BBB Accredited Business since

L & N Roofing

Phone: (503) 422-7413 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Masaryk St, Lake Oswego, OR 97035 http://www.lnroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing construction, maintenance and repair services, as well as roof cleaning, gutters and moss removal.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that L & N Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for L & N Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on L & N Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 19, 2010 Business started: 05/01/2009 Business started locally: 05/01/2009 Business incorporated 05/08/2009 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Loren Girsberger, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Loren Girsberger, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm
Alternate Business Names
L N H S Construction Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1 Masaryk St

    Lake Oswego, OR 97035 (503) 451-5119 (503) 422-7413

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At time of roof replacement contract award contractor [L&N Roofing* ** ********** was shown a stain on ceiling in residence kitchen. he stated that source would be identified and stain aspects would be addressed and corrected including painting.Statement witnessed by a Third PartyHome owner** ******** contacted contractor February 2 to discuss open stain aspects. February 3 contractor returned call and scheduled an appointment to patch ceiling on February 9 at 0900.Painting at a later date.Home owner contacted contractor on March 16 at 10am and informed people would be at residence on March 17 at 0900. No show!I desire that promise made in order to secure contact award be honored without further delay and in accordance with settlement outlined below.

Desired Settlement: L&N Roofing is part of LNHS Construction as is LNC Painting. We require that said company [LNC Painting] professionally patch and paint the area in a prompt and expedious time frame. This rework/repair to ceiling be performed at NO additional cost under the terms of WARRANTY specified original contract.

Business Response: We did the ******* roof last summer. The
previous cedar roof leaked and left a small (approximately 4 inch round area)
spot on the vaulted wall approximately 15 ft.+ high.  When we did the
roof last summer we took the time to paint the area and recently the
spot showed up again. Mr. ******* confirms it is a small mold spot from the
previous roof as he had the Wilsonville building inspector also confirm
that he thought it was a mold spot. He expects us to fix his mold problem. We
recently went back at our expense and time, used Keltz (stain killer)White/same
as his wall) and sprayed this very small area. Yesterday Mr. ******* called
me to find out when we are going to finish the job.  I told him if it is
raining, we could do it today, but it was not raining so I cannot afford to have
two of my people drive to Wilsonville to paint a 4 inch area.  It
needs to fit in with my schedule, since this is a courtesy call.  We will
paint the spot when we cannot work on a roof.

We did this as a courteous gesture in the first place since this was and still is a
mold issue, confirmed by Wilsonville building inspector, and has nothing to do
with our company or workmanship.  We are trying to do our best to help and it
is all at our huge expense and he does not appreciate what we are doing.

It is not L&N Roofing’s responsibility
to correct his mold issue. Since this is a mold issue, and if it occurs again, we
will not return to repair or paint his mold problem.  He should consult a mode
expert or go back to the original builder.

Business Response: I sent two of my people to paint the spot on the ceiling. The customer provided the paint and brush so the color would match
the wall.  Mr. ******* seemed to be pleased when my people left.  

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

*** *******

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: composite roof not layered in consistent pattern and layered thin. rake trip along the edge at bottom of the roof does not have 1/2 overhang. Ruff cut edges on composite edges. Would like to know why dark areas are visible on the sandy light roof? Why composite has dark pattern showing which appears to be areas that should be covered by the previous composite sheet.

Desired Settlement: Make the roof right according with the contractual agreement agreed upon. I was sold a 50 year roof completed according to standards of the roofing business. I have left voice and email message for ***** ********** and am awaiting him to respond and make good on his promise "to provide Professional Quality Work at a Fair Price."

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/25) */ October 21, 2013 ***** ****** Dear *****, In reply to the BBB report initiated by you, I have back-tracked the event as follows: We completed your roof in January 2013 and, at the time, you were very pleased with the job and cleanup, but now, 9 months later, you have filed a complaint? This is very baffling. You came to us by a referral who was very pleased with her work also. On November the 5th 2012 I responded to your request to give you an estimate and pull an aerial view through Eagleview. Shortly thereafter, I met with you to discuss your job and left the manufacturers' brochure with colors and specifications. On November 30th, I met with you and showed you sample boards of the materials and you decided to sign the agreement to get on our roofing schedule. You had difficulty deciding on the color, but final decision was Shasta White.. We completed your roof January, 2013 and you were pleased with the job and clean up. Sometime later, you requested pictures of the roof, which has never been requested before, but as a courtesy to you and at our expense, we produced pictures and emailed them to you. Shortly thereafter I called you, stopped by your house, and each time your response was "you didn't want to see me." I thought it was best to talk directly to you about your issue as your BBB complaint was very vague and confusing. And, in order to understand your issue, I wanted to open communication. For some reason you do not want to see me to discuss this. Per the agreement we tore off the old roof and installed felt and shingles that you selected (color of your choice). Your roofing project was completed with normal specifications including metal drip edge for all eves, large T-metal for all rakes, Ice and Water for all valleys to include 24" valley in each of these areas. Ice and Water was also applied to the back porch area which was less than 4-12 pitch to insure a good roof protection and drainage. Your complaint, 9 months after you were satisfied with our work: 1. "Roof right according to agreement" ... Done and upon completion you were happy with our work. 2. "Roof completed according to standards of the roofing business" ... Done. 3. "Left voice and email message for ***** **********" ... compiled but you refused me the opportunity to talk to you and find out what had changed to make you unhappy. 4. "to provide a professional quality work at a fair price" ... done. You were given a very special price because you were referred by a prior customer. 5. "roof not layered in consistent pattern and layer thin" .. shingles are standard per specifications given to you in advance and applied to the whole roof per manufacturer's recommendations. 6. You selected the roof shingle color and shading as you describe to be "dark pattern showing". This is a line of demarcation and separates the shingles all of which you saw prior to our installation. You received a 50-year non pro-rated transferable warranty and L&N's work is warranted for 15-year. This is our first BBB complaint. L&N provided you with top quality materials and workmanship according to our contractual agreement. We completed your roof and with your total satisfaction. Now 9 months later you have filed a complaint. I feel you are avoiding me, and I would like to resolve this but only if you're open to discuss your new founded dissatisfaction. We have never left a job with an unhappy customer ... just the opposite! Sincerely, ***** ********** L&N Roofing Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 37, 2014/01/02) */ 12/17/13 I was grateful that filling a complaint through the BBB forced L&N Roofing to address my concerns. It was very informative for L&N to bring the representative of the roofing itself as he explained the lay out on the roof, the light color and how the surface has come off and went up on the roof and checked it himself for application specifications. My anxieties and concerns where dealt with. I do wish I could of had these results months earlier and without filling, but that is the way it came out. I have an open claim on my roof as these areas are addresses. L&N will contact me in June. Thank you BBB for maintaining this form of complaint system and it was a joy to work with your staff as they were very responsive, professional and timely. Sincerely, ***** ****** ***** ***** ************ ************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 32, 2013/12/12) */ This is a copy of the letter we are sending to ***** ******. I will try to download to BBB Complaint website, but you know that I'm complying and reaching out to her. Letter to ***** ******: Dear *****: From your letter of October 31, 2013, you state in your BBB complaint as: "I am calling on you to respond to my request of questionable shingles (? ) and lying pattern of the shingles." Enclosed is a copy of your actual invoice from our supplier purchasing all new materials. Shasta White is the shingle you selected and purchased (see invoice). Shasta White, as I told you, is not a popular shingle choice. The esthetics of the laid shingle is out of our control; we installed it per the manufactured specifications. We are an approved Preferred Contractor by the manufacturer and the warranty was sent and received by you. If you would like the manufactures rep to contact you, please email or call me. This is a copy of your Email message to me On Sunday, September 29, 2013 6:44 AM, ***** ****** <**********@ymail.com> wrote: thank you. so far so good in this wild windy wet storm. I do have a couple questions for you when yo call. * See below All the best, ***** ***** ***** *********************** ************ ************** My understanding of your email: No urgency nor concerns noted in your above email. I called when I had a free moment. In my mind, you were a happy customer who had your roof installed, paid for and warranty sent, and additionally, pictures sent (not part of our normal procedure or in agreement. The roof is visible from the street and backyard). We have done everything on our part to fulfill this agreement and to reach out to you regarding your concerns. Sincerely, ***** ********** L&N Roofing Cc: BBB ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on L & N Roofing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)