Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

Dave Poletti & Associates

Phone: (206) 286-1100 Fax: (206) 286-4555 1200 Westlake Ave N Ste 1001, Seattle, WA 98109 http://www.davepoletti.com

! BBB Business Review on Dave Poletti & Associates is being Updated by BBB !



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the managing and leasing of  Homes, Condos, and Apartment Buildings in Seattle, WA.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 1200 Westlake Ave N Ste 1001

    Seattle, WA 98109 (206) 286-1100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) Dave P****** is not being forthright in his billing practices. We were charged $369.40 for handyman charges at our rental property. We just happened to be terminating P******* services & found out that the tenant did not request some work that was charged to us. The tenant asked why I terminated P****** then followed with- I had an issue with P****** as someone entered the property without notice & fixed a fan that was not broken & replaced suitable weather stripping.- P******** group apologized to the tenant for the mistake, but charged us for the repairs. After confronting P****** via email he apologized for the error but insisted that the repairs were needed. However, the tenant said everything worked fine, I noted the fan worked fine prior to tenant move in, the work did not meet the new tenant move in timeline being 2 months later, & it was not on any move in/move out/necessary fixes to make ready for tenant checklists. I requested reimbursement; he ignored my request. He owns Seattle Handyman Services the company that did the repair. I believe he did not uphold his fiduciary responsibility to us by paying for the services. He obviously has a conflict of interest in owning both company's. 2) We were billed $175.00 for an RRIO Charge that was supposed to be credited back to us. We were not credited. 3) They charged us for management fees for May & withheld our money to pay bills. We received a collections notice because they did not pay a bill, first time in 5 years. I believe this was intentional. Once notified, they quickly sent our final statement. We want the management fee of $125 credited & for them to cover the fee I was charged to settle the bill. $23.43. They did nothing for the month of May except withhold our money. 4) We were charged $208.24 for Seattle Handyman Services to fix a hole in the laundry room ceiling, the repair was not made. 5) They have failed to return all the invoices/keys etc. for our property by the date promised.

Desired Settlement: We want a refund of $901.07 and all the invoices, property documents, and keys, etc, to the property returned to us. I am making an effort to rectify this issue without filing a law suit. I have all the email correspondence verifying the information in this complaint and will provide it upon request. I would also like the BBB to makes sure that Dave Poletti and Associates are operating ethically and not erroneously charging their homeowners for fees and services not rendered or rendered on accident. I have three incidents where we were charged for services not received/rendered. I do want to say that I did give Dave P****** 3 days to respond to my last request for reimbursement sent on 5/13/2016. But, based on past correspondence with him, I don't expect him to answer. I did cc my attorney on that correspondence but do not want to go down the road unless it is a last resort. Thank you for your assistance in addressing this issue.

Business Response:

When tenant vacated house at the end of last year, we offered to get house ready for new tenant which is typical protocol.

 

Owners *** and *** could not seem to agree on make

Ready repairs so either *** or *** hired their own “contractor” to get house ready.

Owner says house should be finished and ready to rent.

Based on visit to property, house was absolutely not in condition to rent. It looked like

whomever they hired was not a legitimate contractor and simply quit before the job was finished.

Appears it must have been a family friend or ?? possibly based on inspection of work performed.

 

Our company had to finish the job as house was now sitting and owner wanted to get it rented asap.

 

We put together a list of items that had to be completed along with photos documenting and finished

the job. We had to go back and install the bathroom fan at a later date as was not in stock as well as

weather stripping on door which we completed correctly.

Included are the two invoices for this work which had previously been sent to owner.

The work we performed was necessary and done correctly. As such, the invoices will stand.

 

Note - Our crew did make the mistake of thinking they had permission to enter the house to finish the final repairs because they had a very similar work order for another property with similar address and got the two tenants mixed up. We apologized to the tenant for this honest mistake.

 

The city of Seattle RRIO inspection payment was reversed when the city sent back the check we had given based on the zip code of this house. They explained only certain locations within this zipcode were required to be registered as RRIO. As ******** can see from the owner statement, the transaction was eliminated once the check to the city was voided, thus no charge for the RRIO registration.

 

I feel bad that *** is not happy with our services but we did everything according to policy, went above and beyond the call of duty to help fix a bad situation and feel we did a very good job getting their house ready and rented to a very good tenant.

 

Upon review of the account, I do see that our system charged a management fee of $125.00 in May which should have been reversed. I will be happy to reverse this charge this month and send this as the final transaction to correct for this mistake.

 

The laundry room repair was to open and expose leak from above, inspect

Opening, determine problem and dispatch Plumbing company / discuss with tech issue at hand. It did not include a subsequent repair of laundry room wall.

 

Whatever miscommunications between *** and *** is what caused these issues and this is simply something that was out of our control. Obviously *** stopped communicating with us on January 5th completely and *** had to take over without further dialog or input from ***.

 

Please review our email correspondence with both *** and *** and you will agree we were in constant communications about this property and answered all questions in a timely manner as we always do.

 

I had in-fact promised *** that we would get her final accounting by May 6th. Unfortunately, I have spent most of my time in the hospital since May 4th caring for my mother who finally passed away on Wednesday the 12th so I was not able to get the final accounting completed until the 13th.

Under our management contract, we are not obligated nor required to disburse final funds for 60 days

After close down of property but I wanted to expedite this process for ***.

 

In conclusion, I feel this complaint is absolutely unwarranted and stand by our performance under the very difficult circumstance and mis-communication between *** and *** ***.

 

Thank you,

 

Dave P******


Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1.  When the tenant vacated the house last year, P****** did offer to get the house ready.  However, we were told that they wouldn't be able to get the house ready because their maintenance guys were 3-4 weeks out, and Dave advised us to do it, please see attachment 'repair timeline' page 1. Three to four weeks out, put us around Christmas time for scheduling and we wanted it rented before then.  Because of this, we felt we had no choice but to do the work ourselves.  Unfortunately, the people we hired, also lost their mother, which put us extremely behind on getting the repairs completed.  My condolences to Dave.   

Please note that we did not receive notice of our tenants vacating because P****** had our email addresses incorrect .  This is noted on attachment 'Repair Timeline' page 2.   I also noted in this correspondence that the hole in the laundry room ceiling was supposed to have been fixed. 

I ended up going to the property and finishing most of the items on P******** follow up list in January. I did leave a small list for P******** people to finish.  

Based on the initial list for make ready repairs - see attachment "Repairs" page 22, we sent in our people to do the repairs.  Then on December 23rd 2015 P****** informed me of additional issues that needed fixed.  See attachment "Repairs" page 2 and 3 .  On January 11th 2016, I sent P****** a list of needed repairs that they missed on their December 23rd list to me - attachment "repairs" page 19.  In fact, I fixed more issues that were on their list.  (Again, I fixed the repairs because I was informed that they could not do it in a timely manner see attachment "Repairs" page 14.)  I was shocked to have received my owners statement showing $891.60 for those 5 repairs as they weren't that big of a deal I just ran out of time.  I'm glad that I now have the invoice (attached to BBB complaint response) to see what was really done.  More stuff not on my list.  Additionally I replaced detectors and have a receipt so I'm not sure why we were charged for that. 

You will note that a new bathroom fan and weather stripping were not noted on any of the attached documents to include our new tenant's inspection check list.  See attachment "Repairs" page 24.

There is no documentation indicating a new bath fan or weather stripping was needed at our rental property.  The current tenant has authorized me to give BBB his contact information to confirm that the fan worked properly and a work order had not been requested.  I personally completed the final work on the property and used both fans in both bathrooms and they both worked properly.  This repair was not needed and it was charged to us because we would never know the work was not needed.  It was purely coincidental that we decided to fire them and found out that the property had work done that wasn't requested.  We are owed $369.30 for unnecessary repairs.

Because of the incident above, I think it's very relevant that the business practices of this company and that of Seattle Handyman Services be thoroughly investigated for all property owners.  P****** does not provide the invoices for any work completed with the monthly owner statement.  You are not provided tenant contact information to follow-up on their needs and their feelings about the property manager.  In fact, you receive a statement with the charges, you call to clarify charges, they read off what they did, you ask for the statement, and you never receive one.  This needs to change.  In the case above, the work simply wasn't needed and P****** is trying to cover up the mistake because it's a serious one.  I asked for documentation showing the work was needed, not to my surprise, none surfaced.  If he had provided it, I would have dropped this and never would have filed a complaint.      

2.  In reference to the RRIO inspection fee, had they provided the attachment they provided the BBB, we would not have reported this issue.  Our documents showed the money left but never came back.  I'm satisfied with this outcome.

3.  Thank you for agreeing to credit us the $125.00 management fee.   I will go ahead and waive the fees I'm requesting for the bill they failed to pay following notice of termination which resulted in a collections notice being issued to us.  However, if my husband's credit is tarnished by this, we intend to seek damages as this was an intentional act.  In 5 years, a bill wasn't missed.  I find it damning that a bill goes to collections following notice of termination.

4.  The laundry room repair was not to 'open and expose the leak from above'.    See attachment "Correspondence laundry room ceiling".  The plumbing repair was 6/2/2015.  The maintenance repair was 7/13/2015.  I informed him on May 18th to send in a plumber and to fix the hole.  Rightfully, we should be credited the $208.24 we were charged for the hole to be fixed.  Further, the tenant complained that the hole was there the entire time they lived there.

5.  In response to the communications portion of Dave's response, there weren't any communication issues between my husband and I.  The issue was that Dave was not responding in a timely manner and my husband sent him a string of unanswered emails that ended with Dave informing me that he would no longer deal with ***.  See Attachment "communication rebuttal".   Dave picks and chooses the emails he wants to respond to.  In fact, I notified him on April 1st and 2nd that we were terminating his services.  He did not respond to me. Then on the 7th I sent a more direct email and he FINALLY responded.   They did not answer emails in a timely manner.  See all the correspondence between both parties instead of their extracted version.

6.  Again, my condolences for your loss Dave.  However, we still want all of our invoices and other documents for the house.  I highly doubt you physically put these packets together as you have a fairly large staff.  Please send all of our documents, invoices, and keys.

In conclusion, I believe there is more than enough evidence showing that there are some unethical situations going on within this company.  One, charging us for unnecessary work.  That was a service call that should not have been paid, you don't make a mistake and pass it on to the unknowing.  Second, we were charged for a hole to be closed up that was never fixed.  Lastly, this complaint is warranted.  When you are charged for services not needed and not rendered, there's a problem.  I tried to settle this and all of my emails went unanswered.  Dave does not respond in a timely manner, if at all.  If you call, you goes to voicemail and he will "claim" to have called back and say that he was not able to leave a voicemail.  However, our phones will have no record of anyone calling and further no one else seems to have a problem leaving messages, only him, hmmm.  Further, the only miscommunication was between P****** and us.  They failed to notify us of our tenants leaving due to failing to have the correct email address.  Even in the final correspondence, they still didn't have ***'s email address correct.   In addition to the $125 management fee being credited to us, I expect to see an additional $577.54 for the two disputed "repairs" above and all our documents, invoices, keys etc to be mailed to us. 

 



Sincerely,

******** ***

Business Response:

********, please let me know if you receive this

message.

 

These docs were sent last month along with the key to the house.

 

The key was taped between two thin pieces of cardboard

and mailed in a standard envelope to the following address:

 

**** ** ******** **
Portland, OR 97229

 

This is the most recent address we have on file.

 

We never received this mail back so assumed you received it.

 

Please confirm.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

That is the correct mailing address.  However, to date we have not received anything from your office.  We've never had any issues with our mail, not even cash coming for birthdays.  This leads me to believe that you didn't send it.  I'm sure all your invoices are digital.  An email of our invoices would be sufficient.  As far as keys, I'm sure there was more than one key, in addition to the mail key, since your handyman was able to let themselves into the wrong address.    

 

Lastly, yet again, you have failed to respond to the rest of the issues in my last response to you.  Not responding to them is not going to make me forget about them.  

 

You failed to uphold your fiduciary responsibility to us by paying a bill for services that were not necessary where the repairman, admittedly, went to the wrong address.  I expect a full credit for this.  Furthermore, your response to the charge regarding the hole in the ceiling, again proof in my emails attached to last correspondence.   You owe me a credit for both instances.  

 

Sincerely,

******** ***

 

4/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I followed all move-out procedures after I vacated the property I was renting and the property management company took my entire deposit and charged me $329 additional. I was charged twice for the carpet and charged for painting, which I was told not to do and did not.

Desired Settlement: I want my deposit back and want my balance remaining eliminated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/27) */ We will be sending our response via email today to ******** Please let me know if you have any questions after reviewing the evidence. thank you, **** ******* owner Final Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/31) */ To Whom it May Concern: Please find our evidence to refute this complaint against our company. In particular, the photo evidence should explain why ******* **** owes the landlord a balance due for damages she made to the apartment she recently moved out of. I'm sure you will agree we acted in a professional manner to resolve the teants security deposit dispute based on the evidence submitted. I am including her yelp review of our company including absolute lies. She claims she had a $1,775.00 deposit when infact, she only had a $1,1750.00 deposit. I am also including her Yelp review of her previous landlord in California. This should show you a pattern. When she does not get her way she uses bullying tactics to damage the reputation of whomever she is batteling. ** ***** has over a dozen similar Yelp review of other companies aswell. Based on the evidence provided, I am hopeful you will continue to rate my company as A+. Please contact our office is a further explaination is required. Thank you, **** ******-President ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to refund security/pet deposit within 14 days according to WA state law.

Desired Settlement: Seeking the refund of the security/pet deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 5, 2013/10/22) */ Hello ******, thank you for your patience as I was out of town last week at a convention when you contacted our office with regard to your security deposit settlement. I wanted to explain and clarify that although in most cases we perform the security deposit disposition for our residents upon move-out, we were not able to do so in your case. The property owner cancelled our management agreement effective September 30, 2013 because as you know she wanted to expedite getting the condo on the sales market. Once we receive notice from an owner to close down services we have to honor this request by law. Effective October 1, 2013 the property owner was effectively the new property manager for your condo and took possession of the security deposit for the purpose of performing the settlement with you directly. As a courtesy, we explained to the owner that she must do so in writing within the required 14 day period. Because the owner lives out of town, I believe she was going to have her local real estate broker do this on her behalf but I cannot confirm this. Because your security deposit was held in trust, by state law we are required to send this deposit to the owner directly for the final settlement to you. Unfortunately, we have no control over what the owner does with the security deposit once we close down the property. I would suggest you contact the property owner directly to discuss your disputed security deposit settlement and resolve this directly. I wish you the best of luck in your future. thank you, **** ******* - President **** ******* & Associates - CRMC(r) (Certified Residential Management Company) **** ******** *** ** ***** Seattle, WA 98109 XXX-XXX-XXXX ****@davepoletti.com Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)