This business is not BBB accredited.

All Star RV Repair & Refurbishing LLC

Phone: (503) 925-9878 Fax: (503) 625-8944 View Additional Phone Numbers 19475 SW Chapman Rd, Sherwood, OR 97140 http://www.allstarrvrepairs.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers recreational vehicle maintenance and repair services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for All Star RV Repair & Refurbishing LLC include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on All Star RV Repair & Refurbishing LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 30, 2002 Business started: 04/01/1992 Business started locally: 04/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dale Lissner, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dale Lissner, Owner
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning Trailers - Camping & Travel Trailers - Repair & Service

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday 9am - 5pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
6 month unconditional warranty
Alternate Business Names
All Star RV Repairs & RFRBSHNG

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    19475 SW Chapman Rd

    Sherwood, OR 97140 (503) 307-8208 (800) 552-5789 (503) 925-9878

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when we originally met Dale at the Tacoma RV show he said the work would be between 4500 and 6000, and it would take 2 weeks to complete repairs.when we got to portland and got the camper unloaded it suddenly jumped to $9100, when i was in shock he gave us a $500 "show discount".We were quoted one price for the repairs, that he said we would probably not need to do a lot of the repairs listed. we got charged all but $400 of the original quote and only half the work was done but the end price was almost the same as the original quote. he moved charges around, added and subtracted charges and never got our permission for anything but the hot water heater. we were rushed out of the place because their guys were on over time, got to portland and noticed when it started getting dark the lights on the camper didn't work, so we took it home to make sure it wasn't our plug and it wasn't, in the mean time my husband noticed the vents also didn't close and the handle was missing from the escape hatch. so we went back down that Monday morning and they fixed those things. when we tried to talk to the owner about the cost being so much when they only did half the work promised, he said he had to go in the house and left in his truck and never returned while we were there.i have original quote and final quote and what i believe is the difference in what it should have been along with our fuel and meals and lost wages to return to oregon to get the things fixed properly. we tried to talk to the owner but he was very evasive and he added charges and statements on the bottom of the 2nd invoice after my husband signed. he said we had inspected the camper but we had no chance to inspect it prior to being outside tying it up to the truck in the pouring down rain at the end of the driveway, after everyone had left.

Desired Settlement: we believe a fair resolution would be a refund of $3299. i have the copies of the invoices if you need them and all documentation.

Business Response:

All Star RV Repairs and Refurbishing

***** ** ******* **., Sherwood, OF 97140

***** ********, ****** ********

****************@aol.com

April 6, 2015

Better Business Bureau                                                                                     April 5, 2015

P.O. Box 1000 DuPont, WA 98327

Re: Complaint ID ******** ***** ***** ****** 13 year old camper.

The ******** met with myself at our display booth at the Tacoma RV Expo Show. Their description of the condition of their camper led us to "estimate" the repair costs plus upgrades to be in the $4-5k range. There was also not mentioned that they had a defective hot water heater and that they wanted the front window removed and are reframed/insulated with a full fiberglass overlay (like the new $30k campers). As they were not mentioned at that time, those additional items were not included in their preliminary estimate. The ******** said they liked our rates of $88 per hour at All Star RV Repairs versus the Tacoma/Seattle area rates of the $125 - $150 range, plus they also noted, that Oregon had no sales tax versus their state of Washington ....a real cost savings advantage.

We were "shocked when they arrived...we have never seen a camper built that was too wide for a full sized truck bed." Because the camper was too wide and placed and was placed only on a 1 ton "flat bed" truck, it was questionably stabilized with 4" x 4" vertical wood braces.

The ******** camper was immediately covered with a tarp due to massive leaks in the roof as well as front sidewalls. When work began in the shop it was obvious, as our contract stated, that there was TBD (to be determined) additional work due to considerable dry rot inside the walls that had to be addressed.

However, upon testing the rear of their camper we found minimal if any dry rot. There was credit given and the same applied for the rear door. This credit as well as others (inv#******) was available to offset the obvious repairs required for the extensive weakened front overhang as well as the forward sidewalls repairs.

At the original delivery (est.# ******) as well as the final delivery (1-22-15) the items and costs were gone over "in detail" with both Mr. ****** and Mrs. ******. There were over 70 (6x8) photos given to them to document the sequence of repairs and upgrades, i.e. new hot water heater as the old one was defective. All items repaired and upgraded were itemized and all changes and charges were thoroughly discussed and agreed upon...even the fact that the final billing was substantially less than the original. Furthermore, the original estimate was signed by Mrs. ****** and the final billing was signed as "authorized , inspected, and accepted by ***** ****** on 1-22-15.


In reference to their exterior running lights not working, new lights were installed prior to delivery (which needed his 12V truck plug-in), however in retrospect, we should have tested them at the final delivery on the truck/camper. We did not bill them for over 3 hours to locate the 12 V short problem and showed them a 1" worn through plastic covering on the campers aluminum drilled through framework, even though this issue was pre-existing? During the 2nd delivery and loading of the camper onto their flatbed truck they were very pleased and declined any further assistance from myself in securing the camper on their flat truck in the misting rain.

There have been no letters, e-mails, nor phone complaints from either Mr. or Mrs. ****** in the past 12 weeks since delivery, and they are further aware of All Star RV Repairs policy offering a 6 month parts and labor warrantee on all repairs and upgrades to every customer.

Additionally, Mr. ****** and I discussed the positive aspect of their camper design and both agreed that the new campers with slide outs at the Tacoma Dome RV Show (as with theirs) were selling for $34,000 to $39,000.

We hope the above explanation is helpful for the ******** as well as the Better Business Bureau.

Again there is a full 6 month warrantee on all our work.

We appreciate your requests to explain our positions as well as to the ******** for their business.

We have over 41 years experience in the business of RV Repairs and Refurbishing.

Sincerely,

Dale *. L******, Owner

All Star RV Repairs and Refurbishing

End: Copies of a summary of photos (31) from our records (which matched the set given to them)

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

 

Consumer Response:

I have read Dale's reply and want to restate, we tried to talk to Dale about the final bill but he left as soon as we stated our dispute over charges versus work done/not done.

We were unable to inspect the camper, one guy was working on the outside on a ladder, the other inside the camper.  Dale left before they finished with our camper.

When we originally talked to Dale at the RV show I told him it could be the entire exterior that is damaged.  We hadn't even thought about removing the front window until Dale recommended it because that is where water leaks usually originate according to his many years of experience.

We have no idea what locals charge per hour.  We were most sold by the 2 week turn around time he promised at the RV show.  We did not discuss price comparrisons because we hadn't checked, we did not discuss taxes/no taxes, or the cost comparison between a new 4 Season camper and our "Summer Wind" camper which is not 4 Season.  We did however tell him our camper is on a flat bed truck.

Our camper is a standard size camper in both length and width, it came off a 3/4 ton pickup and Dale moved it into the shop on his own Dodge Pickup.  We put it on a flatbed because that's what we have for hauling hay.  To pretend our camper is oversized is a deliberate deception just like we've dealt with every time we've dealt with Dale.

We went down to check on the progress of the camper a month after we dropped it off, with prior approval, the entire front was torn off the camper, not one word was mentioned about about extra hours being needed on the front or it being worse that they had anticipated.  Nothing.

We never would have agreed to $8600 just to fix the front and replace the hot water heater.  We only accepted $8600 because of all the other work he promised on the back and inside which were not done.  Instead that money was tacked onto the front and top (except $400), without prior authorization.

With so much experience shouldn't he have an idea what it's going to take and cost to do a job prior to doing it?  We had no idea, he have never done this before so when someone says he can do something for so much money we believe him.

As far as the lights are concerned:  We'd never had a problem with them, they worked when we dropped it off, they didn't when we picked up the camper.  They had turn the entire front of the camper apart which is where they found the crossed wires.  How can that be considered pre-existing?  Dale wasn't even there when they found the problem.

Also, every vehicle on the road built after the 1950's has a 12 V battery system, our truck was not needed to test the lights, another deliberate deception.

The issue here is prior authorization for added charges, we did not authorize extra costs or repairs/hours to the front of our camper instead of the rear and inside.

Here is a copy of our original invoice, our final invoice at pick up and 3 photos, explained on the back of this page.

Photo # 1- taken by Dale of our camper on his pick up truck.

Photo # 2 taken by Dale of the tube where the wires run through and the problem was found.

Photo # 3- taken by me on our visit to check the progress a month after we dropped it off.  Already torn apart and damage accessed.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Business Response:

We are sending you our response per your telephone request. All Star RV Repairs and Refurbishing
is a long standing business of integrity with over a thousand customers during the last 23 years
(since April 01, 1992).

Please re-review our response letter of April 05, 2015 in detail. Our customers signed prior to
delivery and prior to paying the final amount due for repairs and/or refurbishing. We also ALWAYS
review with our customers at final delivery that they are given a six month full warranty on all
parts and labor performed by our company.

**** ****** was given multiple credits on the original estimate #****** (11-28-14) as well as an
additional $500 for PR.
There were advices and customer inspections prior to the final delivery date. The original estimate
has a TBD (to be determined) clause at the bottom of this
estimate. The water soaked and damaged camper merited the TBD. It was our
understanding that they had fairly recently purchased the Camper prior to bringing it to us for
repairs. The previous owner may not have known or disclosed the extent of possible damage. This
type of damage is usually hidden from view until the enter area is torn open.

Their recent complaint on April 25, 2015 does not state that they are having any leaks or current
problems.

The "new camper models" do not have a front overhead window. Our suggestion to remove the window
was well received by the ******** and thusly eliminated any future leaks in that area. See Photo
#19.

One of the photos she failed to mention shows a "long term" scraping at the sharp edged aluminum
framing indicating, "possible prior problems", also see photo #26 where we replace the old mildew
running lights, without their approval, as we had "prior authorization communication in person on
their "un-announced progress visits" and over
the phone to "do what needed to be one" in order to save them unnecessary future repair bills.

The ******** failed to mention on their April 05, 2015 (2nd) complaint that they also sent
a complaint to the Oregon Judicial Department of Consumer Affairs. After our response letter to
them, the Consumer Affairs office "closed this case without action".

**** ******** 3 page 2nd letter on April 25, 2015 is beginning to be continued harassment. (noted,
her husband did not add his signature to her complaints).

We are a very reputable, reliable company with many personal referrals, with 2-3 times the volume
of work than other similar RV repair service companies. We have an excellent reputation over the
past 23 years in this same business. There are always a few who are determined to complain to just
about every service they use. That's life.

Please reset our BBB rating at least up to a "B" rating. As we were formerly an A+. Thank you kindly
we appreciate your time and consideration.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
There is no resolution but this is obviously going nowhere so as far as I am concerned I am done with this whole situation. I do not want to hear from allstar rv again through the BBB or any other means. Your last letter said there is nothing farther to do so why am I getting another letter? I want to move on from this. Can you please let us do that?
Sincerely,

***** ******

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is from a review I just posted: About three weeks ago, we tried to park our 2014' 38' Bighorn under a tree limb at a state park. It didn't fare too well. Our bad! We put about a 16' scrape on our new roof. It didn't look like the roof was leaking, nevertheless, we needed to find a place to get if fixed ASAP just in case. After doing some serious research, we were able to locate All Star RV Repairs which was near our home. While still out at the state park, we called **** at All Star and told him of our problem. He said as soon as we were really do leave the park, go ahead and run our RV over to him and he'll "take care of us". We told him we were under a time crunch as we needed the RV a few weeks later. "No problem, just bring it in when you're back in town" says ****. We called and let him know we're coming. So far so good. We bring the RV over to his shop and the place was packed with jobs he needed to get done. He apologized and said he had a rush of orders come in, but since it required roof work, if we could bring it back in the next week, he would have a bay empty and get it done within our schedule. It was cutting it close, and it was a pain to re-park the RV, but we said OK. The following week, we brought the RV back. **** wasn't there as he was out running errands, but we was told to wait (45 minutes it turned out) and **** should be back. The repair crew had no idea we were coming in, and evidently **** didn't schedule us in as both of their bays were still full with new jobs and there was no place to park our RV. The repair crew finally got hold of **** and he told his crew for us to park our Bighorn around the side of ****'s house which is on the property. I had to back up about 100' all the while going around a corner and up a hill. We were then told to park it there and they would load it into the next open bay and start the work. **** finally arrived (Appeared he was surprised we were there) and assured us there would be no problem getting the job done in time. He would get it done in about 4 days. Although it was extremely close, it fit our time-frame. In reality... they didn't start repairs on it until the day we were supposed to pick it up... They wanted to delay the job a few days longer (evidently forgetting what we told them about our time-frame and their assurances the work would be done on time)... We had already paid for a campground site, and needed to leave the day repair work was promised to be done. We ended waiting there for almost 1 1/2 hours for the work they did to dry so we could get our RV. The work was done outside right where we originally left it (not in a work bay where they said it was going to be done). They did repair the roof and then applied some very sticky material to the work to seal it. That's good, but the wind was blowing, so we got little pieces of twigs and other foreign objects sticking to the roof repair. Now the kicker...... Since our RV was left where we parked it, it was adjacent to an open field. **** mentioned that there were mice in the field, but inferred they would make sure none got in our RV. We "assumed" that meant they were going to put something around the entry points so no mice could get in. Well guess what? That night while camping, we heard scratching and chewing in our walls and ceiling. We ended killing three mice! It took 4 days, but we finally got them all. We had to go to the next nearest town and get traps and of course rewash everything we had where the mice had traveled. What a pain! Since **** had forgotten to give us our RV keys when the work was done, we needed to return later on to retrieve them. I mentioned to **** about the mice and he just said "That's too bad" and tried to change the subject. He knew of the rodent problem and did nothing to prevent them coming into our RV, and at least sounded like he could care less about it happening when approached about the problem. That is NOT customer service! Bottom line, repair work was done in a rushed manner and in a place where a known problem existed. If you don't mind getting the run around during and after the work has been completed, and you don't mind having to take care of a rodent infestation when you pick up your RV, then best of luck to you if you use All Star RV Repairs. We haven't had the repairs long enough to know whether the work was done correctly, however I have a feeling that if there's a problem with their work, we'll need to go elsewhere to have it fixed...

Desired Settlement: A sincere apology and an offer to reimburse us for the time and costs involved to remove the rodent infestation he created in our new RV as well as any potential damage the rodents have done to our electrical wiring. I am a combat disabled Veteran rated 100% disabled by the US Government. Strange noises in the night the mice made caused me great anxiety as I am hyper-villigent due to my disability.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: **** ******* owner
Contact Phone: ******* ****
Contact Email: ****************@aol.com
When **** and ******** delivered their near new 5th wheel and truck (est. value $140,000)...not bad for a 100% disabled vet.who looked very healty and upbeat.

However they managed to not only do an extensive and long deep crease in the rear top cap (14')...they also put a sizable dent in their slide out and stated "hope you can also fix this"

The repair was 6-7 days and done very well (they both were impressed and signed the invoice which reflected their acceptance)

The repair took 2 days longer (time to get the "heavier" than factory metal casing. Plus (not originally asked for) correct the dented slider.

Yes we are unhappy for them about the mouse situation....however we have only had a few of the dozens of repairs in which the mice came up the tires and "into" a factory oversized hole to gain entry into their RV. Best to inspect the RV areas around the tires @ the RV body.

Also set anti mice powder around the tires when parked.

We give a 6 mo warr. on all our repairs and our customers find our pricing 30% lower than most competition. We gave them a break at 13.2hrs @ $88/hr.and $102 on parts. As far as the keys...guess all were so upbeat with smiles @ delivery that they were overlooked....great you had 2 sets as a backup.

Send us the bill for the mouse traps and we will add $25 for your "combat catching time" Since you both are so detailed we would appreciate sending photos of your mice kills.

Also would appreciate the photos of the few twigs in the 2hr. dry rubberized seam overlays.

Sincerely, **** ******* owner

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Typical smart alec remarks vocering their ***. They did NOT put ""anti Mice" powder around the tires (what ever anti mice powder is, I "assume" Borax).

My wife drove by every day while the RV was there, and she could see absolutely nothing done until the next to last day before the RV repair was promised.

We had no other option than to take our rV to him because there were no other repair shops we could find in the short amount of time we had to decide which were local to our area.

I believe the reason they charged us less hours was they cut corners on what they planned to do because they didn't have the time to make the repairs the right way because the RV sat there for a week. That's why (we highly suspect)

Consumer Response: Part two of our response.

That's why we suspect we had to wait at their location so long for their material to dry the day we picked up our RV.

We were all "smiley faces" because we were glad the ordeal was over and we could get out of there. We had no option other than accept their work. What would our other option be? The owner parked his truck in front of the RV so we couldn't take it off his property.

He choose a different material for the under roof and a different coating than was quoted, again because we believe they ran out of time to do the work right.

I am not saying the repair might not work. I am saying the repair that was done was not what was mentioned when we left our RV in his care.

He makes fun of the mouse situation. We have no idea what wiring has been chewed on that will be a problem in the future as a direct result of his mouse problem.

I do not have any photos as the mice were thrown away as we caught them. There would be no way to prove they were his mice anyway.

Bottom line they are making it sound like they are angels and did everything perfect. Frankly I expect nothing less.

His smart *** remarks back to this complaint stands a testimonial to our complaint!

To be frank, We didn't get our keys because we couldn't wait to get off his property! You would think the keys would be with the repair order we had to sign.

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a sighed closed invoice from the start. I was to pick up rv and pay added cost. I did not go there for 2 weeks due to illness. Then I received a letter that I owed 11000.00 more on repairs that he said I agreed too. No way do I have that I have paid over 8200.00 only owed 2600 approx. Now he wants to take my rv with a lien hold.

Desired Settlement: All I owe is 2600.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/07) */ The above customer arrived at our facility with the followiwng problems. 1. roof caving in and considerable water/dry rot damage to the entire vehicle. She arrived in the evening without running lights and with engine warning lites on. Plus the air bag suspension was deflated (sagging badly on the right side). We had to immediately cover her micro mini RV with several tarps due to the rain. Her original invoice included a multitude of items including a miss wired converter, flooring buckeled and cracked, very soiled upholstery and multiple broken and damaged wood cabinets...as well as many missing items. She has "signed" the original invoice which stated on the visual inspection the repairs would be "fixed" as per the estimate of repairs. However on her multiple visits for inspection alfter her RV roof and walls were "opened up" to see the extent of its' damage, she then realized that her RV could not be repaired without much further replacements. She then again "signed" a second and a third billing estimate which also included replacing the broken air bag lift system. She was very upbeat to see her RV "home" returning to its original and improved condition with each visit as well as her accompanying friends who were very RV knowledgeable. Towards the completion she missed her 2 final visits as she stated "had to attend soccerball meet" and will bring additional ($2,000) with each visit". In addition to this overview, we will forward all the "signed" add-ons within the next 2 weeks as well as a few of the more than 300 photos of her agreed upon progressive repairs...(which she also received copies). When she recieved the final billing she said she could not pay it..then when we did not hear further from her. We sent a certified letter was sent to her about 2 weeks later and she called and said she had a lot of money coming soon from a relative and her friend also was receiving his inheritance soon. We then gave her a written offer to reduce the bill by several thousand dollars just to finalize this situation. Now she posts the BBB complaint appearing to "hammer our company". Within the next few weeks we will have no alternative but to proceed with the Mechanics Lien Sale to cover much of the outstanding bills on her RV. More documention to follow. Respectfully, **** *******, Owner of All Star RV Repairs and Refurbishment LLC.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on All Star RV Repair & Refurbishing LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)