Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Chet's Roofing and Construction Inc

Phone: (877) 611-1514 View Additional Phone Numbers 26301 79th Ave S, Kent, WA 98032 http://www.chetsroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial roofing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chet's Roofing and Construction Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Chet's Roofing and Construction Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Chet's Roofing and Construction Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1999 Business started: 06/01/1999 Business started locally: 06/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Helen Chmielinski, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Helen Chmielinski, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Contractors - Framing Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Tile Roofing Skylights Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Contractor - Flat Roof Carpenters Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Leaf Guards Contractors - Gutters Painting Contractors Commercial Painting Contractor Roof Decks


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chet's Roofing and Construction Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 26301 79th Ave S

    Kent, WA 98032 (253) 887-0194 (877) 611-1514 (253) 841-1181 (253) 854-1107 (253) 854-1106

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Chet's roofing company. On the day of the job, they called me and told me that unless they replaced the ply-wood they won't give the 10 year warranty on contract that we had signed and agreed to. I was put in a tough spot because they had taken off the roof already and if it were to start raining, the house would be exposed. I was told that they would put on over 70 ply-wood but my total count was 58. And they didn't even have to take off existing ply-wood, all they did was only put on new ply-wood with nail gun. I believe this is considered half the job in terms of the labor. They ended up charging me over $3,000 extra. I tried to reason with the owner but he was unwilling to listen and threatened to put a lien on my property.

Desired Settlement: I would be okay with paying $2000 total, tax included for the ply-wood job.

Business Response:

The account is already paid in full.  I'm confused why he asking to only pay $2,000 tax included. 

The original bid amount we were charging the homeowner did not include the cost of replacing any of the plywood underlayment. His roof size is 23 roofing squares.  There is 3 sheets of plywood to every roofing square.  Once we opened the roof there not was sheathing that had to be installed, but there was rot in arears of the structural support of the building.  On April 27th, the homeowner was contacted and told about the rot the was found.  We explained we could not roof over a rotted underlayment or rotted structural support system by law.  He wanted us to let him install the plywood, we advised if that be the case we couldn't warranty a roof that we were not fully responsible for the installation.  Also with the treat of rain, we did not want to be liable if it rained during his time of redoing the plywood and it caused interior damages.  He than okay the price of $2850 for the plywood, the cost of the other structure wasn't sure of yet (2x4's, 1x6's etc) that was completely itemized in his invoice, and he was made aware of.  Now he has a fully warrantied roof and no monies are owed.  Chet also reduced the cost of the plywood.  No other action required.    

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I only paid the full amount because the owner of Chets Roofing threaten to put a lien on my house.  I told them that I had planned to dispute the charges later.  I plan to take them to court and let a judge decide if my disputes/complaint do not work.  

The response by Chets is incorrect.  There was NO rotten underlayment or rotted structural support system.  I was told that the existing nails may come loose in the future and if I don't agree to let them install the plywood, they will not honor the 10 year warranty that they had previously contracted to do so.  I have a copy of the signed agreement to prove this.

While I did not appreciate being put a tough spot (had I said no to them, my house would have been exposed to rain since they had already taken the old roof off), my issue is with the total numbers of the plywood that they put on my roof.  When I spoke to them on the phone, I was told 72 to 75 plywood was being sent to my home for installation for the total cost of $2850 plus tax.  But that evening, after they had install the plywood and went home, I went up to my roof to count the number of plywood.  The total count was 58.  I asked the owner to pro-rate the cost but he refused.  Again, I would like to be refunded $850 plus tax.

They also charged me additional $1,086 for the cost of replacing other structure (2x4's, 1x6's), which I gladly paid.  

 

Sincerely,

*** ****

Business Response: The cost of tearing out one sheet of plywood and installing one sheet of plywood, labor and material, is $50 per sheet.  We charged Mr. **** $2850.00 for the plywood which equals 57 sheets, not 72 sheets like he's stating.  There is no refund due.  His house is 23 sqrs, which is 3 sheets of plywood to each square that would make 69 sheets,  we didn't install 69, we only installed 57.  I don't know why he thinks it was more then 57.  When we open a roof and see rot, we have to stop the job, notifiy the customer, and replace the rot.  We can not roof over rotted wood.  Maybe he should have hired a company that would do that.  I'm sorry.  We have to be responsible for the warranty we have to live up to and Mr. **** was just trying to cut corners. 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  Again their response is INCORRECT.   They did not have to tear off the existing plywood.  They only had to put on new sheets plywood.  This means they did half the labor.

 

And the total number of plywood sheets used is INCORRECT.    


Sincerely,

*** ****

3/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A new roof was installed on January 16 of this year. The company left lots nails around the house and caused to have a flat tire to my friend. In addition, we call the owner and tell him that we want the group to finish the job that was left behind ( one part was left due to the weather and time). The was extremely disrespectful and screaming to me. I ask why he was acting this way and he just disconnected the phone call. furthermore, the employee that was here just started yelling a me that he got in trouble because of me . I had to stooped him and tell him that if continue this way had to leave the property. We have a video that shows this employee stealing property from my house. The owner never called or apologized for this behavior of his employee or even himself.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a discount due to this outcome and bad experience.

Business Response: I guess there is always two sides to a story and here is ours.  We had a crew start and almost complete a roof install, but due to the weather and that is was dark out, our Foreman told the customer they'd be back the next day to finish off.  The crew that was there spoke Spanish and the homeowner got along well with them.  However, the next day they got sent o another job after informing our senior technician, who has been in the roofing business for over 30 years, what was left to complete.  When our technician got there and started finishing up the job, Mr. ******* questioned who he was and why the original crew didn't return.  He also wasn't happy that the original crew didn't return and didn't think our senior technician had the knowledge of what was left to be completed, but he did.  After several questions, he told Mr. ****** to call the office that he just needed to complete the job.  Mr. ****** called the office and spoke with Helen, the owner, who again explained that our senior technician was well aware of the work that had to be completed and that we don't always send the same crew back out to finish off a job.  We have a schedule to keep and they needed to begin another job.  The work that needed to be completed was minor work.  Our senior technician would be the one to come and do a final anyway and verify that the work was done correctly.  Mr. ****** didn't pay his invoice in full and requested to pay the balance a few weeks later on 2/15.  We agreed.  When we did not receive the payment, a call was made on the 19th asking if they had mailed out the balance and Mr. ****** became adamant with our office clerk for calling him and stated he was told "not to speak to anyone in the office". After giving our clerk a hard time he paid $1300.00 and still owes $2,591.40. He then started calling our crew foreman on his personal phone multiple times and harassing him, till one of our senior office staff who does the finals also, and has previously spoke with Mr. *******, got on the phone with him and told him not to be calling our employees.  We have set up an appointment to meet him tomorrow to review any issues he may have and pick up the balanced owed.  This complaint to BBB is the first we've heard of the nails, which to be honest, its very hard to find every single nail, but we try.  As far of the roofing materials that he states where his not ours, we questioned our serior technician and he said he never took his materials.  If Mr. ****** can supply that video and it proves to be different materials then what e had delived I would like to see it. 

Consumer Response:

Please let me know if I can submit this video via a link, the video is to large.  In addition, I will submit rebuttal on this response, plus the charge of the tire.  

Thank you

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response: This morning I had to call the BBB and request to reopen this complaint for me to respond to the last comments made.  They closed it because the nature of the comments had nothing to do with anything about the work performed by our company.  Matter of fact, none of his comments were anything to do with the quality and outcome of the work performed.  I believe in the BBB referral/review program, because they notify a business and give the business the right to respond.  No other review company does that.  However, if the review is totally a lie, I still can't have it removed.  So I hope that who ever reads this complaint has common sense. Our company performs over 1,000 roof installs a year and have been in business for over 16 yrs now.  There are always going to be someone who has their opinion on our professionalism, our response time or quality of work.  I can only say that we do our best to satisfy every customer.  The comments made by this homeowner do not justify another response or explanation by my company.  Thank you.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
***** * ******  ***** ** ***** *****  **** ** ***** 

To whom it may concern at BBB; 


My response to this business is that I have served and am still serving this country and have 
held the one of the highest security clearance and my integrity never been an issues nor 
questionable at any time. I agree that this issue has gone out of hand, but not on my part!!. 
Every response and/or complain that I have posted on this issue are true and hence, I would be 
willing to take a polygraph test if it ever comes to that while this company keeps away from the 
full truth. This company, instead of accepted the fact that I was unhappy with their work and 
professionalism, keeps trying to admit that I, the costumer, am purposely complaining in order 
to not pay or get something free. Honestly, that is completely wrong; I have already paid in full 
and do not want this company coming back to my house again. 

I am and I'll keep complaining so that this company can learn as shown below: 

Respect: The owners told me “go to ****” when I called him about my concern. 

Responsibility: The owner does not accept the facts and acknowledge his behavior nor 
company personnel. In addition, the company does not want to pay for damage nor suffering 
for the family. 

Integrity: The Company came to my house and recorded a conversation with out my 
authorization or consent and Mike told me to pay him $100.00 to make this deal (bribery). He 
also told me to pay the crew $50.00 per person (this is again, bribery)). 

Safety: The crew took children into my house even on the roof. 

Honesty: The company response with accusations about customer lie and they do not 
acknowledge their bad behavior and taking owner material from premises 





***** * ******  ***** ** ***** *****  **** ** ***** 

To whom it may concern at BBB; 


Even Kent police department called this company regarding the recording conversation in my 
house and I quote from their response to me“, while Mike was recording their conversation, 
and he also states "he will do whatever he can to discredit this company, CHet's Roofing." He 
also states now, that after a month has gone by that he has a flat tire and wants us to pay for it. 
He also says that I never mentioned it before, and Mike asked me (during the recorded 
conversation)” This it’s illegal and I can tell you that this company will be held accountable for 
this act. 

As a husband and a father, I would not want any other person to go through this company to 
have an adequate job done on their roof and then not have their complaints acknowledged 
along with feeling that ‘the company is always right’ and that is not truth. Finally, the 
comments made by me the homeowner justified all the response and explanation against the 
company. This company should be put out the business for bribery, illegal act, as well all the 
acts descripted above. 

Thank you, 

***** * ******

Sincerely,

***** ******

3/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Chet's roofing in July to replace my flat roof. This total cost $17,500. I paid them $15,000 when they said they were done and they said they would take the balance in 5 payments over the course of the next 5 months. In the meantime, the rains came and immediately my "new" roof began leaking in multiple locations. I reached out to them to have it fixed and their response time was abysmal and water continued to leak, which has to be soaking the brand new insulation I was told on site, day of the job had to be replaced which was not part of the original estimate. As a result of the newly incurred cost, I was not able to do the whole job but had to put off roofing half of the job. Since the initial contact for repairs, I have had to call them over and over again to get the leaks stopped. They sent people out on 3 occasions and yet my roof is still leaking! They then said they would invalidate the warranty and not come out if I didn't finish paying the balance to which I said I did not want to do until they truly finished the job which meant the roof would no longer be leaking. They then brought on a new woman to work in the office as a liason to the customer. I spoke with her on a number of occasions as well and told her that I would in good faith pay another $1000 to demonstrate that I am trying to resolve the issue in an honest and timely manner. Since that time, I haven't heard another word from anyone and my roof is once again leaking in about 4 different spots. In addition to calls, texts, emails and phone calls, I have sent photographs and video documenting the leaking. One final note on the job, as it turned out, I needed to have soffit repair work done as we have very deep eaves. The eaves are made of tongue and groove cedar car decking and it was "repaired" using pine shelving boards. Therefore, the refinishing of the eaves was not able to be completed and I am being told that i should have told them to replace it with like material.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the roof repaired in full so there are no leaks of any sort or kind. I would like the repairs that were done with anything materials other then the proper materials to be repaired using the "like kind" materials. I would like my account to reflect paid in full as I have spent hours trying to contend with this issue over the last 6 months. I would like a receipt reflecting paid in full at the current payment ($16,000) as well as a full 20 year warranty receipt.

Business Response:

Ms. ********* originally contacted us back in April 2015.  She requested bids for all kinds of stuff, which included enlarging four large custom made skylights, a built up roof system, and carpentry work on her pool and shed.  After several changes, which included us having an architect, at our expense, the bid added up to $19,500.00 not including sales tax and permit fees.  After three months of changes she finally elected a bid for $9,400 for a hot tar roof which included a shed.  Other charges were insulation and carpentry items.   She finally signed up in July and the work commenced.  During the work project is when the carpentry issues developed, and she only wanted to replace some tongue & grove to match existing due to her budget. However, it was explained that it would not match existing because the other pieces were too weathered. The carpentry should have been $3,500, but Chet reduced to $1,071.00.  She also requested new insulation, which would have been $5,000, but Chet reduced it too $3,100.00, then an additional layer of roofing was found during the roof project. During the job, she would ask our employees to do other work that wasn't in the scope of the contract, several times we received calls from our crew and had to instruct them "not" to do this additional work unless she signed a Change Order, and of course she did not.  Finally when the job was done.  She informed us she did not have all the money to pay for it.  She had only a budget of $15,000 and that needed to cover everything. She asked if she could do a payment plan for the amount over the $15,000.  I wondered if she had gone with the higher bid,that she had previously stated she wanted to do, if she knew her budget then.  We agreed on a 5 payment for the balance and typed up a Payment plan with her first payment due by 9/10/15.  Well 9/10 came and went 10/10 pasted and it wasn’t till after we called requesting the full balance of $2,442.25, (which was in the terms of the payment plan if payments were not paid on time) that Ms. ********* announced she had a leak.  She also stated that the carpentry work that was done didn’t match her existing and her painter couldn’t stain it to match existing. We again had to re-explain that we told her that before.  That it should have all been replaced so it would match but she didn’t want that done.  Even though she was delinquent, we sent out a technician to inspect the roof and did not find a leak from the roof and suspected the chimney, so we had the chimney wrapped and asked her to let us know if she had any more leaks. She said she did so we rewrapped the chimney again because she had a cracked chimney that needed repair.  There is no evidence of the roof leaking and she was made aware of her chimney issue.  She stated she mailed a check to us by UPS, however, our office did not receive or deposit this payment. We informed her a couple of times that we had not received it, yet she did not offer to stop payment and reissue a new one.  Still to date we have not received any payment on her balance.  Under the Conditions of Sale on her contract it states that if payment is not received in full, all warranties will be void.  Therefore we will not return to do any work on her property until the full payment is received.  Although the work that is needed is chimney work which is not part of the contract. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The details of the response are incorrect in these ways:  There was no architect involved in the project that I was made aware of.  If an architect was hired that was not my decision.  As far as working out the details of the roofing project, indeed we did discuss different options.  Regarding the insulation, I was never asked about insulation until the first day of the project when the roof was half torn off and I was informed I would need all new insulation because mine was wet.  It was only at that point I said "yes" to insulation when I didn't have any choice but to replace it.  I knew nothing of an extra layer of roofing that needed to be removed.  As far as the replacement of the soffits, I knew that the fresh wood would not match the original wood in terms of aging, but I did not say that I didn't care about what materials were used.  Of course replacing "in kind" only makes sense when using the word "replacing".  As far as the roof leak, I have video and photographic documentation of the leak.  Also, it is a straight up fabrication of the truth to say there is a crack in the chimney.  That is absolutely false.  I have had a chimney company come out to check it and there is NO crack.  As I stated in the letter in response to the letter from Chet's legal, I am happy to pay my bill in full but I don't understand why having a "new" roof that leaks from the very first rain is a viable product.  I also have documentation showing that the check I issued them was delivered to their office.  It was my attempt to "go first" to try to resolve this issue.  I did finally "stop payment" on the check.  My concern is that in paying the balance at this point, I am still left with a leaking roof.  One of Chet's guys that came out apologized to me and said how embarrassed he was to have to be there fixing the leaking roof. He himself acknowledged there was a leak. I just want a roof that doesn't leak!  That doesn't seem unreasonable. 
Sincerely,

***** *********

9/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was issued a 30year warrantee but after 4 years the roof leaks and they say not their fault and settle it through **** *******, took months to get info from them to finally get ahold of ** to get them to resolve this issue, Their comment was "not our fault. We don't need to do anything to help you". They drug their feet not giving me the correct info to get ahold of ** to get this resolved. They have been soooo rude and unhelpful, not showing up when scheduled, putting on awful plastic and not covering the whole house, rude employees that just used the statement "it is just a process" for months and not properly guiding me. Chet the owner called me yelling at me, telling me he didn't have to do anything for me and that he was contacting ** everyday to get this resolved where I found out this was an utter lie. He should have given me **** # right away if he felt it was a product default but he didn't. He drug this on for months! I first contacted Chets in Oct 2014, it took then two months to get out to my house to put plastic on my roof and then they only covered a portion of my house. The roof inspector informed me that this was an insufficient job and the whole house should have been covered. The plastic they put on my house was a flimsy clear and very thin, it has rotted and has blown all over the neighborhood. I clean up plastic everyday. I have a log of calls and time lines for all the time I have spent trying to get my roof resolved to no satisfaction. They have stepped out of the picture and now I am trying to deal with ** on my own and they are not covering $1300 of the needed funds to resolve this issue. Chets has offered no funds yet they say they have insurance and a bond in place. While his crew was here working according to my neighbor who is retired and home most of the day says there was no supervision from a supervisor and the crew seemed hired from the streets. I am asking Chets to come up with the $1300 balance per their warrantee.

Desired Settlement: Pay the difference ** will not cover per warrantee labor and product

Business Response: First off I'm sorry that Mr. ****** is having an issue with the manufacturer's for covering the expense of the alleged faulty materials.  We installed a roof for Mrs. ******* back in 2011.  Three years later she contacted us that there were issues.  We went out and inspected the roof and found no issue with the installation of the roof and was concerned that it may be that the material was defective.  At that time, since she was having a leak issue, we had that portion of the roof tarped.  We contacted the manufacturers and informed them that they needed to inspect the roof and determine what the issue was.  We also had an independent roofing consultant inspect the roof, totally unrelated to our company, and he also confirmed that the material was defective.  At this point the manufacturer became 100% responsible for the replacement of the roof and the cost of the replacement.  That is what their warranty is suppose to cover.  We contacted them several times if reference to this issue to make sure they were working on it, unlike what Mrs. ******* has insinuated.  Mrs. *******, at that time, wanted immediate results but we were not "allowed" to "tell" the manufacturer to do their job or remove her roof without the approval given by the manufacturer that lst they have taken responsibility for the roof, 2nd that they were going to cover the install expenses.  Mrs. ******* could not understand that and just wanted is done.  She also became rude herself to our office staff to a point we had to stop communication. Since we were informed that the manufacturer had taken responsibility and we were not contacted to be a part of the re-install of the new roof.  Now they are telling her that a portion of it is not being covered. Why, we have no information of.  We are not liable for the $1300.00.  If it had been deemed that any part of our workmanship was at fault, which it was not, then we would of course have responsibility.  Lastly, all our employees 100% of the time have a Foreman present. George G*******, was the foreman on this job and had been with our company for over ten years at that time.  Most of our employees have been with us for several years.  Of course they don't wear new clothes to jobsite, roofing is a dirty job. Again I'm sympathetic to Mrs. *******, however her comments are not appreciated and doesn't resolve the issue.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I just spent two hours on my response to send only to have it disappear so I was told to send you a direct e-mail. My response to Chets roofing co.:

I am responding to Chet's comments regarding my complaint. I kept a timeline and journal throughout this horrible process. Chet states "he came out and had the house tarped". I called in mid Oct. to inform them that my roof was leaking. Many calls to Chets with no response.  No one shows up until 11-29 after many calls to them, this man shows up unannounced. Confirms water leaking throughout the whole garage, water on floor, looks around the outside of the house, never comes in or looks into the attic and leaves. Because there was such poor to no response from Chets I placed a call to the ******* *********, they are the ones who gave me their name as an authorized roofer through their program. 

12-8: Called ***** ** (******* *********) ***** calls Chet's to get him to come out. 

12-10: Employee from Chet's shows up again  (no notice) and confirms lots of leaking throughout the whole house. He puts some plastic on part of my house. When he leaves he states "someone will be by tomorrow to cover the garage".

12-11: No one shows up.

12-14: Still no response from Chet's to cover garage.

Date unknown: Chet and ***** show up at my house, confirm leaking throughout the house, Chet's response, not his fault it is a materials defect, that is his opinion. He has nothing to show me that this is fact.

Date unknown: My ins. agent comes out and takes pictures of water stains throughout the entire house. 

Date unknown: I wake up to water dripping into my house (bedroom). I point this out to my ins. agent as well as Chets supervisor.

January ?: Chet's says someone needs to come out to retrieve a section of my roof. A large cardboard shipping envelope shows up on my porch. More time lapses.

That someone never showed up until I called again. Finally a roofing inspector and an employee from Chets show up. Confirms it is a wet mess under shingles, Chets employee takes a section off my roof, they do not use the cardboard shipping envelope that was sent, he just puts it in his truck. Roofing inspector asks why the whole house was not covered, inspector informs me that was not efficient, the whole house should have been covered completely since the whole house was leaking. This never happened. 

Weeks later: An employee from Chets calls me only after I sent them the needed Warrantee Claim Form and asked for the shipping label, I told them I no longer had it as they said they were going to take care of it. No one told me it was in the shipping envelope. 

Weeks later :I have heard nothing, I e-mail pictures of items in garage getting moldy because it was months to finally get my garage tarped.

2-16: I called Chet's to get the status and am told "it's a process" with no other information. I told am employee I was going to get an estimate of damages in my attic due to moisture and her response was "go ahead". She also mentioned to me that "Kristina the project manager "dropped the ball on this case".

2-17: Chet calls me and was very abusive to me. He states he has been calling **** at ** everyday, we have been trying to help you when we could just walk away, we don't need to help you it is all **** fault. Still this has not been confirmed. Chet was getting so abusive someone took the phone from him. I asked for ***** # so I could find out the status and **** states Chets has not been calling him to get this settled. Since that time I have been dealing with ** with much difficulty and shortage on funding for something that is their fault. **** was never sent here to inspect. 

In my opinion Chets gave me a 30 year warranty on product and labor yet did nothing to stand up to this warranty and walked away. I believe they should have offered to replace the roof and deal with ** themselves but that was never an option. I was referred by an employee as "the ******* ********* project person", WOW!!. Chet came off as a gruff, non caring, intimidating individual that feels since he has been paid he is out of the picture. 

I have to take out a loan against my house now for the balance ** is not willing to pay, I am out $1000 for something that is not my fault along with the $ I am out due to throwing things in the trash because I was uncovered for so long. I also want to mention the plastic Chet's put on my house was a very thin clear plastic that throughout the summer has dried out, has crumbled and has been blowing all over my yard and neighborhood. It has been a horrible mess!. 

I have talked w/ attorneys to get advise on the personal damages ** will not cover, I feel the damages would be less if Chets was more timely to get my roof covered. I have also had a conversation with the ******* ********* regarding the treatment I received from Chets and that I would never refer them to anyone. It is now Sept. and I am finally getting my new roof, this should never have taken this long but because Chets walked away, I had to handle everything on my own. In my opinion Chets needs to improve his attitude and responsibility to his customers 1000%. **** *******

3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Chet's roofing to have a leak fixed in my garage. I paid him $350 + tax to ahve him fix the leak. They have come over to my house about 4 times. Each time spending less than 15 minutes. They leak is still there. I thought the last time he was at my house on 3/2/15 rthey were going to put some tarp on the roof as a temporary fix. I called him back on 3/15 about a tarp on the roof and he wants another $400. He says I need a new roof but I cannot do that at this time. I paid him $350 and nothing was fixed.

Desired Settlement: I would like one of 3 solutions 1. Come spend the time to find the leak and fix it.2. Temporary tarp put up without paying any extra. 3. Refund of of the 350 I paid since the leak is not fixed.

Business Response:

We have repeatedly explained to Mr. ***** that he needs a new roof.  Our first service call to his residence was back in March of 2011 for an emergency service call for a leak.  He was informed then that he needed a new roof. He called us again in July of 2012 to clean his roof, again informed he needs a new roof.  March of 2014 again we went out and fixed a leak over rafters, and informed him again that also these emergency repairs are "only" temporary" that he needs a new roof and we can not keep coming out to do repairs cause it's not going to resolve the problem, this is only a temporary fix.  On February 17, 2015 he again calls about a leak.  We again send a technician who tells him again this is only a temp fix.  Ten days later we did not have payment for this service call and when he called to pay by credit card it was declined.  Mr. ***** then pretended to our office staff that he didn't speak English and at 5:30 pm on 2/27/15, called again asking us to do a service call for repair, when he hadn't paid for the last one.  At that point he offered another credit card payment which finally cleared.  Now its the end of March 2015, and he want us to come out and tarp his roof free of charge.  We told him that the tarping (which included the cost of a tarp) was $400 tax included which requires two technicians to install and secure the tarp, but he'd have to pay at time of service with check or cash we were not taking a credit card payment. He got mad and said it should be covered because he paid that last repair call and he still has leaks.  Mr. ***** also keeps telling us he can't afford to put a new roof on.  So I don't know what else to do.  He can apply for assistance with King County Housing Authority.  I'm sorry that Mr. ***** has a deterriating roof issue, but we don't own his house and we can only recommend to him what will resolve his problem.  If he is so dissatisfied with our company then why has he called us for four years to make repair calls.  The resolution to this problem is he needs a new roof. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Chet's Roofing and Construction Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart