This business is not BBB accredited.

Churchill & Associates Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 675-0715 Fax: (360) 675-8414 31925 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, WA 98277

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers real estate and property management services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Churchill & Associates Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Churchill & Associates Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 08, 2004 Business started: 09/01/1978 Business started locally: 09/01/1978 Business incorporated 09/01/1978 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
2000 4th Ave W, Olympia WA 98502
Phone Number: (360) 664-6488

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. George Churchill, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Churchill, President
Business Category

Real Estate Property Management

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8:30am-5:30pm
Alternate Business Names
Churchill & Association Inc RL Est

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Churchill & Associates Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    31925 State Route 20

    Oak Harbor, WA 98277 (360) 675-0715


    PO Box 1696

    Oak Harbor, WA 98277


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a home from Churchill and Associates for a year and 4months. I was a good tenant that always kept the house as if it were my own. I made sure upon leaving that the house was immaculate on the inside and the front yard was as a I received it. The back yard however did have some areas of wear and tear from my small two dogs. I knew that I would not be receiving my full deposit as they would need some of that to fix the areas where there was no longer any grass. I was beside myself to receive a letter in the mail stating that Churchill would be keeping my entire $2100 deposit to re-sod the entire back yard even though only some areas needed fixing. When inquiring about a quote from a company, as that seemed awfully expensive for the small yard which was only 800sqft, I was given a receipt. They had already used my deposit and paid some person to do the job who was not licensed, insured or bonded. I find this unacceptable and ethically wrong, if not illegal. They kept my deposit and gavee no good rational other than the landlord wants to money to re-sod the back yard. I understand that yes my dogs did cause some damage in areas but they insisted that all the grass that was there needed to be removed to put new sod down. I do not think this is ethically right that a tenant should have to pay to have a new yard put in because the landlord would like new grass. In the lease it states that I am to return the property in which it was received. And although my dogs did cause some damage to the property the yard was not fully sodded to begin with. The side of the house and next to the fencing was missing grass as well as areas where moss had taken over. If I had received a newly sodded yard and destroyed that then I would understand having to re-sod the entire back yard but as this was not the case. I offered to pay half and my offer was ignored and they have not returned my calls or emails.

Desired Settlement: I want half of my deposit back.

7/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a one year lease agreement with Churchill for a rental. We moved into the rental, the carpet was not professionally cleaned and had an order. So after three days we had the carpet cleaned. Two days later we noticed that our kids had little bit marks on them? We had no clue where these bit marks where coming from. Late on night my wife got up and turned on the light. She noticed a small bug in her hair. We did not think much about it. After a a few weeks we noticed more bit marks on our kids. My wife but the two together and bought different traps around the home. A flee traps bed bug traps... that night My wife caught a bug in the bed bug trap. We read up on bed bugs, and discoverer that this was probably a bed bug infestation. After several weeks we called Churchill and told them about the problem. Churchill called the pest control however it took five days before they could come out to and, eight before they could even do anything about it. The pest control said they thought we had a bed bug problem but where not positive. They also told us this could take months to fix the issue? I was very upset and refused to stay in this rental. My wife told Churchill we where moving out at the end of the month which was on April the 20th. On April the 30th my wife gave them the keys. I called today to ask for my deposit back. They told me they where going to charge me for the month of May and would be taking the money owed from my deposit. I'm was very upset with this answer I feel that Churchill owes us an apology along with my deposit.

Desired Settlement: I want my deposit back.

Business Response:

This letter is response to the complaint from ******* ****** regarding unsubstantiated claims of having bedbugs. Pest control was called immediately and found no bed bugs. ******* claimed that she had a bug in a bag but refused to provide it to the pest control company. The pest control company had been to her residence on several occasions and she would not provide the bug in the bag again.

The renter was non cooperative and seemed to be looking for a way out of the lease. Her furniture was never delivered yet her and her children lived in the unit and had clothing, bedding, and belongings everywhere, leaving me to believe that she was never going to stay. They left the unit owing a $200. water bill, they plugged two toilets, left garbage behind building, and did not fulfill their lease nor did they leave money for cleaning and repairs. She went back to Alaska where she came from. Neither the new tenants nor the prior tenant complained of such things.

Deposits are used for rent and other move out charges when a lease is broken.

If these charges are not paid within 30 days, our office will be forced to file in small claims court for lost monies.

Thank you,

Crystal G*******

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Pest control was called and showed up almost a week later, I was very upset that it took so long. After they showed up the pest control told us he thought what my wife had was a bed bug but could not conferm. The pest control company used a powder and told us not to vacum for 8 days and that the problem might take several months to solve. I was told by a nighbor that the same pest control company had recentaly visited our location. This makes me belive that this was an ongoing issue. We spent a lot of money moving to Oak Harbor, airline tickets, moving expences, deposit, rent... In know way where we looking to get out of a lease. My kids and wife had bit marks on them the place was unfit to live in. Our house hold items where put into storage becouse I had to return to work for several weeks. The plan was when I had my R&R I was to help my wife move in with the furniture and house hold items. After we found out this rental was infestated we thought it was better not to movie our items into the home. the plugged two toilets did happen, and churchill came over to fix them. Churchill told us that we had to use special TP that would prevent the toilets from plugging up. This leads me to belive that this rental had issues with plumming. Some garbage was left behind building, We did had the carpets cleaned when we movied in becouse they where not cleaned and we did not vacum after leaving becouse of the powder that pest contral left. They asked us not to vacum for 8 days!!!! You Churchill did not fulfill your lease agreement. Yes we are back in Alaska however all of our house hold items and car remain in OAK, HARBOR becouse we are moving back to WA!! And yes the nighbor that moved next door complained about pest. Thank you, **** ******


**** ******

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********* and Associates promised a full refund of rental Deposit but instead took money away for a door stop that was missing when it had never even been placed in the unit when I moved in. Also they took money away for 2 drip pans with tiny pin marks of rust on them. They fought with me about how much money they were going to give back. They were going to charge $30 for a check that I never received. They promised a full refund then changed their mind trying to find small things they could charge me on. They are not very ethical.

Desired Settlement: Trying to get full refund of rental deposit

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Churchill & Associates Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart