Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

SunWorld Group Inc

Phone: (360) 574-0210 Fax: (360) 838-4634 9901 NE 7th Ave  Suite C119, Vancouver, WA 98685 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sunworldgroup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management and real estate services; from managing your single family home, duplexes, four plexes, small and large apartment complexes and commercial properties. Real estate sales, short sales, investment properties, real estate consulting.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SunWorld Group Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for SunWorld Group Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on SunWorld Group Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2006 Business started: 03/01/2005 in FL Business started locally: 03/01/2005 Business incorporated 10/01/2000 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing Real Estate
2000 4th Ave W, Olympia WA 98502
http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/realestate
Phone Number: (360) 664-6488
realestate@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Van Baalen, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Van Baalen, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals Real Estate Services Real Estate Real Estate - Commercial Real Estate Agents Real Estate - Short Sale Real Estate Brokers Real Estate Consultants Offices of Real Estate Agents and Brokers (NAICS: 531210)

Products & Services

SunWorld Group Inc offers the following product(s): Real estate Property Management , Real estate Sales

Method(s) of Payment
Check, Money Order, Cashiers Check, Visa, Mastercard and online payments

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

SunWorld Group Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9901 NE 7th Ave
    Suite C119

    Vancouver, WA 98685 (360) 574-0210

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Until my husband and I decided to sell our rental property working with Sunworld Group was fine and simple. However, it was at this point that things with the company went down hill. First occurred in Nov/Dec 2015 when Paul from Sunworld Group did not properly notify the tenants that the house was going on the market. The tenants were out of town and Paul did not attempt to contact tenants by phone, only put a notice on the door. Then based on Paul's recommendation we not place a realtor lockbox on the door because anyone could then come to the house and show without proper notification to the tenants, Paul suggested we place a number coded lockbox with key inside. (Of note it took approx. 20 mins for someone to break into this lockbox and get the key to the house) My tenant then wrote a BBB on Sunworld Group and Paul; this was the response that I got from him; "I am appalled that your tenants wrote this review about our company. This review contains false and deceptive information." (I have all the emails going back and forth from Paul and myself. All info that was disclosed in the BBB review was correct. The tenants did not lie or give deceptive information) We preceded with the sale of the home giving notice to all parties involved, myself, as I could not rely on Sunworld Group to give notice. Everything went smoothly with the close and the tenant move out, then Sunworld Group to pay out my final payment. Paul and Sunworld Group decided to charge me an extra $253.60 for "extra management charges," none where discussed or expected. When I contacted Paul regarding this he stated he "would look into it and get back to me on Monday." Monday came and went and he never called. I called on Tuesday and finally received a call on Wednesday and he stated he was never given notice and charged us an additional monthly Commission charge $123.60, as well as a $45 charge to remove a lockbox, $85 for building inspection, and another $85 for property close out.

Desired Settlement: This was the second time we had tenants move out of our property. Paul did not charge us anything additional during the first move out, therefore these additional charges came as a complete surprise to me. Never was I ever notified of any additional charges or any changes that had been made to the fee schedule.

Business Response:

I am not going to get into the details of he said, she said. I will say that we recommend that only one level of management on a property. When owners start dialogue

with a tenant issues may and usually arise. In the case it did occur. The claim that the tenant was not given proper notice of inspection or notice to enter is false.

We attempted a phone call but never received a call back from the tenant regarding an inspection. According to the landlord- tenant law for Washington Stare, the notice

of inspection is required to be placed at a conspicuous place on the property. We did the same.

Regarding the fees charged, the owner contacted me and within minutes after getting off the phone with me, I called her back and left her a message about the water bill

and that the tenant was charged for the same. There was a delay in me getting back to the owner on the other charges due to circumstances keeping me out of the office

for two days. The charges are consistent with the property management contract dated August 28, 2012. As per page one of the contract it states 30 days written notice

is required to terminate the contract, no written notice to terminate the contract was received from the owner. Page three of the contract item 6, additional services ,

inspections are addressed at 85.00 per hour. A lock

box was needed to be placed on the property as the owner needed a quick turn around on the carpet cleaning so the new owner can take procession. Once the carpet

cleaning was done, we needed to retrieve the lock box. It normally would have been a one hour charge for the same but we reduced the same to $45.00. September 21,

