Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mac's Radiator

Phone: (503) 777-4706 View Additional Phone Numbers 6147 SE Foster Rd, Portland, OR 97206

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers automobile radiator and muffler repair services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mac's Radiator meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mac's Radiator
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1971 Business started: 01/01/1945 Business started locally: 01/01/1945 Business incorporated 11/09/1967 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Curtis MacDonald, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Curtis MacDonald, President
Business Category

Radiators - Automotive Auto Air Conditioning Equipment Auto Repair & Service Brake Service

Alternate Business Names
Mac's Radiator & Repair Inc

Additional Locations

  • 6147 SE Foster Rd

    Portland, OR 97206 (503) 777-4706 (503) 416-6781


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I emailed the president of the company about an issue I experienced with my car from 6-24 to 6/29. The email is too long to put in here, but basically my car fan is now damaged AND my AC unit is no longer working after having work done at the Hillsboro location. On top of that, Rich tried convincing me that my car did not even have an AC and I didn't know what I was talking about. He then tried to back track after realizing I was right. The company never responded to my complaint nor have they offered any resolution for the issue. I can send email via attachment if you would like.

Desired Settlement: I want my car back in working order like it was when I came in there.

Business Response:

I had not received an e-mail regarding this issue, i will look into it and reply within 24 hours of today 7-28-16

curtis m********

mac's radiator

Business Response:

like a stated in the previous email,  we dont have any record of a e-mail sent by this customer.   I was able to locate copies of the work we performed on a 2003 Kie RIO with a 1.6 DOHC engine with 132,857 miles  the vehicle was in our hillsboro location on 6-23-16.  at that time the customer stated that the vehicle is overheating.  We preformed a pressure test to find a large crack in the top tank of the radiator, we informed the customer that this would need to be fixed before we could do a complete test on the system.  We were authorized to do comlete the following repairs

install new radiator

new radiator cap

install new upper and lower radiator hoses and clamps

reverse flush the cooling system

install a new thermostat and gasket

add new antifreeze

replace starter with a re-manufactured starter

change the oil and filter

(a copy of our invoice is attached)


At no time in this process did we work on the a/c system.  I spoke with Kyle (store manager and technission) he clearly remembered the job and stated that the a/c was not working at the time the vehicle was in the shop due the a/c compressor being frozen/locked up and it didn't have a a/c belt on the vehicle.  |( this is typical in the case of the compressor freezing up because the pulley will no longer turn and the belt keeps turning causing the engine to lug and the belt to smoke and make a loud noise. to avoid this the belt is cut off so the engine will run correctly)  Kyle also remembered that the pulley on this compressor was rusty what will happen over time if the belt isn't on it.   Kyle did say that he wasn't in the shop when the customer picked up the vehicle, the other shop employee that the customer spoke with may have stated that the RIO didn't have a/c ( some don't because of their small engines ) and he wasn't the person how did the work.  If the customer would like to take the vehicle back and let Kyle at the Hillsboro store look at it we would not charge to check it out.   We are more than happy and do stand behind the work we do, but we cant do that for work unrelated to the work we did. 


Thank you

Curtis M********


Mac's Radiator







Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


****** *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mac's Radiator
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)