Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

K M Resorts Of America

Phone: (253) 896-4677 Fax: (253) 896-4680 View Additional Phone Numbers 6191 20th St E, Fife, WA 98424 http://www.kmresorts.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers private RV campgrounds in Washington.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that K M Resorts Of America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for K M Resorts Of America include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on K M Resorts Of America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 17, 1992 Business started: 11/09/1995 in WA Business started locally: 11/09/1995 Business incorporated 11/09/1995 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Douglas McLeod, President Mr. Kevin McLeod, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas McLeod, President
Principal: Mr. Kevin McLeod, VP
Business Category

Resorts Camps Hotels (except Casino Hotels) and Motels (NAICS: 721110)

Alternate Business Names
K M Resorts Of America Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

K M Resorts Of America has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6191 20th St E

    Fife, WA 98424 (253) 896-4677 (800) 392-5722

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought into K & M resorts with the promise of all the campgrounds being beautifully maintained and a great buy with the camp cost to cost addition. They even set us up with a free three day stay and gave us a gas gift card for participating. We stayed at TWO of their resorts, Ocean shores and the one in Blaine. We did not find beautiful maintained campgrounds quite the opposite in Ocean shores, the whole back of the property is closed and you can't get back to the area to camp. The one in Blaine is like a mobile home park and NOT a camp ground. While on a two week camping trip last year through Washington, Oregon and California and along the cost, we could not find ONE campground in either program, just a complete waste of time and money. Then we write to them and tell them how unhappy with their program and all we get is a replay they will put our dues on hold for two years. What will that do, nothing. They can't fix what is already damaged, they can't make the camp grounds any more appealing. They need to stop using pictures that show beautiful campgrounds when they are no where that nice. letter sent: In November of 2014 we purchased a membership with the use of camp coast to coast as well, with the anticipation of using our RV to camp across the country and across the pacific coast line in conjunction with each other. We went on a two week camping trip down to California and back up the coast, never once using the parks at either membership due to there not being any. We ended up staying at Good Sam or regular camp grounds due to this. A big waste of our money. Then we never used our membership for the KM parks either as we had a free two day stay at the one in Blaine, not our cup of tea so to say. The park is way to open with little tree coverage and was more like a mobile home park. We tried to stay at our home park in Ocean shores however they were doing so much work that the back part of the campground was unusable. Again not very appealing. One day we

Desired Settlement: Refund out money we paid out of pocket for this worthless camp membership. Completeion of letter and reply: took a drive to Squim as we heard it was a very nice camp ground and we wanted to check it out for our-self before booking there. What a waste of time, the park looks to be run down and in a residential area. Again, not our cup of tea, what we were told about these camp grounds and what we have experienced is really a membership that will never get used. I guess we should have pressed forward and did more research instead of being pressured to buy that day for a discount. And we should have checked better business bureau, which will get a copy of our complaints if something is not done on reimbursing us our new year of fees for something we can not use nor want to any longer and what we paid for the membership. We are highly disappointed. Membership paid $4,407.76 included 1st year KM dues Dues for CCtoC $ 290.90 Dues for KM resort $ 249.00 for 2016 total

Business Response:

We have already responded to Mr. ******** regarding his complaint. We offered to waive his dues for two years, not put them on hold. All of the pictures we use on our marketing material are pictures from all of our resorts, we do not use stock photos.

He also would have watched a video prior to purchasing showing all the resorts, We do not own the Blaine resort, it is a sister resort.

Rather than him writing all of the complaints, we would be more than happy to sit down with him and go over his membership. He purchased in 2014, and is asking for  refund two years later.

Thank you,

 

Douglas M*****

Consumer Response: Concerning this email, first of all I never received anything from K & M and second of all when we went to the meeting to view the camp ground membership we were NEVER shown a movie or video, we were ushered into an office, looked at pictures on a WALL and then ushered into another room where another sales rep told us about all the camp grounds and all the amenities they had of which so far we have not seen any.

6/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we first signed up with KM Resorts of America they were affiliated with Yogi Bear Campgrounds and had many activities for our children. We were told when we signed up but that affiliation would be going away, but that the activities would stay the same. After the affiliation went away so did the activities. The place basically turned into a retirement Park. Our children were yelled at for riding their bikes too fast and there was absolutely nothing for them to do. The place absolutely started catering towards retired people and forgot all about families!

Desired Settlement: You just like to walk away from km resorts without any further obligation. They have sent us to collections after we inform them of this desire. We would like that collection to be removed from our credit.

Business Response:

Please see attached regarding the complaint from Mr. ******.

He is on a membership with his mom, normally we do not allow this, it is for a couple, we made an exception for them back in 2006 when they joined.

Notice the multiple times we have spoken with them about their account, we even offered to pay them back 500 in 2010.

I have also attached some activities pages from last summer for Ponderosa Falls.

In our opinion, the reason for the complaint is because they were finally sent to collections for their balances owed, we went over and beyond accommodating them when they were behind in payments. The notes attached speak for them self.

 

Any questions please call me.

Thank you

3/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the email I sent KM today: In September my husband and I were at a ******* ***** in Burlington, WA. On our way out there was a draw box for a camping package so I entered. A few weeks later we received a phone call saying we had "won" the package. The friendly lady invited us to ***** *** for dinner and a weekend stay. Little did we know this was going to be a sales pitch. When I got off the phone and discussed it with my husband, something seemed fishy. We don't like "winning" things with strings attached to it. We once agreed to a "no-hassle" vacuum demonstration for a free air purifier only to have the woman cry on our living room floor and refuse to leave until we bought a vacuum. Well, we tossed her and the vacuum and the "free" purifier out of our house. After searching KM Resorts we found several negative reviews about its practices, quality of services, costs, etc. We didn't want to be involved in a time share scenario and that isn't the type of camping we enjoy. We're explorers, not squatters. And I believe, in a free country, we have the right to turn down a "free gift." So we emailed the lady later that evening and told her we weren't interested in any way and we don't ever want to be contacted again. Here is the exact email: Tuesday, October 14, 2014, 10:33 PM To: ***** ********** *********************@yahoo.com Hi *****. We have been doing research on KM and ********* and the reviews from other users seem odd and fishy. We don't want to get involved in a scam/money-grab scenario. Please cancel our appointment for Saturday. This is not our type of camping and we don't like gifts with strings attached. There is no need to contact us again and we'd like to be removed from any mailing list. Thanks anyway. A normal person would assume this is the end of our saga with KM. No. About a month ago I received a phone call from someone with KM Resorts. He said our account was on administrative hold but we didn't understand the true value of what was being offered to us. Over the course of our 14 minute conversation, he didn't let me speak once. Not once! I kept trying to interject with, "excuse me..." or "Actually..." Extremely rude. Whether or not we had asked to be left alone already, his manner of speaking to me was very aggressive and disrespectful. Hard-sell tactics don't work on us. We've grown immune to them over the years, beginning with the sobbing vacuum lady. I was finally able to tell him my husband wasn't home but I'd let him know he called. As soon as he got home I said, "Guess who calllllled....." He wasn't happy. And he let the guy know it. The salesman started off on the same pitch with my husband as he tried with me, not allowing space for an interjection. But my husband isn't as polite as I am and said, "No! You're not talking. This isn't a conversation. I'm the only one talking. You're NEVER calling here again! Do you understand?" The man went to say something. My husband said, "I don't want to hear it. I just want to hear yes. Do you understand?" Again, you would assume this is the end of our saga. But just last week I saw a voicemail on my phone and it was our KM buddy, with the EXACT same message. "I see here your file has been placed on administrative hold but I feel I need to explain to you the true value of this package." NO! WE! DON'T! WANT! TO! HEAR! IT! During our first phone conversation he said, "I'll gladly call the next person on the list and give this package away to someone who will appreciate it. But I don't think you want me to do that." Well, hey buddy. Why are you calling us to sell us this awesome package if there is a long list of people dying to get in? PHONE THEM! I played the message for my husband, who promptly phoned the toll-free number. He got a woman and was as polite and firm as he could be without blowing a fuse. So in summary, because apparently you guys are slow learners and take a while for things to sink in, this is what we want: NEVER PHONE US AGAIN! DON'T REPLY TO THIS EMAIL! STOP HARASSING US!

Desired Settlement: I just want to be left alone and I want the business to understand it's not okay to treat people with such disrespect and aggressive sales tactics. I honestly don't even want an apology because we don't want to hear from them again.

Business Response:

Her initial complaint is regarding ********* ****** in Birch Bay, I have forwarded them the information. We are affiliated with ********* and share a marketing database, I have removed her phone number and made notes to not contact her.  She filled out a drawing slip with ********* ****** at the ******* ***** store in Burlington.  They were in our marketing database twice with two different phone numbers, this is why the multiple calls.

We apologize and they will not be called again.

9/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The following is an email I sent to the Owner of KM: The only response I got was him asking me twice if anyone had contacted me. I have been a member for a few years now and decided that since I no longer visit WA that it was time to sell the membership. I placed an ad on ********** and got a reply right away from **** ****** See below: I thought how nice it is that your company would assist in the transfer. I contacted **** with 2 people that were all ready to buy my membership and I put them in touch with ****. Since then I had another buyer all ready except to sign the papers and when I tried to call **** he would not return any of my calls. I was then contacted by **** who said he also was in charge of transfers. I received a fax from him to sign and he was going to take care of the rest with the buyers. I contacted the buyers and they said they changed their mind and when I asked if **** tried to sell them another membership she told me YES. What is going on here? What type of deceitful practice is this to have me refer a buyer for my membership which I bought in good faith and because of circumstances beyond my control I can no longer use, and then have your salesmen who are in charge of membership transfers take my buyer and sell them another membership. This is a very deceitful practice. Hello, My name is **** ***** and I am here at ********* ******* I see your ********* ****** membership is for sale on *********** I take care of all the membership transfers. Please contact me with any questions you or your purchaser may have and I will help you with your sale. Take advantage of my 22 years experience here at ********** Let me know when you find a purchaser so we can make an appointment for the transfer. Thank you. Best Regards, **** ***** **************** Cell: ************ (The best way to reach me quickly)

Desired Settlement: Fair way to transfer membership and buy my membership back at the advertised price when they stole my buyers, which is $1000.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/09/12) */ The customers complaint is directed to ********* ******* customer needs to contact ********* with questions and concerns. Their phone number is XXX XXX-XXXX. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 16, 2014/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Owner handled the next person I sent to the company and handled it professionally and to my satisfaction. Too bad it had to come to this.

3/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted on Friday Feb 21 saying I had won a $2000.00 camp ground award and was directed to make an appointment with this company. My wife and I went to our 2:30 appointment and were greeted by a young lady ******* ***** at the door. ******* took us back to a small room and proceeded to give us their sales pitch. We continually asked "how much" and she would go off on another tangent. She had fee amounts all over the place taking us down paths where as we saw no daylight. One of the things that interested us was the fact we could go to any represented campground 1 of 9 at any time as we please and that all fees were covered. Once we got down to the money part she asked us for $3,000.00 plus fees to join. We told her no thanks and she then brought in a gentleman ***** ******** who offered us $500.00 off the 3000.00. I told him if that offer stood we'd go home and think about it. He became belligerent and told us NO we had to sign then and there. After I told him no again he finally made us the offer to come back the next day. At that time ******* handed my wife a brochure that was supposed to have 3 free camping passes in it, it had nothing inside except for the brochure. Lied to again.That evening I went online and printed out member handbook. It was chocked full of what we could and could not do and tons of associated fees. There was nothing stated about what KM Resorts would do for the consumer. As well as nothing that we had been promised during the presentation. They were far from what had been described to us. Starting with reservations were always needed and there were fees from everything from no show fees to extra vehicle fees etc. We were mislead and obviously lied to throughout the demonstrated program. We did not return although KM called us 4 times on Sunday (we knew by the phone #) and never left a message. I believe their business practices are fraudulent at best and they should publish member rights. They leave everything open for their benefit and nothing showing consumer rights or values. We were lied to throughout the presentation, bullied into paying money by Bruce that we refused to do, deceived and handed an empty brochure that was alleged to have coupons in it.

Desired Settlement: I would like a written apology from the owners of the company with a valid explanation of why they operate the way they do. I wish we could be compensated for losing an entire afternoon of our time. It would be nice to receive the passes we were also promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/04) */ Our basic membership with K/M, as stated in our public offering statement, is values at $2,000. ******* explained the many levels of programs to *** and **** *********, there is not one price we sell a membership for, for ******* to quote a single price. That is why we ask them to come in and allow an hour or so to explain the memberships we offer and see what would fit best into their camping plans. When they left, ******* gave them a brochure and asked them to call her personally to book their complimentary stay at one of our resorts. There is no "pass" in the brochure she gave them, she let them know she would take care of the reservations for them. AS far as the extra fees, I have the survey sheet where ******* explained the program to them, on the sheet, she outlined the extra costs for wi-fi and cable. We also outline in our public offering statement the additional fees charged at the resorts, this is standard at most resorts, the overnight fees are included in the membership, not wi-fi and cable since they are optional. If anyone would like to see the outline of what was told to them, I can provide. K/M has been in business for over 25 years, we are licensed with the state and have a good reputation. I an unclear on some of his comments, therefore I cannot answer, such as "they leave everything open for our benefit?" If they would like to speak over the phone to clear up any misconceptions they took away, we would be happy to do that.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on K M Resorts Of America
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart