Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tedrick's Roofing Inc

Phone: (206) 824-3440 37220 188th Ave SE, Auburn, WA 98092 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers roof and gutter sales, installation and repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tedrick's Roofing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tedrick's Roofing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1970 Business started locally: 01/01/1970
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Business Management
Mr. James E Tedrick, President Mrs. Carol E Tedrick, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Carol E Tedrick, Vice President
Principal: Mr. James E Tedrick, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Skylights Fans - Attic Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Additional Locations

  • 37220 188th Ave SE

    Auburn, WA 98092 (206) 824-3440


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/6/2013, we hired Tedrick’s Roofing to install a new roof and gutters on our home and detached garage. After work one day, we noticed a substantial amount of water damage in our family room. Apparently, the tarp covering the bare roof was not properly secured, causing our room to flood. I immediately called Jim (the owner). He sent an employee to come and look at the damage. He never came to review his employee’s work, nor to review the damage that was done. An employee was sent up to secure the tarp on the roof. He told us that a guy that works for him can repair the damage to the room. The employee said that the walls only need to be scraped, and sprayed with Killz. The following day, part of the ceiling caved in, due to the water damage. When our insurance adjuster came out, the roofing company conceded that all of the drywall and insulation would be replaced. The entire project was not completed until the middle of December. Once the job was complete, and Jim delivered the invoice, I noticed a charge for an additional $268 for facia board, even though it was included in the contract. After a brief disagreement, he removed the charge. Now, 2.5 years later, we have discovered an issue with the gutter installation. The gutter was installed straight through the cutout in our deck, straight down next to the house. They did not install the gutter into any drainage system, nor did they bring this up to us, to let us decide how to proceed. Their own website indicates that improperly installed gutters can cause serious expensive structural damage. "Our gutters are properly sized and configured to direct the flow of water safely away from your home." They installed the gutter so that water flows straight down next to the house and foundation. When I contacted Jim, he stated that they installed the gutter the same as they were before. He´s never seen them installed, and if they were installed poorly to begin with, why wouldnt they do it right?

Desired Settlement: Compensation to repair foundation issue. $11,000. We would be willing to negotiate, and have him pay for half of what the foundation repair will cost.

Business Response:

In response to Ms. ***** complaint, we did have a leak issue with her house while installing her new roof. It was immeadiatley repaired and everything was replaced and her interior was as she put it nicer than before. Beacuse we have a great reputation we respond to issues that arise from roof installation either during installation or after. When in business for 30 years any company is poing to have an occasional problem, what seperates aquality roofing company is their response to an issue caused by their roof installation. Ms. ***** unfortunate leak problem was remedied quickly, yes it was a bit of an inconvience but it was repaired and was now all brand new. As far as the gutter and foundation problem the downspout was put in the exact spot it had been in since she purchased the house 8 years ago. the bottiom portion was completely covered by a large deck that had been there for many years. I would have thought if there was a placement issue the housing inspector would have mentioned it at the time of purches. Also two seperate contractors were brought in to evaluate the issue, one gutter and downspout expert and one concrete foundation expert and one was hired by you. Both reported the downspout placement had nothing to do with a crack in your foundation or any foundation issues. So in response to your request for our company to pay for your foundation will not pay for issues with your house that have nothing to do with our company. 

Tedrick's Roofing Inc.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The ‘leak issue’ was not ‘immediately’ repaired.   They originally tried to claim that they can spray Killz, and scrape the drywall.  It wasn’t until after we had our insurance adjuster come out, did they take responsibility to repair the damage, and it took over a month and half to get completed over Thanksgiving.   I never said the repair was nicer than before.  It doesn’t look better than before.   The trim around the baseboard and window didn’t match the existing trim around the fireplace and door.  So there was dark brown wood trim, and the new trim was a very light color.  However, any reasonable person would expect that when you have an entire room remodeled with all new drywall and paint and trim, after a month and a half of work, that it would look better than before.  He claims that the gutter was installed in the exact same spot as it was before.  He proved my point for me, that if the original gutters were installed the way his company did it, then a home inspector would have mentioned it at the time of purchase, which it wasn’t.   Therefore, it’s not likely that his company installed the gutters exactly the same way.   You can clearly see from the picture, that no attempt was made to direct the flow of water away from the home.   Had his gutter installer even brought up the fact that he wasn’t able to direct the flow of water away from the home, because of the deck, then we could have made an informed decision about how to handle it.  But he didn’t.   In fact, they did not even inform us, that the gutter installer broke a board in our deck.   I had discovered the deck damage when I got home from work, and brought it up to him.  The following day, they repaired the deck.   If they are going to damage our deck, and not even mention it to us, why would I believe that the gutters were installed correctly, or as he says ‘in the exact same spot as before’.   He claims that ‘2 separate contractors were brought in to evaluate the issue’.   These contractors were actually a foundation guy that we hired, and his guy that originally installed the gutters.  Not exactly an un-biased opinion!   Not only that, he entered the gate into our back yard, without our consent or knowledge.  (We found out from our contractor after the fact).  He claims that these 2 contractors reported that the downspout was not responsible for the foundation issue.  Yet, the foundation contractor we hired (the ‘foundation expert’ as he called him) reported to us, that the roofer is 100% responsible for the foundation damage.   As I mentioned in the original complaint, Tedricks own website indicates that gutters that do not direct the flow of water away from the home and foundation can cause severe structural problems.    He claims that this was ‘a bit of an inconvenience’.   Perhaps for him, it was only a minor inconvenience.   For us, this whole project has been one disaster after another.  


********* *****

Business Response: Again we are not responsible for your foundation issues, the gutters have been in the same position since the house was built. The new gutters were placed in the same position as the existing old gutters. They were covered by a deck that was so rotted the gutter installer did fall through, the deck disrepair is clearly noted in the photo. This was repaired for you. As far as the other leak damage that you posted pictures of and talked about our company as if we had left you with this big mess, it might have been good to post some pictures of the finished repair job that we provided for you. Yes it was unfortunate  and yes it was inconvenient but it was repaired and I guarantee you there are not a lot of companies that would have fixed this for you. They would have walked away. Also not one dime was asked for until the leak damage was completed to your satisfaction. As far as the foundation issue is concerned this is not caused by a gutter downspout replaced in the same spot 2 1/2 years ago. If you remember what the first foundation consultant you hired told you and I quote "this has nothing to do with the downspout". I guess maybe you found another foundation company to dispute this. We will not be held responsible for an issue that has nothing to do with our company. This is our final response.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


I disagree with the response from the business.  



********* *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tedrick's Roofing Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)