Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cogent Construction Inc

Phone: (360) 427-3162 Fax: (360) 427-4377 PO Box 675, Union, WA 98592 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.cogentconstructioninc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general construction services including roofing, garages, remodeling, commercial and residential metal siding and decks.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cogent Construction Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Cogent Construction Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cogent Construction Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 22, 2009 Business started: 09/01/2003 in WA Business started locally: 09/01/2003 Business incorporated 11/19/2007 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Will Johnson, CEO Mrs. Dee Johnson, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Will Johnson, CEO
Business Category

Roofing Contractors


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 675

    Union, WA 98592

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cogent Construction completed the repair on my roof approximately 3 Jun 15. On 8 Aug 15, I sent an email stating the Chimney was leaking again and the leaning of the chimney. On 1 Jan 16 I sent another email concerning the chimney and the snow blocking equipment that they removed to be reinstalled. They replied that it wasn't needed. Between August and January, I also called numerous times asking when the chimney would be fixed. I was asked to be patient and they would be here when they could. In the last email, I stated that the repair be completed by the end of January. As of the this writing, the problem hasn't been addressed. *** I also just discovered that the installation of the replacement cedar siding wasn't caulked.

Desired Settlement: Fix the problem concerning the leaning chimney, snow guard, and now the caulking.

Business Response:

Please note that 3 times we have tried to schedule to inspect Mr. ********* chimney including the same day that he first called regarding his chimney leaning and each time he has stated that today is not good for him for some reason or another. He also claims that we need to install an additional snowbreak behind his chimney as it was when we first estimated on the repair of his roof. The snowbreak / wedge behind the chimney are one of the reasons his roof was leaking in the first place. This Item will not be installed by Cogent Construction Inc on his house nor any other house we roof or ever have roofed because it is not a correct installation. 

 

As for the siding, The Clear cedar siding is caulked from behind the boards so the caulking would not be visible.

 

In spite of the fact that the roof repair estimate was itemized line by line and submitted to Mr. ********* and his insurance company prior to all repair work being completed at the time of final invoicing Mr. ********* came into our office exclusively to complain about the cost of the painting / staining line item, even though he knew the cost far in advance, and all payment was covered by his insurance company anyway less the deductible if he has one.

 

After review of this by the BBB, Cogent Construction Inc Is willing to make one final  trip to Mr. *********s residence and adjust his chimney to make straight and inspect at our next available appointment however the chimney in question was straight upon completion of our scope of work and all new chimney pipe, braces, flashing boots and roof panels were installed in accordance with industry standards.  

 

Please note that we are booked usually up to 5 months in advance but will attempt to make arrangements to inspect this residence within 30 days  

 

 

Respectfully,

 

 

Will J******, President

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cogent Construction Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)