Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Connections Unlimited Inc

Phone: (253) 473-1771 Fax: (253) 473-3207 821 Valley Ave E Ste A, Sumner, WA 98390 http://www.connectionsunlimitedinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers DIRECTV satellite TV and bundled services. We also sell satellite internet services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Connections Unlimited Inc include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Connections Unlimited Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 17, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2002 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated 01/31/2002 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Barnett, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Barnett, President
Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday
9:00am - 7:00pm

Saturday
10:00am - 3:00pm
Service Area
Nationwide

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    821 Valley Ave E Ste A

    Sumner, WA 98390 (253) 473-1771

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 10 I filed a complaint about payment of a gift card that I never received after signing up for service in early November. I was assigned Complaint number ********. Mr. B****** Responded that he would Work with Direct tv to resolve the matter and if he did not hear from them by the end of the week of June 17 that he would personally issue a check for the amount to me and collect later from them. I felt that that was very noble of him and thought that was something that should have been done long ago. However five days past the 17 th I have still not received the check and have not heard from Mr. B******. Please help me resolve this ongoing matter once and for all. Thank You...

Desired Settlement: Please issue a check for $ 150.00 as promised.

Business Response:

I will have a gift card in the amount of $150.00 in my office tomorrow, 7/1/2016, for the customer. He can choose to either pick it up or I can send it to him.

Thank you,

 

Mark b******

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *******

6/15/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2015 I signed a contract for Direct T.V for service to my house. The service is fine as well as the installation of equipment, however I was promised a $ 150.00 gift card as a promotion to *** **** and ****** that I never received. I have called Connections Unlimited countless times as well as stopping in there with no luck, only one excuse after another. I think that after 7 months It seems like I should have received the gift card. I have run out of patience with these people, Thanks for your help in resolving this matter.

Desired Settlement: Provide me with the promised $150.00 credit to *** **** and ******

Business Response:

Mr. ******* came in to our store sometime the week of October 26th 2015 to inquire about DIRECTV service. Mr. ******* was installed on October 31st 2015. When Mr. ******* came in to our store he brought in a mailer from another national marketing company which promised a $150.00 gift card to *** **** & ****** if he called in to sign up for DIRECTV service. We explained to Mr. ******* that we could sign him up for service but had to verify we could honor the gift with activation offer from the national marketing company.

I personally checked on this with DIRECTV Retail Services who said we could but that it would take longer to honor as it wasn't the usual Visa gift cards that they offer. We explained this to Mr. ******* and also informed him that once submitted he would receive the card directly from DIRECTV and that they do not inform us whether they send the card out or not.

Mr. ******* called back to us sometime later, I would estimate 2 months, and stated he had not received the gift card yet. I cjecked in with Retail Services who said it was processing. That was all the information we received.

Mr. ******* called in again probably a month + later and said he still hadn't received the gift card. He also inquired about his remote control as well as another issue with his equipment and rather than having him go through DIRECTV technical support I personally went to his residence to handle his technical issues. at that time I explained that the situation with the gift card was not his sales reps fault and that we were relying on DIRECTV to help fulfill this. I also informed him that if anyone he could hold me responsible for this and that I would follow up again with DIRECTV to which I did and was told it had been processed.

Mr. ******* came by our store last week to inform us he still had not received the card and was justifiably agitated and upset. I have escalated the matter with DIRECTV and am waiting for their response. If I do not receive one by the end of the week (6/17/2016) my company will fulfill the gift with activation promise and work to settle up with DIRECTV ourselves.

We are a small, local family owned and operated business here in the Sumner community. We have an outstanding reputation in our community and would never do anything to jeopardize that. Our apologies to Mr. ******* and assurance that we will resolve this matter within the week.

 

Mark B******

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *******

5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesman John H***** engaged in fraudulent/deceptive tactics in order to secure a contract between myself and DIRECTV. Many promises were made in order to facilitate the deal, which were subsequently not kept during the duration of the contract.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of what was promised by John H***** (Connections Unlimited Inc. Salesperson) Formal listing of complaint that others whom might be seeking services from Connections Unlimited Inc. can view and decide whether or not to use that company.

Business Response:

After going through our records regarding Mr. ********* it appears Mr. ********* signed up for the DIRECTV Choice package, on Oct 23, 2014, with a regular rate of $66.99 per month at that time and an additional $6.00 per month for one television. Mr. ********* received initial promotional credits of $10.00 per month for twelve months as well as an additional promotional credit of $27.00 per month for twelve months bringing his total monthly cost down to $35.99 per month for twelve months. Mr. ********* also received a referral credit of $10.00 per month for the first ten months making his monthly bill $25.99 per month, plus tax, for the first ten months.

Mr. ********* was told at that time to call back to our office and speak to John, his rep, after the first year and we would assist in getting him additional promotional credits applied to his account. His sales rep John became ill with pneumonia in December and was hospitalized due to complications for approximately two months. During that time Mr. ********* called into our office. I explained the circumstances regarding John and why he wasn’t returning calls. I also informed Mr. ********* that he didn’t need to wait on John and that I could put him in touch with DIRECTV’s retention department who is responsible for issuing additional credits. My personal experience in dealing with the retention department is that they are very good at what they do. In some instance I have seen them give customers promotional credits larger than the initial ones they received when they signed up. We don’t have any idea how they determine what the second year discounts will be I do however know that a large part is determined by whether or not you pay your bill on time every month and also whether or not you accept any other promotional discounts prior to then. I made the call to retention for Mr. ********* and gave them a history of what he had received and what he was looking for. I was told that would be fine and to go ahead and bring him on line. Once I connected Mr. ********* with retention I got off of the call.

Mr. ********* called me back later wanting to know when John would be back as he was not satisfied with the discounts he was given. I informed he we did not have a definitive date for Johns return. I asked him what was wrong with the discounts he was offered and he replied they weren’t low enough for him. That is where the call ended. That was also the last I heard from Mr. *********.

We are a small family owned business that has been in operation since January of 2002. During this period we have been either recognized or awarded as a DIRECTV Outstanding Dealer of the Year, DIRECTV dealer of the Year, multiple time recipient of DIRECTV Elite Dealer award and countless others. The average life span of a satellite television retailer is 18-24 months. We have bucked this trend by being an outstanding dealer and not just through sales volume but through churn maintenance and customer service. Some of our employees have been with us for over twelve years. While the misunderstanding between Mr. ********* and my company is unfortunate, and not the norm, we have always done everything within our power to ensure customer satisfaction.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:   This response neglects to mention all the promises made by the salesman John H***** at the beginning of this whole ordeal.   Mark B****** is the owner of the business from which his salesman, John H***** had made.  These were verbal promises, of the type included in the attachments (please read) as they give clarity as to exactly what was promised  in order to get me to sign up with Directv in the first place.   I had been using a regular antenna for several years and was not all that intested in a Directv contract.    Mr. H***** made me a deal that I could live with after much debate.    I wished I would have just said no, as much time and effort has been expended just trying to get John H***** and Connections Unlimited to uphold the offer made to me.   I want all to know that I was lied to, and was forced to make dozens of phone calls to try and rectify the emty promises made by a very disreputable salesman.   These people honored the first part of the agreement of 10 months after a many, many phone calls and letters of complaints.

After that period I was thrown to the Directv wolves and made to pay as much as four times the agreed upon price of 28.60 per month for the remaining 14 months of the deal.   


Sincerely,

******* *********

Business Response:

It's unfortunate that Mr. ********* felt deceived in this. As a retailer for DIRECTV we have done everything we can to get Mr. ********* additional discounts on his DIRECTV account including putting him in touch with the DIRECTV retention department. I'm still not sure where Mr. ********* got his original figure of $18.99 per month for the Choice package. As you can see by the PDF attachment from Mr. ********* we were able to get him tremendous discounts to start, far and above what the normal promotion would be. Part of that was a referral credit he received. As for him being on the Choice Xtra package only DIRECTV would have the ability to switch a customers base package and only after talking to the customer directly.

As I previously stated when I spoke to Mr. ********* I put him in contact with the retention department at DIRECTV so that he could get additional discounts for his second year. I'm sorry he was not satisfied with the discounts he presented but that is the department who controls additional discounts and have been known to be very fair and generous with hundreds of our other customers.

At this point I'm not sure what else we can do as a retailer. Once the retention department offers a customer discounts whatever the offer was is usually the best they can offer. If those discounts were accepted then no other discounts can be applied to the account until the current discounts expire. If they were not accepted then the customer can definitely call them back and have the discounts offered applied.

Thank you

Mark B******

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I don't feel deceived -I was deceived, by Connections Unlimited salesman John H*****.  John H***** is where I got the promised monthy charge of 18.60 per month for 10 months, and 28.60 per month for the remaining 14 months of a 24 month agreement (all taxes and fees to have been included in that price)  The Choice package was promised along with two channels not included in that particular package: 218 Golf  and 602 TVG.   That was the promise made in order to get me to signup for service.  Mark why don't you read the three attachments in the original complaint so you don't have to recite amounts that aren't even the ones promised by your salesman.   Also for the last time either you haven't asked John the promises he made to me, or are unwilling to put them forth here as either way it portrays him as a liar, or you as a willing participant in deceptive sales tactics in order to secure that sale.   The only true statements entered by Mark B****** above is  1.  John H*****, or Connections Unlimited tried to get as many discounts as possible to come as close as possible to the original sales promise made of 18.60, which I stated above, but only after dozens of phone calls, and several letters of complaint (attached) and 2.  Mark put me in touch with the Directv retention department, only after telling me they were sorry, but they couldn't provide me with the original promise of 28.60 for the remaining 14 months of agreement.   Those two above points are truthful, but in the end, I was left having to pay much more than what was promised by the salesman John H*****, and had to spend hours, and hours of my time trying to make John, and ultimately the business he represents Connections Unlimited make good on the promises made. 


Sincerely,

******* *********

4/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are getting prank calls from this business number, identified in caller ID as Connections Unlimited from the number 253-473-3207. We get calls from this number and after repeatedly saying hello we get no response on the other end just open air. We believe they are harassing us based on previous calls from them looking for a women named ****** *****. We have explained before that we don't know this person, have had no affiliation with this person. We were told they would take our number off of their call list. But still they call. this has gone on for over a year, we are sick of it.

Desired Settlement: We want them to permanently stop calling the number ************, or we will take them to court for harassing my grandmother and ask the court to make them pay the legal fees. We have kept records on our calendar every time they call and the times. We feel pretty confident we could win in court if we have to take it that far.

Business Response:

I apologize that this happened. It appears that there have been two (2) calls logged in our system to this number. The first being on 5/13/2015 to which it looks like the system dropped the call before our rep had a chance to speak with anyone. The second call was placed on 1/4/2016 which it looks like the number was placed on the Do Not Call list at that time.

It does not show anywhere in our system where any other calls were made to that number and I can assure you that since it has been dis-positioned as a Do Not Call number there will be no other calls from us.

If you have received any additional calls from us after 1/4/2016 please let us know so that we can see where the error in our system might be. I am confident though you should not have received any other calls from us.

I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company calls almost daily in violation of the Do Not Call registry. Calls are always hang-up, no one is ever on the line nor is a message left.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Remove my contact information from their database and cease calling me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/11/26) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@connectionsunlimitedinc.com We apologize for this. We have been having some system issues which is by no means an excuse just an explanation. I have added the above listed telephone number to our DNC list and there should not be anymore calls from us. We do subscribe to the National DNC database for the entire state of Washington. There are occasions where numbers slip through on either there end or ours. Once notified we always place the number (s) in question into our DNC database which eliminates them from future calls. Again please accept our sincere apology regarding this matter and rest assured you will not receive any future calls from our company. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/12/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The company agreed to my desired resolution.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Connections Unlimited Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)