This business is not BBB accredited.

Outsidepride.com Inc

Phone: (503) 606-0175 Fax: (503) 606-0659 View Additional Phone Numbers 915 N Main St, Independence, OR 97351 http://www.outsidepride.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers online sales of products for lawns, gardens, and golf greens such as grass seed, fertilizer, soil amendments, animal repellents, soil testers, broadcast spreaders, and many other seeds and accessories including landscaping supplies.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Outsidepride.com Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Outsidepride.com Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2003 Business started: 08/01/2000 Business started locally: 08/01/2000 Business incorporated 12/04/2002 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Troy Hake, President Mr. Brian Hake, Manager Ms. Bridgit Hake, Corporate Secretary
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Brian Hake, Manager
Principal: Mr. Troy Hake, President
Business Category

Seeds & Bulbs - Retail Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies

Service Area
United States.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Outsidepride.com Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    915 N Main St

    Independence, OR 97351 (503) 606-0175 (800) 670-4192

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered Irish Moss seeds + special fertilizer & planting dispenser to properly scatter seeds. NEVER GERMINATED. The Irish Moss seeds NEVER EVEN GERMINATED. -- Called Outsidepride and was told that 6 weeks was too short a timeframe for germination and to wait 8 weeks. -- Called company after 8 weeks and was told that they were federally "protected" against refunds for disputes as the complaint was made after 8 weeks. -- Foolishly began researching company (after having been burned) and found nothing but terrible reviews. -- Wrote company an email detailing all of the above. -- The garden and my home is in Lexington, VA while the company is located in Independence, Oregon -- the entire continental US away! -- Received the following email from company: ... all of our seeds meet or exceed 70% germination, and we have sold thousands of packets of this same batch of seeds. So there’s nothing wrong with the seeds. ... Looking at your weather during the last few days of May and into the first couple of weeks of June it looks like you got a considerable amount of rain (I don’t know when you would have needed to water, except for the 10thand 11th of June). One heavy rain and it could have either moved the seeds, which would tear out any tiny root that had begun to dig in or if it was a deluge of rain, it could have washed away the seeds...but it is not our policy to replace seeds or give refunds for seeds we know are good, and have been inhibited by weather. -- How exactly does she know that my seeds were "inhibited" by weather a continent away? -- She knows nothing of the garden protected on 3 sides by buildings against such storms -- She dismisses the soaker hose intervention used to prevent the reported reason for the failure to germinate.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund to the credit card that the purchase was charged on. I had NO idea that this company's reputation is so poor per the BBB and Google.

Business Response: Sorry for your problem, but there is nothing wrong with our seed.  If planted correctly, it germinates.  It is as simple as that.  We have planted it dozens of times ourselves and we sell seed to nurseries all over the U.S.  Zero complaints from a nursery in 15 years since they know who to properly plant seed.  Even in your above complaint you state, "special fertilizer."  Where in our directions do we say to use any type of fertilizer.  You can't use fertilizer when planting Irish Moss seed.  It has way too much nitrogen and will just burn the seed.  Planting any seed that has 80,000 seeds per gram is risky planting outdoors.  One hard wind can blow the seed away.  Are we responsible for the wind blowing the seed away?  Are we responsible for you putting down fertilizer?  Are we responsible for one hard rain shower washing the seed away?  Of course not.  That is why our warranty is clear, "We cannot guarantee establishment of seed due to various factors over which we have no control. Many seeds are very tiny and a hard rainfall, planting too deep, soil pH, not keeping the seed moist, cold temperatures, and other environmental factors may hinder success. This is why we do not guarantee the germination of seed."  In fact, we even take it a step further in our instructions and state, "Instructions For Seeds Sold In Packets - Outdoors: You may sow seeds directly outdoors; however, this must be done with caution if planting the seeds sold in packets. These seeds are very tiny and a hard rainfall, planting too deep, soil pH, not keeping the seed moist, and other environmental factors may hinder success."  We also state, "The best method for planting any seed sold in packets by seed count (Ie. Irish Moss – 5,000 Seeds) is to start the seed indoors for transplanting..."  We state in several spots the seed is best planted indoors, we state we don't warranty the germination of seed due to various factors; however, you go ahead and plant outdoors at your own risk but then expect a refund?  I really don't understand.

Your statement of nothing but terrible reviews is frankly just a lie.  We have a 99% approval rating on ****** right now with over 10,000 reviews.  We process about 100,000 orders a year and out of that many orders we get 1 or 2 BBB complaints out of 100,000 orders!  You can't do any better than that.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

#1  Outsidepride.com responded "Even in your above complaint you state, "special fertilizer."  Where in our directions do we say to use any type of fertilizer.  You can't use fertilizer when planting Irish Moss seed.  It has way too much nitrogen and will just burn the seed."  

Yet, right in their website (http://www.outsidepride.com/seed/ground-cover-seed/irish-moss-groundcover-seed.html), they recommend using Shaker Seed Bottle with Special Matrix with the following description: "Shake 'n Seed - We are now offering shaker bottles filled with our seed starting matrix: rich soil, gardening sand, water absorbing crystals, and starter fertilizer. This not only helps dispense your seed, but it gets it off to a great start! Simply remove lid from shaker bottle, add seed from packet, put back on lid, shake the bottle vigorously for 15 seconds, and then shake your way to beautiful new plants! Use Shake 'n Seed over good quality soil, and then gently water to keep seed moist until it sprouts. Great for ground covers or mass planting flower seeds." 

Don't make fun of my comments until you read your own copy from your own website. Yes, I did use a "special fertilizer." One, in fact, that you highly recommended and sold as such. 

#2  Outsidepride.com responded "Planting any seed that has 80,000 seeds per gram is risky planting outdoors.  One hard wind can blow the seed away.  Are we responsible for the wind blowing the seed away?" 

Yet, in the product description and planting directions on the website, the following information is provided WITHOUT any warnings that doing so is "risky." Again, I quote from the company website, "Irish Moss seeds can be direct sown into the garden or in-between stones." WHAT? No warning of risk? 

And where the **** did that tornado they refer to in the response come from? They respond, "One hard wind can blow the seed away.  Are we responsible for the wind blowing the seed away?" Seriously, this respondent's disregard for reality is one of the reasons I'm fighting so hard for this claim: they absolutely make things up. WHAT HARD WIND? Had they read ANY of the documentation I provide to them, they would be aware that this rectangular garden is enclosed on 3 sides by buildings. The single "open side" is 10' wide and is planted with 12 - 18' ornamental spruce trees and 8' mature butterfly bushes for privacy and protection. 

#3 The company responded, "Are we responsible for you putting down fertilizer?"

Well, YES, because you sold it to me as indicated on the following address on the company's own webpage: http://www.outsidepride.com/seed/ground-cover-seed/irish-moss-groundcover-seed.html

#4 The company responded, "Are we responsible for one hard rain shower washing the seed away?  Of course not."

Again, had the company read any of my original information, they would be aware that the fact that the garden is surrounded on three sides by housing and that rain rarely comes from the open end of the garden, the "shade" garden remains inordinately dry even with surrounding rain. For this reason, a 100' soaker hose was installed beneath the mulch at the beginning of the spring to ensure that the area would receive adequate moisture. There is no place for the seed to "wash away" based upon the garden's location.

Further, just how in the **** does a company on the other side of the continental US decide that there was, indeed, "one hard shower" in Virginia from their location in Oregon. Yes, I know all about the internet, but I also know that when I travel for business and call the house sitter to remind him to close the windows because of an impending storm, 99% of the time he reports sunny skies and no sign of rain at all -- regardless of what my smartphone app, the Weather Channel and the NOAA App predict.

#5 The company responded, "Your statement of nothing but terrible reviews is frankly just a lie."

Frankly, no it is not. Your statement of a 99% approval rating on ****** AND a successful BBB record are undocumented statements for which you provide absolutely zero documentation. On the other hand, here are the negative reviews on your company that I found after just 15 minutes of looking online:

A) From ****** ****** website (*********************************************** they noted the following: Feedback History and Summary  33 positives, 15 neutrals, 29 negatives. Thus, your neutral and negative reports far outweigh your positive reports. Among the negative reports are quotes from customers who've been treated almost exactly as I have. The BBB Investigator is invited to read the negative reviews further as they are quite enlightening. 

-- "I purchased China Aster Seeds in 2014 and I had great germination success. The following year (2015) I bought more seeds but NO seeds germinated and the seeds from 2014 had poor results. I contacted Outside Pride and got a response basically interrogating me about how the seeds were started. I have been gardening for more than 30 years, I am a Master Gardener and I have a small greenhouse business and also a vendor at our local Farmers' Market. Frankly, I know what I'm doing but the huge number of questions asked by Outside Pride made it sound like I didn't know what I was doing. After I was responded about how I started the plants I have not heard anything back from them. It's not the money but the reliability of a company's products that bothers me and lack of getting back to me for an explanation. Apparently the sides were old and not viable, especially the 2015 seeds"

-- "Customer NO service. Let me explain that when calling the number listed for Outsidepride, it appears to be ONLY an ANSWERING ORDER SERVICE (who can only TAKE ORDERS or SEND EMAILS in regards to orders) even during normal business hours. THREE times I have called to resolve this and I'm told some one will be in touch via email. I requested to speak with some one from this company and was told I could not. I CANNOT GET ANY ONE ON THE PHONE but and ANSWERING SERVICE to help me, nor have I received any email. It has been two days (48 hours) since I first called and I have yet to get a response. June 20th I placed an order. On June 22 received email seeds had shipped. On Wed June 22 I received seeds other than what I ordered. The invoice included confirmed I had ordered correctly. I immediately called the listed number only to have an ANSWERING SERVICE operator tell me she would let the company know and that I would receive an email, as, that is the way Outsidepride communicates. I should have already received a replacement for what I ordered. If they mailed the correct seeds today it would be too late. I see a copy of this will be sent to the company. Perhaps this is the best way to get a response. Good bye, Outsidepride."

-- "I concur with ******** and had a similar, horrible experience with their customer service. I am currently looking to purchase some sedum and succulent seeds. The have a wide selection however my previous experience made me hesitant. Reading ********** review reminded me of my experience and why 1 have stayed away thus far.

They proudly advertise a high (70%) germination and that they stand by their product. However, when you contact them with an issue it is naturally your fault and you have not idea what you are doing.

I ordered similar 2 varieties of sedums, planted them following their recommendations under the same conditions. One set of seeds germinated nicely while the other had <10% germination. When presented them with these facts, of course I am the idiot. I am no expert gardener and never claimed to be one. However, I am a scientist and when you have 2 groups with very similar characteristics under the same conditions you expect them to behave the same.

Save yourself some agony and find another supplier."

-- "The emails sum it up, read for yourself and you be the judge.

Me: The Crimson Clover Seed - 2 LBS Inoculated you sent me was the wrong item. The packaging must have been labeled wrong because it said Crimson Clover on it. I planted it and something else grew. It's some kind of creeping vine and has taken over my yard. I attached a picture of it. The White Dutch Clover you sent me was perfect and is doing very well. I don't want to leave a bad review, how can we settle this?

Outsidepride: Our crimson clover has 16 reviews rating it at 4 1/2 stars.  You can't get any better than that.  Not to mention of our web site we sell about another 10,000 lbs a year.  Not one single complaint.  It is impossible to ship the wrong seed.  What is growing there is just a weed from your soil.

Me: Either way, I gave it months with regular watering and the Crimson Clover never sprouted. If you won't stand by your product then I won't be doing business with you again, and I'll make sure others know why.

Outsidepride: Months with regular watering?  Crimson clove sprouts in about 5 days.  It is pretty obvious you had no idea what you were doing.  That is about the easiest seed in the world to sprout.  Stand behind our product??  There is nothing wrong with our product!  Look at the label and see the germination rate not to mention the fact we have had 2,421 orders of it this year and not one single complaint.  Try being logical.  Out of the 16 reviews, there is not a single one that is a 1 star or a 2 star review.  Even the 3 star review only complained because it was larger than they thought or the wildlife kept eating it all down.  There is not one single review out of the 16 posted complaining about germination.  What does that tell you?  Was the seed bad, of course not.

Me: Since it didn't sprout within several months, then it must not have sprouted within 5 days, either. Obviously it is something wrong with your product

Outsidepride: Actually I tutored statistics all through college.  What was obvious if you are sitting there waiting for it to sprout 2 months later than you have no idea what you are doing.  Obviously wrong with the seed?  Are you kidding me?  I saw the photo of that mess you called a planting.  It is also obvious there were herbicides used there?  Gee, I wonder if the herbicides could have anything to do with the seed not sprouting.  Gee, I wonder why out of 2,421 orders I am the only one who is complaining about sprouting?  Gee, I wonder why out of the 16 reviews posted on ******, there is not a single one complaining about seed germination?  Gee, I wonder why even the most recent reviews posted just last month, whose seed all came from the exact same lot gave it 5 stars?  You are obviously a liberal to be so illogical.

Me: I really don't know what being a liberal has to do with this, but I am, as a matter of fact, a veteran of the United States Air Force and a conservative. The fact that you brought politics into a debate over germination times is beyond me. You'll grasp at anything and everything to keep from taking accountability. Your behavior is absolutely appalling.

The emails went on in this manner, but I don’t have enough room to include them all.

This person believes that Outsidepride is infallible, and that there is no such thing as human error. Their biggest argument was that they had “perfect” reviews and that “no one else” had ever complained before. But after looking around at other reviews, I found that it had been a common problem among other customers as well.

The fact of the matter is, that if it’s inoculated seed you really can’t tell what seed is inside unless you wash it off. The so called "weed" that this person claimed was growing in my yard is in fact called Partridge Pea. It's indigenous to Connecticut. This person should know that since it is something sold on Outsidepride.com. The fact that this person called it a weed goes to show that they know nothing about their own product."

So simply based on principle, don’t give these people your business."

B) From ******, a review that I didn't even look up, it just appeared when I was trying to find the company website (https************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** The customer cites the following complaint -- is this beginning to sound familiar? "***** ***** 3 weeks ago-Bought some grass seed that would grow in my zone as stated by Outside Pride ad and confirmed by *** thru email. I had mentioned that the big market local stores sell seed that only germinates about 75-85% percent and grows very poor and I was looking for shade grass that will look great. *** told me that the Combat Extreme grass will grow great in shade and in my zone! Area was prepared by tilling, adding starter fertilizer and lime to dirt."

C) Finally, from the well-known and respected ******* site (http://*******************************************************) comes just ONE of the chilling feedback notes: "******** **_****** ) I know this thread is old, but after someone on another forum mentioned this company and I did a little checking, I felt a warning to possible future customers might be a good idea. Beware of Outsidepride.com! After looking at their reviews on the other well-known gardening site, it's pretty clear that this nursery has major customer service problems, frequent lack-of-quality concerns, a propensity to send hate-mail/SPAM to their customers, and a complete lack of honesty. In fact, they were caught adding multiple fake positive reviews to their own Garden Watchdog page. This company is BAD NEWS!" Again, I STRONGLY encourage the BBB investigator to read more of the ***** professional reviews -- many from landscapers and master gardeners. 


Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this poorly-run company's fairy tales.

Sincerely,

***** ***

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The emails sum it up, read for yourself and you be the judge. Me: The Crimson Clover Seed - 2 LBS Inoculated you sent me was the wrong item. The packaging must have been labeled wrong because it said Crimson Clover on it. I planted it and something else grew. It's some kind of creeping vine and has taken over my yard. I attached a picture of it. The White Dutch Clover you sent me was perfect and is doing very well. I don't want to leave a bad review, how can we settle this? Outsidepride: Our crimson clover has 16 reviews rating it at 4 1/2 stars. You can't get any better than that. Not to mention of our web site we sell about another 10,000 lbs a year. Not one single complaint. It is impossible to ship the wrong seed. What is growing there is just a weed from your soil. Me: Either way, I gave it months with regular watering and the Crimson Clover never sprouted. If you won't stand by your product then I won't be doing business with you again, and I'll make sure others know why. Outsidepride: Months with regular watering? Crimson clove sprouts in about 5 days. It is pretty obvious you had no idea what you were doing. That is about the easiest seed in the world to sprout. Stand behind our product?? There is nothing wrong with our product! Look at the label and see the germination rate not to mention the fact we have had 2,421 orders of it this year and not one single complaint. Try being logical. Out of the 16 reviews, there is not a single one that is a 1 star or a 2 star review. Even the 3 star review only complained because it was larger than they thought or the wildlife kept eating it all down. There is not one single review out of the 16 posted complaining about germination. What does that tell you? Was the seed bad, of course not. Me: Since it didn't sprout within several months, then it must not have sprouted within 5 days, either. Is your math that bad? Obviously it is something wrong with your product Outsidepride: Actually I tutored statistics all through college. What was obvious if you are sitting there waiting for it to sprout 2 months later than you have no idea what you are doing. Obviously wrong with the seed? Are you kidding me? I saw the photo of that mess you called a planting. It is also obvious there were herbicides used there? Gee, I wonder if the herbicides could have anything to do with the seed not sprouting. Gee, I wonder why out of 2,421 orders I am the only one who is complaining about sprouting? Gee, I wonder why out of the 16 reviews posted on ******, there is not a single one complaining about seed germination? Gee, I wonder why even the most recent reviews posted just last month, whose seed all came from the exact same lot gave it 5 stars? You are obviously a liberal to be so illogical. Me: I really don't know what being a liberal has to do with this, but I am, as a matter of fact, a veteran of the United States Air Force and a conservative. The fact that you brought politics into a debate over germination times is beyond me. You'll grasp at anything and everything to keep from taking accountability. Your behavior is absolutely appalling. The emails went on in this manner, but I don't have enough room to include them all. This person believes that Outsidepride is infallible, and that there is no such thing as human error. Their biggest argument was that they had "perfect" reviews and that "no one else" had ever complained before. But after looking around at other reviews, I found that it had been a common problem among other customers as well. The fact of the matter is, that if it's inoculated seed you really can't tell what seed is inside unless you wash it off. The so called "weed" that this person claimed was growing out of my yard is in fact called Partridge Pea. It's indigenous to Connecticut. This person should know that since it is something sold on Outsidepride.com. The fact that this person called it a weed goes to show that they know nothing about their own product. So simply based on principle, don't give these people your business. **EDIT** Today after posting my review I received an email from the "president" of the company: I just thought you should know we had record sales of clover last year and especially crimson. Already this year, sales are up another 50%! It is amazing how by shipping incorrect seeds, our sales continue to grow with virtually no marketing whatsoever. I guess we are the luckiest company in the world! I have no idea why farms, ranches and homeowners keep telling their neighbors about us when we keep shipping them the wrong seed? Can you answer that question? I also would like to educate you on the definition of a weed since you clearly do not know what a weed is. The definition of a weed is, "plant that is not valued where it is growing and is usually of vigorous growth" which clearly illustrates partridge pea growing where crimson clover is supposed to be growing. One last thing, partridge pea sea is not coated or inoculated and is black and not enough close to the same size as crimson clover seed. They don't look anything alike. Even though we run a 99% approval rating, it always amazes me how ignorant that 1 out of 100 can be. You are so clueless about seeds and the packaging process, yet you will spout off like you know what you are talking about. It is IMPOSSIBLE to ship partridge pea seed instead of clover seed. I suggest you find a hobby or something. Thanks, **** **** President Outsidepride

Desired Settlement: Revise your company ethics. No customer should ever be treated this way.

Business Response: I am not wasting time on this complaint.  This person is posting reviews all over the internet and on ****** products from our company she has not even purchased.  She is a liar and completely dishonest.

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased grass seed from them. I sowed it and followed all the directions. We have had good weather for grass growing. I took a photo of the area for their customer service representative named ***** showing not one single blade coming up. They refuse to refund my money or replace the seed. The seed was very expensive. Such poor customer service they have especially for a failing product. I planted this seed about two weeks ago- still nothing. ********* ********

Desired Settlement: I have tried to settle an issue with them but have not had any satisfaction.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/06) */ Yukon is certified seed. That means not only does an independent lab certify the seed, the state does as well for purity and germination. The germination of Yukon is 85% according to the independent labs and the state of Arizona. We sell thousands of pounds of Yukon all in small packages; therefore, it is hundreds of orders without any complaints. If planted correctly, the seed germinates although it may not sprout within 2 weeks. This is not common Bermuda, specialized Bermuda grasses such as Yukon, Princess 77, and Riviera all take twice as long to sprout as common Bermuda. It can easily take 2 - 3 weeks to sprout if planted perfectly and watered so the seed does not dry out. If you buried the seed, have not kept the seed consistently moist, etc. it could take even longer to sprout.

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased almost $400 of wildseed , none of the seeds germinated after following the company directions and using my over 40 years of experience in planting seeds and other plants , etc.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/08) */ I will address the issue of your complaint directly. First, you did not purchase $400 or wildflower seed. You made an initial purchase of $100 of our seed. Then you came back about 2 1/2 weeks later and bought another $200 of this seed that you now claim to not get a single sprout from. Therefore, the total amount was $300, not $400 in two separate orders 2 1/2 weeks apart. Second, in your emails to us you claimed, you watered the seed for one month every day, then you state you watered for two more months without a single sprout. However, you claim you did not even plant the seed until May 3rd. There seems to be another mistake here since you the total time frame is only two months, not three months. Third, you bought enough seed for 1 acre of ground, yet you claim you carefully planted the seed and lightly raked in the seed, covered the seed with peat moss to the soil and watered this area every day. For us to proceed further, we are going to need to see the irrigation system you have on this 1 acre plot of land and the soil preparation in which you claimed to hand rake the seed in to the soil over this 1 acre plot of land. The deer proof mix is 14 different species. Each species is individually tested for germination before even being put in to a blend. The germination rate of each species is over 85% that is put in to the blend or it is not sold. I would need an explanation of how not one of 14 different species did not germinate if the seed was planted and watered correctly when the all have an 85% germination rate? Lastly, this exactly same mix has been sold to approximately 50 other customers this year from the same lot of seed. You are the only customer to complain out of the 49 other customers. Can you please explain how your match of seed is bad when nobody else's seed is bad when it was all packaged exactly at the same time? If you can provide answers to these questions and explain why the $100 disparity in what you claim you ordered as well as the disparity in your timeline regarding watering we may be able to proceed further. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My math was off as I did not purchase the seeds myself , my wife did , as the author of the complaint I estimated the $ amount spent - regardless ,the $300 investment was a complete waste of money , time and the additional expense of watering all for nothing. The business owner is assuming I am working with 1 acre of area, I never stated that was the case. The area in question - roughly 20,000 sq ft.- was supported by an underground sprinkler system installed by the builder of the house plus an additional manual system to cover every square inch, so , sufficient water was not the problem - in addition, I live in the North East where we receive significant rain to compared to most other regions, especially during the timeframe in question which is why I chose to plant then. The business owner likes to quote germination %'s and the success rate of other customers but the bottom line is that means nothing in this case as not one seed germinated. That fact alone is enough to see that something was wrong with the product , I have seen better success in just throwing seeds on an area and doing zero preparation. I normally would not bother if the product purchased showed some value or success , also , I am not an amateur at planting seeds , flowers , shrubs , etc. - I have owned various homes over my 50 plus years and have had much experience in taking the proper measures to guarantee that my investment in making these types of purchases is not wasted. Many nurseries that I deal with offer and honor refunds on products that do not perform under the proper care and directions - this situation falls into that category as I undeniably did what I was supposed to do to receive satisfaction with my purchase. I am asking to be treated fairly , I showed faith in your product by purchasing with no prior history of how good or bad the product is and likewise regarding treatment of customers, I now have history. My wife and I do alright for ourselves financially so the money is not the issue , the issue is a feeling of dissappointmnet and being taking advantage of which leaves me no choice in making sure others do not feel the same way. In addition to being local educators , I also serve as a local legislator in our county , I say this because I deal with many people who make similar purchases - I would love to tell them that your company is a good one to work with , I wish the outcome was different and that I was telling you how great the area looks with your product but it did not turn out that way. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/15) */ I am sorry for your disappointment; however, that has nothing to do with our seed. You have not explained at all many of these questions I have asked nor have your provided any pictures. 20,000 square feet is still 1/2 acre of ground which people do not, "lightly rake seed in to the soil, cover with peat moss, and then irrigate." You don't have to worry about other people being disappointed since as I stated you are the only one for the seed has not germinated for. Despite you statements, that clearly indicates it was not a seed problem and a planting problem or watering problem. If a batch of seed is bad, we would have dozens of complaints which has only happened one time in 14 years because we sell the hiqhest quality seed available. That is why we grow 20 - 30% a year with over 30,000 repeat customers a year. That is why we sell to over 30 different nurseries around the U.S. You entire request was for a refund, but when you complained about your order you specifically said, "I will now post as many negative reviews about the product, company and especially the customer service as possible . In addition , I will spend time with Consumer Reports and other third party organizations that protect consumers in cases like this , you keep my money but I guarantee it will cost you more than what I spent. I will use my corporate position at ******* to make sure you know I am following through on the above, look for my reviews and expect contact from Consumer Reports to confirm this situation as they will reach out to you." Finally, we are not a nursery and do not sell live plants. We sell seed. Seed companies that have orders for thousands of dollars of seed do not warranty seed germination because you have to rely on people's planting to get the seed to germinate. People plant too deep, people do not water, people over fertilize, people use pre-emergent herbicides when they plant, people do all kinds of crazy things when they plant seed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is clear the business has no intention of doing the right thing , I will now proceed with what I said and make this is as public as possible. This is the most negative experience I have ever had with purchasing products like this and I will try to warn as many people as possible not to do trust this company, they are the worst of the worst and as I said I will make every attempt to negatively impact there business. I thank the BBB for their part in trying to resolve this , please make sure my comments are available for the public to see.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Outsidepride.com Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart