Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Emerald Property Management Inc

Phone: (541) 741-4676 Fax: (541) 744-2849 525 Harlow Rd, Springfield, OR 97477

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers property management, maintenance, and rental services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Emerald Property Management Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Emerald Property Management Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 07/01/1993 Business started locally: 07/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Real Estate Agency
1177 Center St NE, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 378-4170

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Kyle Gray, President/Broker Mr. Blake Hastings, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kyle Gray, President/Broker
Business Category

Property Management Home Improvements Apartment Finding & Rental Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Emerald Property Management Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 525 Harlow Rd

    Springfield, OR 97477 (541) 741-4676


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented a 2 bedroom townhouse from Emerald in July of 2009 and got the opportunity to move from Springfield to Gold Beach Oregon. We took pictures and filled out a move-in form when we moved in and gave Emerald a copy of both. We finally got to move in November of 2015. We received a list of charges for repairs of the apartment. Some of the charges are not true. The apartment was in bad shape when we moved in. The carpet was used, stained, and dirty when we moved in. There were nail holes every where in the apartment. The repair costs for the apartment include labor hours, material costs for repairs, the cost of half the cost of the carpet, an untrue charge of a smoke detector tampering fee, and unpaid rent. We were out of the apartment before the end of November and paid for the entire month of November. We did not tamper with the smoke detector. I have sent them three letters so far including the dispute form that they wanted because I am disputing the charges. I have not heard anything from them sense they sent the letter of charges in December. The dispute could only be in writing within 14 days, which I did. In April it went to collections and I have disputed it twice so far with the collection agency. It has been 2 weeks sense I have heard from the collection agency.

Desired Settlement: I want this to be done with. I want Emerald Property Management to remove the charges the are untrue and re-evaluate what we are responsible for.

Business Response: This file was turned over to a collection agency 3 months ago for failure tom pay or make payments on it so we are unable to negotiate it at this point
-The tenant failed to give a full 30-day notice.  The tenant failed to pay through the 30-day notice.
- The tenant left several smoke detectors disabled.
-- The tenant left then property in disrepair (tenant caused damages to garbage disposal, screens, walls, etc)
-- The tenant left the carpet in a condition that made it not salvageable.

It cost over $5000 to bring the apartment back into a respectable condition of which the tenant was only charged a portion of this. We do have bills from independent vendors and photos that document the damage.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The reasons for these charges are false. We did not do what they said we did. The apartment was in poor condition when we moved in and I have a copy of our move-in form to prove it. We put in a 30 day notice upon moving out and paid for the entire month of November and should not have to pay for 5 days of December. I have been working with the collection agency and have disputed it twice. I will use my legal rights if this does not go away.


******* *******

6/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sewer gas leak in my residence. Have requested action on this problem multiple times Was given odor bags. They do not stop gas leak. Smell a problem as well as health issue. We are experiencing health issues. Neighbors have related that many family come and go from this apt and smell/health issues. I requested for someone to come here with a meter and check toxicity levels. No response yet. Have contacted state, county and city. Am told they can't help.

Desired Settlement: To remain living where I am. Without toxic sewer gas.

Business Response: When this complaint was filed we had already hired an independent, licensed, bonded, and insured plumbing company to investigate the smell issue.  They were originally unable to locate the problem and that is why it took a little longer to resolve the issue.  There was a sewage leak under the building. This tenant lives upstairs so I am not sure how they smell it in their apartment as the tenant below has not complained as far as I am aware.  This was literally cleaned up professionally the same day the complaint was made.  However, I have not heard back from the plumber as to if the repair was completed.  I was only notified that it would take 3 plumbers to complete the job and that it was to be completed last week.  This building has had an unusually high number of water and sewage line breaks over the past few years due to the construction methods used by the city/LTD a few years ago adjacent to the property (this has been proven). I should be able to get an update once our maintenance director is back in town as he has been out of town for the past week and a half. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******** ****

4/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I lived in one of Emerald Property Management's apartment complex's in Eugene, OR. I lived in that unit for one year. I was not allowed a walk-through and the unit had not been cleaned prior to moving in. I had several maintenance issues, some of which were resolved and others were not. I was told by the on-site property manager that she would have it taken care of and it never was. In December of 2015 I gave Emerald my 30-day notice of intent to vacate the unit. During that 30 day period, the baseboard heater located in the dining room had actually fallen out of the wall because it had not been properly installed in studs and was instead screwed into the drywall. Upon vacating the unit, I cleaned every room thoroughly as well as the carpets which were in the same condition as when I moved in, and I took pictures of every room for proof of the condition in which I left the unit. There was no abnormal or additional wear and tear than what would be expected for living there for a year. When I received the refund from my security deposit, I was charged for carpet cleaning, cleaning services for the entire unit, it was noted there was a "Faulty thermostat" that needed repairing which came as a surprise to me because every thermostat was in working order. There were numerous charges for "repairs as needed" which were unnecessary as the items listed were not in need of repair when I left. I was charged for repairing the baseboard heater which is actually a code violation because it was not properly installed in the first place. In total, I was charged over $600 in repairs that never should have been charged to me. I contacted Emerald and filed a written dispute requesting full refund of my security deposit and the erroneous charges be corrected. My repeated attempts to contact them in person as well as phone messages for the past 60 days have been ignored and no response from them has been received.

Desired Settlement: I am demanding I receive the amount equal to double my security deposit per ORS 90.300 subsection (16) due to erroneous charges under ORS 90.300 subsection (7)(B).

Business Response:

I apologize for the delay in response.  All of our files are in difficult to access locations in storage containers  while we remodel.  The remodel job is only ½ way completed and 3 months in when it was supposed to take a month.

I am writing regarding this past tenant at ***** ****** ***** **** **.  The tenant had a $720.00 deposit. The tenant lived at the premises just over a year (November 2014 to January 2016).  The tenant was charged $14.98 for unpaid rent, $77.96 in cleaning, $85.00 in carpet cleaning, and $437.98 in repairs for damages. Tenants are only charged for damages that are beyond ordinary wear and tear and not pre-existing.  Please note that the same person (Mike) inspected the unit before and after the tenancy.  Please also note that the tenancy was Section 8 so the unit passed the HUD-type inspection prior to occupancy.

The complainant has made false statements in her complaint.

1) The tenant states that it was not cleaned prior to her move in.  The carpet was professionally cleaned by an independent professional company named Johnson’s Carpet Cleaning The cleaning was completed by the independent company named Pacific Property Services. We do have bills to corroborate this.  
2) The tenant stated she was not allowed to walk through the unit prior to move in. The unit was vacant and could be shown. There would be no reason we could not have shown or would not have shown the property unless the tenant elected not to do so.  I am unable to contact the past on-site manager who was there at the time to verify the situation.  The on-site manager’s apartment is literally less than 10 feet from this unit.  It is policy to show the unit prior to renting if the unit is vacant and safe/ready.  On the tenant’s rental agreement she initialed the line that says “Tenant(s) have personally inspected the premises and find them in satisfactory condition.” There is the option the check that it was not inspected, so either she was signing falsely then or
misstating the facts now.
3) So a baseboard heater that was allegedly improperly installed stays on the wall for 20 years but all of a sudden just falls off right before the tenant moves?  How coincidental. If the heater was installed as a code violation perhaps the city of Eugene should have caught that when they did the construction inspection in 1996. The tenant was NOT charged for this as she states.  
4) The tenant also states she was charged for a thermostat and she was NOT charged for a thermostat. The invoice provided is from Davis Construction Services.  The total bill from Davis was for $658.38.  She was charged $437.98 of this bill as indicated on the bill.  The tenant was specifically charged for the yellow  highlighted items on the bill ONLY which is 6 hours of contractor labor for the labor of painting the living room, replacing the bedroom door, repairing the bi-fold door, painting the bedrooms and closets, replacing the range hood filter, and installing some light bulbs as well as the associated highlighted parts (paint, supplies, light bulbs, and filter).  The majority of this was for a door that had a large hole in it and for painting the walls that had excessive blotches which appears to be caused by poor patching of holes. Since the occupancy was barely over a year and the walls were in good condition at move in there was not enough tenancy time to consider this amount and type of damage to be ordinary wear and tear.  There is a belief among some tenants (urban legend?) that landlords are required to pay at their cost for painting between every tenant.  That may be true somewhere but it is not in Oregon.

5) Carpet cleaning: Yes.  Carpet cleaning was charged at actual cost as per the rental agreement and state law(ORS 90.300(7)(c)). There is even an asterisk next to that statement on the rental agreement where it says “carpet cleaning shall be deducted from the security deposit regardless of whether the tenant cleaned the carpet prior to delivery of possession. The carpet cleaning will be performed by a machine specifically designed for cleaning or shampooing carpets by an independent carpet cleaning company.  The carpet was either new or cleaned prior to the tenant taking possession.” The carpets were professionally  cleaned prior to move in as previously stated and are cleaned before 99% of our new tenants move in. Therefore, nobody gets a full security deposit refund as allegedly demanded by the tenant unless they do not have carpet.

6) The unit was fairly clean but not "broom clean" as required by law and still required several hours of cleaning.  The kitchen and specifically the appliances needed a deeper cleaning to be presentable.  This cleaning was completed by Jessica R***** and independent vendor. 

7) If any tenant does not agree with the amount charged on a security deposit statement they are instructed by our staff to fill out and turn in a Security Deposit Dispute form.  I cannot find any written form of this nature in the tenant’s file.

Based on what I have seen we have no intent on refunding any further deposit.

I will provide attachments via a separate e-mail. Thank you.

3/18/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response:

This statement is completely false.  We never assessed anything for a video security system to any tenant. There is no charge nor has there ever been any charge on any tenants account EVER for a video security system. We really hope this tenant is not spreading these lies as that could be considered a violation of his rental agreement and/or house rules.  

We were looking for input and review for such a system at about the same time as we were also giving the legal/required notification of a $9 change for UTILITIES. Due to the layout of the building installers found it difficult to install a system of the type we wanted. although it is possible, it would be very expensive and more than our original estimates. There is no requirement that we have security cameras for this facility nor is it normal in the area to have security cameras inside of apartment complexes.

This is a Section 8 federally subsidized building and we are required each year to  forward utility data of a sample from the utilities paid by the tenants.  We have to turn in a report to HUD and they decide how much the increase/decrease is (if any) based on the data provided by the local utility company (Eugene Water and Electric Board).  We do not decide this increase--we just forward the data, notify the tenants, and implement the increase/decrease (if any). If there is no change then we do not notify the tenants. The $9.00 must be referring to this because the tenants payment portion went up $9 in August 2015, due to the average decrease of tenant-paid utilities over the prior year. This was ultimately caused by the very cold winter and subsequently higher electric usage and bills from the prior year.   We do not control the weather, the utility company rates, how warm tenants keep their units/how much electricity they use, or how HUD requires us to provide the data.

I am providing a copy of the letter mailed to the tenant notifying him of the increase (separate e-mail). Please note that it is not the signed/completely filled out version for privacy issues.  Please also note that tenants do not pay for the rent increases.  This was actually just a $9 decrease in credit towards their rent due to the reasons noted above. 





Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** *******

9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I rented a home through Emerald Property Management for exactly four months, Jan-Apr 2015. Upon moving in we filled out our walk through paperwork and reported three sets of broken blinds as well as scratches/ stains inside the kitchen sink. When we moved out we got our deposit refund paperwork about a month later and we are being charged with a replacement kitchen sink as well as four hours worth of labor charges to replace the sink. We are also being charged $175 to replace the blinds that we reported broken when we moved in. The sink did not accrue any more scratches and/or damages in any form during our stay in the home and if it did not need replaced before we moved in it did not need replaced when we moved out. We immediately filled out a "Deposit Refund Dispute Form" and turned it in. We turned it in on June 4th and were told we would hear back within 7-14 days. It is now July 17th and we have yet to have this resolved. We have made multiple phone calls and sent emails all to be ignored. The Principal Broker Kyle ** G*** lied to my husband and told him that the maintenance manager had already spoken to me about the issues when in fact I have made multiple attempts to contact him all to go unanswered. They said they didn't have our walk through paperwork when we clearly have the copy they made us when we turned it in with their received date stamp on it. Emerald Property Management is ignoring the issue and have now tried to lie and say we never turned in our walk through paperwork to begin with. They have lied to us and told us their response to our form was put in the mail when it was not. They upgraded the sink in the home and are trying to pass the bill onto us. The sink did not and does not not have damages above and beyond normal wear and tare, prior to us moving in or after we moved out. This is very dishonest and unethical busniss practice on the part of Emerald Property Management.

Desired Settlement: We would like the portion of our deposit that was withheld from us for the contractors bill for the sink replacement,as well as, the estimate for the blind repair refunded to us.

Business Response:

I am writing in response to complaint ********, regarding the security deposit refund for the ******* family .  The home was built in 2009 and has only had two other tenants in it prior to the ******* occupancy in early 2015.  One of those 2 tenants was the general contractor  who built the homes in that neighborhood so he is very familiar with the property.   Both the (independent) general contractor  and our maintenance manager –who both inspected the property before and after this tenancy-- have stated to me that there was no significant damage to the sink prior to their tenancy and that there was significant damage to the sink after the tenancy.  They said it appeared someone had been recklessly  dropping cast iron pans in the sink.  These are newer houses and although perhaps not perfect, very few tenants paying in the $1300 range would accept a house with a sink in the condition it was left by the ******* family.  Therefore, the sink had to be and was replaced.  It was charged to the tenant.  The life expectancy of a sink is well beyond 6 years and we have many sinks in our older houses that are 50 to 60 years old and still in good condition and working fine. The tenancy was only 4 months so any ordinary wear and tear is out of the question.   Their excuse it that the sink was still useable. That is true but appearance is also an important factor  on newer homes as tenants expect all elements of the home to be in new or newer condition, which the sink was not in after they moved.  Mr. ******* asked if he could have the damaged sink back, but it was so damaged that the contractor disposed of it.  We do have photos of the condition the sink was left in as well as 3 witnesses – 2 of them independent vendors—who saw the sink before and after the tenancy.   These past tenants are being dishonest in not admitting that they caused significant damage to the sink.  The sink was not an upgrade but merely a replacement of similar quality.


As far as my comments they were to Mr. *******.  I did tell him that I (underline I) did not personally have a copy of the move-in condition sheet, but I qualified this by saying that I was sure Mike had it upstairs as he was reviewing the file. Please note that I do not have a part in security deposits as part of my responsibilities and therefore I rarely see move in sheets unless there is a special reason to do so.  I also told Mr. ******* that (as Mike S. the maintenance manager had told me he had discussed it with “them”) that he had already discussed this security deposit with Mike S.  Mr. ******* said he never talked to Mike and I responded to him  that Mike must have talked to his wife then.  I later clarified this with Mike S. and he said he talked to Mr. ******* specifically about the sink charge and the carpet cleaning charge right around the time they would have received their security deposit statement. Therefore, the statements from Mrs. ******* about me lying are completely false and I am  very offended by such accusations. Mr. ******* also said he had photographs on his phone of the move in condition showing the pre-existing damages they are claiming.  I have yet to receive these photographs and was waiting on these for further evaluation of this case.  However, since I am being pressured to make a commentary/decision without such evidence, I believe the offer below is fair based on the evidence I have seen and heard.


We do use an independent company that can make sinks and tubs look like new after being damaged.  However, they are very expensive and sometimes repair can be almost as expensive as replacement.  I am willing to refund the difference between this type of repair (roughly estimated at $250 based on past bills, but can get a more specific estimate if needed)  for the sink and the replacement cost as billed--- in addition to refunding all charges for the blinds.  This can be done within 2 business days of acceptance, unless such acceptance occurs on the last 3 days of the month. 


Kyle ** G***, Principal Broker

Emerald Property Management, Inc.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First, I would like to thank Emerald Property Mangement on behalf of my husband and myself for taking a step to helping get this resolved.  I understand the offer being made to us, however, I have a couple questions.

1) The response was written and submitted on Friday August 14th.  I read it the following Monday on the 17th.  I had yet to respond at that point, however, when I got home I had a check in my mail box for $275.  This covered (Per their itemized form) the $175 that we were charged with for the blinds as well as $100 to cover the difference between what we were charged for the sink verses what it would have cost to just re-finish it.  We were originally charged $565.00, we were refunded $100.00. This means we are still being charged $465.00.  Based on previous bills this is typically a $250.00 charge (Per Emerald Properties Response on August 14th).  I am wondering where the extra $215.00 in costs came from?  I myself got an estimate for re-finishing the sink and explained the "damages".  It was well under $465.00 and I can present the quote if needed. 

2)My second question is, although I appreciate the refund, why was the check cut prior to me even responding?  Per Emerald Property Management's response they could get a more accurate quote if we requested, however, we didn't even have a chance to request one.  Was one obtained without our request? And if so, was it really $465.00 when it is typically only $250.00?

3) The way I read our paperwork, we are being charged for a faucet as well and I want to be sure this cost was completely wiped off of the bill, in addition to the difference between what we were charged versus the cost of re-finishing.  You do not need to buy a new faucet just because the sink gets replaced. 

We still believe that we should be fully refunded.  We have many witnesses as well who saw the sink during our short 4 month stay in this home.  We do not even own cast iron pans so to say we were recklessly dropping them in the sink is out of the question.  In regards to Kyle's concern with being called a liar, perhaps dishonesty is taking place internally within their establishment.  If the maintenance manager claims he spoke with either my husband or myself then he is being dishonest with Kyle.  Neither of us has ever spoken with him and we have the phone records to show this and certaintly have not spoken with him in person.  Neither of us could even begin to tell you what he looks like.  So yes, someone at Emerald Property Management is being dishonest in that regard.  I left a voicemail for him to never be called back, as well as sent him an email that went ignored.  I am a bit offended that we are now having the finger pointed at us when it is  clearly an issue with dishonestly somewhere on their behalf.


****** *******

Business Response:

1) the check was cut prior to response as I understood that the tenant was correct up to that point after my investigation so there was no need to wait further for that part of the refund.

If the tenant is in agreement about the rest then we will immediately issue an additional check for $215. 


2) I have to support what the employee and vendor have both stated to me and stand behind them as they were consistent and I have been working with both of them for many years.  The employee receives no benefit in any way for the amount or cost of work performed so he would not have any motivation to charge items that should not be charged . Admittedly, as in this case for the window coverings, he does sometimes accidentally charge for pre- existing items if it is not plain and clear that they were damaged prior. If photos are not turned in this can sometimes be a difficult task. In my opinion deciding what a tenant pays for and what an owner pays for at move out is the most difficult part of property management.

3) I don't know if they own or used cast iron pans but that is what it looked like. The contractor has been working on houses for decades and he said he has never seen a sink in that bad of condition.. I am not at the office but I do not believe the tenant was charged for the faucet. It is common for tenants to read the bill from the contractor and assume the full bill was charged when it often is not. The security deposit worksheet shows what was actually charged. I don't know if this is the case for sure but I don't recall that being an issue but it would be a good point if accurate because the faucet itself was not damaged. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** *******

7/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had a difficult time escaping from Emerald Property's slander for over three years now. In January 2012 they were paid in full the amount that was owed and professional credit services shows a zero balance due. Emerald property shows on my credit a balance of 156.00 owing and cannot confirm anything but a zero balance and refuses to remove their error. I feel that I am a continued victim of defamation of character by Emerald Property and desperately need help to be rid of their foul play.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I am only hoping for Emerald Property to be more cooperative with their previous and past tenants. And most certainly need this error and all slander to be removed off my family's name so we may move on with our lives....again.

Business Response: This former tenant did apparently pay off their balance in 2012, but we were unaware of this until just recently as we have never received the final payoff from the collection agency. The agency has stated that they will forward us the money but it still has not been received. We do not report anything publicly or to any credit reporting agency and I believe their account shows a $0.00 balance with he credit reporting agencies and with the collection agency. Since we did report accurately what we have received and what the balance we believed to be correct and because this was not published publicly there is clearly no slander or defamation of character. In the ONLY private reference that I am aware of-- and after finding out this information --we did issue a new reference based on the new information. Kat the bookkeeper apologized to Mr. *********** (the co-tenant) regarding this issue and explained how this happened already so I am not sure why this complaint was made. If requested, we would be happy to write a letter to the tenants that they can use for future references. The statement would only mention the tenants, address of tenancy, balance of $0.00 and the date of tenancy.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would feel better about resolving this complaint when I am sure I will no longer be a victim of defamation of character and dishonesty by Emerald Property Management on my credit, rental history and public records. There was in fact property debt and damage showing on our records for three years now, plus bad references from Emerald Property. There was False information from Emerald Property on our records preventing us from renting several homes for my family while I have been trying to re-locate for my job. Also I would appreciate Emerald Property's offer of a reference letter stating 0.00 balance, address of tenancy, and dates of rental. I will accept the response and wish to close the complaint when I receive the reference letter from Emerald Property and know I am clear of their name on my family's records. Thank you BBB and Emerald Property

Consumer Response: Emerald Property has not yet come through with what they promised. I have not received their letter stating o.o balance, tenancy address and dates if tenancy as well as anything else they would state in a previous rental check so I may see and compare with other landlords that receive their reference. If we didnt have such a long rental history with Emerald I would even be bothering using them on my rental applications but I have to prove where I was living in those years. Forging dates on 60 day eviction notice and not sending them or posting the eviction on my door or in mail and placing a dishonest eviction on my  family after renting through them for 7 years than placing a bogus amount due of 150 on our credit  after they received a court ordered amount. I am still being haunted by this company not being able to move because of the things they have dishonestly done to our names and still havent done what they said they will do by sending me the letter they promised.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

***** *********** and ********* ******* were former residents at ************ *******. They lived
at **** ***** ****** ** in Springfield, Oregon. Emerald Property Management, Inc. was the
management company at that complex during their entire tenancy. They were tenants at that address
from January 31, 2005 through October 24, 2011. Up through September 2011 the tenants had a $0.00
balance and at this time they have $0.00 balance for that tenancy.

Any reference that shows anything other than a $0.00 balance for that tenancy is incorrect. For
further verification, clarification, or for any references for this tenancy, please contact ONLY me
at***** ********* **** ****

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I first rented with EP almost 8 years ago in ****** ***** apartments. The onsite management gave me "walk through" papers detailing the condition of the residence upon my arrival, which I made a copy for myself and turned it into the manager. Management approved of painting as long as it was painted back to original color. When I got the opportunity to move(5 years later), I was told to go to the paint store and ask for "emerald property" for their off-white. I bought a 5 gallon bucket and painted the one room I had painted, as well as the back bedrooms because when I moved in, there were mismatched painted spots. I did this so that the entire place looked better than when I moved in. Paint mismatching was noted in walk through. Blinds, toilet seats, threaded carpet, holes in floor etc. These were a few among what I mentioned moving in. When I moved out I expected to receive my security dep. but received a bill. I disputed in the mail with no phone call like they wanted. Months went by and I didn't hear anything so I called. The guy I spoke( *** ?) with told me he just took over, I need to resubmit which I did. Then it was months later again that I had to call, by this time it was over a year. He told me there was nothing he could do to give me money back,even though the onsite mng never filed my walk through (I have the only copy now), but the best he could do is call it even. I took it, and stupidly didn't ask for anything in writing. Now, 3 years later I applied for a nice country house, and I was denied. The co. told me EP said I owe money. I called and **** is the one that does this, left him a message. He called back and spoke with my husband, and he couldn't have cared less. Told me those papers aren't used (it was 8 yrs) ago. Indirectly called me a liar etc. I went back to EP left a note and the walk through papers. I told him that I have to move because the house is being sold and EP is keeping me from finding a house for my current foster children,waiting

Desired Settlement: I want what this *** (?) and I had agreed upon. I could have gone to court, but it seemed like such a bother since what I don't like doing is leaving a bill unpaid-more than anything. In my current house searching, I had even included EP listings because I didn't think anything was looming. I figured i'd just video tape the place when I leave for proof. I want this thing to be done, and I need actual proof this time. The property management I applied at is asking for written proof that I don't owe any money. This is unnecessary marring of my rental history. I have an appointment with a lawyer this friday. I need this settled fast so I can secure a place for my kids. I have to be out by May 31st. I can't even apply for more places until this is settled. I dealt with a lot at that apt. They fired their onsite mng, i'm assuming because they found out she was addicted to pills. She went so far as open my front door at night for credibility in her claim of robberies(her pills stolen)

Business Response:

The tenants had a year maximum to respond (statute of limitations is one year) and provided nothing in writing  within the year.  Policy gives the tenant 14 days to respond in writing to any thing they disagree with and then we respond back in writing.  Forms are available for this or a tenant can use their own letter/format.  One+ year is much longer than 14 days.  **** , the maintenance director said the tenants did call in but that they waited over a year from that call to turn in the written documentation. Unless **** decides to handle this very old case, we will not make any further modifications at this time (*see below for exception) and any arrangements would need to be made  to pay the balance due. The information is just too old at this point. Tenants often ignore efforts from us and/or the collection agency to collect monies due until they are trying to get a loan or a new rental and only then does it become an important issue.

Further comments:
*I would be willing to look further into this myself but all of the following questions must be answered or documents provided:
1) Painting is  rarely allowed as alterations are prohibited by the contract.  In most cases where tenants paint the job is very poor unless the tenant is a professional painter.  Please provide a written, signed statement from an EPM representative authorizing the modification.  Please note that only myself and the head maintenance director can authorize that and any other employee would be terminated for authorizing an alteration of that magnitude.
2) Who specifically said to go to the paint store and which store did they say to go to?
3) What papers are "not used?"  I wrote the move in inspection sheet in 1995 and it almost the exact same form that is still used today.
4) Are you just looking for a $0.00 balance on the account and/o a letter of reference?

Please note that only **** and **** have handled security deposit evaluations in the past five years and we have never had an employee named ***.

4/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has been fraudulently adding late charges to my account and claiming non-payment (I have copies of cancelled checks and photographs of me putting the payment in their drop box!) for years without a reason other than they just feel like it. I have called this company repeatedly to speak with **** ***** or make an appointment to see him, and have received no return calls. His staff told me that he makes his own appointments and they are unable to do that for him. I have photographs, bank statements, cashed checks, a copy of my lease, a copy of their own letter, etc. proving that they are fraudulently applying late charges to my account and claiming non-payment, when it is absolutely not true. I believe that by ignoring my requests to speak to **** or refusing to make an appointment to meet with him in person, that it is their intent to illegally auction my belongings off at some point. They have done this exact thing and have been sued for this exact thing previously (2012), and I believe it is part of their regular business practice to do this. I have phoned them twice so far today (3/18/15), once in the a.m. and once at 12:00 noon, and have not received a call back. I told them (whoever answered the phone and ****** voice mail) that if I don't receive a call back today, that I will be at their office tomorrow (3/19/15) at noon.This has got to stop! These people are scammers and giving the property management field a bad name.

Desired Settlement: I would like a record placed in this business' record and I would like to have every single late charge removed from my account, or I will seek legal action.

Business Response:
I have already responded to this customer both verbally and by e-mail approximately 10 days ago. I am pretty sure I responded within 1 business day of finding out about the issue.  I believe this complaint was premature  All late fees were removed. There was never any danger of an auction of the customers items.  The issue all resulted from a disputed payment from 3 years ago.  It should have been resolved with our previous property manager and not sure why it was not. I have no record of a previous disagreement of payment. We are still investigating the payment that does not show up on our records from 3 years ago to determine how this happened and will likely waive any balance as the tenant provided adequate proof in my opinion that a payment was made.  I apologize for any inconvenience caused to our customer.

4/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for an apartment through Emerald Property Management and was told I'd get a response within 2-4 business days. After a week not hearing anything I called and asked about my application. They just took down my name and number but never called. So I went in and asked and the same they took down my name and number but never called. So I tried contacting them one more time and they said the apartment was on hold for an approved applicant. They were no help at all in finding me a place. They have the worst customer service I've ever dealt with.

Desired Settlement: They need to actually respond to their applicants when they say 2-4 business days.

Business Response:
Sorry.  Yes our normal turnover time for applications is 2 to 4 business days.  Of course it can take longer normally if references fail to return calls or faxes.  However due to multiple factors our processing time has been taking 5 to 10 business days (or more) over the past month to  process applications.  This has unfortunately led to multiple applications on the same property and there is only one of each property.  As a result there are going to be unhappy people because only one person, family, or group is going to get that particular home. This has been very frustrating to us and I am sure it has been frustrating to this applicant and others.  The only thing we can really do immediately if people are unhappy with this is stop advertising and/or start charging an up front large application fee like most everyone else in order to lessen the volume of  applications.  We do not charge an up-front application fee and we have many affordable units.  This results in a high volume of applications already. We cannot explain it but the amount of applications is about  4 times that of a normal year for us  and has been overwhelming.  In addition we have new employees in the leasing and processing department that are in training and are not as fast as our prior employees yet. Furthermore, other apartments and management companies are trending towards slow rental reference returns or no rental reference returns, which can slow the process considerably especially since we require verifiable professional rental references.  Finally, many of those who were approved recently do not have their reservation or move in funds immediately available as required by the application thus wasting our time when we hold a unit waiting for them to deliver the move in funds and sign the paperwork and they do not show for their appointment.  

In order to work on this problem we have hired an additional new employee to assist in this area and have asked an employee in another department to also assist until we can get back on track.  Our goal is to be back on our normal schedule by the end of next week.  We have considered posting this new timeline and changing our application to reflect this longer processing time but we feel this is a temporary situation.  Our processes and policies for applications has worked well for many years so we are unlikely to make any major long-term changes. 

If the applicant would like my individual help to try and find a new home then I would be happy to assist them; however rentals in the areas we primarily service (Springfield and non-campus Eugene) are sparse and many are rented prior to them coming vacant.  Once again, I apologize to this applicant and any others who were unable to obtain the home of their choice or who had to wait longer than expected to find out if they were denied or accepted.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** ****

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been told that my neigbors are complaining about the noise and traffic coming from my home, I was given a written notice and 14 days to correct the issue. As I look around at my neighbors they are doing all the things that I am being accusssed of doing and nothing has been said to them or notice to move. I believe that I am being singled out for some reason. Said noise coming from my home is never during quiet hours, only during the day, and it is only noticeable because we have our windows open due to the hot temps. All my neighbors have people who come to visit them and get loud.

Desired Settlement: I would like to stay in my residence and be given a fair opportunity like the rest of my neighbors to have visitors and get togethers without the worry of harrassment or getting letters from the management company. If this is not an option then maybe the management company can offer me another residence with in their company where I won't be a "disturbance". I have interest in another property

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/13) */ We appreciate feedback good or bad from tenants. In this case we have had multiple tenant complaints regarding violations of noise, quiet hours, pet policy and parking. We investigated the complaints and a staff member was able to confirm there are multiple violations at the tenants unit. We have issued a notice per statute and the violations were not cured by the date given on the notice. The tenant is currently refusing to move out. We take complaints and concerns very seriously as we want all tenants to enjoy the premises. We have not received complaints from Ms. ****** and welcome that if she is having a problem that she please provide it to us in writing and we will follow up as we do with all complaints and concerns. We can not share what occurs with another tenancy, but rest assured we do take information from our tenants seriously. We cannot offer Ms. ****** the option to stay due to the violations and the disturbances that have led to the termination. Ms. ****** is welcome to turn in an application for any of our properties and we will process. As a note we check background, credit, income, and rental history and the decision is based off of the information we gather. We cannot guarantee that a current tenant's application will meet the rental criteria as aspects of our criteria do change over time. We are willing to discuss a mutual termination agreement to avoid further legal action to gain possession of the property.

8/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is terrible and are absolutely dishonest. They refuse not to do a walk through with me. Turns out I got to pay for their poor maintenance blunders. A month into my stay at **** ***** ********** managed by Emerald Property Management. My closet shelf completely collapsed leaving me a huge mess of clothes to clean up. I work two jobs and when I finally had time to get to cleaning it, I come to find out that the screws holding up the 10-20lb board were not even 1 inches long! I did not have time to call and deal with it, plus the first request I made with them to fix my back door that does not lock at all got ignored, so I figured why waste my time, they would just repair when I moved out. They charged me to repair it, as well as, other false repairs that I should not have to pay for. Do not get me wrong I understand the cleaning fees, I expected that, as well as, one late charge I had them put on there. However, This company charged me over $400 in false repairs. They are extremely dishonest and refused when I asked them to perform a walk through of the unit with me! Now I see why!! Not to mention their customer service. I thought a company like that would employ people who took pride in their job. It is sad to say that I get better customer service at gas stations and with janitors than I did calling this company! I feel they will took advantage of me to pay for their lack of proper maintenance and to pay for their own mistakes. I am absolutely disgusted with the list of repairs that they charged me for. Especially after they denied me a walk-through!! They have lazy, rude maintenance men that do poor work for which I ended up paying for! My family owns a management company in Arizona and I worked as a leasing agent for years, as well as, have been around the business since I was born. I know dishonest business when I see it. This company will take advantage of the stress people are under while moving and they make tenants pay for repairs that were not made, I am sure, and repairs that they should be paying for due to their mistakes,lack of proper maintenance and to scam you out of money. I am a woman and could have installed the the closet, as well as, the drawers (that cant open unless you open the oven all the way first) much better than they did with a mini screw driver than the work that was done when I moved in. Also, when I moved in I told the apartment manager my back door does not lock it was not installed properly. She replied "well I could send someone there to fix it, but there is a thing at the top on the back of the sliding glass door that locks it in place." That was not true, I am not sure when the last time she was ever even in the was, since she walked me to the bottom of the stairs and provided me the key to show myself into the unit when I first went to view it. Not only was that information completely false but no one ever showed up to fix my sliding glass door that does NOT lock! I could not believe it, but, I was too busy with working two jobs to deal with it. On top of this the laundry facilities were NEVER cleaned. I wanted to ask the manager if they were looking to hire anyone due to it being so disgusting. I have never seen worse, not to mention the main and biggest facility smells constantly of feces it is unbearable. So unbearable that people at the whole property use the small laundry room with only 4 washers and 4 dryers in it to do all their laundry and will wait until those are free to avoid the smell of big laundry facility. I am absolutely amazed at the awful management of this property. Moving is stressful and this company is only operating because they are getting paid for their dishonesty knowing no one has the money to fight them in court!! They denied me a walk through and this is why I demanded it. Now it is very clear why, they do it for a reason! I hope something will be done!

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate my $400 in false repairs to be provided to me. If not that at least for them to wake up and acknowledge that they are running and extremely lazy, and unprofessional business. There are standards that should be upheld. At least hire people who can make it up stairs to show the units and maintenance employees who actually know what they are doing! As for the dishonesty, I know they know what they are doing scamming people and all I have to say is shame, shame on you and what goes around comes around!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/11) */ Attached is my response: 1) We are not required by contract or by law to do a walk through with the tenant. 2) The tenant requested a walk through with a manager she already admittedly knew could not walk upstairs and did not request from the maintenance manager who actually does the inspections. How does dishonesty have anything to do with a walk-through. Such logic is flawed. Doing the inspection with the tenant would have made no difference in the evaluation. 3) The closet shelf collapsing has never happened at any other unit at the complex since at least 1999 as per the manager and would be the result of placing excessive weight on the shelf. 4) The tenant was informed by the manager over a week ago that if she disagreed with any charges to turn in a security deposit dispute form. To this date, the tenant has NOT turned in a formal dispute of the charges and has instead made false and inflated statements to you and on other internet sites. 5) The only "dishonest" party in this relationship would be the tenant who denies being involved in an incident at her apartment involving an alleged assault and then having personal property of another in her apartment. The tenant denies even being there but we confirmed with the police and can provide an incident number if necessary. Perhaps the damages were related to this incident and/or harboring an unauthorized occupant and that is why this tenant would rather spew these statements as opposed to following procedure and sticking with the truth/facts. 6) All of the maintenance people are not on-site or even our employees but rather are independent, licensed, bonded, and insured and work for various contracting companies. 7) The sliding glass door has a pin lock that worked before, during, and after the tenants tenancy. 8) This is the first complaint we have EVER had about this laundry room. Both the manager and another independent person went to smell it after seeing this complaint and there was no unusual or "unbearable" smell. The coins collected at the laundry rooms in itself would prove this tenant's statement to be false. We would consider re-evaluating the charges on the account as previously instructed to the tenant. The tenant has already received a description of the charges. I cannot guarantee any changes, but we do re-evaluate every security deposit when a tenant fills out a form or writes a letter as to why they should not be responsible for specific charges. We will not be refunding the $400 or any part of it without proper procedure on the tenants part and/or an apology to those she has offended with her comments. Complaining about a persons physical disability is just unacceptable. The manager is beloved by many and we routinely get comments on how much the tenants there appreciate her professionalism and care for her tenants and the property.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Emerald Property Management Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart