BBB Accredited Business since

Diamond Roofing Inc

Phone: (206) 522-3016 View Additional Phone Numbers 232 Railroad Ave S  Ste 101, Kent, WA 98032 http://www.diamondroofers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and residential roofing construction, specializing in flat and low slope PVC roofing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Diamond Roofing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Diamond Roofing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Diamond Roofing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 23, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Foster, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Foster, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors

Hours of Operation
M: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed

Additional Locations

  • 232 Railroad Ave S
    Ste 101

    Kent, WA 98032

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a leaky roof. I had diamond roofing come out and provide consultation. They indicated that the problem was that the roof needed to be replaced. Due to the location of the leak, i expressed concerns that the chimney was a potential cause. They indicated that their fix would address the area of concern. I had them write a specific guarantee against issues in that area. Earlier this year, the same area was leaking again. I asked for them to come out and honor their 5 year warranty and they have indicated that the leak is due to the chimney and they do not cover that. They have indicated that a fix will cost $3000. When I tried to talk to them about the warranty and making things right, they got defensive and verbally attacked me on the phone. There was yelling. They indicated that they would have their lawyer contact me if for lying on my BBB complaint.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor their 5 year warranty and repair my leaking roof.

Business Response:

Complaint#: ********

Dear Ms. ****,

We reviewed the complaint letter that our customer sent to you. Although we agree with the first
3 sentences, the remainder of the complaint is riddled with error. He did need a new roof 3 years
ago, and expressed his concern about condensation on the surface of the roof near the chimney. We
told him that the condensation issue on the surface of his roof next to his chimney would be
corrected by installing flat insulation board over the entire surface of the roof prior to the
installation of our new roofing material, which it did. We even added an additional air vent over
his dining room adjacent to the chimney, per his request. The issue at hand has nothing to do
with failed roofing material or incorrect installation methods. In short, his roof surface is
not leaking. His original brick and mortar chimney is failing due to old age and allowing rain
water to enter through the top surface and between the shrunken mortar on the sides
of the chimney. The customer claims that we verbally guaranteed the chimney
brick and mortar as part of his 5 year labor warranty, which is absolutely false. We guaranteed the
new roofing material labor for 5 years, not the visibly aged chimney. The customer refuses to
rebuild the chimney from the roof line up due to cost. We told the customer we could wrap his
entire chimney with our lifetime roofing material at a far less cost than an actual chimney
rebuild. He refused and became verbally defiant. The customer claims that we are not honoring our
5 year labor warranty. We absolutely are honoring our 5 year labor warranty for

the roof itself, but not aged chimneys or aged skylights. The BBB should note that the customer was
given his roof estimate on June 12,2012, and studied the contract until he signed on July 6, 2012.
The customer had us change language and include additional items before he would sign our contract.
Our point is simply that he knew exactly what he was agreeing to, and the terms and conditions
which clearly exclude any existing chimney brick/mortar repair or replacement. Please find
attached terms and conditions that he read and modified to his satisfaction. Again, the "Callback"
paragraph near the middle of the page clearly states that brick and masonry leaks are not covered
under our 5 year labor warranty or lifetime material warranty. In conclusion, we will
absolutely honor our 5 year labor warranty on the roofing material. We will not, however, pay to
have his brick and mortar chimney rebuilt or completely encapsulated with our new lifetime
membrane roofing material for free. We are sorry that his old brick and mortar chimney is failing,
but it was simply never included in our scope of work.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The business is not honoring their warranty and they have not fixed the problem that I paid them to fix.  
When I first had the company out to my house, it was due to a leak in one spot on my roof. The company indicated that to fix the leak in the one spot on the roof, I needed a new roof.  I expressed concern at that time and expressly asked about the chimney.  They indicated that the new roof would fix my problem and even included language in the contract providing warranty against further "condensation" in that spot. 3 years later, i find myself still having a leak in the same spot that I called the company out for in the first place and they are now pointing the other way.  
If at the time of estimate, the company had said "to be sure that this spot is fixed, you need to do something with your chimney," and I had ignored their advice, I could understand their stance at this point.  Instead of that warning, they wrote into a contract guaranteeing that this spot would not have further issues. They provided assurances that the problem was the roof and said nothing about the chimney. Instead, they were happy to take my money and not fix the problem that I called them out for in the first place.  I have never asked anyone to warranty the mortar in my chimney.  I've only asked Diamond roofing to fix a leak in my roof that is still not fixed.
Bottom line...I called a roofing expert to fix a leak in my roof.  3 years and $16,000+ later, i still have a leak in the same spot in my roof. 

Sincerely,
**** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Diamond Roofing Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)