2015. The property close out was charged at $85.00 per hour again as per the contract.

 

8/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon moving out of the property July 31st, they refused to do a standard walkthrough of the property. They were neglectful in returning e-mail for several days and multiple requests by myself and my wife. They finally responded after I escalated by notifying them I am willing to exercise my legal rights. We did resolve that initial dispute, and were able to agree upon a proper security deposit refund. I was impressed because Paul actually cut and mailed a check the same day, August 10th. In the meantime, the USPS returned the check to sender Sunworld group. I do understand that can tie things up and take awhile to get returned. This circumstance is out of control of Sunworld group or myself. However: I have sent e-mail to Paul and Lena (owner and management) on Tuesday, which has been ignored. Called the office daily, starting monday. The guy in the office (Sam) said he has contacted "finance" and they usually respond within one day. That does not seem to be the case. My simple request is to pay a stop payment fee out of my own pocket and get a new check issued, which I can pick up in person at their office. This is time sensitive because I am leaving town Friday August 21st. I don't think it is unreasonable to believe I can get proper customer service and have this resolved with a 5 day lead time. The root of the issue is being neglected via phone and e-mail.

Desired Settlement: My simple request is to pay a stop payment fee out of my own pocket for the check that is in limbo at USPS due to being returned to sender. I would like to get a new check issued, which I can pick up in person at their office.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I feel Sunworld Group has resolved the issue satisfactorily and would like to resolve the complaint at this time.

 

Thank You,

***** ******



Sincerely,

***** ******

5/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved out after living in a duplex for 1 year and 8 months. I'm a very clean person. Nothing was left behind and the unit was cleaned other then the carpet needing to be cleaned. While i was living there i was charged a $135 bill for a plumbing company to come by because my house smelled like sewage the landlord said it was my fault because i had kids. then he charged me for a gate repair when the gate is a common area and all 4 units can use the gate. That was a $84 charge. Even though i had cleaned the duplex thoroughly he still charged me $210 and then charged me another $230 to have the carpet shampooed. He then also charged me for some kind of drywall that he replaced for $644 and then again to paint the whole place for $325 which did not need to be painted. He charged me for closet doors that his garbage man took out of my garage while i was at work. The owner of this place is a joke. he has done this to many people and i will be fighting in court for my rights. Im being charged for things that i did not damage.

Desired Settlement: Because of all the bunk charges he is wanting me to pay him Im just asking for my $700 deposit back, the $84.13 that i paid for the fence repair, and the $135.50 for the septic bill. total of $919.63

Business Response:

This past tenant indicates "she will be fighting in court. The BBB is not the correct forum for this tenant. This belongs in small claims court. The tenant left with not giving our company the required 20 day notice. The required rent of 750.00  for April 2015 was not paid. A water bill of 141.22 and reconnect of the same for non payment was paid by SunWorld to turn the water back on. The total amount owed to our company for rent and damages is 1,986.73.  As the tenants admits the carpet was not cleaned. When the tenant moved in the carpet was brand new. The same was returned to us with a heavy dog odor and many stains. The unit needed cleaning. In the bathroom a person must have sat on the sink and the same has started to separate from the wall. The tenant was not charged for a full paint but a portion of the same. The gate for the fence needed repair and was determined to be miss use by the tenant so that cost was charged to her. The glass doors were in installed in the unit when she rented the same and about vacating the same was missing. I have attached the receipts that have been received. Again this matter should be considered out of the BBB pervue.
Best,
**** *** *******

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***


11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 23rd my wife and I applied for a rental house with Sun World Group, and paid the $100 fee for the background check. On July 25th I received a voice mail saying that we were denied the rental and that we would be getting a letter with the details of why we were denied. On August 14th I still had not received the letter explaining why we were denied. I sent an email to ***@sunworldgroup.com, the email address on their website, http://www.sunworldgroup.com. The email I sent them is as follows: "Hello, my wife and I applied for a rental house through you guys. On July 25th I received a phone call saying that we were denied for the rental and that we would receive a letter explaining why we were denied. I still have not received a letter and would like to know why we were denied so I can fix whatever the problem was. Any information would be greatly appreciated." I included my name and phone number. Within an hour and a half I got an email response from ****@sunworldgroup.com saying "Can I please get a good mailing address for you." I immediately replied with my address, the same address that was on my application. 6 minutes later I got another email saying "I will mail you another letter explaining-it was mainly due to poor rental history. 2 evictions and late payments." This was the second and last response I have ever received from Sun World Group. I immediately responded with the following email: "I'll be very curious to see that then, neither one of us has ever been evicted from anywhere, we have lived at our current residence for 5 years and 2 months, and prior to that was a mobile home that we owned for 3 years. I'm also looking at our last 18 months of rent payment history right now on our apartments web site and in the last year and a half we have been late on rent once, in February we were 1 day late, but nothing else. I'm thinking that someone has some incorrect information somewhere." 20 Days later, on September 3rd I sent the following email: "Hi ***** We still have not received the denial letter. I would really like to get this letter so I can find out why we have evictions on our record, neither of us has ever been evicted, and I am also curious about the late payments on our record." 15 Days later, on September 18th I sent the following email to both ****@sunworldgroup.com and ***@sunworldgroup.com: "Hi ***** We still have not received the denial letter. I would really like to get this letter so I can find out why we have evictions on our record, neither of us has ever been evicted, and I am also curious about the late payments on our record." As of today, October 2nd, it has been 71 days since I applied and paid for the background check for the rental with Sun World Group. It has been 49 days since the last time Sun World Group has sent me any kind of response. After 71 days I still have not received anything about why I was denied the rental. The only information that I have gotten from them was in the second and last email I have gotten from them saying that we have 2 evictions and late payments, which is incorrect information that I need to know where they got it from so I can get it fixed.

Desired Settlement: I want a detailed letter explaining why we were denied the rental, including where the information was received from. If there really is 2 evictions and late payments on my background check, I need to know from where I was allegedly evicted from, and from where I have alleged late payments. I need to get it corrected to avoid issues like this in the future. I paid $100 for this information. If they are unwilling to supply me with a denial letter with detailed information than I want a refund so I can pay a different rental company to run a background check, and if they find the same information they can tell me where it came from. If they somehow got my background information wrong, and I was mistakenly denied a rental, than I would like a refund so I can take my business elsewhere.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/22) */ An adverse action notice was mailed on July 25th to the address the consumer provided on his application. At the request of the consumer a second adverse action notice was mailed to the address on the application. The letters were not returned. The applicant did not provide us with an apartment number but there is one on the compliant. We mailed a third letter today with the apartment number included in the address. We have attached original application as well as the original adverse action notices. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/10/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I still have a few concerns. In my screenshots of my application, and the receipt for my application, I show that I included my full address it specifically shows: Name: ****** ******* Email: **************@albina.com Address: **** *********** ***** Vancouver, XXXXX USA I also show that I provided my previous address of **** *********************** *** Portland, OR XXXXX. In this form that was just submitted by Sun World Group, that information is not there. So I am not sure what is going on here, but this doesn't seem right at all. I also show in the emails that I sent to '****@sunworldgroup.com' and '***@sunworldgroup.com' that I included my full address with apartment number three times, and was replied to from **** one of those times, and I have delivery receipts for all three emails that were sent with my full correct address. I also just talked to the manager at my apartment complex and she said that they don't show any record of a rental history check for my wife and I. In one of the two emails that I received from Sun World Group it said "I will mail you another letter explaining-It was mainly due to poor rental history. 2 evictions and late payments." From that email I am led to believe that the denial was based from rental history, not from credit report findings, as indicated on the form just submitted from Sun World Group. None of this looks right to me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/11/03) */ All we have is the application data that shows the address he provided to us. We did not see any screen show he is talking about. Once we learned his full address that was on the BBB complaint we sent him via first class mail the denial letter. It shows the credit reporting agency that he can contact. The matter needs to be closed without delay.

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moved in duplex 2 months ago have had a non working dishwasher! Call emergency repair was told to do a work order online. I filled that out! No response for over a month! Called back told me request did not go through. Then made request for me! Told me I would get a new dishwasher from *****! Was called to tell them my kitchen color and was told ***** would call me when dishwasher was going to be delivered. . No call from ***** 4 days later so I call to see what's going on. Sun group tells then they are not ordering from ***** they are using a new one in their wear house and someone wil bring me one. Ino one would have let me know this if I did not call. Then the delivery of my dishwasher was pushed out 2 more days to Saturday at 9 no one shows up till 920 with no phone call they would be late and show up with no dishwasher thinking it would be here. They then leave for 2 habits to install. Still waiting for dishwasher and still being billed full rent if I had a dishwasher.

Desired Settlement: Discount on rent with not having dishwasher and being charged last three months as if I had one.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/13) */ The matter is not a SunWorld complaint, needs to be pulled and not counted against our company. If tenant wishes to file a complaint it needs to be done against the repair company. Please remove the complaint from SunWorld without delay. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/06/17) */ Sunworldgroup group has fixed my dishwasher and gave me 75 dollar credit for dealing with all the mis communication and not having a dishwasher for so long.

4/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to properly notify us of "charges" in a timely manner. Forwarding information was provided upon move out, yet "bills" were sent to previous address. Improper business practices using threats, and unethical "language" when speaking to me. Didn't provide proper itemized lists regarding costs of supplies for work provided. Refuses to show receipts that the work was completed and paid for by the home owner.

Desired Settlement: Come to a mutual agreement and end this discussion. No more threats of "our future".

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/03) */ On September 12, 2013 ****** ********* was sent a letter letting the parties know that the security deposit was going to be consumed by the damages done by the tenants. At time of move out we were not given a forwarding address. As per the landlord-tenant act the notices were sent to the last know address.In reviewing the tenants file communications were started with the ********** early in 2014 when it appears they were going to file bankruptcy. I spoke to ****** on the phone and told her if she paid a large amount of the outstanding balance that we would settle the account and no money would be owing.The conversation I had with her that day was not recoded and it was a pleasant conversation and did not contain any threats and unethical language. We do have a stick company policy on telephone conversations. We did provide the ********** with invoices that were charge to the owner. We do not provide receipts as the repair company would be bogged down with this and is clearly a waist of time and is not required by law. I have attached an e mail that clearly shows the tenants are well aware and admits to damages. On the e mail dated march 28, 2014 I will brief answers to the same. 1. Painting, the home was painted prior to the ********** taking occupancy. The walls upon move out were damaged with chips and small holes in various places. We prorated the paint job based on a portion the the damage being normal wear and tear. 2. Lighting: Numerous light bulbs were burned out or missing when the ********** moved out. There is language in the landlord-tenant act that says this is normal wear and tear. 3. Water Bill: We are not sure where the tenant is getting 553.00 for an unpaid water bill. The amount owing is 305.79. Lawn care: The lease speaks to the tenant taking care of the yard. The yard was overgrown with weeds. 5.Garage doors: The tenant states in the e mail "In this area we do take some responsibility for the garage doors. The tenant needs to be liable for all damage for the same. 6. Carpets: There is no law on replacing carpet. Carpet life is 10 years. We did not charge for carpet replacement although the family room carpet was a year old when the tenants moved in. The tenant is incorrect on the preparation cost. The urine content was so high in the carpet that the floors required treating and sealing of the sub floor. That cost is the tenants responsibility. 7. Blinds; Once again the tenant admits to the window blind damage. The move in checklist does not indicate and blinds damaged or not working. 8. Smoke detectors: The tenants were charged to rehang the same. Also as per lease agreement they could have been charge 200.00 for tampering the same. No one told the tenants that the smoke detectors did not meet the rental guidelines. 9. Wall Plates: The move in walk through does not show any damage to the same. 10. Cleaning: The home was extremely dirty. Without a cleaning company coming to the property to estimate the cost to clean , simply calling on the phone would not be accurate. The security deposit was 800.00 not 1000.00 as the tenant claims in this March 28, 2014 e mail. The amount owed is 4,291.15 less the 800.00 security deposit. That leaves a balance of 3491.15. In order to settle this matter we will accept 2500.00 as payment in full. Additionally the tenant did not call and schedule a time to perform a move out walk through. No mail box keys were returned. It was not until a few months later that the tenant gave us a current address. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on SunWorld Group Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart