Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Weatherguard Roofing Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 956-9566 Fax: (360) 943-6473 3929 Martin Way E Ste B, Olympia, WA 98506 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.weatherguardwa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing services, repairs, cleanings, leak repairs, skylights and solar tubes, flat roofs and mobile homes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Weatherguard Roofing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Weatherguard Roofing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Weatherguard Roofing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Bob Presley, Owner Ms. Kim Schoning, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Presley, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Kim Schoning, Office Manager
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Tile Roofing Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Contractor - Flat Roof Roof Decks Roof Structures


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Weatherguard Roofing Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3929 Martin Way E Ste B

    Olympia, WA 98506 (360) 956-9566

  • 6330 Homestead Ln NE

    Olympia, WA 98506

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We write this letter after years of struggling to get Weatherguard Roofing Inc to provide us with a product and a service that we paid for when we purchased our home in December of 2006. We, **** and **** ****** reside at **** ******* ***** *** Olympia WA. When we purchased our home we made sure that the warranty on the roof would transfer to us and were told the roof had many years of life left. We have had nothing but trouble. The first sign of trouble was when we spoke with *** and tried to get a copy of the warranty years ago. I don't believe his office ever got that to us. At least 4-5 times a year we have to call *** at Weatherguard. After several phone calls our call is finally returned. *** continuously fights the warranty and is extremely difficult to have a professional conversation with. After a vocal battle, someone eventually shows up to "fix" the leak. Fix is not the term I would use. We have water damage in every room in our home except one. Most of the 'fixed' areas are the same ones we have to call about repetitively. Even some of the crew that have come out to repair the roof have said the fixes wont work and is just a band-aid for a bigger issue. This is extremely concerning and frustrating, not to mention the fact that after all of these failed attempts to patch the problem, the probability that mold is abundant in our home is very high. Mold can form if moisture accumulates in a spot over a period of time. It can turn up virtually anywhere inside your house including wood, paper and carpet. We have a 4 year old that has tiny lungs trying to develop properly and my guess is, mold is not a benefit to his or anyone else's health. When confronted with our complaints *** gets upset and says "hey we always make it out eventually and fix it don't we." Well, no, not in our opinion. Nothing has been fixed. It's a constant battle and a worry. Its hard to fight the hinted fact that the roof was poorly done to begin with. *** is hoping that he can bully us into backing down and not pursuing what is legally owed to us by contract, not only by the original purchase of the roof but also the warranty that was then transferred to us. As our warranty is coming near the end (2015), *** is becoming even more tenacious in his avoidance of service. We don't want a patch that wont last through the next week. We don't deserve for the inside of our home to look like a wet paper sack. Weatherguard needs to do whats right.

Desired Settlement: We would like our roof fixed correctly and any damage to the inside of our home fixed as well. Also anything infested with mold from the poor quality roof to be replaced including the carpet.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/03) */ In response to the complaint made by **** ****** at **** ******* ***** SE, Olympia WA XXXXX. The roof on this home was replaced by Weatherguard Roofing, Inc. in August or September 2002. As of right now the roof is out of warranty, both product and workmanship. The home is constructed with a flat roof and a shake mansard roof with a built-in gutter system. The flat portion of the roof that Weatherguard replaced is granulated torchdown material which has a product life of 12 years. Weatherguard gave a 10 year workmanship warranty on the roof. The job was done for the previous homeowner, **** ********** and **** ****** purchased the home four years later. At the time Weatherguard did the roofing work, *** ********* opted not to have the shake mansard replaced to keep costs down. The shakes on the mansard are 40 years old and rotting. We were contacted by **** ****** because of leaks in the roof. Weatherguard has gone over on numerous occasions and fixed the roof on good faith, at no charge. More than half the times WG has been out, there was debris on the flat roof from the large maple trees overhead. The debris causes the rain water to stay on the roof and back up the built-in gutter system. The roof is out of warranty. A couple of weeks ago we did a temporary fix and went back and did a permanent fix. The roof is at the end of it's life and we feel we have gone above and beyond what our responsibilities are on this home. We don't understand why all of a sudden he has filed this complaint against Weatherguard. We have gone above and beyond, it's out of warranty, it's old and needs to be replaced in the near future. The shake roof is shot and getting behind the torchdown roof.

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Weatherguard Roofing Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart