Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Valentine Roofing Inc

Phone: (206) 575-7656 View Additional Phone Numbers 910 Industry Dr, Tukwila, WA 98188 http://www.valentineroof.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential roofing company. They perform entire roof replacements and roof repairs; as well as install new gutters and replace skylights. We are known for our clean job sites, organization, reliability and friendly service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Valentine Roofing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Valentine Roofing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Valentine Roofing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 10, 2009 Business started: 04/01/2008 Business started locally: 04/01/2008 Business incorporated 04/01/2008 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Connor Valentine, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Connor Valentine, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roofing Service Consultants


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Valentine Roofing Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 910 Industry Dr

    Tukwila, WA 98188 (206) 575-7656

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Valentine Roofing to replace my roof in June 2015. I contacted them in November 2015 to inform them that there is water damaged to my hardwood floor as a result of the gutter not properly re-installed. The gutter was slope towards the house/siding rather than to the down sprouts. I sent Valentine photos of the damaged flooring and they sent their workers to evaluate and has declined to take responsibility. They claimed that because they were not contracted to replace the gutters, they have no responsibility and are not liable. I concur with them that I did not hire them to replace the gutters; however, as a homeowner I do expect that the gutter be put back into the position that it was in prior to them removing it to re-roof. I have had several issues with this roofing project. The workers were very careless and sloppy in many areas while replacing the roof. As a result of their sloppiness and lack of attention to details, there are paint chip markings all around the roof trim/molding area. Because of this, I now need to spend money to hire a painter to come and do touch up. The downspout was also installed in poor workmanship condition. I brought this to Valentine’s attention immediately after the job was completed but received no response for a fix. My neighbor complained that there were roof debris all over their property. As a result, I had to help clean up. Things were not cleaned up at the end of each shift as your company promotes. Nails were spread out all over the roof with no protection for a duration of days while waiting for more material to arrive and over weekends. Microwave and ladders were spread all over my backyard.

Desired Settlement: Continuation: I mentioned all the above to show a pattern of carelesssness and sloppy work by Valentine employees. I overlooked all of the above mentioned problems I encountered because they were all appearance items and I decided to fix them at my own cost which I should not have to but I did. However, when I discovered the damaged flooring, I can no longer ignore or continue to fix the problem out of my own pocket. I am requesting that Valentine Roofing reimburse me in the amount of $702.99 so that flooring can be repaired. I appreciate the Better Business Bureau taking the time to look into this complaint. I can be reached at ************. Sincerely, *****

Business Response: Attached is the Roofing Agreement or contract between ***** *** and Valentine which shows that Valentine Roofing is not responsible for any damage caused by a leak. So even if Valentine Roofing caused this leak, our warranty puts the responsibility of fixing the damage onto ***** ***. Valentine would only be responsible for stopping the source of the leak only. 

We thoroughly and vigorously looked into Mrs. ***’s claims that we had somehow caused her a leak by un-installing and re-installing a gutter but we found zero liability or fault on our part. Joe G*****, our project manager was very accommodating and spent a great deal of time and many phone calls listening to Mrs. ***’s claims and trying to explain our side. Also, our crew leader Uldario T**** returned to the home many times as did our quality control specialist Chuck L**** all in an attempt to find how we could have caused water intrusion. Every visit confirmed the same thing: We did not in any way cause a leak into Mrs. ***’s home.

First of all, we did not un-install or re-install any gutter. Secondly, the roof work we did was on the second floor and her wood floor damage was on the first floor. We found no possibly water path from the work we performed to the water damaged floor. Thirdly, we did discover the likely source of the leak to be a window that was installed on the first floor which sits over the hardwood floor. Lastly, Mrs. ***’s handyman blamed Valentine for a problem that most likely he caused and Mrs. *** has simply chosen to take his side, even against all of our roofing expertise, reputation and the information we have provided her.

As to the other claims that we did not clean up well and had lack of attention to details, we were not aware that this was Mrs. ***’s opinion until she voiced it through this BBB complaint. To our knowledge we have done everything she has asked us to do outside of writing her a check for $702.99.

Regards,

Connor V********
Valentine Roofing, Inc.
(206) 575-7656 Office
***** ******** ****


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I am not surprised by Valentine's response.   I had no leaks prior to installing the roof.  Valentine's attempt to blame  3rd parties (handyman) and window installer is another attempt by them shifting responsibilities to others.   Valentine consistently bring up the fact that I signed the contract as a reason that they are not liable.  Perhaps BBB can help protect consumers by reviewing these standard terms and conditions that company sets to relieve themselves of all responsibilities.  I no longer want to deal with this company, it has been a very negative and costly experience.  I do want my complaint letter to be recorded so that potential customers can review and decide if this is a company they want to work with.  Thank you for your time. 

Sincerely,

***** ***

5/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company to install a new roof on my home. Due to poor craftsmanship and the use of poor materials, my new roof leaked and caused extensive damage to my residence. After first offering me $500 in compensation (which I declined as this was a $30,000 project) - Valentine roofing declined to repair the roof or the resulting damage to my home. I have received written quotes and statements from several roofing experts who have noted that the work performed on my roof is not per industry standards. The experts have noted issues including broken and missing pieces, improper sloping of the roof on two corners, improper drainage mechanisms, etc.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that the business repairs my roof so it no longer leaks and I am requesting that they repair the damage to the inside of my residence that occurred as a result of the leaks.

Business Response: I'm more than happy to respond to this but I need to speak to one of your representatives first. Otherwise I could be submitting or documenting unnecessary information. I need to know what to provide you with. I am just about to leave the country for an extended amount of time so I'd like to hear from you by Friday the 12th of September.

I've already left a couple of messages at your office and haven't heard back from you. Please call me tomorrow between 11:00AM and 2:00PM at ************. That way we can get the ball rolling. thank you. ****** *********

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*** ********* provides irrelevant information about who spoke for how long and how many people were present. He even complains that I have come to his office to discuss the issue. I believe that the Valentine Roofing offices are a reasonable place to discuss the issue. Where else should a concerned customer go than to the company's place of business? While providing a long narrative of temporal events, *** ********* fails to provide relevant information and acknowledge that the drains supplied by Valentine Roofing do not meet industry standards (as verified by two independent reputable roofing companies) and that Valentine Roofing replaced my functional drains with ones that failed and caused the leak. Valentine Roofing apparently fails to understand that people hire the company to obtain a product (roof) that is supposed to prevent water from leaking into a house. Isn't that the main reason for the existence of roofing companies? Valentine Roofing also fails to acknowledge that my old roof was not leaking - and that, based on their advice and inspection, I purchased a new roof. Upon their inspection of my old roof I was told that my old roof would soon expire. As things stand, I would have been better served by keeping my old leak-free roof rather than obtaining a new roof that leaks.

Other information provided by Valentine Roofing is false. *** ********* claims that he has 'made several attempts to make *** ****** happy' which is not true. The only offer ever received from Valentine Roofing was $500 in compensation for internal leak caused by poor craftsmanship which I declined this absurd offer given that the damage to my home is in the tens of thousands. Second, *** ********* has advised me that 'no roofing company' covers leak damage as 'there are millions of dollars under the roof'. This information is also not true - top notch roofing companies provide leak damage insurance. Valentine does not provide that to their customers. Further, I was never declined by my insurance company as I never filed the claim with them. Valentine Roofing's insurance company has yet to present the requested insurance policy to my attorney.

Most important, *** ********* claims that he is willing to work with but that he has yet "to receive some sort of definable, objective solution from him". This is not true. On August 20, 2014 *** ********* received a list of items that need to be addressed under the warranty (and thus are Valentine Roofing's contractual obligations) and are independent of the leak damage. The list includes, but is not limited to the missing vent that Valentine Roofing failed to install originally. To this date, 4 weeks later, I have not received any answer to my warranty repair request.

Another inconsistence pointed out by *** ********* is the issue of a "clogged drain". This is another false piece of information. The drain was not clogged - instead, due to the poor design, it could not accommodate the appropriate amount of water and the water was spilling back over into the house. The "old" drains that I had on my house were of the proper size so this was never an issue.

In regards to the warranty language, the paperwork that I received when executing the contract with Valentine roofing states that "any workmanship defect which causes a leak will be repaired by Valentine Roofing". Common law also dictates that each party has to hold up its end of the bargain when executing a contract (i.e. they should provide a fully functioning roof, I should pay for the service).

It is evident that the company is unwilling to take responsibility for their deficient product and services. I paid $21,200 for a new functioning roof and instead received a roof that is a) not functional & b) damaging my home. I invite Valentine Roofing to correct the deficiencies under the warranty stipulations and take responsibility and remedy the damage that the company has caused to my property. For now, my only experience with Valentine Roofing is that they do not stand behind their work and that, once they collect their check, customers are on their own.

Business Response:

Valentine Roofing and the customer have mutually agreed on a solutions.  To the best of my knowledge both parties are satisfied that this issue has been resolve

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my cedar shake roof replaced with composite shingles roof by Valentine Roofing Company based in Tukwila, WA. They have damaged my stucco siding and when I called to let them know, they said that the damage is caused when the old roof is taken out and they will not pay for the repair. It does not make sense at all. They also damaged some of my plants when they threw the roof material down, they are also supposed to clean my gutters after completing and only clean at some areas that are visible from my windows looking down at the gutters. This company did not cooperate when I made the complaint.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to repair my stucco siding and clean all the gutters upper and lower levels.

Business Response: Our Production Manager, ****** spoke with ***** regarding this complaint. We sent out a professional to repair the minor damage to the stucco and cleaned out his gutters. When these were completed, ***** said he was satisfied and would remove his complaint. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Valentine Roofing Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart