BBB Accredited Business since

Pioneer Management Inc

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 4725 Village Plaza Loop STE 200, Eugene, OR 97401 https://www.facebook.com/PioneerManagementRoseburg/ View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential property management and rental services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pioneer Management Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pioneer Management Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Pioneer Management Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2006 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 01/09/2006 in OR
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. TJ Weese, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. TJ Weese, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 9:00am - 5:00pm
Method(s) of Payment
Check, ACH, Credit
Service Area
Eugene, Springfield, Roseburg Oregon

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pioneer Management Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4725 Village Plaza Loop STE 200

    Eugene, OR 97401

  • 722 SE Cass Ave

    Roseburg, OR 97470

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9233 Park Meadows Dr

    Lone Tree, CO 80124

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I left rental home, roughly 1/2 of my deposit was retained. 1) $237.50 was deducted, but not itemized. Referred me to youtube video that explained issues with condition of home. I disagree with assessment (ie. cobwebs on outside of house). 2) 3rd parties used charged amounts that are excessive for work done. I believe that property management did not vet these groups well for the money charged for work. 3) I spent $200 for cleaners to leave the house in appropriate condition.

Desired Settlement: $565.25 was withheld from my deposit. I want most of that money returned to me.

Business Response:

RE: Pioneer Management committee review of *** ****** **** ** Security Deposit Disposition


Dear Mr. ******,


Move out video:  *** ****** **** ** **** *** ******* **************************** * ** * **************************** * ** *


Move in video:  *** ****** **** ** **** ** ********  *************************** * ** * *************************** * ** *


Pioneer Management doesn’t dictate nor direct what an independent contractor charges for services.  Any bills passed along to your security deposit was a direct charge/debit to the homeowner and in no way marked up by Pioneer Management.  These are actual charges from the vendor and any discounts given to Pioneer Management, are also passed along.  No credits or refunds are given for actual charges billed to Pioneer Management.


Section 9 of signed lease:


9. Security Deposits: All refundable deposits, however designated, may be used to offset any damage, unusual wear and tear or unpaid accounts (including rent, fees or any other outstanding charges) either during the tenancy or at the time of move-out. The property has been cleaned prior to move in, the property should be returned in the same condition. Cleaning the home is not considered wear and tear. Pioneer’s definition of cleaning shall prevail. Owner/Agent will deduct the cost of carpet cleaning and blind cleaning from the deposit regardless of whether Resident cleans the carpet before delivering possession of the dwelling unit back to Owner/Agent. If we find that cleaning, or the condition of the home is not satisfactory, we will need to hire someone to clean or conduct repairs. The prices start at $35/hour for their services. Which will be deducted from your security deposit. If any portion of the deposit is used during the tenancy, Resident will replenish it upon demand. If applied at move-out, any excess will be refunded within the time required by law. Any deficiency will be due from Resident at the time the accounting is sent to Resident. Sending the accounting and/or refunding any deposit does not waive the Owner/Agent's right to payment for charges discovered or finalized after the accounting was sent. If Resident receives final accounting with a balance due, Owner/Agent reserves the right to report non payment of balances to credit bureaus if not paid within 30 days. Any security deposit received from multiple Residents shall be refunded only when the last Resident vacates the unit and terminates his/her tenancy.


Review item 1, Carpet Cleaning


No refund due to tenant.  The carpets were cleaned by the same company both prior to move in and after move out.  See section 9 of lease and above.


Review item 2,  House cleaning


No refund due to tenant.  The house was cleaned to the same level prior to the tenant moving in.  The same vendor was used prior to move in and after move out.  See also section 9 of lease and above.


Review item 3, Maintenance.  


No refund due to the tenant, maintenance claims by tenant not substantiated on pre move in video.


Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1) As mentioned earlier, the charge of $237.50 is not itemized.  How is this figure arrived? (see attachment)

2) I realize that 3rd party groups performed yard work, carpet cleaning, and removal of a satellite dish.  These charges are excessive for the region.  How did you arrive at these vendors for service?  Were bids for quality service sought or just one vendor?  

Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response: The item you are talking about is the cleaning invoice from the company called ***** ** ** ****.  The original invoice was provided with your accounting and has also been uploaded to the BBB website.  Please view the paperwork you have already received.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

Request for BBB to render an opinion; both sides are deadlocked.

I believe Pioneer did not act impartially in deciding vendors.  These vendor charges are excessive for ******* ******.  I believe Pioneer did not vet these costs, since it did not directly affect them. Furthermore, I spent $200 in maid service when I vacated.  There was $200+ worth of more cleaning needed.  Removal of a satellite dish takes 4 screws to remove.  It was connected to hinge already on the house, so there was no need to remove a tripod setup.  However, I do accept the lawn care costs.

I am 45 years old, a medical professional, and have lived at several rentals.  I always got most, if not all of the deposit back.  I am not a problem renter.  I would have felt better if I knew when signing the lease there was a likely fee at the end versus using my deposit.

I will abide by the BBB decision.


Sincerely,

**** ******

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tenants had a contract with Pioneer Property Management (PPM) for renting a house at **** ***** *** in Eugene, Oregon. The contract was signed on June 25th, 2010. A security deposit was collected by PPM at the time the contract was signed. All the requirements of returning the security deposit were met at the time the keys were returned (except for not removing two supports for hanging a large mirror which was noted by PPM at a later date). The security deposit, nor any information concerning the above mirror supports or any other issues, was sent or returned to the tenants within the 31 days after the keys were returned to PPM, as required by ORS 90.300 (12) and (13). A partial return of the deposit was made 38 days after the keys were returned and at that time the mirror support issue was noted by PPM. Upon contact with the house owner an additional security deposit amount was returned but still not the amount representing what was owed the tenants minus the costs to remove the mirror supports. Additional contact with PPM has not been successful in resolving this issue in that they claim they were no longer the property manager for the house even though the contract with the tenant was never altered (a letter was sent by PPM stating they were terminating their relationship with the tenants). Copies of the contract and letters to and from PPM can be made available upon request and some are attached to this complaint.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Would like the remaining security deposit of $155 ($205 still held by PPM minus $50 to remove mirror supports) plus an additional $10 to cover the certified mail costs for a total $165 refunded to the tenants.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/23) */ ***** ******** has never been a client of Pioneer Management. We rented to a ***** ******** in 2010 and closed this account with the homeowner in 2012. The security deposit and all responsibility was transferred to the homeowner. Since then, the homeowner has been the manager and Pioneer has had nothing to do with Ms. ********'s rent, repairs, security deposit or refunds. She has paid rent directly to the homeowner without any involvement with Pioneer. She has corresponded with the homeowner and any security deposit questions or refunds should only be directed to the homeowner. Ms. ******** has the home owner's contact information. Please also see attached letter to tenants dated 4/20/12 ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My $35.00 application fee was never used by the company. My debit card I used has since then expired and has been re-issued. They claim they can not refund my $35.00 by a check or any other form except returning it to the expired card. Every company has alternative forms of refunding money not used for what they claimed it would be.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my $35.00 in the form of a check. That would be the honest thing to do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/30) */ Thank you for contacting Pioneer Management about your concern. I have reviewed the situation and have a few things to note for your file. When you applied for the home online via our website, the very first thing you will note is that it says, "Application fees are not refundable". It's further noted again on Item 2. Then once again the website speaks to the fact that Applications Fees are Non Refundable at the end of Item 10. Please see sample text below. When you applied you were required to confirm that you read and agreed to this before submitting the application. However, we reserve the right to consider an application refund. When someone submits the request for a refund to us, we require the Request for Refund Form to be filled out completely and submitted to us. The following is a link to this form: http://bit.ly/174FTQZ. As of the writing of this letter dated 8-30-13, we still have not yet received this Request for Refund form from you. This would be the first step in consideration of an application refund. With regards to how we refund an application, you will note that in Item 10 it states, and you agreed to it at the time of your application, that it would be "refunded in the manner that they were received." Please understand that we have a uniform process on how to handle items of this nature. Please start at the beginning by requesting your refund via the link provided above. Once we receive this from you, we can consider your refund. Application fees are (non-refundable) Please remember applications are happily considered-accepted after personally viewing the property. If multiple applications are received on a single property, Pioneer will first consider who viewed the property first then who applied first. While some of the information below may not yet be applicable to your situation, there are some provisions that may become applicable prior to signing a lease contract. In order to continue with this online application, you'll need to review the Application Agreement carefully and acknowledge that you accept its terms. 1. Lease Contract Information. The Lease Contract contemplated by the parties is attached or, if no Lease Contract is attached, the Lease Contract will be the current Lease Contract noted above. Special information and conditions must be explicitly noted on an attached Lease Contract or in the Contemplated Lease Contract Information above. 2. Application Fee (nonrefundable). You have delivered to our representative an application fee in the amount indicated below, and this payment partially defrays the cost of administrative paperwork. It's nonrefundable. 10. Refund After Nonapproval. If you or any co-applicant is disapproved or deemed disapproved under paragraph 9, we'll refund all reservation deposits within 30 days of such disapproval. Refund of deposits are done in the form of checks and may be made payable to all co-applicants and mailed to one applicant. This is not application fees. Application fees are refunded in the manner they were received. All application fees are not refundable. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/09/20) */ I am very Sorry I do not have a computer and did not see this email until recently. The company did not resolve my issue. I have not received my refund of $35.00. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/09/23) */ Please read our initial response. I have attached it again in case it was missed. The applicant has not provided any of the information requested. If the applicant is not willing to follow our process to apply for a refund it makes it really hard to address her issue. We have to have a process to follow so each case is treated fairly and with the same set of rules. So far the applicant has not yet filled out a request for their refund and has only made a complaint to the BBB. We can consider her request but no request has been made yet. Thank you for contacting Pioneer Management about your concern. I have reviewed the situation and have a few things to note for your file. When you applied for the home online via our website, the very first thing you will note is that it says, "Application fees are not refundable". It's further noted again on Item 2. Then once again the website speaks to the fact that Applications Fees are Non Refundable at the end of Item 10. Please see sample text below. When you applied you were required to confirm that you read and agreed to this before submitting the application. However, we reserve the right to consider an application refund. When someone submits the request for a refund to us, we require the Request for Refund Form to be filled out completely and submitted to us. The following is a link to this form: http://bit.ly/174FTQZ. As of the writing of this letter dated 8-30-13, we still have not yet received this Request for Refund form from you. This would be the first step in consideration of an application refund. With regards to how we refund an application, you will note that in Item 10 it states, and you agreed to it at the time of your application, that it would be "refunded in the manner that they were received." Please understand that we have a uniform process on how to handle items of this nature. Please start at the beginning by requesting your refund via the link provided above. Once we receive this from you, we can consider your refund. Application fees are (non-refundable) Please remember applications are happily considered-accepted after personally viewing the property. If multiple applications are received on a single property, Pioneer will first consider who viewed the property first then who applied first. While some of the information below may not yet be applicable to your situation, there are some provisions that may become applicable prior to signing a lease contract. In order to continue with this online application, you'll need to review the Application Agreement carefully and acknowledge that you accept its terms. 1. Lease Contract Information. The Lease Contract contemplated by the parties is attached or, if no Lease Contract is attached, the Lease Contract will be the current Lease Contract noted above. Special information and conditions must be explicitly noted on an attached Lease Contract or in the Contemplated Lease Contract Information above. 2. Application Fee (nonrefundable). You have delivered to our representative an application fee in the amount indicated below, and this payment partially defrays the cost of administrative paperwork. It's nonrefundable. 10. Refund After Nonapproval. If you or any co-applicant is disapproved or deemed disapproved under paragraph 9, we'll refund all reservation deposits within 30 days of such disapproval. Refund of deposits are done in the form of checks and may be made payable to all co-applicants and mailed to one applicant. This is not application fees. Application fees are refunded in the manner they were received. All application fees are not refundable.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Pioneer Management Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart