Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kucumber Skin Lounge LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 441-9300 Fax: (206) 441-4432 View Additional Phone Numbers 2001 1st Ave, Seattle, WA 98121 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.kucumberskinlounge.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Medical Spa Services. They use up to date lasers and equipment to perform 5 star services. Laser Hair Removal, Anti- Aging, Scarring, Acne, Cellulite, Body Contouring, Skin Tightening, Sun Damage, Veins, Hydrafacial, Tattoo Removal and Spa Corrective Facials.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kucumber Skin Lounge LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Kucumber Skin Lounge LLC include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Kucumber Skin Lounge LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kucumber Skin Lounge LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 13, 2013 Business started: 07/01/2010 in WA Business started locally: 07/01/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Shay Sim, Member Ms. Nadya Kozlova Mrs. Dimitra Walker, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Shay Sim, Member
Business Category

Skin Care Tattoos - Removed Day Spas Laser Therapy Laser Cosmetic Services Estheticians Hair Removal - Laser & Electrolysis Beauty Salons (NAICS: 812112)

Hours of Operation
Monday - Sunday 10:00am - 7:00pm
Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards. 0% interest financing available.
Refund and Exchange Policy
No refunds. In store credit applicable.

Additional Locations

  • 10708 Main St. Suite 310

    Bellevue, WA 98004

  • 2001 1st Ave

    Seattle, WA 98121 (360) 738-7197 (206) 441-9300

  • 436 W Bakerview Rd Ste 101

    Bellingham, WA 98226

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with Kucumber Skin Lounge to receive ********** filler injections to treat under eye circles/puffiness. This was the recommended treatment by the Treatment Consultant who handled my initial consultations. I contacted a dermatologist to make sure the treatment was safe before proceeding with it. Although the dermatologist told me ********** filler injections are generally safe, she surprised me by stating that I was not a suitable candidate for this treatment because of the anatomy of my face and because of my allergies. She stated, "********** fillers injected below the eyes when people have allergy or fluid accumulation can actually make the areas more puffy or increase the bags. The nature of ********** fillers is that they draw water to the material, being hydrophilic, and therefore the desired results can be altered or moved from the location of the injectable." I decided to seek a second medical opinion, from a plastic surgeon, who concurred that I was not a good candidate for filler injections (I could "expect less than a 30% temporary improvement, at best, without factoring in the complication of allergies"). I communicated to Kucumber Skin Lounge (in person, by phone and by email) that I was not willing to risk having filler injections after receiving the two independent opinions from physicians, both of whom are qualified to offer this service (a dermatologist and a plastic surgeon). The Seattle branch manager refused to refund my money ($1,300), and since then I have been communicating with the regional manager from the Bellingham branch. She also refused to issue me a refund, and continues to stall resolution of this matter by instructing me to schedule other types of services with the Seattle branch. I have not received any services for the $1,300 to date, and have made it clear to this business that I am not willing to risk the consequences of the injections, nor willing to substitute other services in my contract.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund of $1,300.00 from Kucumber Skin Lounge.

Business Response: We apologize if you feel our policies seem to be unreasonable. As a company we strive to help resolve all concerns. On October 2011 you became a customer. On May 13th of 2013 you made an additional purchase of  ifferent services we offer for cosmetic fillers and *****. A few months later our Seattle office received a call from you stating you did not want to continue with this purchase. You were made aware of our policies that we do not issues refunds however we will use your credit towards other services. All policies have been the same since your first purchase in October 2011. Another conversation takes place in August 2014, you wish to only speak with our regional manager to help put a package together. Our regional manager drove down to Seattle to consult with you. A package was established. One year passes until we hear from you again. Unfortunately we cannot accommodate your request for a full refund. We will however allow you to use your credit towards other services. After two years we would void all unused credit. We will make an exception if we can come to an agreement. Again I apologize if you feel that you were not taken care of. Our policies are available for your review. All your consent forms are signed as well as our policies that states our no refund policy. We value you as a customer and hope to reach a mutual agreement soon. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I do not accept Kucumber Skin Lounge's explanation.  It has not been my experience that Kucumber Skin Lounge has been striving to help resolve all my concerns.  They have chosen to ignore or deflect my most important concerns, particularly the medical risks of the treatment that they recommended for me.

1.  Medical risks.  Although the Kucumber Skin Lounge (KSL) Treatment Consultant, and later the KSL Seattle Spa Manager and the KSL Regional Director, all assured me ********** filler injections would be a safe and effective treatment for me, they neglected to go over the health risks associated with the treatment, before having me sign their contract.  For example, they did not involve their licensed medical staff (as indicated in their letter quoting treatment price).  Independently, I checked with a dermatologist that routinely practices the treatment, to make sure it was safe before proceeding (6/20/2013). Although the dermatologist, reassured me that ********** filler injections are generally safe, she surprised me by stating that I was not a suitable candidate for this treatment because of the anatomy of my face, and because of my allergies. She stated, through her RN, "********** fillers injected below the eyes when people have allergy or fluid accumulation can actually make the areas more puffy or increase the bags. The nature of ********** fillers is that they draw water to the material, being hydrophilic, and therefore the desired results can be altered or moved from the location of
the injectable." I decided to seek a second medical opinion, this one from a plastic surgeon, who also routinely administers ********** filler injections (3/10/2014, after being rescheduled a number of times).  During my office visit, he concluded that I could "expect less than a 30% temporary improvement, at best, without factoring in the complication of allergies".  After receiving two medical opinions concurring that I was not a good candidate for the treatment, I decided would not risk going ahead with ********** filler injections from KSL (I forwarded the medical opinions to the KSL Regional Director on 4/24/2014 and asked for a refund.  See Attachment 1).  At this point, I had already met with the KSL Seattle Spa Manager on 8/9/2013 to let KSL know that I would not be going ahead with the ********** filler injections because of the dermatologist’s opinion.  She did not have the authority to issue refunds, and referred me to the KSL Regional Director. 

2.  Did not disclose refund policy when medical reasons exist.  Although the KSL contract stated “the fees for this service are non-refundable”, it was not until my most recent phone conversation with the KSL Regional Director on 10/3/2015, that she admitted that KSL does in fact, provide refunds if there is a medical reason (at the beginning of our call, she was made aware that my husband was sitting in on our conversation, and thus was a witness to this statement).  Nonetheless, KSL ignored the medical opinions, beginning with the dermatologist’s statement which I presented to the KSL Seattle Spa Manager, in person, on 8/9/2013, and then both the dermatologist’s and plastic surgeon’s opinions, which were forwarded by email to the KSL Regional Director on 4/24/2014.  At no time did KSL inform me that the medical documentation that I provided as part of requesting a full refund, was inadequate, nor did they instruct me to provide alternative medical documentation
to meet their requirements for issuing a refund.

3.  Escalating cost (upsale) and pressured sales.  When I met with the KSL Seattle Spa Manager on 8/9/2013 to request a full refund because I had decided I would not risk having ********** filler injections in light of the medical risks to me, she surprised me by stating that she would not have recommended the ********** filler injections for me, but would instead have recommended a different treatment (a combination of Lux 1540 fractional layer resurfacing and Viora Reaction skin tightening).  Although this alternative treatment sounded promising, both she and the KSL Regional Manager (in later conversations) agreed the typical course required five combined treatments to achieve the desired effect.  This would cost at least $3,073 to $3,573 (a special discounted price offered in spring 2014).  This was 2 to 3 times the cost of the treatment covered by my contract.  The Regional Manger offered to provide a partial treatment for the $1,300, but was unwilling to discount the cost of the full treatment (see Attachment 2).  At this point, KSL is continuing to refuse to issue a refund, and instead is pushing the ********** filler injections (despite the medical risks to me), and/or a more expensive alternative treatment (at 2-3 times the cost of the original contract amount), and/or a partial treatment, which would not achieve the desired effect that was promised in the original contract.

