Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Steel Structures America, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (208) 777-7290 Fax: (208) 777-8597 View Additional Phone Numbers 3635 E Covington Ave, Post Falls, ID 83854 View Additional Email Addresses http://steelstructuresamerica.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business builds residential, commercial and light industrial pole frame steel structures.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steel Structures America, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Steel Structures America, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Steel Structures America, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 26, 1995 Business started: 11/28/1995 in ID Business started locally: 11/28/1995 Business incorporated 11/28/1995 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W State St , Boise ID 83702
https://secure.ibol.idaho.gov/eIBOLPublic/LPRBrowser.aspx
Phone Number: 208-334-3233
ibol@ibol.idaho.gov

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shawn Sternberg, Senior President - Post Falls, ID Contact Mr. Beth Fritzell, Secretary/Treasurer - Office Manager Mr. Justin Sternberg, President - Longmont, CO Contact
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Justin Sternberg, President - Longmont, CO Contact
Principal: Mr. Shawn Sternberg, Senior President - Post Falls, ID Contact
Business Category

Steel Erectors Buildings - Metal Building Contractors Buildings - Pole & Post Frame Contractors - General Steel Detailers - Structural

Method(s) of Payment
CHECK, MASTERCARD, VISA, CASH
Alternate Business Names
Steel Structures of America
Licensing

ID Contractor License #RCE-391
WA Contractor License Steelsa044BD
OR Contractor License # 134938
MT Contractor License # 13574
ND Contractor's License# 45485
ID Public Works License # PWC-C-15461-B-3 


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Steel Structures America, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1308 E Nob Hill Blvd

    Yakima, WA 98901

  • 3635 E Covington Ave

    Post Falls, ID 83854 (208) 777-7290 (800) 833-9997

  • 4000 N Division St

    Spokane, WA 99207

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9518 E I25 Frontage Rd

    Longmont, CO 80504

  • PO Box 895

    Post Falls, ID 83877

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All of my claims are documented in writing, either from emails or from our contract with Steel Structures of America. In March of 2015, we met with a member of Steel Structure's (SSA) sales team to discuss the possibility of contracting them to erect a steel building on our property. We discussed the project details. One detail of note was the permitting process. SSA requested any existing site plans that we had to aid in the process of acquiring the permit. We provided them with all that we had. Upon review, we were assured that they would be able to obtain the permit with the information that we had provided. We signed a contract on 3/17/2015 and paid them 34k, as a deposit. The contract stipulated we would pay 102k, and they would acquire the permit and provide labor and material for the building. We would be required to pay for the actual cost of the permit (estimated at a couple thousand dollars) and we would be responsible for grading the building site. We contracted a separate company to do the dirt work and paid them 3k to level the site to SSA's specifications. In the mean time, SSA was to go about acquiring the permit. SSA informed us that the permit could take 6-10 weeks, but that was a "worst case scenario". I put that in quotes because I am quoting from their email correspondence. When we completed the grade work, I contacted SSA to let them know that we had fulfilled our obligations and I requested a progress report. On 4/16/2015, they responded to inform me that they had not begun the process, but would start shortly. To my surprise, they informed me that we would also need to pay their engineer an additional 1k to handle the permitting issues and to expedite the process. I was told his expertise was necessary, but would result in an expedited process and the extra 1k was far cheaper than producing a new site plan. Their exact words were "we need him"; also an email quote. I told them that, although I didn't appreciate the added cost, I would pay it upon receipt of the permit. Over the following weeks I received multiple excuses for delays. On 6/15/2015, I was informed that they had completed the "presubmittal" process. I was obviously confused as we had been assured we would have the permit in 6-10 weeks. It was now 12 weeks since they cashed our deposit check and we actually hadn't even submitted the official permit app. I was referred to their engineering "expert", whom they were now referring to as a consultant, not directly employed by SSA, for an explanation. He informed me that we would have to re-engineer our site plan before we could proceed. However, he also informed me that he was unqualified to provide us with a new plan. He further went on to request that I pay him, directly, for his "services". As he never delivered on his promise to "expedite and obtain a permit", I obviously refused. SSA then directed me to another engineer to discuss options. The new engineer said he could re-engineer the plan to county code, but that would cost an additional 10-15k. Further, the new site plan would require the construction of retention ponds, landscape, etc, that could run over 100k and take up valuable real estate that we could not afford to lose. After discussing all options, it became clear that the project was not feasible due to the additional costs and usable property loss. In October, I was forced to ask SSA to provide a refund. I provided the owner with all of the email correspondence between myself and his representatives. I offered to listen to his explanation and even offered to allow him to keep a small portion of the deposit to cover any documentable costs. After a few months of excuses and refusal, I finally received a check early in 2016. However, the check was only for 26200.00. This was far below what I had indicated I would accept. SSA kept 7800.00 with no contractual right to do so. We showed extraordinary patience and allowed SSA to exhaust every avenue to deliver the product as promised. They were unable to do so. We have endured inexcusable treatment, we have been without the deposit money for over a year and we have been left with a mudhole that won't drain properly. We deserve a refund.

Desired Settlement: My offer to allow him to keep a small portion of the deposit is off the table. I would except a full refund, plus an additional 3k reimbursement for the dirt work which has now become unnecessary and has left us with an awful mud hole since the flat area allows a large amount of water to pool in an area that previously drained properly. In return, we would forgive the hundreds of hours of time that we have spent on this project, the interest on the money that SSA has wrongfully tied up and we will forgive the cost to restore our property to its preconstruction state. Upon receipt of the remaining $10,800.00, I would sign a release stating that I was satisfied and that we will not pursue any further action against SSA regarding this issue. Further refusal will result in a retraction of our offer to forgive the time lost, interest expense and the cost of the grade work to restore our property. SSA still owes us 10,800.00.

Business Response:

Unfortunately, Mr. ****** is not giving all of the information to the BBB. 

1.       Mr. ****** is not our directly our client.  Our client and contract is with ********** ***********.

2.       Steel Structures had a contract to build the building shell only

3.       ********** *********** was required to pay for the permit and all site excavation but after the County had substantial site requirements ********** did not want to invest in the site improvements

4.       Mr. ****** did request a refund and to cancel the purchase agreement due to the substantial costs that the County was going to require as condition of the permit. 

SSA had costs incurred and gave ********** a refund less the costs incurred at his request and he did specifically put in his email to send a check for $26,200 which then he disputed additional costs at a later date. 

As of today we do not have a signed cancellation and SSA will absolutely fulfill the contract for ********** *********** so our position is that we were acceptable to refunding the deposit less our costs or we would simply fulfill the contract

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


To address the items SSA listed:

1.  SSA is lying.  I am the direct customer. I own ********** *********** and therefore am the direct customer. This fact is easily verifiable by checking with the State of Colorado Secretary of State.

2 & 3.
SSA is lying about their responsibilities regarding the permit. Obtaining the permit was their contractual responsibility. It is in plain language in their contract. SSA was very specific at the time of our original meeting that they would be able to obtain the permit with no further engineering costs. SSA informed us that we would need to grade the area to their specifications at our own cost. We completed this task and paid for the work. They were unable to obtain the permit. We understand they overestimated their own ability to deal with our county. As a result, they could not deliver on their promise to obtain the permit with no further engineering cost. We will give them the benefit of the doubt and forgive them this mistake. However,  we would expect our money back.

4. SSA did provide a list of so called "expenses". However the list was so ridiculous it included a 1k restocking fee on lumber that was never to be ordered, per SSAs contract, until after the permit was obtained. Further, it was later revealed that they had sold the wood posts to another customer.  In any case, this is all irrelevant as the cancellation is due to SSAs inability to deliver on their promises and as such, the expenses are the result of SSAs incompetence and therefore need to be covered by SSA. They can write it off as tuition since it is clear they were uneducated regarding the permitting process in our county. In addition, I have never agreed to accept 26200 as a refund. On the contrary, I have made it perfectly clear that 26200 was unacceptable. All of my claims are documented in writing and I would be happy to provide them to the BBB. I can guarantee the BBB that Justin S******** will not be able to provide documentation verifying all of his claims.

Our terms remain unchanged. We will receive a full refund or we will continue to escalate this matter as necessary. If SSA promptly provides a refund we will sign off that we have been satisfied, we will update our online reviews and we will pursue no further action.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response:

Unfortunately our company does not agree with the customer that we guaranteed that we could use their existing site plan which is exactly why a consultant would be hired.  

We do believe that the customer is now in agreement that the issue has been resolved to their satisfaction outside of the BBB 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

While we cannot agree on the specifics of the incident leading up to the cancellation, I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.  We have entered into an agreement to have our money refunded and this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ******

2/29/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a professional in the building industry, I do not recommend hiring Steel Structures of America if you want a quality job, if you want a building built per the plans, or even if you want your job completed in a timely manner. I had several problems with this pole building contractor. I prepared the site, myself, to prepare for the construction of the garage. It is customary in the building industry for the contractor to let the owner know when they will begin construction. I received no notice the contractor was arriving until the day they expected to begin construction; when I received a call while I was at work telling me to move my vehicle out of their way. The foreman proceeded to say that the site looked fine, and that I needn’t do any more work to prepare. The same day, I received a call from him saying that they would have to move the building two feet closer to the alley, which would not leave me enough room to park a vehicle in front of the building without encroaching on the alley. They also said the site wasn’t flat enough, or dug deep enough. They proceeded to tell me that they would have to charge me for this extra work and equipment. After deliberation, I agreed, as they said it was absolutely necessary. I came home to find they had not leveled the site at all, but had turned the site into a series of large ruts and mounds of dirt and rock. A main root from the fifty foot spruce tree I had hoped to preserve was sticking straight up in the air and had been ripped off at the end. They had cut out a large chunk of my asphalt driveway and propped it up against my basalt fireplace, breaking off a large slab of rock. I had made an agreement with the utility company to move my gas line, and after this was accomplished, I waited weeks before the contractor returned to my site to resume construction. Note, their salesman promised it would take five days to build. Again, they did not notify me they were coming back until I received yet another call at work chastising me to move my vehicle out of their way. The location of the commercial-sized garage door was mis-located almost two feet off the mark, which makes the shop impossible to use as planned. There is no room to work at a workbench without pulling a vehicle out of the building. With this incorrect location of the door, it is almost impossible to back my trailer into the garage without jack knifing. I asked them to move the door to the location per the drawings, and they first told me they had to move it for structural reasons. When I again reminded them that I work very closely with structural engineers, the contractor just said they didn’t know why it wasn’t placed correctly, but that they would not move it, either. So, I’m stuck with a garage that doesn’t function. There are two windows in this garage. The contractor asked if I really want the windows where they were drawn on the plan, because then I would be looking at my tree, as if that’s a bad thing. This is the same tree they partially uprooted and hacked away at without my permission. I said I want the building built, with all the doors and windows located just where I located them on the plan. I came home the next day to find one of the two windows installed on the opposite end of the shop from where it was drawn on the plan. I had to call the builder and tell him to relocate the window. Meanwhile, the builder hacks off several branches of my spruce, and leaves them lying on the ground. I had to tell them to quit trimming my tree, especially since it was not necessary, and those branches would never grow back. I waited at least three weeks from the time they closed in the building until they decided to come back and dig out the mess they made of the site to prepare the ground for the concrete floor in the shop. Supposedly, they smoothed out the dirt, compacted the soil properly, placed the reinforcing, and poured the slab in one morning. The salesman promised that the apron would tie the building seamlessly into my existing asphalt driveway. They poured a curb, instead, and shifted it the wrong way in relation the door. I now had no way of tying my existing fence into the face of the building. When I called them on this, the contractor informed me that it wasn’t their responsibility to make the apron tie into the driveway. Excuse me, but if I can’t get into the building with a vehicle, the building is unusable. More of my asphalt driveway was removed and stacked up against my rock fireplace. And yet another concrete curb was poured in front of the shop. Meanwhile, there is a four month window in which one must distribute all the funds from the lender to the contractor. Needless to say, time was almost up. To bully me into giving them the rest of the money, the foreman promised to “make it right.” Saying that he didn’t trust me to reopen the loan and pay him after I was satisfied that the job was complete. I wrote an email to his company outlining all the problems during this project, and also said I expected a deep discount on the final cost of the building, as it was not built to the plans. I received a phone call from the foreman, who intimidated me into paying the full amount, minus the cost of extra site work that, remember, could have been avoided if they had bothered to look over the site before showing up to build. They received their final payment minutes before the loan expired. I regret giving them the last few thousand dollars, as they did not deliver what they promised. An asphalt company came and poured a little ramp from my driveway to the apron. In no way is it a smooth transition, and this winter, as expected, it was difficult to get up the slope they made into the shop without sliding into the door jamb. They did not clean up the site as promised, leaving the large chunks of asphalt against my fireplace and strewn about the back yard. They left an unopened bundle of extra lumber on my lawn, and when they finally hauled it away, the grass was dead. Do not hire Steel Structures of America, unless you can be there to babysit them the whole time. They will not respect your property; will not build the structure as drawn; nor will they correct their mistakes – and there will be plenty of mistakes. All I wanted was a 24’x40’ garage with three doors and two windows. I paid a lot of money, and missed a lot of work, for something that still wasn’t built correctly.

Desired Settlement: I would like BBB to help me receive a substantial refund for the unsatisfactory and incorrect work performed by this business. I cannot use it for the purpose intended. They refused to correct the work, and then bullied me into paying the full amount, saying they would make the apron issue right and clean up their mess. The apron was not done to my satisfaction and they did not haul away the asphalt chunks and garbage. I have progress photos of every stage of this project available for your reference. The building inspector also noted on his report that the door is located incorrectly. All the new growth on the spruce tree died, and I have yet to know if it will survive the abuse it endured at the contractor's hands. The rock fireplace also needs to be repaired, and there are still large chunks of asphalt in my yard that I cannot move. At some point, the driveway will have to be modified to create a less abrupt transition to the last apron they poured. I am not satisfied with this company's work or its business practices, and believe I am entitled to a substantial refund.

Business Response: As Owner, I have personally contacted this customer by phone today.  I have an onsite meeting set tomorrow to go over this complaint and look forward in addressing the issue discussed in the customer's statement.  I will relate the conditions of the meeting with the BBB promptly.

Consumer Response:

Complaint ID ********

BBB,


Attached is an email string between myself and the owner of Steel Structures America (SSA). In the email, SSA agrees to completing items we discussed in the on-site meeting; referenced in his BBB response.

Completion of all items on the list is pending. 

Regards,


******* ******

1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am disappointed and frustrated with SSA (Steel Structures America Inc) building or attempting to build my shop. Everything has been delayed, cost more, and required too much of my time and energy. I hired SSA to be the experts and their representative Kevin L************ assured me from the beginning that he has dealt with the city of Richland before and he has built in a flood plain before as well. The delays and additional costs for elevation surveys and compaction tests were never discussed in detail when the contract was made and signed on 5-30-15 over 4 months ago. It is now 10-5-15 and I still only have a partially finished shop. Kevin (SSA) does not keep me informed and rarely responds to my texts or emails. When Kevin does finally respond, he is vague and fails to answer my questions. I have asked for timelines and/or updates to no avail. Work has been sporadic and scarce and there is very few or late updates if any from Kevin. There is also a building permit that does not have a single inspection signature on it. Kevin (SSA) hid or failed to divulge information and costs to gain trust, so I would sign a contract and put a considerable amount of money down uneducated on the complete cost. Because honestly how do I back out at this point, when I've realized I’ve been lied to or given half-truths, and ignored with a half finished structure sitting on my property? I was also influenced by Kevin on 9-5-15 to sign a waiver not holding SSA liable for a soil compaction issue that wasn't getting resolved. I have emailed the main office on 9-25-15 and left a voicemail on 9-26-15 with my complaint. It is now 10-5-15 and they have never responded or attempted to contact me. I also tried contacting Kevin's supervisor CJ, because I do not wish to be in contact with Kevin no more, but CJ has not responded to me as well. And though no one from SSA has responded to me, they have sent their final bill for a completed shop that isn't completed.

Desired Settlement: At this point there is only two things that can be done. First is finish the shop and second would be to adjust the cost of the which may be up to reimbursing some of the money already paid.

Business Response:

To the BBB,

Please review the attachment as our response to this complaint

Thank you

Justin S********

208-659-4800

 

****** *****
Better Business Bureau
152 S. Jefferson St., Suite 200
Spokane, Washington 92201

RE: **** ********
36’x48’x14’ Pole Structure
**** **** ***
Richland, Washington 99354


BBB ID ********

Ms. *****,We have received and reviewed your email dated 10/6/15 regarding the complaint filed by Mr. **** ********.We regret to hear that Mr. ******** is unhappy with his building experience. When Mr. ******** signed the contract, it was discussed with the Salesman that the structure needed to be erected 1’-0" above flood elevation, since the building site dwells in a flood plain. Because of all flood plain requirements set forth by FEMA, flood elevation certificates must be surveyed and issued. This is an expense excluded from our contract and must be realized by the property Owner or Customer and was discussed at time of Contract. Also excluded from our Contract, the work on the building pad is the responsibility of the Owner or Customer. The International Building Code, along with generally accepted building practices, require that certain compaction requirements be met for site work. Unfortunately, the site did
not meet these compaction requirements by a substantial amount, but would require additional expense above and beyond what the Owner had already incurred were it to be re-worked. After discussing this with the Owner, he elected to release SSA from any and all liability of movement or settlement due to soils issues related to the site prep the Owner contracted with a 3rd party.

In our interactions with the Owner, we have made every effort to make him generally aware of additional expenses and schedule impacts. To date, the Owner’s project has been Finaled by the Building Department and is fully usable.

Sincerely,Shawn S********
Sr. President

Consumer Response:
BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


All I have received is a $200.00 dollar gift card from Steel Structures America Inc . As far as their response, the email they sent quoted as having an attachment that I did not receive. I do not believe a gift card is sufficient comparing to all the issues, delays, and stress. The lack of communication and unprofessionalism needs to be corrected and I do not want other consumers to be duped and or taken advantage of by Steel Structures America.

Regards,

**** ********

12/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted ssa in regards to having a 20 x 40 pole building built on my property. Salesman came out and and we discussed the project. Explained that I wanted a building that I can insulate and sheetrock. Salesman talked about commercial girts and bottom loaded trusses which at an additional cost sounded like what I needed to accomplish what I had planned. I met with the salesman several times in regards to my project with the salesman not once informing me that there is no ceiling provided to hang sheetrock from. I requested from sales person that I wanted to see a finished project of ssa in the local area. After several days the salesman found an owner who would show their building. The building was not set up for sheetrock as I requested. The lumber was also a more usable quality for my project than what was used for mine. The salesman spoke of how quality orientated the crews were especially the one that did the project I viewed and was led to believe this crew would be doing my job. I found this not to be true after the contract was signed. On the day the building materials were delivered the salesman showed up long enough to put a sign on my property designating the location for the driver and that was the last time I saw the salesman for over a month. In the building package there was 2 damaged trusses to which I took photos of and sent an email with photos to the project manager who is located over a 100 miles away. Not once throughout this project did anyone address any problem or concern I had in person. I had to email and or phone to try and explain the problem. They replaced one truss and somehow decided the other cracked truss was usable. SSA reserves the right to decide if the ground is to hard or rocky to use their bobcat for digging and will need to use "rented" jack hammers instead. When I questioned the salesman he stated that "sometimes" they needed to use them. I asked the crew leader on his thoughts and he responded that he believed half of the holes would be ok and most likely the others would need the jack hammers. They started on the softer area and then claimed the other partial holes were to hard for the bobcat. The crew leader let me know that he needed to go rent 2 jack hammers and I asked why did he not start on what he perceived to be the harder ground so that I could have went and rented the jack hammers, he had no answer but said he should go get them as his guys had nothing to do until he got back. I called the salesman about this and was basically told that" it was not his job to check their time card or monitor them" up until the contract was signed the salesman was johnny on the spot.They charge $35 an hour for each of 3 men or roughly $200 while he went to rent them. My bill for the few hours of actual work is just under $700 on top of everything else. When the county inspector stopped by the next morning to inspect the holes the crew wasn't even present so no work could be performed until the inspector came back to sign off on the excavation work. My neighbor and I did not appreciate the crew pitching half the rocks unto my neighbors property. The actual building process takes only a few days as it is quantity and not a quality job. I have sent emails.photos and had to explain my concerns, as a live person representing the company is non existent. All the lumber and materials are set to make the job as fast as possible with no consideration for what will be done afterwards and it the afterwards that I based my decision on with ssa.It took considerable time and effort to have most of the problems dealt with and not all have been addressed 2 months later. I have built enough buildings including a house to know sub standard work . ssa has project managers but no quality assurance people that I am aware of. I have numerous photos of all the concerns. The building did not even pass the final county inspection for minimal requirements on the 1st attempt. I now have a new regional supervisor, only identified as cj in yakima calling and threatning for non payment. It appears they have time to harrass but not time to check on the work. 85% of the bill has been paid immediately on request. I have spent $1000 to get to the point where I can sheetrock the inside.

Desired Settlement: As I requested in a previous email to the project manager 1) a list of all building materials delivered for the project 2) a copy of materials deliverd from the concrete and gravel company 3) rental agreement from company jack hammers were rented from and time associated with workers 4) finish last few items

Business Response: To the BBB: It is unfortunate that Mr. ***** decided to make a BBB complaint approximately 45 days after Steel Structures sent their final invoice only after SSA had to start the official lien process due to not receiving payment. We attempted to call, email, and communicate with Mr. ***** and did not receive any response so were forced to proceed with the lien process. It appears that the BBB complaint was in part due to our increased effort to collect our final payment. After receiving the complaint we immediately contacted Mr. ***** and I personally met Mr. ***** at his building on 11-19-14. After inspecting the building and reviewing the contract I believe that Steel Structures completely fulfilled the contract. Mr. ***** also did acknowledge that there was not a framed in ceiling on the contract and that is why there was not one installed. It is important to note that the building also passed the final inspection from Yakima County. As per Mr. *****’s desired settlement I did send Mr. ***** an email on 11-24-14 regarding the items he requested and also confirmed that once we receive final payment if he had any warranty issues we would warranty his building as per our signed contract. ****** *********, President

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I did meet with Mr ********* on 11-19-14 at my residence and spent the next hour going over my concerns on the building including some not addressed in the complaint. I received none of the information that I had requested nor did Mr ********* take any notes of our conversation. The only reason for his appearance after 2 months is my statement that this will be going to small claims court as no representative has bothered to address my concerns except vaguely over the phone or emails. I can provide numerous photos, emails, payment receipts and phone records of my  attempts to have Steel Structures follow up. I have no idea what Mr ********* is referring to as I have received nothing in regards to a Lien our other court actions. They did pass the final inspection from Yakima County on the 2nd attempt showing their building met the minimum bare bone regulations but does not address my complaint as I was informed by the inspector from Yakima County. Unfortunately, Steel Structures stands behind their no fault contract and not quality nor customer service.


Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: Steel Structures is really at a loss on how to resolve this complaint. Mr. ***** bought a building and Steel Structures completed the building and we passed the final inspection and after reviewing the building it is a quality project and meets and/or exceeds industry standards. Steel Structures believes we did give Mr. ***** good service and a good product. We built and delivered what Mr. ***** ordered. He did ask for material lists and supplier invoices but these are all apart of the building the Mr. ***** ordered and we did not agree to provide these itemized costs as we agreed to supply a finished building and project. I thought our meeting on site went well and Mr. ***** did send in his building payment less a hard digging charge that was additional due poor ground conditions. SSA believes that the BBB complaint should be resolved at this point.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

SSA Has not addressed my initial complaint of bait and switch. From the 1st meeting with the salesman I made it perfectly clear that my goal was to get a building from SSA that is ready to insulate and sheetrock. I did not receive tis and have put in nearly $1000 of my money to make it so it is in a condition to insulate and sheetrock. I have 3 different quoye scenarios from the salesman on different add on features with non of them addressing putting in a framed ceiling to mount sheetrock and the reason none of these different quotes do not have a a ceiling add on is due to the fact I was not made aware of the fact there would not be a ceiling structure provided without added cost.

Regards,

******* *****

11/17/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Steel Structures America, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart