This business is not BBB accredited.

1st American Alarms

Phone: (208) 357-8066 8097 Cutthroat, Victor, ID 83455 http://www.1stamericanalarms.com/ ! 1st American Alarms is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Complaint Information

1st American Alarms has a pattern of complaints of misleading sales practices, a failure to respond to customer complaints and misrepresenting their business as another entity.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 1st American Alarms
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 2011 Business started: 10/18/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licensing
700 West State Street, Boise ID 83702
https://ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/
Phone Number: (208) 334-3233
Fax Number: (208) 334-3945
ibol@ibol.idaho.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Joel Jenkins, member
Business Category

Security Systems Consultants Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Jenkins Enterprises, LLC Jenksco

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8097 Cutthroat

    Victor, ID 83455 (208) 357-8066

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company deducted $99 dollars from my account in August or Sep 2013. They told me it was a computer error. Have called numerous of times to check on my refund. Told me in the mail, 2 weeks, should be there. No Refund. I would like my money back.My address at the time was **** **** *** ****** ** *****

Desired Settlement: refund for the $99 dollars.

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2013, Joel Jenkins came to my home and asked about my ADT sign in my yard. He asked if I still had ADT and I told him I did and he said that he needed to update my sign to a lighted one from Protect America because they had just bought out ADT. He came in my home and took my monitor and put in a new one and said I was all set. He said through Protect America, my bill would drop down and to ignore my bills from ADT because they were no longer valid. After a couple of weeks, I got nervous and called ADT. They said what he told me was NOT correct and I still had a contract with them that I would need to pay or cancel (for a fee). They also told me that the monitor he took was mine that I paid $300 for and to get it back from him unless he plans to pay me for it. I called Joel and told him and he said that he would pay the cancellation fee and pay me $300 for my monitor. Then he dodged my calls for weeks. I had to use unlisted numbers and other people's phones just to get him to answer. And he'd always have an excuse as to why he couldn't come by and fix things but would repeatedly tell me that my check for the $283.98 cancellation and the $300 for my monitor was on the way from Texas and I should have it any day. It never came and never came. But I kept getting bills from Protect America that were way more than the $19 a month that he promised. When I asked him about that (after spending days trying to get him on the phone) he said that it was an error and he would pay the bills and pay out the rest of the $19/month until my contract with Protect America ran out in 12/2014 because of problems he had caused. He never came, no checks ever came. Finally in February, a man named **** came to my home on Joel's behalf and signed a piece of paper (attached) saying that I would be getting my $283.98 for the ADT cancellation, my $300 for my monitor and $19 a month to pay my monthly bill. But nothing ever happened. This past week, I finally told Joel that I'm going to file a complaint against him and he said not to because he was going to make sure I had my check by Tuesday, April 8th. I don't believe him. He's done nothing but deceive me since he first knocked at my door.

Desired Settlement: I want a check for $583.98 immediately. I want whatever I owe to Protect America to be paid by Joel or written off by the company. There was no contract and, even if there was, he lied to me to get it. That invalidates it completely. I want to be done with this man and this company once and for all.

2/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Home security monitoring contractor, 1st American Alarm, misused information provided for fraudulent account and debit card withdrawals and sold contract with false pretense. A Security monitoring agreement was forged and sold to a monitoring company Safe Home Security. A financing company, Time Payment Corp, was entrusted with payment collection without disclosing the details on the duration of the original agreement. On being found out, the contractor agreed to cancel all agreements in an attempt to get out of the agreement without disclosing the financial arrangements, which were not cancelled along with the monitoring agreement. The financing company is threatening to send for collection if the monthly payment is stopped. They demand full repayment of the amount they financed, even though they do not disclose the amount they financed. The consumer was ignorant of any financing arrangements until the contract was cancelled without disclosing the details on the financing 1st American Alarm received.

Desired Settlement: The desired settlement should free me of all contracts/subcontracts 1st American Alarms had made with other agencies or subsidiaries including Time Payment corp, who is demanding payment for a service which has been cancelled. The December 2013 payment was collected in spite of being served notice of cancellation of service. A refund of all extra payments collected from the time of cancellation of the original agreement is expected.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on 1st American Alarms
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)