Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Total Property Management Services Inc

Phone: (253) 927-3076 Fax: (253) 517-5661 2222 Meridian Ave E Ste D, Edgewood, WA 98371 http://www.totalpropmanagement.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers multi-family, home owner association, and commercial property management services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Total Property Management Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Total Property Management Services Inc include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Total Property Management Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 06, 2010 Business started: 09/01/2007 in WA Business started locally: 09/01/2007 Business incorporated 09/01/2007 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Porter, President Ms. Marceena Peart, Business Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Marceena Peart, Business Manager
Principal: Mr. James Porter, President
Business Category

Property Management

Hours of Operation
Open 7 days a week
8:30am-5:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Specializing in Maximizing your Investment Potential

Additional Locations

  • 2222 Meridian Ave E Ste D

    Edgewood, WA 98371 (253) 927-3076

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TPM has withheld monies owed to my business, and to me, also to several other contractors who work with me. They offer no explanation as to why this is happening, and have accused and belittled me when I simply requested information. When my colleague and also a client of theirs has tried to intervene to solve the issue, they have blatantly lied to him and in the process maligned my character. I have worked in service businesses for over 30 years and have never seen such disregard for the rights and dignity of others as I have seen here displayed, and all over a ridiculously small amount of money. Nevertheless, they owe the money and are required to pay it.

Desired Settlement: Because they first delayed paying me and then shorted my pay, I have accrued late fees and interest penalties. I am asking for the remaining $400 that they withheld without explanation and an additional $50.00 to cover late fees and interest accrued on my accounts.

Business Response:

TPM would like to apologize, that you experienced, this unfortunate situation. The business was sold as I'm sure you are aware. This is the reason for the delay in payroll. The company was sold beginning March 1st. It was our belief the new owner was responsible for the payroll. I believe you have been paid, nevertheless we are sorry for the delay in your payment, During a sale of business it can be a tough transistion for everyone.

3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello i applied to rent an apartment from total property management company in Edgewood Washington. i was approved for the lease. after i sign the lease agreement with ******* on Thursday march 12 2015, the manager ***** came into the office to change the parameter of the lease agreement per the Craigslist listing for the property. I ***** was showed the apartment on march 5th by *****. I stopped by their office on Tuesday march 10 2015 and gave ** my $50.00 application fee. after ***** attempted to charge the lease offer on craiglist, i was not interested in renting the property. The craiglist property listed with a 99 dollar move in special presently even today as i view it on the internet on march 12 2015. the management first said they would pro-rate the rent for the rest of the month. I told ***** and ** i would not be moving into the new apartment till April 2015, due to the fact that i just paid rent for my present apartment. ***** at this time said that the $99.00 dollar move special was only good for march. i was very upset how he tried to change things to charge me more money. I asked for my application fee back, because ***** is changing the advertised offer. ***** said no. I wasted all my time and had $50.00 stolen from me.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $50.00 dollar back and $100.00 dollars in lost time and fuel cost.

Business Response: Many of the facts regarding applying for the apartment, cost of fees, and outcome we are in agreement with.  However, the ad ran states that the rent to move in is $99.00.  This special price is for move ins right away.  Two reasons for this: 1.  It is not in the best interest of the property to hold a home without collecting rent for almost a month.  2.  It is typically the case that when someone is applying for a home they are looking to move in immediately, not in over 3 weeks.  We certainly stated that ***** could move in on April 1st, however, the special was not available at that time.  ***** refused to do so and asked for his $50.00 application fee back.  We explained the $50 application fee was not refundable, and that was why it is called a fee and not a deposit.  Further this is explained on the application itself that is signed by *****.  The application fee is not refundable and used to pay to run the application itself. 

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the complaint type I chose service issues because that's what the overall problem is but there are also repair and customer service issues that are major as well .The management company that manages my complex is very unprofessional and careless with the property .When I address them with issues it's always as if I'm bugging them .So at times I'm dealing with issues I shouldn't have to,just on the will not to call them with my issues to save an argument.My repair issue this time was out of control and I had to call them .The Friday I called I was able to speak with ***** about an insect problem that had started to arise from new neighbors and she told me she would send maintenance out and he would be calling me . Which is usually what happens . Although this time he never came nor called .A couple more days went by and I called back that Sunday and spoke to another gentlemen who had apologized and again I was told Maintenance would be out and again no call or no one show.That following Monday I called the office back a little more frustrated as I felt things were getting worse and asked to speak to my site manager this time ***** * although I knew things would get problematic .While speaking with ***** *. as usual he was argumentative and told me that their handling things that they would get to it when they can and if I don't like it I can move out . I literally broke down in tears because one, my kids who are children ages 3 and 5 have to live here and it was as if he just did not care .Of all times he's treated me bad this time I just could not take it . He went along to tell me since I knew the law so much, that I should also know he had 14 days to respond before he even had to take care and if I continued to call he would instruct his staff not to answer my phone calls regarding this issue. I just want their help and now I feel my children are having to suffer because of a problem power trip my management ***** * and Total Property is having with me and I'm lost for what to do.

Desired Settlement: I want better service and to be treated as if they care . I want them to act promptly with our problems as they do with receiving their rent . And honestly I want someone to come out and inspect our buildings and have someone look into them under the fair housing act and federal tenant laws. I was told by ***** that "I wasn't powerful enough'" to get this done as if me taking action was a joke which stung , and I want him to be held accountable .

Business Response: Total Property Management strives to address all issues not only in a timely manner but in a matter of priority.  In this instance our office received a call from this Tenant regarding cockroaches she noticed.  We was told we would be entering a work order and she asked that Maintenance call before coming out and of course we agreed.  Maintenance already had their Friday schedule so was not heading out that day.  They also do not work on weekends, thus calling on Sunday for a non-emergency was not going to have them come out.  This was again explained to the Tenant on Monday when she called again.  Further conversation from the Tenant was a demand that they come out today.  It was explained to her that unfortunately that is not how it works.  Maintenance has other work orders they are working on including those that came in before hers as well as a couple of emergency ones, (a leaking pipe in an attic for one).  We confirmed that the work order was entered and maintenance will be out take care of the issue.  Obviously the Tenant was not happy, but being that this was a non-emergency, that is how maintenance functions.  Maintenance did come out to her home on Wednesday the 4th to perform service.  It was at this time the Tenant refused them entry to address this issue.  The tenant was informed that she requested the work done and in order to do so, they would need to enter her home to address the cockroaches.  The Tenant began to tell maintenance how to do their job and how they should be taking care of the issue, non of those ways was to be done within her home.  In essence, the Tenant called for a work request on Friday.  Maintenance was out to perform the request on the subsequent Wednesday and was refused entry to perform service. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When in the market for finding housing accommodations and asking rent and deposit amounts, if any and what expected for sewer and water charges I was not told the right amounts as if to only get someone to move into the place. ( I was given the wrong information for the rental pet deposit and the water/sewage amount). I was also given the property manager's personal phone number to call to make business calls to instead of the Lund Village Apts. actual business phone number to call the business. The on sight manager actually returned a phone call to me immediate because of a early phone call (about 7 a.m. that I thought I was calling to leave a message on the business answering machine for when they could get to it). The property manager, called me back to vent. I was very surprised given the fact that that was the business number he had given me to call. He was quite rude in his behavior. He gave no apology for his behavior. I have noticed that there might be bickering in the main office too, talking down about other co-workers is un-professional. Upon inspecting the potential unit that was one of the actual apartments to be moved into, I thought it looked acceptable but there needed some cleaning and maintenance repairs to the place. The manager said that those were maintenance repairs and that they would be addressed. After moving into the place, I have taken some pictures of the same repairs that were not taken care of. I had not notice the torn up vinyl flooring that I did bring to manager's attention. He said he would look at it at another time. I was not desperate to move and had other rental possibilities. I am very dissatisfied with the whole rental experience with Lund Village Apartment. I had already moved forward with the moving contract business or I would have moved into another property who seemed more professional with no surprises and added monetary amounts.

Desired Settlement: I was told the wrong amounts for sewer and water and I think the business needs to stick with the $50.00 amount that they told me in the first place ,the amount that I was quoted for the actual bill. They did not allow me to make a decision based upon legal information that should have been told to me in the first place before moving in so that I had a choice. The bill actually varies each month according to usage. I was told the set amount of $50.00. (The Pet deposit the management also failed to disclose and the company felt self conscious and did not charge. It was actually a non-refundable deposit that I was trying to see if I could manage. The same manager also vented regarding an early morning phone message. The place seems very un-professional). I think management needs to apologize for his behavior seeings that the number given was the business number I called. I think that the business deserves to have a complaint lodged against them to forewarn them that future tenants may not move into the rental place because they will be misinformed and be unhappy tenants and wish that they had moved into a better place. We have families and it is a very large imposition to move and to not be told the proper monetary amounts expected and to move into the place and it had not been repaired. I might get charged for the repairs that had not been addressed but said that they would by the same venting manager and the same manager who failed to disclose the proper rental agreement amounts.

Business Response: We are sorry if Ms *****, feels things were thoroughly explained. I have spoken with our on-site manager and the following is his perspective on the items:
"********* called me once at 7am and I explained to her to give me an hour to call her back. Regarding the water bill I told her it varies it is by square footage I haven't seen a high amount water bill (until recently) notice water bill it pretty high now that it was during summer months. I have attempted to interact with ********* and ask if anything I could do, she always tells me she is fine. Last time I spoke with her was to get a signature nothing more she keeps to herself. Regarding bickering I don't really chat with anyone. Regarding repairs I can't put In a work order for something I don't know about."
I have spoken with Ms ***** on 1/30/15 and today on 2/2/15 and we both have determined that the pro-rated amount paid at the time of move in was an incorrect amount. Ms ***** is contacting her Housing worker to attempt to address this and file a grievance there. She now understands the difference in monies and has vowed to get these monies to us. At the conclusion of our phone conversation, I did ask Ms ***** if everything else was ok and if she should need anything else to let us know. She did reply that everything was great.

1/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented from this complex for 1 month shy of 6 years. Total Property Management took over approximately the last 4 months. After I moved out I received a move out inspection BILL when I was acturally expecting my DEPOSIT back minus the remaining water/trash bill. We scrubbed the apartment from bottem to top and went as far as pulling out the washer and dryer and fridge to mop underneath etc. I had eyewitnesses in the apartment right before I turned in the keys AND we took pictures. The move out inspection checklist was not only falsified but was staged with false pictures probably from one of the other 5 apartments that moved out the same weekend as me(6 moveouts in one weekend is very telling in itself, I never saw that in the 6 years that I lived there with the different property management companies). Coincidentally the moveout inpection was done by ***** **** whom I had made a complaint about earlier regarding how rude and unprofessional he was when I called about an accidental eviction notice that was taped on my door. I believe the false inspection report/bill was out of pure vindictivness. When I received the inspection bill I called their office and again the same rude and unprofessional treatment continued this time by the manager ******* prompting me to seek legal advice and sending certified a formal dispute letter giving them 30 days to respond or accept non-compliance as waiving the bill. They didn't comply within 30 days, however 2 months later I received a bill from a collections company for Total Property Management. This company is a joke.

Desired Settlement: If the bill is not dropped and removed from the collection company harming my credit I will take it to court purly for the principal. If it goes to court per the Landlord And Tenants Acts and Laws they will likely be charged twice the amount of my deposit as there was never a move in checklist done when I moved in 6 years ago.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/22) */ Although we continually strive to provide any and all documentation as requested, there are just times when the information provided is refuted based without cause. Ms ******* relationship with Total Property and ************ began when Ms ******* was contacted regarding an inherited balance on her account. Ms ******* refuted that up and down and was asked for a copy of the cancelled/cashed check. Upon her investigation she realized she had not sent in the check but it was in a drawer. Ms ******* moved out of her home on 6/30/14 and was subsequently sent a list of items required to get the home back into rentable condition. Those items differed from the Move in report,(contrary to the claim by Ms ********* a signed copy of the move in does exist). Pictures were taken of the condition of the home and although these were provided to Ms *******, she still refuses to accept it's condition. She subsequently provided her own pictures, and when confronted with the fact that these were time stamped after the work inside the home had been completed; she chose to ignore that and claim the former managers were witness. Although the former manager's deny this. We have attempted to provide Ms ******* all the proof she has requested, have attempted to set up a payment plan, and educate her on the move out process and law. To that end, the Landlord Tenant Law does not provide for twice deposit damages if there is a dispute, only if statements or monies are withheld without cause. We have provided Ms ******* with proof of the work done including pictures and invoices. Her only claim is "no that is not true", without any proof otherwise. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday 2/10/14 at about 1 in the afternoon I was taking a break outside the back of our restaurant with the door closed when a woman in a red sedan rolled down her window and asked me to put my cigarette in the garbage instead of the street. I showed her the ledge behind me and said I own the restaurant, and I put them out then into our trash. She yelled "No you don't, don't lie to me!" My nephew had come out because he heard the noise. I said "Why would I lie to a stranger?" She answered "I am the property manager, you are lying." I said I'm sorry I'm done talking to you, this conversation is over. She then said my nephew would lie for me as well because he worked for me and proceeded to get out of her car and shouted "You have a dirty filthy restaurant, and I'm going to see that you get a fine, I'm going to call ***** and ***** right now, and have you kicked out" I felt threatened, and humiliated in front of a witness. I don't respond to bullying and accusations, and I feel that she is not a very responsible representative of her company.

Desired Settlement: The owner of Properties mgmt need to know that they have a manager who bullies and argues with their tenants, when she is supposed to be relied on to go to for help. To outright accuse someone of lying would not be tolerated by other people, but I am not a confrontational person. She DID NOT identify herself until AFTER she accused me of lying, and only because I said "Why would I lie to you, I don't even know you" She needs to be either terminated or required to take a customer service, or anger management class.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/26) */ This tenant has left the exterior of the business in such a mess it is on going. We have pressure washed the back of the building due to the amount of grease and within a week its filthy again. We pick up cigarettes daily from that area. The business also has broken windows with letters from us demanding the business repairs there windows. The claim against TPM will be disputed. The staff that does site visits has been employed for over a year and I believe she might of been frustrated with the constant cigarette butts but she is not known to be unprofessional or rude. Please accept our apology if her actions seemed out of line, but she is a very nice person with no noticeable anger issue or poor customer service.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Total Property Management Services Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)