Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Guardian Roofing LLC

Phone: (253) 926-9966 Fax: (253) 926-0974 View Additional Phone Numbers 417 99th St E, Tacoma, WA 98445 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.yourguardianroof.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing and roof repair, gutters, masonry work, and carpentry services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Guardian Roofing LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Guardian Roofing LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

28 Customer Reviews on Guardian Roofing LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 27
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 28

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 07, 2005 Business started: 11/01/2005 in WA Business started locally: 11/01/2005 Business incorporated 10/17/2005 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Aaron Santas, Member Ms. Lori Swanson, Member Mr. Matt Swanson, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aaron Santas, Member
Principal: Ms. Lori Swanson, Member
Principal: Mr. Matt Swanson, Member
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Carpenters Gutters & Downspouts Mason Contractors Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Guardian Roofing LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 417 99th St E

    Tacoma, WA 98445 (253) 926-9966 (253) 538-8000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 14th, 2010, I paid Guardian Roofing a deposit of $3,093.10 on a total due (which was paid upon the completion of the job) of $10,310.00 to replace the roof on my home. The job did not start nor finish on time and my landscaping was damaged. The roof has leaked every winter for the last five years in various locations including around a dormer that has leaked every winter over the last five years causing severe damage to the interior of my home, countless hours of lost work time and an injury when I slipped and fell in water on my finished attic floor. As many years as the roof has been leaking it is also likely that I have a mold problem in my home. In December of that same year, I allowed them to convince me that my chimney was part of the problem, despite the fact that I had an FHA and a private inspection the same year which did not indicate anything wrong with the chimney. I paid hundreds of dollars to have my chimney taken down by a contractor that Guardian works with and recommends (based on their BBB complaint history, this is common) My home passed an FHA inspection in May of 2010, and I also paid for a private inspection, Looking back on the privateinspection report, I only needed to have the chimney repointed, this cost me hundreds of more dollars than it should have. They did do the roof repair over the chimney and tired to charge me $700 for it, until I threatened to invoke the “satisfaction guarantee” and they backed off. I have a report from another roofer show that they did not follow best practices and made several mistakes on the roofing job and attempted repairs. Over five years later they are refusing to honor their warranty, have harassed my friends with unsolicted Facebook message (on to Canada violating CASL) and tired to get me to sing my rights away.

Desired Settlement: I need: My roof repaired by someone I can trust. NOT Guaridian. My home inspected for mold and mitgated if necessary. My dining room ceiling and walls (and any other structural damage) repaired. To be bought out of my contract with Guardian so that I can have the warranty covered by someone else and never have to deal with them again.

Business Response:

Guardian roofing did install a new roof for Miss ********.  Recently a call was placed to the company letting us know that there was a leak. The last call was in 2014, There was an issue with a dormor. In 2010 the roof had an issue that turned out to be a chimney. The chimney was not part of the contract. We arranged for the chimney to be fixed, and performed roof repairs that the chimney repair required for free, even though the chimney was not part of the contract, or part of the roof. At that time the customer was also informed that the siding was cracked and had problems that needed to be fixed. late 2015 the customer called with a problem, water ws coming in. Techs were sent to the home to cover up the area. We informed her that if the problem was not the roof there would be a service charge. The men on site felt that the siding was letting water into the home. She was informed that a service charge would apply, BUT if there were roof problems causing a leak we would not charge.

At that point the customer became very upset and said she was going to do everything in her power to dammage us. I personally called her and emailed her. I wanted to let her know that we wanted to work through the problem and reiterated that if there was something on the home causing theis problem that was due to our work in any way we would take care of it. I felt that she should know that since we performed repairs earlier that were not part of our work for free. She responded that she wanted nothing to do with us. I then offered to send a third party to investigate the problem and she refursed. Immediately she took to social media saying that we refused to honor our warranty.  We did respond.

Our offer still stands. We are happy to fix anything roof related that is causing her home a problem. We have asked for the report but have not recieved it.

We hope to resolve this issue.

Sincerely,

Matt S******

Guardian Roofing

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have been trying to get these people to fix my roof for FIVE YEARS with no success.  At this point it is time to explore other options.

They have proven themselves to be unreliable, untrustworthy, dishonest and incapable of doing so.

Their last "offer" involved me signing away my rights by agreeing to use an inspector that they referred me to and to pay for that inspection, the tarp and any repairs if the inspection goes their way. 

I am attaching my full complaint which your initial website would not take because it is too long.  I will also attach the inspection report.

They have also had an attorney trying to get information out of me.

This is a company that also, repeatedly robocalled my cell phone and sent unsolicited harassing FB messages to my friends.  They do not operate within the law.  I do not trust them.  I do not want to work with them, have contact with them nor have them on my property.

Sincerely,

* **** ********

Business Response:

Guardian Roofing has in no way refused to honor our warranty on the roof.  if one were to look at previous correspondance we have clearly stated at every turn that we will fix any problem that is a result of our work. In the start, when this issue was brought up we offered to send and independant inspector to rule on the situation. The customer refused. Instead she hired her own inspector and refused to allow us on the property. From day one we have expressed a concern with the siding. it is cracked and in dire need of being replaced. 

In a facebook post the customer states that the inspection is "bad, there is no flashing."  In fact the pictures show flashing, and they show old cracked siding.  The customer was informed of the siding being a problem in 2010 and 2014. Again these are the only occassions that we came to the home. Once after the chimney leaked, documented in earlier comments, and confirmed by home inspector as a problem, and once in 2014 when the siding leaked. At that time we addressed the siding and reworked the wall for free.  The continued statement that the roof has leaked every winter is untrue to our knowledge.

Other pictures in the report show, siding in other areas of the home that are in disrepare. in addition one picture shows a piece of gable end metal missing. We are happy to fix the gable end metal, but there is a very strong indication that this blew off. 

Our stance on this has not changed. if there is something we did to cause this problem we will fix it. However the evidence shows different. To make it simple, if the siding was replaced as has been suggested on several occasions, the building would not leak. The roof, and the flashing, is not leaking.

We stand by our offer to hire an independant inspector to look at the home, since the customer does not trust us.

Sincerely,

Matt S******

Guardian Roofing

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The last documentation I have from them is from March 2014 where they improperly installed flashing which lead to continued water pouring into my hope causing/increasing damaged caused by their faulty roofing job.

I do not remember when they came out and applied caulking to the siding of my house (in an area that is now documented to not be where their roofing job was leaking)

I have ceased any non written communication with them so that everything will be on record.

My house has been continually being damaged by their faulty roofing job and inept attempts at repair for the last five years.

They have proven themselves to be untrustworthy, unethical and incapable of fixing this and I won't deal with them directly any longer.

If they do not wish to settle out of court with a mediator, then I will have to sue them for inspection, water damage and mold mitigation, repairs, my time lost and legal expenses.

 

Sincerely,


* **** ********

3/4/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we had guardian roofing come out and due our roof ingust of last year and we had to call them in oct. to come out and dedo it and they washed it off and said they would be back . They have not returned.now we have more moss then before. i called and talked whih jason and he told me i would have to pay to have it done again. the company guarantees its treatment for 3 years and acknowledged that the treatment was not applied appropriately but refuses to fix it now. The treatment was intially applied in August of last year.It has not been fixed.

Desired Settlement: i would like them to do the job correctly as advertized or refund the money.

Business Response:

Guardian Roofings cleaning and maintenence program is designed to do as little dammge to the customers roo as possiblef.  the system is to clean the roof once, maintain it yearly, and perform a spot clean (as it should not need much) and retreat every three years to insure moss does not grow. On the contract it states that the warranty is only valid if annual maintenance is conducted. This was conveyed to the customer, but is not mentioned in the complaint. We feel that the customer did not understand this and do not want an unhappy customer. We would be happy to clean the roof, and apply new treatment at a later date for no charge.   Matt S******, Guardian Roofing

 

 

 

 

6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We originally contacted Guardian Roofing in mid-December 2014 to fix a leak. After inspecting the roof and the attic, we were told the water was coming in through chimney flashing and the valley also had water damage. The salesman (****) also pointed out other potential issues with the roof (specifically saying the roof had been „installed incorrectly“ ) and recommended we purchase a new roof. I emphasized everything else was secondary and directly asked if replacing the roof would fix our primary concern of the leak and the salesman assured me it would. The roof installation began January 8, 2015 and took approximately a week to complete. During this time, we did have a complication when a beam fell through the ceiling. I felt that I had to fight with Guardian to honor their policy about taking finanacial responsibility for any damage they caused on this job. It took another week and a half in addition to the roof replacement to get everything settled and repaired. Despite the extra stress from two weeks of dealing with Guardian and the repairs, we were satisfied with the way that they eventually took care of the problem. However, at the end of the job, on January 14, 2015, I was told by two workers that the foreman had mentioned something about our chimney being in need of repair as well as our 3 skylights needing to be replaced. The foreman had not spoken to me at all since January 12, 2015, when discussing how they were going to resolve the issue with the aforementioned beam. The foreman returned January 16th, two days after the job was completed, and confirmed that the chimney needed more work, the skylights needed to be replaced, and also apologized for not being in communication with me about this sooner. When the inspector (****, I believe) came out to do the final inspection for the roof on January 21, 2015, I mentioned what the foreman had told me as I had nothing in writing. After completing inspection, he came down and said they probably needed more work but that both chimney and skylights were „fine at the moment,“ and we didn't have to worry about them. Less than two weeks after ****'s final inspection, we noticed that the same leak we originally called Guardian in to repair had not, in fact, been fixed. I immediately called Guardian and they scheduled a rep (*****) to look at the roof on the following day, February 4th. He spent a while trying to determine the cause of the leak, and after looking at the photos he had taken he said it was quite clearly the top portion of the chimney that was leaking. He wrote up a „Job Completion“ form stating what work he thought needed to be done and said a salesperson would be in touch. I never heard back from the sales representatives at all. On February 5th, I spoke with the owner, ****, about my concerns that I was sold an entire new roof when the cause was not in fact the roof, but the chimney. **** seemed very polite and understanding, and reassured me that regardless I did need a new roof and that he would get in touch with me in a day or two once he spoke with his reps to find out what was going on. I called **** after a week of not hearing back, and was told someone would be out the following Monday, February 16th, to reevaluate the problem. However, no one showed up until the following morning (the same inspector, ****, who had told me the chimney was fine back during the final inspection). I did not hear from **** again until about 6pm Friday, February 20th, when he left a voicemail saying they still wanted to work with us to resolve the issue, that the leak was the top portion of the chimney, and to call him back on Monday. I did try to return his call Monday, February 23rd, but he was not in the office that day, so I asked *******, who answered the phone, to have **** contact me via email. It is now over a week later and I still have not received a response from **** or anyone else at Guardian Roofing.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I want Guardian Roofing to provide and perform a permanent solution to the leak I called them in to fix nearly three months ago. As I have already paid roughly $20,000 for a job that was supposed to fix this exact leak, Guardian needs to cover the cost of the repair themselves. The roof that was replaced was approximately 10 years old, and I now wonder if we actually needed a new roof at all, or if they were so preoccupied with landing the larger sale that they failed to mention the actual fix that would have cost us a fraction of what we paid. It is absolutely unacceptable that they did not identify the chimney as even a potential source of the leak and sold me a roof in lieu of correctly fixing the problem to begin with. I also find it unacceptable how long it has taken them to resolve this issue after I initially contacted them at the beginning of February notifying them that there was a problem. It continues to feel like this is not a high priority to them, and I find their customer service to be lacking. I honestly have never felt so scammed by a company that claims to pride itself on quality work and customer satisfaction.

Business Response:

This complaint was a misunderstanding.   I had already contacted the customer to let them know what we were willing to do about the problem.  It is important to note that this problem would have been resolved without the complaint.  In addition the chimney that has been repaired was never part of the contract, and now that work has been done for free.  That work would have been done for free, without a complaint. 

The customer and I have spoken and it is my understanding that the complaint will be rescinded.

If the complaint is not removed I will respond more about the entire process if the complaint is not rescinded.

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am writing to notify the BBB that the complaint against Guardian Roofing has yet to be resolved as of May 19, 2015. Furthermore, there was never any mistake or miscommunication in the initial filing of this complaint. From the beginning I made it clear that I wanted this resolved in a timely manner and gave Matt (Guardian Roofing) more than enough time to find and execute a solution.

March 17, 2015 they did send someone to fix the leak, however, the job was left incomplete and sloppy, further damaging the structure, not solving the problem and requiring us to hire another contractor. Furthermore we incurred damage to other property (car, driveway, etc.). After several months, we feel we have given Guardian Roofing ample opportunity to rectify the situation and have now sought legal counsel to pursue financial restitution for the original misdiagnosis and property damages.


Sincerely,

******* ********

Business Response:

This complaint has been forwarded to our legal team. We have performed work for free to help resolve the issue and will continue towards a solution. We are excited that this issue is working through the legal process as discovery will show all the steps that were taken to make this customer happy. 

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company was contacted for a leaking roof issues, salesman immeadiatly said the valleys needed to be cut back 2 inches and that was the cause of the water intrusion, I said it appeared that the water was coming from higher on the roof (chimney area) I was assured that this would fix the water intrusion at a cost of $2165.00 upon completion of the work which appeared to be clearly cosmetic and in no way changed how the water was directed into the valleys, again I had water coming into the house. The company was summoned again to diagnose the location of the water leak and this time he confirmed that the chimney was probably the issue after 3 guys climbed all over my roof wrapping the chimney in a tarp and cracking numerous tiles and ridge caps which I had to replace or repair myself, I shared my displeasure with the salesman who said they could redo the chimney siding for 2875.00 plus tax. I got 2 other estimates for the same job and materials both were in the 750.00 range. I am extremely displeased at how this company first did work that was only cosmetic in nature, and rather than doing the right thing to fix the real problem they came out broke a bunch of tiles and left me with a tarped chimney unless I wanted to shell out another 2875.00. I hope others that use this company have better luck than I did.

Desired Settlement: I think they should refund me a portion of my initial work due to it being only cosmetic in nature. I have had other contractors tell me that it was completely unnecessary. I have since had the chimney re sided and observed first hand that it was the origin of the water intrusion at a cost of 910.00 total. Huge disparity between the quote from Guardian for the same project and materials.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/24) */ We appreciate the customer and want to make the customer happy. In this situation the work being "cosmetic" is untrue. The customer was told at the time of the estimate that the chimney could be a problem. It was clear that the valleys were clogged with debris, and would continue to be a problem. The customer chose to only do the valley work. We are willing to discuss this with the customer directly, and work towards a solution. It needs to be clear that using the BBB as leverage did not need to happen. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Company owners made very timely contact with me to resolve the issues- Owners were very proffessional and took the time to listen and took the steps to "Make it Right" This business I believe has done a good job to keep this customer complaint a priority.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

28 Customer Reviews on Guardian Roofing LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart