour a day. I have contacted Davis' customer support line 3 times and been told a tech would contact me to take a look. I never received a call. I was also told Davis was installing new equipment that would help with peak hour traffic, but my speeds have only gotten worse since that conversation.

Desired Settlement: I either want to get the speeds I pay for on a consistent bases, or be refunded my most recent payment and have my service cancelled.

Business Response:

There have been some speed issues at night from the amount of traffic we are experiencing; we have purchased equipment to help resolve this issue.   If the services have issue all day, then there is something else causing the problems.  We apologize if this has caused you stress.  We can give compensation for the last month of service and or you can disconnect services if you choose. We do not have any contracts to keep you locked in to our services.  We have not had communication with you since November 2015.  Please contact the office ************ or ************ so we can discuss the situation in more detail and resolve the issues.

Thank you for your time and concerns.

Davis Communications INC

Customer services

******** ****** 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


******* ********

9/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cannot believe I am having to resort to complaining to the BBB, again! Davis Communications' local office ignored my problems with internet connectivity for months -- and only fixed the issue after I made a complaint last June. Now my internet works perfectly, but my cable service doesn't. It went out entirely last Thursday and has still not come back on. I left a message with the answering service over the weekend -- and I sent an email to the email address listed on their website. I have not gotten a response to either message.

Desired Settlement: I want my cable outage to be corrected quickly. In view of the fact that I have been without service for a full week now, I believe a billing adjustment is in order. Finally, since this is not the first time my messages have been ineffective, I would like a direct phone number to either the local general manager or a repair technician. I know this is an extreme request, but in view of my repeated service issues and unaddressed complaints I think it is warranted. Thanks

Business Response: I just investigated this complaint.

Unfortunately Linnea didn't see our message on the bill that we would be turning off 
Analog feeds on Sept. 1st and if she didn't have a digital TV she would need to come by 
and pick up a set top box which she has since done.
She should have everything up and running just fine now.
Derek recalled her today to check and make sure but there was no answer.
Carol C*******
Office Manager
Davis Communications, Inc.
P.S. We are looking into a new after hours tech company.

8/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live on ****** Road in ******. During the past year, we have continuous outages in the evening. Scores of outages. Repeated phone calls and 3 service appointments have accomplished nothing. Each time I get a different story about why things are not running. “We don’t have the right card.” “Another company is obfuscating and withholding technical information.” “We will have the right card installed next week for sure.” A fourth visit is scheduled next week, but they refuse to come out when the problem is occurring. Today the office manager said, “I hate to suggest this, but use someone else.” We do not access to another company. Century Link does not serve this side of Meadow Lake with high speed access. Required Field

Desired Settlement: I need a working Internet connection.

Business Response: The problem is we do not service outside city limits.


A tech. lived out Murphy Rd. and decided to run the lines out there in the very early 80's.
The signal is not designed to run that far and thus there is poor coverage.

We have notified the residents more than once that we would be cutting the service and they have
begged us to stay so we do our best but they know we are not perfect.

We still send techs out because sometimes it is something we can fix but  in general it is what it is.

Jenifer was simply telling him if he is not happy with our service to feel free to look else where, we don't have 
contracts and we understand service is what we provide and when we can't do anything to fix it to the customers
satisfaction they have every right to go else where.

The last service call he refereed to was to remove an AMP we had tried adding to the line to fix his issue but it turned out it made it worse.

HE has called and told us whatever we did fixed everything and he seems to be a happy customer again.

Thank you for contacting us on this issue and we always try to make a customer happy.

Carol C*******
Office Manager

Consumer Response:

BBB/Davis Communications

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.  
Something was repaired that has provided consistent service since shortly after I made this complaint. For future reference, as a former cable repair employee, I would like to know what was repaired. The company indicates that an amplifier has been removed. I never requested removal of any equipment and it remains here. If there is to be consistent and continued service, I accept it and am grateful for it. (No one ever told me that service on Murphy Road was outside their parameters.)  In the future I hope that Davis employees will be more forthcoming about their service procedures. 


Thank you. 

****** ****

7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have intermittent internet connection outages. This has been an ongoing and deteriorating condition for almost two years. I have not had a full day's service in the last three months. The folks on the helpline are very apologetic. Every time I call they say something to the effect of: "I can see that you've had 118 interruptions in service in the last 30 days!". At their suggestion I have replaced my wireless router, all the cords and a splitter, the modem, and the surge protector. The helpline keeps putting in service tickets for the local office to pull new wiring to my house, but the local office never calls to arrange it. When I call the local office they only offer to switch modems again; they will not perform a service call to my home.

Desired Settlement: I want the local office to call me at ************ to schedule installation of new cabling to my home, as promised by the support line several times in this week alone. In view of the excessive outages, I would also like a refund of payments for the last two month's service.

Business Response:

The records of this customer show, DCI, called the customer back June 17th 2015. We also have been to their location for a service call July 6th 2015.   The account shows DCI has credited the account for issues.  There is a service call in, for July 17 2015 to install a new outlet for the location. DCI will not be charging for the outlet install.  

If the customer has any more questions or concerns please call our office at ************ or ************.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I have not had an internet outage at home since the service technician worked on the lines -- which is making it much easier to keep up on my schoolwork.

Thank you for your help in getting my problem addressed. 

Regards,


****** *******

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As of 2014, Davis told customers that we needed a digital box for the cable service. I went to their hole-in-the-wall dump of an office and picked up the two boxes for my televisions. After setting them up and getting connected, problems began right away. Constant disruption of service messages would appear as I was trying to watch a game or show. I called and left messages for a service call, but after three months, nobody came. When I didn't pay my bill because of the poor service, they called me and informed me I didn't need the boxes and that they were having all kinds of issues. I should have just connected the cable to the wall outlet and all would be fine. They then disconnected my service! This place is a total joke and have a monopoly in Cheney with thousands of students living in apartments where they can't get a satellite provider. Their prices are very steep and they refuse to sell to *******! Don't buy service from them!

Desired Settlement: I want my service hooked up and I will pay monthly starting immediately.

Business Response:

On April 17th 2014, the customer spoke to one of the employees and stated; they would come in to make a payment and schedule a service call.  We do not have a record of the service call being requested nor the payment promised.  We are sorry for the inconvenience that was created for the customer by the converter box.  In order to fix the issue, we need to physically go to the location, when the customer is available to evaluate the problem.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below:

 
1. I did not have full service due to the converter box issue. Therefore, I'm not going to pay for something I didn't receive. 
2. I want a visit by a person to fix the issue, box or no box. 
3. I will then pay for the service from the date of this action by DCI. I will  not pay any back fees owed. 
4. I would like a phone call from DCI ASAP. My number is ###-###-####.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response:

Called customer and left a message to call our office to set up a time for a service call, or to discuss the situation.

We will be waiting for the customers call. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

14 Customer Reviews on Davis Communications Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart