Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Clearwater Exteriors LLC

Phone: (503) 583-8798 4243 SE International Way Ste D, Milwaukie, OR 97222 http://www.clearwaterext.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers windows and siding installation services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clearwater Exteriors LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Clearwater Exteriors LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Clearwater Exteriors LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

43 Customer Reviews on Clearwater Exteriors LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 41
Neutral Experience 2
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 43

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 16, 2014 Business started: 01/01/2014 Business started locally: 01/01/2014
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Laurence Meadows, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Laurence Meadows, Member
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Clearwater Exteriors LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4243 SE International Way Ste D

    Milwaukie, OR 97222 (503) 583-8798

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had no communication/discussion about when the work on our roof would start/end. The only information we received was a call from somebody saying that they would drop off a dumpster. The dumpster did indeed show up along with a roofing crew at 7 am. We received no notice that this was happening. We have a 6 month old baby at home with him during the day. We understood that there would be a lot of noise, etc during the roofing process and could have made arrangements to spend the couple of days during the project elsewhere. Due to the lack of notice we were unable to make prior arrangements and basically ended up "displaced" at the last minute for two full days. 2. We were told that the materials would be dropped off in advance of the project starting and that we would have an opportunity to take a look and perhaps have a conversation about the materials and the roofing process. None of this happened. 3. The crew left a ton of debris all over our garage and yard. We use our garage as extra storage and had a brand new (unused) baby car seat and stroller in the garage that are now covered with roofing debris and ruined/damaged/unable to be used. There is a ton of debris still on the rafters and items that are stored in the rafters as well as behind and on the recycling containers, boxes, bike, etc. that are kept in the garage. We really felt that better care should have been taken to avoid getting debris from the roof all over everything in the garage. If this wasn't able to happen then at the very least we would have expected to have been notified so that we could have removed the items from the garage to prevent them from being ruined. This roof was VERY expensive and we really expected a much better/clearer overall experience. We certainly didn't expect damages to our property and the serious lack of communication. I sent an email with this information on 7/27 and received no response. I sent a follow-up email on 8/21 and again received no reply.

Desired Settlement: It would have been nice for them to finish the job by cleaning up the mess/debris that was left everywhere. At this point, I would like for them to adjust the cost of the job and pay for the cost of somebody to clean up the mess. Preferably, a company we hire as we would are not interested in working with them again.

Business Response:

We have reviewed the complaint in question and would like to apologize for the delay.  It appears that we had, for whatever reason, not received the email transmissions from the customer after the job was completed indicating a need for clean up.  For that we are very sorry and have reached out to the customer on several occasions.   For whatever reason, the customer elected to not call us, and, even after never receiving a response from us after the first email in July, not to place a phone call then either.  It has been our experience that a phone call can be much more effective, but we respect our homeowner's decisions to only communicate in writing.   

We require all of our customers, upon completion, to sign and date a completion certificate that authorizes the lender to pay us (we did the entire $13,787 job with zero earnest money), stating that the job has been completed to their entire satisfaction, and that no promises of future work have been made (specifically for this reason).  Additionally, we also require our installers to get an in house Clearwater Exteriors completion certificate, again reiterating that the job is complete to their satisfaction.  I am attempting to attach both of these documents to this response using the BBB portal (it does not like our Google-based attachments).  

We have called to speak via telephone to the homeowners a number of times (please see attached screen shot of our conversations in DB) and the Mr. went from stating that we could send them to dinner, to the Mrs. leaving angry voice mails on 12/2/15 stating that she wanted a refund of 25% of the contract price (over $3000) for the dust on their car seat that we never knew about because they never called us and that because she works she cannot use the phone and that email is better.  We truly want to work with these folks, but a lot of this seems unreasonable.  We are very, very sorry for not receiving their emails, but respectfully believe that if we were

a) given the opportunity to make the installers that were paid to complete this job aware of the messy garage

or

b) made aware in a more expedient fashion of the urgent nature of this situationRemember, we rely to some extent on the homeowner notifying us in some way of any deficiencies in the installs.  We realize that the homeowner is upset after being ignored; we cannot blame them.  However, we respectfully request that the BBB allow us to send these nice folks to dinner, clean off the dust from their brand new car seat, and accept our most humble apologies.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Remember, we rely to some extent on the homeowner notifying us in some way of any deficiencies in the installs.  We realize that the homeowner is upset after being ignored; we cannot blame them.  However, we respectfully request that the BBB allow us to send these nice folks to dinner, clean off the dust from their brand new car seat, and accept our most humble apologies.  

 

 

 

 

that 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


I sincerely wish we never would have patronized this company after reading their response.  They have completely minimized our negative experience.  I find it incredibly difficult to believe that they did not receive two emails sent to two email addresses that were used effectively earlier on in the process. I do understand that there are technology glitches and it's possible that was the problem so I suppose that's just what it is and pointless to argue about it.  However, Clearwater's response seems to be blaming me more than anything for choosing to email vs calling.  I work in direct care and am in with clients all day which makes it difficult to discuss issues via phone which is why when given an option I find electronic communications work best.  My voicemail's were not intended to be angry. I was simply stating facts.  At this point I am sincerely frustrated so perhaps my tone was less than friendly.  For that, I apologize.  "Dusting off" the car seat, etc. is no longer an option as we got rid of the car seat and stroller due to debris.  Additionally, I can't say that I trust this company or want them at my home again so the offer to come over to clean up is not very helpful.  Aside from the fact it has been almost 6 months since the original work was done and we did our best to clean up the mess ourselves.  I feel very much like the only reason they are contacting us to make amends at this point is due to the BBB grievance.  I don't really feel that an apology and dinner at a restaurant is sufficient to make up for the lack of communication, inconvenience, mess and damaged goods.  It feels a bit more like a brush off from them.  However, at this point I would just like to move on from this bad experience. 

Sincerely,

******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

43 Customer Reviews on Clearwater Exteriors LLC
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart