Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

KPS Management

Phone: (509) 842-2322 Fax: (509) 893-2202 524 N Mullan Rd Ste 101, Spokane Valley, WA 99206 http://www.kpsonline.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Property Management


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that KPS Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for KPS Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on KPS Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 17, 2009 Business started: 02/01/2005 in WA Business started locally: 02/01/2005 Business incorporated 03/01/2009 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Department of Labor and Industries WA State
901 N Monroe St Ste 100, Spokane WA 99201
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (509) 324-2600

Real Estate Licensing-WA
Olympia WA
http://www.dfi.wa.gov/cs
Phone Number: (360) 664-6500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Karla Kaley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Karla Kaley, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals Lawn Maintenance Ground Maintenance Contractors - General Handyman Services Janitor Service Real Estate Real Estate - Commercial Real Estate Agents

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Cashier's Ck, Money Order, Debit, MasterCard, Visa
Refund and Exchange Policy
Yes
Alternate Business Names
KPS Realty, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

KPS Management has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 524 N Mullan Rd Ste 101

    Spokane Valley, WA 99206 (509) 842-2322

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 8-14-16 I had a sewage back-up, my toilet got broken in the process of the plumber "snaking" out the sewer lines that also blocked up my neighbors sewer lines. the toilet was pieced together and put back in place by the plumber, I was told by the plumber that he would recommend the toilet be replaced. 8-15-16 I was told by Wayne F****** that he replace it.

Desired Settlement: I would like my toilet replaced.

Consumer Response:

I would like to end my complaint with BBB, I will settle this through a different avenue.

5/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: KPS is telling me that I owe them a bunch of money that I don't believe I owe

Desired Settlement: I want KPS to stop telling me I owe them money but I don't believe I owe and I want them to prove it to me by letting me or having somebody else look at their books

Business Response:

Please see attached PDF document for our response. We hope this meets your needs. If you need any other assistance please let us know. Thank you. KPS Management

BBB
Complaint ID ********* subject, **** ** ******, **** * ******** **** Spokane, WA 99212

Reponse to Billing Issues:

Mr. ****** moved into **** * ******** *** on 7/7/2015 with a lease term beginning 7/7/2015 and
ending 7/31/2016. $535 is the monthly rent on his apartment. Rent is due on the 1st day of the
month. If rent is paid after the 3rd day of the month, beginning on day 4 a late charge of $35 is
assessed. If beginning on the 5th day of the month, rent is still unpaid a daily fee of $5 is
assessed.

Since 8/1/2015, Mr ****** has paid rent late carrying a balance on his account until paid up on
3/5/2016. Mr. ****** also rents Garage ***. The rent is $40 per month. Money Mr. ****** brings
in is paid on his account. It has been applied first to the apartment rent (the account that
carries late fees) and then applied to the garage rent.

Mr. ****** has a balance on his garage account of $160 at this time. KPS posted a balance due
letter on Mr. ******'s door on 3/24/2016. Mr. ****** called inquiring about the balance and it was
explained to him the same day.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I want 2 reopen my claim because they told me I was caught up last month and now i hav $275 in fees and only $75 is from getting a new mailbox key witch is a lot but ok I asked how its possible to have that much in fees in 1 month they are ripping me off

Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response: If Mr ****** feels the balance is incorrect he is welcome to bring in any receipts he may have for comparison. We would be happy to compare his records to ours.  We have a very structured and well documented system of handling payments and accounting for payments made. However, if by chance we have made an error, we would be more than willing to make any corrections needed. No problem there.  At this time the information we have in our records show the balances owed as accurate. We encourage Mr. ****** to work directly with the management company to efficiently and effectively resolve these matters so that his rental history does not become adversely affected. Without further information to the contrary, we believe these balances are accurate.     

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I already told them I didn't save my receipts like i should of but i am more then happy to look at there records to prove I have paid for my garage sense day one and how can I be all paid up one day then the next day i have a letter on my door for $160 then I go to pay it and it's $275 I no I owe late fees for last month and key fees of $75 so that should only be $125 not $275 I will pay the $125 a week from Friday 


Sincerely,

**** ******

4/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a tenant of KPS property management, I first filed a maintenance request for my Hot Water tank, Refrigerator, and dishwasher, all were leaking on 3/31/2016. My first response to the request was a visit on 4/1/2016 , A maintenance man by the name of "Dan" said that he would recommend that the hot water tank and dishwasher be replaced. I never heard back from anyone, so I resubmitted a maintenance request 4/08/2016 in person. I was told someone would be out to replace defective appliances. I never heard back! On 4/12/2016 my refrigerator stopped working, roughly $100 in food. I went into the office a third time to request a third maintenance request. I had a second visit from a maintenance later 4/12/2016 that evening, nothing was repaired. The hot water tank is leaking so severely that it no longer heats the water, on 4/13/2016 I have turned off the electric to the hot water tank as to not waste electricity.

Desired Settlement: I request that my hot water tank, refrigerator, and dishwasher be replaced immediately.

Consumer Response:

I was given a call from the KPS office 414/2016  saying they would replace all my appliances in the apartment with new ones, I was also promised rental reimbursement of some sort. I was promised "the middle of next week" which is approximately 04/19 /16 that I would have these appliances replaced. I know emotions don't hold up well in court, I just want all the facts to be verifiable through a third party. Thank you for time BBB staff.

11/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 5th, 2014 I received a 20 day notice that I was to move, I was not allowed to sign a new lease even though I have paid my rent and taken care of the property. I complied with the notice and moved out as of the 31st of July 2014. I did my move out walk through on the 4th of August 2014 with ******* *****, I was told the only coming out of my deposit would be the $110 carpet cleaning fee and the $12 stove covers. Three weeks after I received my deposit back for $4.18, I was charged $265 for carpets, $148 for stove cleaning and $110 for unpaid rents. When I asked about these charges I was told to put it into writing and they would be reviewed. It is now September 5th 2014 and I have had no response. I have called several times and get an answering machine. This is the first place where I have not received my deposit back, I am a neat freak and always leave my home clean. This company has tried several times to charge me late fees and other fees even though all my rents where paid on time. I would not live in any of their properties nor recommend them to anyone for that matter.

Desired Settlement: My deposit was $595, I would like my deposit back less the $110 carpet cleaning and the $12 stove pans. Total due to me is $473.

Business Response: Mr. ****** is a former resident manager and sales associate of our company.  He no longer works for our company for reasons best not disclosed.  The information found in this complaint is not accurate.  We offer the following attached documentation in support of our position.  Security Deposit Dispositions are handled the same way for all residents, regardless of their status as former Resident Managers.  Security Deposit refunds and/or charges are determined by comparing the condition of the property upon move-in to that of move-out.  A tenant is not charged for normal wear and tear nor are they charged for damaged items (if any) that were noted on the Move-In PCR.  In the case of Mr. ******, an entrance/ Move-In walk through was performed at the time of move in (copy of the Move-In Property Condition Report (PCR) is attached here).  An exit/Move-Out  walk through was performed at the time of move out (copy of the PCR is also attached here).  The charges found in the Security Deposit Disposition completed for Mr. ****** (copy attached here) were determined based on damages and cleaning required at the time of move out along with rents owed for not having vacated by the end of the month. Mr. ****** remained in possession of the property into the first week of the next month.  Not included in this disposition are amounts owed for a garage/storage unit at a companion property which Mr. ****** left unpaid.  Also attached please find a copy of staff communications documenting the timing and Mr. ******'s behavior/interactions with our staff who were tasked with trying to schedule a timely walk through for him.  Despite Mr. ******'s claims, please be assured we care very much about providing excellent customer service and we have indeed responded to him regarding his concerns.  We do not charge tenants inappropriately nor unnecessarily for security deposits or any fees.  We are not in a position to offer Mr. ******  further refund of Security Deposit funds as he currently owes money for unpaid garage/storage use at a companion property and disposal of a very large screen TV which was not charged to him at the time the disposition was prepared.  We sincerely wish Mr. ****** the best but respectfully request he stop contacting our offices.  His profane language and multiple weekly phone calls are essentially harassment at this point.  Our business has been concluded.     

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******

 

To the owners of KPS. I left the residence on the 30th of July. I was told the walk-through could not be done till a week later. Because of my experience in working with your company and seeing the several times you miss treated or overcharged your tenants I requested to be present during the walk-through before surrendering the keys. As to the many phone calls and requests to review my deposit my messages were never returned, nor did anyone attempt to contact me. I proceeded to pursue assistance from the BBB in order to gain a response. This was after a month of trying to contact someone.

I spent 5 hours cleaning, wiping down walls, cleaning the stove, putting in new stove pans, and shampooing the carpets. I have no animals so the carpets only had normal wear and tear which is to be expected in any rental. The lease states there is a $110 non-refundable carpet cleaning, not $265. Also, the $110 for back rents is a false charge as my rent was current with a $9 credit. The allegation for the past charges of cleaning and back rent for the garage are also false. I have a receipt for the garage showing I paid for the last month and a letter letting you know I did not need it anymore. I cleaned out all my things and swept and cleaned it out prior to vacating. In your response you stated I was charged for a Large television disposal. The T.V. was given to the Brad's family in #1. They are friends  of mine. They informed me that you came and took it from their porch in mid September some month and a half after I had moved out.

I am requesting a refund for the $155 difference in carpet charges, the $110 alleged back rents, and the $145 for cleaning. As for my complaint to the BBB it has nothing to do with past employment, it has to do with my lease contract with your company.

I have attached the receipts and both a copy of my move-in and move-out reports. Also, there is a copy of the final statement and $4.18 check I received for my returned deposit. I have not cashed this check because I am disputing your alleged charges. 

   

Business Response:

As previously communicated, Mr. ****** is a former Resident Manager and Sales Associate who no longer works for the company. He was given a notice to vacate for reasons best not disclosed here.  The information found in his complaint is misleading and inaccurate. For Example, the non-refundable portion of the Security Deposit is actually $200, not $110 as he has stated here.  Security Deposit dispositions are handled in the same fashion for all residents, regardless of their status as a former resident manager.  The condition of the property at the time of move in is compared to the condition of the property upon vacating.  A property condition report is filled out in both cases and is used for reference.  Tenants are responsible for any damages and/or cleaning in excess of the move in condition.  A tenant is not charged for normal wear and tear.  On page 8, Section VI, last paragraph, of the rental contract agreed to by Mr. ****** prior to move in, clearly states the following:  "The Security-damage-cleaning deposit is only a deposit toward any charges levied...if the cost of restoring the rental unit is greater than the deposit, TENANT is liable for those charges.".  The property management company serves at the pleasure of the Property Owner.  We are not in a position to grant Mr. ******'s request for  a refund in excess of what he has already been refunded, as previously documented.  Furthermore, Mr. ****** currently owes the property owner money for unpaid garage/storage use at a companion property.  We sincerely wish Mr. ****** the best but respectfully request he stop contacting our offices.  His aggressive phone calls are essentially harassing at this point.  Our business has been concluded.    

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******

To KPS,

 

I have shown you proof that you owe me money. I have also disproved that I owe for the Garage by attaching not only the receipts but also the letter from you stating that when I paid, all the "alleged" balance would be forgiven. Also, in the lease I signed the carpet cleaning deposit was for $110. You raised the amount 4 months after I signed my new lease for Heatherwood Manor. I am not to sure how, with these business tactics, you are still in business. I was not the only tenant you have done this to and if I don't stand up for my rights I will not be the last that you swindle money from.  I was hoping to handle this matter without going to court but as I see in your response I will have to resort to that. After showing you that I have proof you owe the monies you are still refusing to pay. As I stated before I will not accept your $4.18 return for my deposit.

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon vacating an apartment after fulfilling my one year lease I was denied any of my deposit refund. I scheduled a meeting with ***** ***** to discuss details about withholding my deposit. this meeting took place in july. I brought all my documents and we agreed that she would refund me in the amount of $125 and she admitted her mistake. It is now October and I am yet to receive my check in the amount of $125. I have made numerous calls to her office and always I am given the runaround. Last week I visited the office and **** ***** happened to be in the hallway so I asked her about my check. She said "maybe you aren't entitled to that money." I informed her that I have a voice recording of our meeting where she agreed to pay me $125. I also informed her that I would be contacting your bureau as well as the landlord tenant act people. I was a good clean tenant and never caused any problems for them. It should be noted that the charges that I was charged on my final inspection were outrageous such as $6.00 for a lightbulb and many ,more,that totaled over $300 of fraudulent deductions showing the kind of dishonesty kps is conducting business with. I should have received at least $450 of my deposit but my documentation could only prove $125 and so I agreed to that. I have left my forwarding address with their office numerous times.

Desired Settlement: I would like a settlement in the amount of $350.00. $125 for the amount agreed to as well as an additional $225 for the trouble of having to take out a payday loan that went well overdue as a result of not receiving my deposit refund that I was counting on to pay childcare ,bills etc.

Business Response: Dear Sir/Madam, I have attached our response to *** ********** complaint here as a PDF file, along with supporting documentation.  *** ******** may pick up his refund CK at our offices since the address we have on file for him is undeliverable by the post office.  Thank you very much for the opportunity to respond to this inquiry.   Here at KPS we care very much about our residents and the clients we serve.  We strive very hard to give the best customer service we can and to resolve any issues or complaints as quickly as possible.  -***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on KPS Management
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart