Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Rushmore Tax Service

Phone: (360) 657-7333 Fax: (360) 657-7444 View Additional Phone Numbers 1094 State Ave, Marysville, WA 98270

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers business and personal tax preparation services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rushmore Tax Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 31, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated 08/23/2010 in WA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Tony McAleer, Manager Mr. Julian Denes, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony McAleer, Manager
Business Category

Tax Return Preparation Taxes - Consultants & Representatives

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 9am - 8pm
Saturday 9am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 5pm

Off Season
Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm
Alternate Business Names
Rushmore Taxes Inc

Additional Locations


    1094 State Ave

    Marysville, WA 98270 (360) 657-7333 (425) 356-7001 (360) 657-7333


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Agreement was that the business name was supposed to be franchised. Which it was NOT. That is the reason why I paid $5,000. I was promised a refund. But never got it

Desired Settlement: $5,000.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/18) */ We did not sell the customer a franchise. We made an agreement that he may use our brand and I would fly from Seattle to New York and train his employees assist in helping him find an office, furniture, computers, advertising, website assistance, ongoing (daily tax support and computer support). We provided this and more. We received daily calls from the customer and me and or my staff helped to resolve any issues they had. Customer chose to sign a lease with discussing the location with me. It was a pizza restaurant owner who had a vacant building in a location nowhere near any other tax offices. I had located two offices within 200 yards of an *** ***** and he ignored my advice. He is bitter because he failed in his attempt to open an office successfully. He believed he would make plenty of money immediately while I told him he had to build a client base over years. I have personally opened four tax offices, three of which have all prepared over 1000 tax returns per year since year three. That equates to in excess of $250,000 in 100 days. *** ******** has called me since twice "just to chat". The most recent occasion being a little over a month ago. And yet he made claims against me via the credit cards he paid me with. Both **** and ******** ******* received all my emails, communication, flight and accommodation details, rental car payments etc... to prove that I in fact did EVERYTHING in my power to assist him and yet he did not follow the simplest of requests. NUMBER 1 - to be an IRS approved E-filer you had to acquire an EFIN (Federal Identification Number) Takes 4-6 weeks to get after fingerprinting etc... I told him repeatedly from November 17th 2013 to submit his application. He finally submitted his application December 21st and tax season was starting 18 days later! As a consequence I changed my flight details from December to January to accommodate his training. We NEVER offered franchises. We are not a franchisee organization. We offer brand licensing Agreements whereby individuals or corporations could use our logo, materials, marketing plan etc... to achieve the goals we hope for them. I spent more time and money than received in return. *** ******** expected money on day one but he fell asleep multiple times during tax class. Wish I could have done more but I could not help this man. He made a mistake and is now making every effort to discredit our company.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rushmore Tax Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)