4.  Misrepresenting record of communications.  KSL’s explanation to my formal complaint to BBB makes it sound as though we have had almost no contact over the last 2 years and 4 months.  This is simply not true.  After KSL denied my request for a refund (email exchange March-April 2014, attached, see Attachment 2), I sent a letter dated 4/28/2014 to KSL’s finance company ** ********** ****** requesting a dispute resolution, and copied the Regional Manager (letter and note, see Attachment 3).
This was the beginning of many communications,  at least 16 phone calls, mostly with the KSL Regional Manager (on 3/14, 3/15, 4/17, 4/23, 4/24, 6/3, 12/2, 12/5, 12/11 in 2014 and on 3/21, 3/22, 3/24, 6/2, 9/24, 10/3 so far in 2015), about the same number of emails (see Attachment 4,  which documents how the KSL Regional Manager put off my request for a meeting from May 7th until December 4th, 2014), and at least three office meetings including one with the KSL Seattle Spa Manager on 8/9/2013, one with the KSL Regional Manager (12/4/2014) and one to meet a treatment specialist (12/5/2014).  Most of the phone calls were initiated by me, and some of the discussions lasted 14 to 21 minutes (phone records available upon request).

New policy mentioned in KSL’s explanation:  2-year limit on unused credit.  KSL’s explanation says they “After two years we would void all unused credit”.  This is the first time I have been made aware of this policy.  Had it
been mentioned in the contract, I would not have signed it.  I understood from the KSL Treatment Consultant, that I would be given partial injections, and depending on how the treated area responded, it could take a couple of years to inject both syringes.

Loss of confidence in the business.  After submitting medical documentation and requesting a refund in numerous communications, KSL has refused to issue me a refund, ignored my concern about medical risks, continued to present ********** filler injections as a viable treatment for me, and offered me a much more expensive treatment as an alternative.  I do not feel safe receiving any treatments around the face and eyes from KSL, nor do I have confidence that KSL has their customers’ safety, best interests and customer satisfaction at heart.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the business' explanation.

Sincerely,
********* ***** 

Business Response: We extend our apology to Mrs. ***** for not being able to reach an amicable resolution at this time. After several years of exploring options to help Mrs. ***** and over a year of no communication from her we feel at this point to much time has passed to consider a refund. Several reasons have led us to this final decision. There were several conversations with Mrs. ***** that were understood by both parties that a refund was not an option but an in store credit was agreed upon based on several factors. Therefore we will have her credit available if she chooses to continue with the laser treatments she agreed upon. 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The business, Kucumber Skin Lounge (KSL), has consistently ignored my concerns, and is continuing to do this.  I signed a contract for a specific service, treatment the under eye area with ********** filler injections, which KSL assured me would be a safe and effective treatment for me.  However, they neglected to disclose the health risks associated with the treatment.  They also did not engage their licensed medical staff, as indicated in their advertising.  I have medical documentation stating this treatment is not safe for me.  Despite submitting the medical documentation, and requesting a refund on numerous occasions (meetings, emails and phone conversations):

-KSL continues to ignore the treatment’s medical risks to me (medical opinions from a dermatologist and a plastic surgeon both of whom regularly practice this treatment in their clinics),
-KSL continues to refuse to issue me a refund, even though KSL ******** ********, Ms. W*****, admitted on 10/3/2015, that KSL does in fact, provide refunds if there is a medical reason,
-KSL continues to present ********** filler injections as a viable treatment for me, despite the two medical opinions advising otherwise, and my frequently voiced misgivings about the treatment, and
-KSL continues to push a much more expensive treatment as an alternative to achieve the desired effect, which it is two to three times the cost of the treatment specified in the contract (********** filler injections). 

Given this experience, I do not feel safe receiving any treatments around the face and eyes from KSL, nor do I have confidence that KSL has their customers’ safety, best interests and customer satisfaction at heart.  I have also become increasingly alarmed by how this business insists that I must pay $1,300 for a service that I believe is not safe for me, even if it means forfeiting my money.

I understand that BBB is neutral reporting agency, and not an enforcement agency or an investigations agency.  BBB asks companies to address and respond to the issues raised in complaints from their customers, but cannot ask a company to change its policies, warranties or terms and conditions.  Thus, I understand that if I am continuing to seek assistance in this matter, my options are to file complaints with the local Attorney General’s Office – Consumer Protection Division, King County Small Claims Court and the Department of Licensing, all of which I am prepared to do.

Sincerely,

********* ***** 

6/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I schedule to have my teeth whitened at the Cucumber Skin Lounge in Seattle. The sent me paper work that I need to complete prior to my appointment which I completed. When I arrived at my appointment I was required to sign an arbitration agreement incase any medical procedures caused harm to my health. I asked why this information was not included in the previous paper work as I would to have scheduled and paid in advance for my appointment. This is not typical paper work required at clinics so I refused, requested my money be refunded and left. I have emailed and called numerous times with no response from Kucumber Skin Lounge.

Desired Settlement: Complete refund of my payment.

Business Response: There seems to have been some miscommunication as there was a change in management since the last time he contacted the clinic. The client was refunded. He said is satisfied and would contact BBB to update his claim. Thank you.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

3/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company sold me packages of services. During the service period they would tell me services were available under my contract. I would arrive in Seattle all the way from Portland, and three times they then told me that They had miscalculated and that I owed them more money before they would give me further services. The most recent time one if the owners. **** (spelling?) talked me into buying another package of services and that I would get two additional service sessions before I would need to make another payment. I gave her $1,600 and then came in for my next appointment. Upon arrival the office manager told me again that they gaphad miscalulated and tg Hat. I would hv Ave to pay $800 before getting my services that day. Since I came up from Portland, I gave her $800 and then decided to complain to the owner who had sold me the surviice. **** told me that they had been having issues having their service providers correctly track the services. It old her that I was tired of being mistreated (scammed) and that. I wanted a refund I'd my $1600 and my $800. She said that technically my treatment with the mist recent package had now started and tha t they don't provide refund ds then. I didn't agree with that and in addition they had more tha N enough money from another service package I had not used fully to cover it if I had used a treTment. She said they money can not be applied across services. She wants to keep all my money despite their book keeping issues and me being scammed by her office manager who. Had told me most recently that they were having an end of month sales co Mpegition which was why she insisted I pay the most recent $800 before getting treatment. I have been treated in a very unethical manner.

Desired Settlement: $2400 for services not delivered which would still leave money from another barely used service package, which I am willing to forgo just never to have to deal with this company again

Business Response: We have received the complaint and understand the patient's frustration. The company states all policies in writing. Nothing has or is being said that did not require a signature or initials at time of purchase. We appreciate all customer concerns/questions and try are best to accommodate each of them. We do feel that there has been some confusion and complaints that were not warranted. We hope to come to a resolution with our customer in the near future.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
no resolution has as yet occurred. One of the other owners, *****, has told me that she is working on it, and met with the other owner, ****, yesterday. I am waiting for ***** to call me back with a resolution.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did speak with one of the owners of Kucumber skin Lounge over the past week. They told me they let the problematic manager go and are working on more improvements. At this point I don't have confidence in the improvements as both of the owners are pregnant and about to deliver babies. I just want my money back and to go elsewhere for services.





Business Response: We left multiple messages for **** on her cell number trying to arrange for her treatments in Bellevue Clinic after our phone conversation.  Finally heard from the customer weeks after an email was sent to her on 12/18/14 stating she was busy with work and was unable to return my calls.  I spoke with customer and went in detail about her treatment plan and gave her options on how we can accomodate her treatments in both Seattle and Bellevue clinics with the Master Estheticians she liked.  I again explained our no refund policy based on her contract with Kucumber Skin Lounge but assured her we can meet her needs in terms of scheduling and staff requests.  Customer at that time stated she was happy with the follow up and with the options she had but she already submitted for a refund with her credit cards prior to returning my call.  I have notified **** we will be resubmitting documentation to the credit card company for reinstatement of funds, customer stated she wants to see what happens and will call us afterwards depending on the results.  **** did confirm she saw great results from the treatments she already received.   

We feel at this time we have done everything we can to accommodate and reason with the client with in our policy. 

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October of 2013, I purchased six laser tattoo removal treatments as a package from Kucumber Skin Lounge at their Seattle location. I was quoted $1986.00 for the package of six treatments, and approved for financing through **** **** credit services. *****, the sales manager, sold me my package and submitted my application for financing. My first complaint, is that at this time, ***** told me that the terms of my financing were "no interest" if I paid off the balance within a year. When my paperwork arrived from **** ***** I found out that the actual terms were DEFERRED interest - at a rate of over 25% - that would be lumped into any remaining balance owed by me if I had not paid off the account within a year. Whether this was a phrasing error on *****'s part, or intentional deception is irrelevant - either way this was irresponsible, unprofessional, and completely unacceptable. People responsible for selling financing MUST understand and correctly articulate the terms of financing agreements to customers. My first three treatments were painful but tolerable, and I got through them without needing breaks. The tattoo that I am having removed occupies approximately 2/3 of my forearm and consists of black and red ink. After each of the first three treatments I experienced minimal to no blistering of the treated area - that is, at most I saw around ten very small blisters (ranging in size from approximately 1mm - 4mm in diameter). On May 5 I went in for my fourth treatment. I was following all directions and precautions in exactly the same manner as I had for the first three treatments. This time, however, as soon as the laser tech (who was also the same as previous treatments) began treating my tattoo, the pain was significantly worse. After only a minute or two, I needed a break. I told her that the pain was exponentially worse, and she asked me if I was on my period. I said no, I was not, which was correct. She checked my chart and said she had not turned up the laser settings and was unsure why the pain would be worse. When she began treating my tattoo again, the pain was still almost unbearable. I communicated this and she did not investigate the matter further. She moved along into the crease of my elbow, where there are a couple of very saturated areas of ink, and suddenly the laser made a snapping sound so loud that both myself AND the tech jerked back, startled. She was clearly as startled as I was, which made me extremely nervous. The very loud snapping sound was accompanied by a severe jolt of pain in the area, which caused me to begin to cry quite hard. I have spent upwards of four hours at a time under tattoo machines without anesthesia, I have been tattooed in sensitive areas of my body, and I have undergone oral surgery with only local anesthesia and under all of these circumstances - I have not been in enough pain to elicit tears. This pain was intense. She asked if I needed a break and I said I did. I cried openly for a few minutes and then told her she could start again but asked that she please move to a different part of the tattoo, because that area still was throbbing. The rest of the session was much more painful than usual, and I cried the entire time and needed several more small breaks to get through it. Throughout the session, the tech did not do any additional investigation of the laser machine or ask me any more questions about anything that could be different this time. I was bandaged up and sent on my way. The next day I was horrified to unwrap my dressing in order to change it as directed and find that I had ENORMOUS blisters on my forearm. The two largest covered a square inch and two square inches, respectively, and were raised up 1/2 inch in height, filled with a translucent green fluid. The pain was much worse than it had been after previous treatments. After several days of thorough at-home care, the blisters resolved without infection or scaring, but I was so alarmed at receiving what was clearly a severe and unusual injury that I did not contact Kucumber at that time - for what I feel should be fairly obvious reasons at this point to anyone reading this statement, I did not feel that they were trustworthy sources of information regarding the causes or consequences of this incident. I have pictures of the blistering which I will attach to this complaint if able, or am able to provide via e-mail upon request. At the beginning of the fourth treatment I also pointed out to the tech that the red ink had not faded at all, as it had not been treated any differently from the black ink, which I knew was not the standard practice of the industry. She got very defensive and insisted that the red had lightened. I pointed out that the black ink around the red areas had lightened, which had reduced the contrast and made the red ink appear lighter, and that when compared to a small area of the tattoo which I had decided to not have treated were exactly the same intensity. She remained defensive and brushed this off. Over the past week I have seen two different laser technicians at two different clinics for consultations, because I have decided that I do not trust Kucumber's competence to finish removing my tattoo. Both have told me - upon being shown pictures of my blisters - that what happened to me is not at all a normal reaction and is much more severe than anything that they have personally witnessed. One laser tech whom I have consulted with and decided to hire to finish my tattoo removal is a medical assistant in addition to an esthetician. She has over 15 years experience in the field and is a certified laser safety officer who trains other technicians. Her opinion was that the extreme blistering could be due to many factors, from a dirty lens on the laser to improper calibration to the laser tech holding the laser a different distance from my arm - but that all of those factors were within the control of the tech, and not in my control. She also pointed out, with no prompting or information from me, that the top half of m tattoo has lightened much more than the bottom half, and in her many years of experience and training of laser techs this is typically a sign that the treatment has been rushed by the tech towards the end of the session. I found this an uncanny assessment, because the lighter portion of the tattoo is the half that the laser tech at Kucumber ALWAYS treats first, and the darker half is the half that she ALWAYS treats last, and I had NOT told this tech with whom I was consulting this information. She explained that the tech will sometimes rush towards the end, either because they are impatient, in a hurry, or simply begin to feel nervous or guilty because the customer is in pain. She also said that this can happen if the laser tech does not take breaks during the session to clean the lens of the laser, which becomes dirty with vaporized particulates during the course of a treatment session. The laser tech at Kucumber never took the time to wipe the lens during the treatment, to my knowledge. Finally, she explained that red ink and black ink require opposite spectrums of laser settings to remove, and that anyone trained properly should know that making a single pass over a red and black tattoo with a laser set for black ink will not remove the red ink.

Desired Settlement: I am confident that I have presented significant evidence that I have received unacceptably inferior service by Kucumber Skin Lounge, and I expect that I will be refunded for the two remaining treatment sessions in the package of six total sessions that I purchased - these two sessions total $662.00 ($1986.00 / 6 sessions = $331.00/session). I also expect to be refunded for the session that left me with severe burns, which would be an additional $331.00, bringing the total refund amount to $993.00. No less than $993.00 refunded to me will be considered acceptable. The refund is to be issued directly into my checking account OR to my debit card: I WILL NOT accept a refund towards my ********* financing which was used to purchase the treatment package, because I have paid that account off completely and closed it. I also WILL NOT accept this refund as a credit for other services at Kucumber, because I do not feel safe or comfortable receiving any additional services from this business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2014/09/02) */ On the behalf of Kucumber Skin Lounge we apologize for the concerning experience described in your complaint. It is never our intention to mislead or make any customer feel as if you cannot trust your providers or any staff member. We take pride in the training that our providers deliver which is required not only by the state but as a company we put them through additional training to meet our standards. Our only focus is to deliver successful results with realistic expectations. On the manager's behalf she does believe that there might of been some misunderstanding if you left with any misinformed information of the program. We do offer a deferred 12 month interest free program. Every customer signs their application and charge slips prior to completing the transaction that discloses details of the financial program to avoid any confusion. Tattoo removal is one of the most discomforting treatments that we offer. We disclose all information on our pre and post treatment forms. We are very upfront with risks and complications that occur with tattoo removal. We try our best to make every customer comfortable with this treatment with the options of icing, numbing cream and numbing injections. Blisters can occur, all though we try to avoid it, it is common. There are many variations of lasers that can safely remove tattoo's. All variations have different set protocols. Each patient is treated specifically to their needs. As we appreciate all advice or speculation it is premature for any medical provider to assume such speculation if they are not trained or certified on this equipment. We operate the Spectra Q-Switch YAG. It is one of the most efficient lasers on the market that can effectively and safely treat multi color tattoos. This laser offers many wave lengths for specific colors however to treat each patient safely it is per protocol that we follow settings that are safe and set before moving to various wavelengths. We are available everyday to educate our customers when they have questions or concerns. We understand your concern and why you chose not to call us however if you did we believe this would of avoided all confusion or at least help with any concern. Our medical providers range from medical esthetician's, registered nurses and physicians. All of our medical staff comes with extensive medical spa backgrounds. We hope that this can clear some confusion on our part. We apologize again and hope that all of our customers see that our intentions are to hear and be available for each of them. We are a local company and take pride on being a well respected medical spa. We will be in contact to discuss your desired resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 23, 2014/09/11) */ Complaint has been resolved satisfactorily & requested refund has been received.

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tattoo Removal: Company has caused damage to my skin as I have not been treated correctly. I have been treated multiple times (where typically a drastic result should be noticed) with little to no result apparent I have skin damage on my back, the skin is flaky, itchy, raised and painful to touch. It was only after 20+ treatments where the business realized they were using an incorrect treamtment and then commenced to change the laser level to get some kind of result. I would like a full refund of over $1200, have discussed my concerns with multiple employees yet have heard nothing. I wish to no longer continue any treatments with this company.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $1200

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/14) */ Removing tattoo's are not a guarantee. No business can guarantee removing tattoo's due to the ink used in tattoo parlors are not regulated by the FDA. All consents are given before the treatment and discloses risks involved with the tattoo removal process. Any inflammation and edema will eventually subside. When treating different tattoo's we have to follow guidelines before we can move to the next step. It is a lengthy process however successful. We treat all customers with care and great concern. We go above and beyond for our customers to ensure there satisfaction. We are always available to answer any questions or concerns. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/11/14) */ I would like to withdraw this complaint as the issue has been resolved between me and the business.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kucumber Skin Lounge LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)