BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers real estate and property management services, plus sales and rent to own.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that B C I Properties LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for B C I Properties LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

18 Customer Reviews on B C I Properties LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 12
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 18

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 12, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1996 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 01/05/2004 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing Real Estate
2000 4th Ave W, Olympia WA 98502
http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/realestate
Phone Number: (360) 664-6488
realestate@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Donald Leske II, Member/Manager Mrs. Emily Leske, Member/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald Leske II, Member/Manager
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Rental Vacancy Listing Service Real Estate Real Estate Agents Real Estate - Rent to Own Real Estate Brokers

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
S: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Su: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Alternate Business Names
BCI Properties BCI-Properties.com BCIrent.com
Products & Services

Property Management - Residential
Property Management - Commercial
Tenant Screening
Evictions
Property Maintenance


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

B C I Properties LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9702 South Tacoma Way Suite 106

    Lakewood, WA 98499

  • PO Box 44340

    Tacoma, WA 98448 (253) 531-1010

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a service member who allowed BCI to represent my home because of recent moves by the army. In the course of two years the only issues I have had with this company is communication and wrong inaccurate billing. Although communication is a huge form of knowing what is going on at all times especially with a person’s property, this company simply does not like to communicate with people especially the ones who pay them every month. Recently, I had to submit a thirty-day notice to one of the tenant’s to be out of my home by 30 April 2016 due to a decision to sell my home. Of course the noticed was served by one of the property managers and the processed began. Well, needless to say, the company did not do what was needed to ensure I would have my home back in the order and fashion it was received. No only was the home not in re-rentable or selling condition due to cleaning issues, there was mixed communication as to why the tenant could not move out on time and excuses that came along with the move out. Needless to say, I lost the opportunity to put my home on the market at myself and the realtors expense and a contract day of schedule, which was eventually in the beginning of March of 2016. The company did make the tenant clear out all expenses owed and left the owners to pay. For example, the tenant owed on the sewage bill, which is $80.00, they never collected, and $200 reserve money of which they never returned back to me. There was a total of $30.00 of the $200, which they were not, supposed touch nor was there any monies needed to satisfy any unpaid services. They owe me the $170.00; instead they deducted the $170.00 as if I owed them. They also will not pay, and the $80.00 for the sewage, which they failed to collect from the tenant upon move-out. I have bills and statements that prove this money is owed to me, but again; they will not talk to me. They will not contact me in order to resolve or go over or explain the statement after my wife and continuously sent out numerous emails, unanswered phone calls and messages not returned. They do not follow their own contracts and treat the owners like crap! All I am asking for is my $200.00 dollars and at least half the sewage bill. Thanks

Desired Settlement: I wish that BBB can speak with them in order to get the money owed to me. I also wish that BB hear both sides and apply input as to the necessary actions in order to rectify the issue at hand.

Business Response:

Bookkeeping is always hard for me to understand, especially when some software program is used that is hard to understand. First of all, the owner received a $170 refund on 4/13/2016 due to a NSF rent check. So that was later charged back to the owner when the check was made good, so in the end that fee came out of the final owner settlement. The $200 can be used for final settlement purposes and if not, you would have had to pay the final fee somehow anyway.

As for the sewer bill, we had not received the bill yet when we did the Tenant Settlement of Deposit, however we did make a mistake by not charging the tenant upon exit for that. We will refund $50 for that sewer bill, even though it is too late to bill the tenant, we will pay it. I have reviewed the owner account and all is in good order otherwise. Our books are available if owners wish a copy of the ledger. Emily will send owners the $50 from our own account since we were unable to get that from the tenant. 

As for when the tenant moved out, with any delay associated with that, we cannot lay our hands on a person to physically force then out if they do not comply. They paid good rent for a long time and in the end wanted a couple more days for cleaning which we did not agree with but all we could have done is file for eviction, but that takes 10 days for the "Unlawful Detainer" and would cost the owners more to fund that. We did a good job for those years you were gone, you can come in and review our books as they are correct of course. I hope this explanation helps.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 I will take the $50.00 for the sewage.  Thank you!  However, the company still owes me $170.00 and here is why:

 

So the company states that the 170.00 that was deducted was for management fees collected from April’s rent due to a NSF check.  According to the April 13 2016 statement sent out, it shows the company collected rent for April which they were entitled to management fees which were the agreed upon 10%. The rent was $1700 in which they took out $170 for management fees and $43.18 for utilities, which left us a deposit of 1,486.82 to our account. So they were not entitled to charge us another $170 for the month of May. The tenant moved out the 4th of May, which we were paid the four days past her 30-day noticed in April.  The company collected $219.36 from the tenant and took 10% of that which left us a deposit of $197.42 (this is correct). So they still owe us $170, which is what they took from our reserve fund of $200.00 to satisfy the management fees for the month of April they collected already and gave us $30 of the $200.00.  Again, this is my reserve money!  Bottom line up front, they deducted management fees twice from us when they should not.  According to their income statement of April 2016 it clearly shows the company collected $170.00 for the month of April!  I would have received the entire $1700.00 for the month of April if their calculations are correct, but they are not!  I received another statement in May to close out my account stating I had $200 in reserve, which $170.00 management fees were deducted and I received a deposit of $30.00 
Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response: We paid the party by ACH automatic to their bank account. 

If you do not see it, please call Emily in Accounting: ***** ******** and she will trace or give proof of payment. 

Thank you.

Donald J. L**** ***

Managing Broker  
BCI PROPERTIES, LLC
**** ***** ****** **** ******** ** *****
******* ***** ******** * **** ***** ******** * ***** ***** ******** 

4/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented a property from BCI. We always paid our rent on time. I cleaned the property. They took our deposit and wanted more money. It was like they just made up charges. I wrote a letter and responded. They sent bills that did not even match the statement. I wanted to do a walk through. They said they normally don't do a walk through. I think they just don't do a walk through so they can overcharge you. I don't know why they would charge for such a large amount. They also billed us for an illegal pet when had a pet addendum. They also charged us for over $2000 in sewer and liens when the lease says they would charge us 0 for sewer. We always paid our rent on time. They would never fix anything. They would not let my wife store her art in the house. They sent notices that did not even reference the correct part of the contract. They also charged us for normal wear and tear and nails and stuff the previous tenant did to the property like nail. They kept wanting to come in and inspect the property. We would let them in and they would give us notices. My wife also complained about mold. They did nothing. She is a veteran with PTSD. They complained about the art my wife bought so my wife got a pod for $300 a month. They want to charge us for a bunch of other stuff. The house was in better condition when we moved in. I remember when we moved in the grass was a foot tall and it was dirty. They took pictures and said we did not clean the inside of the dishwasher. Also, the tenant before us left stuff in the property. They charged us for all of that. They would not fix anything. We paid our rent and complied with their notices. They are just looking to over charge us. They also used poison on the roof and left a note in our mail box that our dogs could not use the yard. They knew we were moving out. They could have waited. They acted in bad faith. They are also charging us for ordinary wear and tear

Desired Settlement: Would like to get our deposit and money the took in violation of the contract for sewer back.

Business Response:

In response to your letter March 20, 2016, I am somewhat confused as to what
role you play in regards to the rental at ********* ** ** ** ********* * * *****. Are
you representing Ms. **** as her attorney or are you claiming to be a tenant who lived
there, even though your name does not appear on the lease at all? Whether you are
playing the role of her attorney or a tenant, I believe the enclosed paperwork and pictures
will prove, without a doubt, that the owner is entitled to the security deposit. The carpets
were stained, items were left behind, excessive holes oil the wall, broken blinds, and
many more.
In addition, I have enclosed an e-mail from the owner which lists additional
damages during Ms. ****** tenancy. These are things that you were not charged on your
disposition of deposit. If this should end up in small claims court, I am sure that the
owner would want to add additional charges for the damages done.
The invoices from the cleaners are enclosed. You will see what was actually paid
out is more than what you were charged. These are not charges that we just pulled out in
thin air.

In regards to the sewer charges, Line 185 in the residential lease states that the
owner does not provide sewer. Also, Line 195 speaks about what tenants shall pay.
Sewer is listed as one ofthose things the tenant has to pay. Line 14 that you spoke
about relates to monthly charge that we need to collect from you. It is the sewer
company that demands the payment. However, if you do not pay it, the sewer company
holds the owner liable for it.
The threatening phone call from your sister nor your BBB complaint will not help
you, nor Ms. ****, get her deposit back. It only makes matter worse.

BCI Properties, LLC have been in business for many years and are very experienced in cases like
this. We are very knowledgeable in the RCW laws and abide by it to the letter. We are also tenant
advocates and do not side with unreasonable landlords. However, we feel we are reasonably fair in this
regard.
In conclusion, BCI will stay with the decision made.

****Please see attached****

10/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in a BCI managed rental for nearly two years. Aside from the communication being horrible throughout the time, the follow through on complaints was very lacking. The company also claimed a paid rent late and then charged over $200 in fees. After I explained that I did not pay rent late and showed the history of when I paid and when they deposited the check, they removed some of the fess but left me owing $100 for something that did not happen. When I moved out I left the home substantially cleaner than when I moved in. I took over 80 photos before I occupied the unit as well as after I left. I supplied BCI with all photos as moved out as we had agreed. I received a move out statement stating several issues with cleanliness or damage that either did not exist or were pre-existing. They kept $850 of my $1,000 deposit. I have written the company and they said they would review the file and get back to me. That was over a week ago. The claims they made in the move out inspection are fraudulent and they have kept my deposit without valid reason and once again are not communicating.

Desired Settlement: I want my deposit refunded to the extent that it should be. There was a $150 carpet cleaning fee to be held out. There is carpet in only two bedroom in the home. $150 is more than sufficient. All of the other claims made against my deposit are false. I have photos proving the move in and move out conditions and that I left the home substantially better than when I moved in. I also took on the expense of correcting the issues that should have been resolved prior to me moving in but I am not asking for those items.

Business Response: After checking our files and past tenant history, I have sided with ******* and agreed to pay her the $850. The check will be mailed this week, please just ask to verify her mailing address.

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  My mailing address is as follows:

 

******* *****

***** ***** ** *

********, ** *****

Sincerely,

******* ***** 

7/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are being grossly overcharged for moving out of their rental home. When we moved into the home last may the house was not clean, furnace didn't work. The walls had holes in them.ect. The stove/oven was not just old but beyond filthy. The carpet was in poor shape as well I took it upon myself to clean the house, patch the holes, paint the walls. purchase new curtains and a new , stove. It was a lot of work painting all the rooms. When we moved in the sink in the kitchen took over an hour to drain. After a month of moving in they sent a Plummer to fix the drain. If I had known that while they fixed the drain, they cracked a pipe I would of made a larger fuss. In winter, I noticed water coming into the basement from the outside, I immediately called BCI I sent an email video of incident to both our property agent and the ops mgr Late October and early November a storm blew off roof tiles. They sent a repair man to replace shingles. Water got through to the ceiling in the living room and left a hideous watermark, was told they would fix but didn't I have several other stories like thisBut once we moved out, I received a letter saying that we owe them 350 for dirty appliances 200 for carpet cleaning, 159 in labor costs to install light bulbs, outlet covers ( there weren't light bulbs when we moved)And 750 in paint costs. Plus April rent, Luckily we were Credited with our deposit, These costs are insane, and we put much more money into the house than that,

Desired Settlement: After all that we did to the house I feel like we should be left to the house the amount thst we owe should not be what they want me to pay.

Business Response:

Our Licensed Property Manager ***** inspected the home right after move out, the report is available. However, the owner of this property has terminated our management contract after being so upset about the condition of her home. This means we are no longer in a position to collect on this file nor go after the tenants.

We are putting this file in the dead file-locker and consider the file closed. Please note that the tenant did not pay April rent and their deposit was not enough to cover it, so do not be surprised if the owner does not address these issues on her own. See attachment. We are done. 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ********

Consumer Response:

After our first complaint #******** they sent a bill to collections. after telling me that they were closing our file. and that all our issues were resolved why are they doing this?

I want this collections bill to disappear.

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

I currently live in University Place, WA and was interested in renting my home for the upcoming US Open 2015 golf tournament. I performed a google search and came across a site by BCI Properties that listed homes for rent during this event ( http://www.us-open.rentals/ ). I contacted the firm and spoke with Naomi B*** ( http://bci-properties.com/staff/index.html ), a property manager with the firm on Friday April 10, 2015 and made arrangements for her to perform a site visit of my home. She called on Saturday to cancel and made arrangments to meet the following day. She came by our house on April 11, 2015 (Sunday) to view the house. We gave her a tour and described ways in which our property would be an ideal location for a visitor to the US Open. These include being within 1.5 miles of the greens, a large house that could accomodate up to 10 people, located right across the street from ******* ****** ******* (staging areas for shuttles directly to the event), and many more amenities that would make it attractive to a potential renter. I did sign an agreement with BCI properties which included a non-refundable $500 fee. Ms.B*** asked if I could take some photos and send them to the company webmaster, which I did. I was told that the listing would be up that evening or the next morning. The following day, I checked the BCI Properties webpage and linked to the US Open subsite (******************) and found that my house was still unlisted. I chose wait an additional day and checked again and still saw that it wasn't listed. I texted Ms.B*** to ask why it wasn't up yet, and she said it would be up soon. She did ask for me to resend the photos of our house that I took and I complied. I checked the following day April 15, 2015 and the house still wasn't listed. At that point, I elected to put a stop payment on the $500 upfront fee and notified Ms.B*** that I would be doing so (see attached email). She immediately called and said that the website I was looking at was not the correct one. In fact, apparently the new site (******************) was an additional website marketing houses for the US Open was one I was not aware of and was not directly linked on their website. I entered the URL for the new site and did find my home listed.Reviewing the listing, I was disappointed to find that none of the information that would make my home attractive to potential renters was included. I discussed all of the details of the house and location with Ms.B***, but none of this information was included in the listing. In fact, the entire listing was copy and paste from the real estate site ******.com

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Desired Settlement: Would like the owner to desist from his attempts to charge me fees for services not rendered.

Business Response: WE ACTUALLY MARKETED THE HOME AT www.************** and it is there still.
WE ONLY ASKED THAT THE OWNER TELL US OF ANY CHANGES, UPDATES OR TYPOS. 

We do not wish to continue wasting our time, so we will refrain from collecting on his bad check and drop all charges. 
He has to live with his conscience and we will suffer the loss. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ******

3/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misleading business practices Falsification of tenant contracts Misinformation regarding our property, tenants and/or lease agreements Mismanagement of contracted services Gross overpayment for services rendered without our knowledge of cost for alleged services. They took advantage of the fact that we live out of state they took that as a green light to get the most overpriced services possible. Extortion: bullying legal action to a deployed Active Duty military service member, while still in negotiation regarding overpriced services. BCI indicated to us that our home was rented for a two year lease with the terms being simply that the rent would increase by $25 per year each consecutive year, totaling $50, taking us all the way to 2016. The next thing we heard was that BCI had put the tenants on an unannounced month to month lease and that the tenants would be moving out at the end of September, 2014. Not one person from BCI let us know that this was the situation, nor did they inform us that we would be required to pay any monies as the $1,000 deposit would cover any cleaning and/or repairs that may be necessary. We purchased a new garbage disposal and agreed to carpet cleaning as that is required due to potential tenants and allergies, etc. At that point, we were informed by BCI that not only would the security deposit be depleted for the work that they were indicating needed to be done, but that we would be required to pay upwards of $1,000 for the remaining balance. Let me be clear...this was BCI's problem to begin with. BCI was the one that told us we had a two year lease, BCI did not inform us of this arbitrary month to month lease, and now BCI has gone ahead with work that was not approved by us. There were several telephone conversations back and forth. BCI was not able to get the house rented in a matter of 3 months time even after we lowered the rental amount by over $100 from it's original asking price. Meanwhile we were paying the mortgage on a house that was supposedly rented until 2016! There has been massive flux in the amounts we have been told that we owe, causing purposeful confusion. The last we were told was that the $1,000 deposit was going to be depleted and that there was a remaining agreed upon balance of $329.97. We paid that on 11/21/14 via debit card. So, we sat, thinking that our account was balanced, still angry that BCI put us in this situation to begin with but we stuck it out with hopes that BCI would be able to rent our home. Then...on Christmas Eve we get an email from BCI indicating that BCI authorized $852.88 worth of work and is now invoicing us for this unauthorized cost. I'm sorry but we were all done when we paid the $329.97 which was indicated to us was our remaining balance bringing it to $0. Now...BCI not only has threatened legal action, but now the amount has gone from $852.88 to $868.09 and they have puffed up their big bad muscles and threatened legal action by Jan 31, 2015 indicating Larceny After Trust and threatened to get my husband's command involved and *** involved when there are still so many questions left unanswered. They don't care about the military, they don't care about their homeowners. All they care about is getting their money by any means necessary. We have every intention on paying them what would be prudent and "normal" costs for these types of service rendered, if they were rendered at all. Also, they had the rooms painted colors that are hideous by anyone's definition as a purposeful way to impede the rental process, and they delayed giving the correct keys to the new locks which we paid for, to the new property management company as a childish way to impede the rental process as well. They claimed that they had a tenant ready to move in "the day after we terminated them" and our business relationship, however there was never indication to us that there was any potential for a tenant, nor have they provided us the contact information for this miraculous and timely tenant discovery. I have asked on several occasions to have documentation of approval for attached invoices and where it was indicated that this work was approved for these amounts. They have generated an email from my husband indicating that we didn't want the work to be impeded, however, I have yet to see anything that approves the work for the amounts by which BCI is attempting to collect. We have received vague handwritten invoices that do not clearly indicate what services were rendered. Thereby leaving us to question the imprudence of the amount. Also we have others go into the home in question only to indicate that the house is in need of further cleaning and painting, which is precisely what BCI is attempting to collect payment for. Again, leaving us to question if the work was even done at all. They claim it was done by the "best in the business" but if that were the case then I wouldn't have several people telling me that it looks like it wasn't cleaned at all, only vacuumed. I don't think that vacuuming should cost over $800. Nevermind the $329 we have already paid them, plus the $200 "repair" fee, plus a new garbage disposal, the list goes on. They'll get their money, because they know that my husband's service, clearances and status are much more important to us then them. I'm sure they don't care what kind of bridges they burn. I am a small business owner and I would never dream of treating a guest, client, customer like this in any form or fashion. I would lose business just as they have lost ours.

Desired Settlement: I would like to come to a prudent dollar amount that matches said services. We have a quote from our current property management company for the same services that if they were to do it are nearly half of what BCI is attempting to collect from us, however, I do understand that BCI did pay it up front for us and probably should have done their own due diligence in obtaining fairly priced services, but because they did not do that and took advantage of the fact that we are out of state, they overpaid and are now attempting to collect the difference from us. We will be glad to settle with BCI for the prudent amount which has been quoted to us of $305 for cleaning and $220 for painting as it appears it needs to be done...again. Equaling the amount of $525. These are reasonable and prudent quotes that BCI should have obtained and I will be happy to pay them that amount by their bullied date of January 31, 2015.

Business Response: Sorry but no. We had agreed to such a settlement in the past if she would refrain from any derogatory comments or complaints online or otherwise. She had agreed but sent us a bogus check we cannot cash.

We could easily have written the whole thing off, but now it is a matter of principle for us to prove in a court of law that we have ***e the right thing this whole time. Really, $1,000 to paint a house is cheap.., ask any competent painter.

We cannot trust these folks to meet any agreement. It is obvious we have tried. We have other means to collect and shall pursue these now.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The agreed upon amount was paid in full on 1/29/15. Check number 5566. Check is not "bogus". BCI had every capability, every chance to cash the check. Money is waiting for them in the account...They are CHOOSING to not cash it because they know that they are in the wrong. They shall not send us to collection of any sort as we have paid them in full. It is their choice not to cash the check that was issued to them even though we owed them no money what so ever. We've held up our end of the "bargain" so to speak. They cannot be trusted in any manner and should not be allowed to do business any further so as not to do this to any other consumer.

Business Response: We do not have to accept a check that says "Extortion" on it. So, our agreement to take less than what is owed is now rescinded.

We will continue on to court for the actual full amount plus any Court or Attorney fees. We will have a talk with *** and ***** ******* *** as is our standard policy.

Business Response:

1.       These tenants move in on Jan. 17th 2011 and moved out Sept. 30th 2014, over three (3) years. They did not want to renew their lease because they needed a larger home, so rather than lose a good paying tenant late in September when the coming winter/holiday months are the hardest to find a tenant…., we allowed them to stay month to month while we looked for a possible tenant. We do this all the time in helping owners rather than have a vacancy. In our Owner Contract, it states on page one, note highlighted words:

II.  POWER OF ATTORNEY:

 

Owner hereby appoints PM as a Property Manager for the Owner and authorizes said PM/Agent to act for the Owner and in Owner’s name to sign, seal, acknowledge, and deliver leases, agreements and documents as shall be requisite or as said Agent shall deem necessary or proper for the care, management and rental of said real property as provided for in this contract including but not exclusive of the repair, purchase of materials, signing of contracts, transferring liability of utilities for the property into or out of the Owner’s name, signing of MLS Listings plus other common duties of a PM with or without owner contact, review or consideration.  The Owner agrees to indemnify, defend and hold harmless Agent for actions taken in good faith under this Agreement and Power of Attorney.

2.       There was simply additional work found that needed to be done. ***** told our staff to go ahead and do it….but he did not ask the price, just do it if we would pay and let him pay us back later. The work that was done was well documented. THEY BLAME BCI for not finding a tenant for a long time and somehow feel that they should not have to pay…..after he agreed for us to use our money to make the place ready to rent. We did our best to find a tenant, as I have said….the holiday months are the hardest.  

3.       Bottom line is Mr. **** agreed to pay us by monthly payments but then failed to live up to his agreement. Then Mrs. **** said she would be happy with a $525 settlement to save her several hundred dollars, so we agreed to just be ***e with it.

4.       We have been holding off sending this to Collections, thinking that after their fee we would only have about five hundred anyway.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because it's all LIES!!! But does it really matter at this point? I think not.

BCI is a predatory business that does not care about anything else but money and they don't care how they get that money. It's pretty clear that they will go to any extent to extort money from whomever they see fit and tell as many lies as they have, to get what they want even when it is undeserved. There was no "settlement". There was always only us paying them...TWICE! In an effort to take the high road and thwart their ridiculous threats, we paid them not once, but twice. Because the BBB has denied arbitration due to some random "settlement" is a clear indication that even the BBB doesn't care about the consumer. We've paid them...AGAIN to protect our credit and our home and they have accepted the payment. *** and ***** ***** are in the business of stealing money from the very military that they splash on their website. They are not honorable and do not deserve to have any picture that assumes any kind of working relationship with the military in any fashion. It is an insult to our military personnel. They are in the business of taking advantage of deployed military members and their family. They are in the business of taking advantage of home owners who are out of state and they are certainly in the business of lying and providing false documentation to bully consumers. But what do we know? We're just the little guy trying to protect our good name, and good credit. They can laugh all the way to the bank now. They got the money. They can lay their heads down at night knowing full well that they bullied and extorted money from a military member. They can go ahead and tell everyone how they won. They can be proud of themselves that they have successfully extorted money from us and they got the backing of the BBB to do it. They will do it again as they have in the past, and they'll get away with it over and over until someone has the guts to stop them. We tried, but quite frankly if the state of WA BBB is going to allow them to continue to do this then who are we to fight for consumer protection? We asked for itemized invoices...seems reasonable...they never provided them to us. They left the house a mess and ruined two of the rooms in the process. How is it again that we owed them ANYTHING?!?! They took money from us knowing full well that the services were not approved, nor were the costs. We paid them the undeserved money...they refused the payment. We have ALL the TRUE documentation that protects us AND the backing of the COMMAND and still we ended up paying them money which they did not deserve. Take the $525 ***, and be proud of yourself for yet again railroading a consumer. How you sleep at night is beyond me. I couldn't imagine running my business this way. Forcing my customers to pay for something they didn't want nor approved of, turning around and giving them not nearly what was promised but insisting that they pay up, and then using force and threats (the very definition of extortion) to make them pay over and over. If I did that, you bet I would have been run out of business a long time ago. You're right, ***, this isn't your first rodeo as you so pointed out to us. You're a pro at stealing money from people. You must be so proud. You said you could have easily written this off, but you didn't. You purposefully extorted money from us, plain and simple, and you got away with it...again. Just as you have 26 other times according to your pathetically poor reviews. Obviously you're not hurting for business as you so professionally indicated by throwing our current property management company under the bus by yet another false statement about stealing business from them. So if you're so good at what you do, then why do you have such poor reviews? Why do you have to steal money in order to stay in business? It doesn't really matter now does it? It's unfathomable that the BBB would want to represent a predatory business such as BCI as "accredited", doesn't restore much faith or respect in the BBB now does it? Doesn't matter now. WE ARE DONE! You have the extortion money, you have what you wanted. Now you can move on to the next poor soul that is going to get raped by you. Quite frankly, we don't have time for you any longer. You're not worth the time and energy. We have better things to do then give you one more minute of our time. You don't deserve even that. Congratulations. I hope you're happy.




Sincerely,

****** ****

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The reason I wanted to hire a property manager was to make things easier for me. That has not happened; in fact, it has been more work since I now need to verify that what has been requested is getting done. 1. To make a long story short BCI made a mistake on a lease and the tenant threatened to take legal action. I needed to contact my Real Estate lawyer to get legal advice. 2. The gardener they hired did not mow the entire yard at and, after I inquired about it because the grass was still extremely high, he mowed and then threw the clippings on the sidewalk. I ended up retaining my former gardener myself. 3. It took two weeks to replace the dryer which had stopped working.. Among my tenants there are a young couple with a new baby. That they likely had to take laundry out when there should have been a functioning laundry room on the property is unacceptable. 4. I have had to engage with two different property managers, and now the BCI owner, over a three-month period, which takes away from my time because I must repeatedly explain what needs to be done. 5. It took far too long for the new mailboxes to be installed. 6. Property manager #2 said that they would pick up a new patio set for the building. Then I was told by someone else that it was too far for BCI to go to pick it up. I had to redo the order so that it was delivered directly to the property and asked the tenants themselves if they would mind putting together the patio set. 7. When I showed my first property manager, the property, we talked about getting the grounds cleaned up. He had plans to do so, but it never happened even though I told the subsequent manager about it. 8. I asked to have the septic tank pumped and inspected. It was done in May but no one told me it was done. Figuring that this was another dropped request I made arrangements myself to get it done. I find out on June 23rd that it was done in May but I don't know if it was inspected. I have asked for inspection documents but not received them. 9. I was told that a mold inspection was done and no mold was found. I asked for the documentation and never received it. 10. The communication between BCI and me is either not being heard or, worse, is simply being ignored. I must continually verify that requested tasks are being completed, and invariably they have not been. I hope they are able to improve their performance in the future.

Desired Settlement: 1. To make a long story short BCI made a mistake on a lease and the tenant threatened to take legal action. I needed to contact my Real Estate lawyer to get legal advice. Fees I paid my lawyer. 2. The gardener they hired did not mow the entire yard at and, after I inquired about it because the grass was still extremely high, he mowed and then threw the clippings on the sidewalk. I ended up retaining my former gardener myself. $25. for the time it took me to do this. 3. It took two weeks to replace the dryer which had stopped working.. Among my tenants there are a young couple with a new baby. That they likely had to take laundry out when there should have been a functioning laundry room on the property is unacceptable. $50. for each (4)of my tenants who were inconvienced. 4. I have had to engage with two different property managers, and now the BCI owner, over a three-month period, which takes away from my time because I must repeatedly explain what needs to be done. $100.00 for my time. 5. It took far too long for the new mailboxes to be installed. no charge 6. Property manager #2 said that they would pick up a new patio set for the building. Then I was told by someone else that it was too far for BCI to go to pick it up. I had to redo the order so that it was delivered directly to the property and asked the tenants themselves if they would mind putting together the patio set. $50.00 for my time. 7. When I showed my first property manager, the property, we talked about getting the grounds cleaned up. He had plans to do so, but it never happened even though I told the subsequent manager about it. no charge 8. I asked to have the septic tank pumped and inspected at Lake Sawyer. It was done in May but no one told me it was done. Figuring that this was another dropped request I made arrangements myself to get it done. I find out on June 23rd that it was done in May but I don't know if it was inspected. I have asked for inspection documents but not received them. Inspection documents or compensation to hire an inspection. 9. I was told that a mold inspection was done and no mold was found. I asked for the documentation and never received it. Mold documents or money to do a mold inspection. 10. The communication between BCI and me is either not being heard or, worse, is simply being ignored. I must continually verify that requested tasks are being completed, and invariably they have not been. no charge I hope they are able to improve their performance in the future.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/06) */ Here is our reply. 1. *****/owner & complainant stated: "To make a long story short BCI made a mistake on a lease and the tenant threatened to take legal action. I needed to contact my Real Estate lawyer to get legal advice." Answer: Upon signing up for our services, the new owner ***** ** had asked us to renew an expired lease with her tenant on Lake Sawyer. EZ stuff. *****, one of my employees drove out to a tenants house to present the new lease at bequest of the owner, got it signed and returned to me. During this time and before the lease was returned to me, ***** the property owner learned that the dock had partly collapsed..... and since there was a list of other issues from the tenant in the house that needed attention so ***** had decided instead to give a 20-Day Notice to move-out instead and the owner asked us to not sign the lease, as she thought it would be safer for all if the tenant simply moved out. We have notes and emails to support all of this. We took the following actions at request of the owner; Since we had not signed the lease it was not mutually agreed on, thus considered null and void so we trashed it. We then issued a 20-Day Notice to move-out, per owners instructions, to the tenant. Tenant got angry and obtained a lawyer saying she had signed the lease, owner got angry that tenant had obtained an Attorney and terminated our contract. *****/owner wants: "Fees I paid my lawyer." However we fail to see where our actions required her to hire a Lawyer, or why we should pay her lawyer when we have our own and we dealt with the tenant's Attorney already. We recommended that ***** the owner go ahead and sign a lease with this tenant to resolve any hard feelings, so long as the tenant signed a waiver of liability if any harm or damage should occur to her or visitors. 2. Owner/***** states: "The gardener they hired did not mow the entire yard at and, after I inquired about it because the grass was still extremely high, he mowed and then threw the clippings on the sidewalk. I ended up retaining my former gardener myself." and she wants "$25. for the time it took me to do this." Answer: she was not happy with *** ******** our landscaper but was not happy with her past gardener either according to her statements. She stated she would rehire him because he was closer to Seattle. Really. So, we will not pay for her for changing her mind or switching gardeners. 3. Owner states: "It took two weeks to replace the dryer which had stopped working.. Among my tenants there are a young couple with a new baby. That they likely had to take laundry out when there should have been a functioning laundry room on the property is unacceptable." and wants us to again pay "$50. for each (4)of my tenants who were inconvienced." (sic) Answer: These are coin-operated machines. They take time to order special, as soon as it came in it was delivered. We will not pay for doing our job.., even though the owner or anyone else feels that they are inconvenienced. 4. Owner says: "I have had to engage with two different property managers, and now the BCI owner, over a three-month period, which takes away from my time because I must repeatedly explain what needs to be done." and has asked for "$100.00 for my time." Answer: I was her Property Manager and am for all my client/owners. I will often assign various (APM) Assistant Property Managers to owner files, but at times they are re-assigned. This is not unusual nor of any kind of harm and keeps our APMs on their toes and sharp. We keep accurate records and use a "Rent Manager Software" program which educates the APM who may take over an owners file. Nothing had to be explained other than to tell ***** that **** no longer worked for our firm, later we let her know that ****** had to take "family time" off for her childrens needs and to have surgery on her neck and back. I cannot see what time she wasted, so payoff denied. 5. It took far too long for the new mailboxes to be installed. Answer: again, these were special order and it does take time. no charge 6. Property manager #2 said that they would pick up a new patio set for the building. Then I was told by someone else that it was too far for BCI to go to pick it up. I had to redo the order so that it was delivered directly to the property and asked the tenants themselves if they would mind putting together the patio set. Answer: The property manager #2 was ******, who could not pick up *****'s furniture due to her family leave..., I had taken over by then and told ***** that we could get a vendor to deliever the furniture for a fee. Yes it would cost. We are not in the furniture delivery business and in 30 years have NEVER had an owner expect our company to pick-up or deliever furniture, appliances or any other object that would require a truck. I will not pay for time spent to redo the order. $50.00 for my time. 7. When I showed my first property manager, the property, we talked about getting the grounds cleaned up. He had plans to do so, but it never happened even though I told the subsequent manager about it. Answer: The owner used her gardner as she has mentioned, before and after we sent our landscaper. Not sure why this was even mentioned. no charge 8. I asked to have the septic tank pumped and inspected at Lake Sawyer. It was done in May but no one told me it was done. Figuring that this was another dropped request I made arrangements myself to get it done. I find out on June 23rd that it was done in May but I don't know if it was inspected. I have asked for inspection documents but not received them. Inspection documents or compensation to hire an inspection. Answer: *** **** the manager of Drain-Pro did the pumping. That receipt was tendered. A free cursory inspection was done at no charge. If owner wanted a Certified O&M specific inspection done, then she should have stated that and it would have cost more. These are not required, except in cases where an owner is selling their property and that could have been explained if that was the case. - We will not pay for a Certified O&M Inspection, as she did not order that. 9. I was told that a mold inspection was done and no mold was found. I asked for the documentation and never received it. Mold documents or money to do a mold inspection. 10. The communication between BCI and me is either not being heard or, worse, is simply being ignored. I must continually verify that requested tasks are being completed, and invariably they have not been. Answer: This is simple......we have about 20 pages of useless emails for things like "where is my dryer" when it was told to her it is on special order, because it is a Coin Operated and shipping takes time. no charge I hope they are able to improve their performance in the future. Answer: We will try hard.., as always. Sorry for any hard feelings or mis-understanding. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/08/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you for the opportunity to respond. A former co-worker told me that he just started using BCI, a property management company. I went to the Better Business Bureau web site and saw that they had an A+ rating. So, I met with **** from BCI, and with another property management company. The other company was cheaper, but I was impressed with ****'s attitude. However after **** left the company things started to fall apart. I re-visited the BBB website and realized that there was a complaint section. This was not something I thought I needed to look at before, since BCI had an A+ rating. I was surprised to see all the complaints. One or two I can understand; but anything over five complaints in my opinion shows a pattern of questionable customer service. Recently, I checked and there were 11. I don't believe that a company with 11 complaints should have an A+ rating. Do I think they can achieve an A+ rating? With hard work (training and finding out why they seem to have a high employee turnover), yes. Would I like to see that happen? Yes. They are not bad people, just people who need training and need to work on their processes and find out what takes so long. In the meantime, I think their BBB rating should be lowered. Here is my response to BCI's response: 1. BCI does not think I needed to contact my Real Estate lawyer. I disagree. When the tenant threatened to take legal action, I realized that we had stepped into a different problem. It was no longer strictly a problem with customer service, it was now a possible legal problem. The fact that they suggested eviction showed bad judgement (since the tenant thought she had a lease) or lack of the basic laws of property management. At that point, I could no longer rely on their knowledge or judgement. This is where this company is a real threat to its customers. The rest of my complaints concern poor customer service. BCI thinks that this is why I terminated their contract when, actually, all the customer service problems before the lease problem were sufficient reasons for termination. 2. Since they are a property management company they should have a landscaper who shows up. The grass was very tall and I contacted them several times. After I became impatient with the lack of progress, I called the owner and left him a voice mail about the grass, and, also the dryer. He replied via voicemail (I may still have it) and apologized. When their landscaper went out, he did one section and not another which was easily visible from the road. After several calls, they finally completed, but the landscaper threw the clipping on the sidewalk. Since they are a property management company I expected them to be able to handle something basic like having someone mow the lawn before it gets really high. Thank goodness I live nearby and was able to see it. 3. My family has owned rental property since 1969 and has had experience buying coin-operated machines before. It has never taken us that long. I contacted an appliance company in West Seattle and they said a day or two, which includes a change in the amount charged in the coin machine. Since BCI is a property management company with an A+ rating, they should have easily been able to get it within three days and should have a list of excellent providers they rely on. I suggest that BCI does a process flow and see why it takes so long. If it is the supplier, I suggest they find a new supplier. No property should go without a dryer for two weeks. 4. I dealt with two different property assistants and the owner. I suggest they keep better records, because I did have to repeat myself often and did not have any contact with the owner until I contacted him directly. For me, the assistants had been the face of the company. Their record keeping has not worked as you can see by the items in this response. I suggest each assistant have a back up. Any change of assistants should appear seamless for the customer. 5. Mailboxes - once again they need to do a process flow and find out why they are so slow. Did it take them a week to order them? Is their supplier slow? If so, they should get a new supplier. I would guess that they have ordered mailboxes before. Once again if I was told it would have taken that long I would have ordered them myself and hired someone to put them in. Of course, that brings to mind the question, if I need to do that myself maybe they are not the best company with which to do business. I think the ball was dropped on this one. Assistant number two and I had an appointment to meet at one of the properties. She suggested a specific day because the new mailboxes would be in. They where not in by that day. 6. Patio set- I have been told that BCI has policies and procedures. It seems they are not using them. It seems each person has their own set of rules or they need to educate/ remind the staff what they are. The second assistant said she would get someone to pick up the patio set, deliver it and set it up. Then I received an e-mail from someone else saying Seattle was too far. Seattle wasn't too far when I signed the contract with BCI. Maybe they need to limit their area to Tacoma. Because they could not pick it up I reordered the patio set and had it sent directly to the apartment building and the tenants put it together. After I reordered it, someone from BCI offered to pick it up, or hire someone to pick it up, deliver it and put it together. So, what is the policy? If everyone follows the same policy it would sure make it easier for property owners. 7. Grounds clean up - Just another example of something falling thru the crack. **** was very pro-active. After ****, most of what was accomplished was through reminders. On March 27th, 2014, I received the followining e-mail from ******: "I will be delivering notices to the tenants when I go up there to let them know about the new lease agreements and to see what I need to put on the 10 Day Notices to comply. The 10 Day Notices to comply will deal with all of the "cleanup" that the tenants need to do. I will take photos, etc. and forward them to you so that you are updated throughout this process." The clean-up never happened. 8. Septic tank - BCI says that I did not ask for an inspection and that is why they will not pay for an inspection. I have the e-mail, which was sent on May 14th, 2014, to ******. It says: "Hi ******, I think we should have the septic tank inspected. Can they do that at the same time they pump it or is that a different company?" Her response: Yes. I'm on it. :)". Then in the next e-mail she says "It's similar to an O&M/RSS report on a property for sale. :)". I am happy to forward the e-mail or print it out for you. Let's give BCI the benefit of the doubt here and figure that they had bad communication between assistants. BCI sent me a statement from the web site of the company that did the pumping of the septic tank that says that they always check the tank when they pump it. Great, ask them to send me a statement that they checked it and they did not find anything wrong. That is all I needed. 9. I was recently sent the mold information. Thank you 10. Communication - suggestion - when a customer asks a question, answer them. Then they don't have to ask over and over. That will greatly cut down on the amount of e-mail and phone calls you get. You may want to tally your phone calls and e-mail for a week and see how many are repeat requests. When something is going to take a long time, let the customer know the estimated time the project will be done. When possible, tell the customer their options. Property owners have tenants who we want to keep happy by taking good care of them. At no time did I hear a concern about the fact that tenants would be without a dryer for two weeks. My mom who handled the family properties said that when she ordered a new dryer she would get it the same day. Two weeks is excessive and I'm sure BCI knows it. Summary: I felt I have been quite fair considering the time it has taken me to handle each one of these items. On several of them, I have said "no charge" even though I have spent time trying to obtain information, to get BCI to take action, or to handle it myself. If I were BCI, I would carefully consider all complaints. Maybe they are doing a good job in Tacoma, but don't have the knowledge of excellent providers outside of Tacoma. This company should not have an A+ rating. It is not fair to the clients who use it, plain and simple. They should take responsibility for their mistakes and pay the suggested fees. That is just good business. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 23, 2014/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In my last response additional e-mail evidence was included. Rehashing is done when the customer is not satisfied. It is always cheaper to do the job correctly the first time. When a mistake is made, admit your mistake, learn from it and ask the customer how you can make it up to them. From the look of BCIs complaints it looks like they are not doing this. That is why it takes many contacts to solve a problem. The secret of the BBB review is to look at the grade AND complaints. No company with 11 complains should have an A+. Final Business Response /* (4000, 32, 2014/11/03) */ Yes, I am concerned about the A+ rating because others people use the web site and I want them to get a realistic review and not have to go thru the complaint process. ANSWER: We understand that your feelings are hurt and that is certainly not our goal in business, of course and so I do apologize for hurt feelings. What you fail to take into consideration is that you dis-regard the 26 happy owners who posted their great comments at: www.bcirent.com/testimonies-owners, with their names that includes a Bank in California. It is not fair on your part to try to harm my company as a whole when 26 out of 27 owners are happy. The other issues unresolved issues are: 1. BCI does not think I needed to contact my Real Estate lawyer....etc. and you want me to pay a fee? ANSWER: I disagree because you agreed in our contact to: "...indemnify, defend and hold harmless BCI Properties, LLC employees and the assigned Agent for actions taken in good faith under this Agreement and Power of Attorney." Plus, we have an Attorney for such matters when needed. I think you jumped the gun on that. 2. You said: "Since they are a property management company they should have a landscaper who shows up...." But then you said: "When their landscaper went out...". ANSWER: So he DID show up, but not when you wanted him to show up. You said: "...the landscaper threw the clipping on the sidewalk." ANSWER: I do not believe that this was a blatant act of vandalism as you make it seem. Maybe he did not sweep the walk...okay, but most certainly he did NOT make a concerted effort to through the grass on the sidewalk as you infer. 3. My family has owned rental property since 1969 and has had experience buying coin-operated machines before. It has never taken us that long. I contacted an appliance company in West Seattle and they said a day or two, which includes a change in the amount charged in the coin machine. Since BCI is a property management company with an A+ rating, they should have easily been able to get it within three days and should have a list of excellent providers they rely on. I suggest that BCI does a process flow and see why it takes so long. If it is the supplier, I suggest they find a new supplier. No property should go without a dryer for two weeks. ANSWER: These things can happen when ordering special appliances, although it took a week longer than expected. However, you agreed in our services contract to: "...hold harmless BCI Properties, LLC employees and the assigned Agent for actions taken in good faith under this Agreement...". If you check with Consumer Affairs online you will see numerous complaints of appliance issues with delivery time etc. SUCH AS: "Coin operated washer. X-XX-XX Purchased washer from Sears on line. Del'd 7-29 - Leaked immediately - they replaced 2 days later. Machine failed within a couple of weeks - had to wait till 9-4 for service call - circuit board was fried according to repairman & said he will order new one. Waited 10 days only to find he never ordered it. 9-19 - Repairman put in new board but did not recalibrate machine..." Again, it is not always your property managers fault as you make it seem. You can find a TON of complaints about all brands of machines and about **** ***** or ****** or ********** at: www.consumeraffairs.com/homeowners/kenmore_washers.html 4. I dealt with two different property assistants and the owner. I suggest they keep better records, because I did have to repeat myself often and did not have any contact with the owner until I contacted him directly. For me, the assistants had been the face of the company. Their record keeping has not worked as you can see by the items in this response. I suggest each assistant have a back up. Any change of assistants should appear seamless for the customer. ANSWER: I agree. We have "Rent Manager" software that costs us $800 a month. Each month, or $9,600 a year. Not cheap. Each assistant inputs records for the next person to navigate easily. One assistant was ****** who had to take Family Leave to deal with personal issues. We cannot fault her for that, although that could account for some loss of time it was not excessive. 5. Mailboxes - once again they need to do a process flow and find out why they are so slow. Did it take them a week to order them? Is their supplier slow? If so, they should get a new supplier....etc. ANSWER: these things can take time. Also, you agreed to: "...indemnify, defend and hold harmless BCI Properties, LLC employees and the assigned Agent for actions taken in good faith under this Agreement and Power of Attorney." We put the order in and as seen in Consumer Affairs online, there are tons of complaints against suppliers and vendors. We just put the order in. You should work with us and be understanding, not beat us over the head all the time. 6. Patio set- I have been told that BCI has policies and procedures....etc. ANSWER: I was told that you expected us to personally pick up, deliver and assemble this Patio set for free.., at no cost to you for our time. When I heard that ****** had agreed meet you to help you shop for this furniture on the weekend, I stopped her and instructed her to contact you and tell you that she spoke in error. Our Policy requires a vendor to pick up and install any appliance or furniture etc....especially when assembly is required. /// It appeared to me later that this really upset you, please realize that this kind of service is not offered anywhere in our Property Management Contract. 7. Grounds clean up - ....etc. The clean-up never happened. ANSWER: I apologize. I should have watched the time on allowing tenants to do these things. This job was given as a duty to the tenants. If you had waited a bit longer we would have dealt with it all. When all you worry about is your own property....then I can sympathize with you. We have over 500 rentals to watch and 26 out of 27 reports are positive, albeit we take longer than a person with just one (1) rental...or six/6. 8. Septic tank - BCI says that I did not ask for an inspection and that is why they will not pay for an inspection....etc. ANSWER: Clarification ...we did the pumping as directed and on time, not sure why you also ordered it to be done, but the basic inspection was free. O&M inspection would have cost more. Some owners believe in ... "Micro Management". 9. I was recently sent the mold information. Thank you ANSWER: You are welcome. 10. Communication - suggestion - when a customer asks a question, answer them. .... Two weeks is excessive and I'm sure BCI knows it. ANSWER: The total time may have been two weeks, but with a weekend involved and 3-5 days to deliver, don't you think you are over playing the "poor me" card JUST A BIT. So ...we are talking about maybe one week added time to wait. I apologize for the supplier, but please don't be a hater when we did our best. Summary: I felt I have been quite fair considering the time it has taken me to handle each one of these items. On several of them, I have said "no charge" even though I have spent time trying to obtain information, to get BCI to take action, or to handle it myself. ANSWER: You would not have to feel the need to take our money for your phantom personal time fees, if you simply were more understanding and ....patient. Be a fixer and kind, there is no need to be bitter and harsh because it appears you got all you wanted in the end.

7/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I talked to *** from BCI properties, made him aware that i had a felony conviction on my record and he said that as long as i had income and could pay my rent it wouldn't be a problem. So my family and I went and looked at a property they had for rent and we liked it, so we went to their office to fill out the applications for all 4 of us. The application fee is $45 a person. Once again before we paid them the money I made sure that they were fully aware that i had a recent felony conviction 1 year ago and they said it wouldn't be a problem, so we went ahead and paid them the $180 for all 4 of us to apply. 2 days later they informed us that because of my conviction they WOULD NOT RENT TO ME. I believe that this is a scam and a rip off because I made it very clear to them multiple times before I paid the application fees for all 4 of us that i did in fact have a felony on my record that was within the last year.

Desired Settlement: I want the $180 back because they assured me that my criminal history was not going to be a problem, and I feel like I was mislead.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/10) */ BCI will reimburse the applicant the $180.00 due to the fact that Mr. ***** might have said that to the tenant and not clarifying with him that there was a possibility of the application being denied. BCI would like to mail the reimbursement check to BBB to have them send it to the applicant. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Yes as long as they reimburse me and i recieve confirmation within 2 weeks that the check has been sent, or i recieve it within that time that will be an acceptable resolution, otherwise I will reopen the claim. My address is: ****** ***** **** ****** **** *** ***** #XX-XXX Seattle, WA 98118 Ph #XXX-XXX-XXXX

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this company has been the worst company I ever rented from. ive been with this company for almost a year and I had to move from my first rental because lack of communication and failure to have my hallway bathroom fix. so BCI transfer me to another house paying 200 bucks more of rent and now my hallway shower doesn't work, I have report this to BCI several times with in two months. I have had 3 people who has pics of all repairs and nothing was done. I even went two days without a fridge because it went out and ***** told me that BCI was going to give me money to replace all my spoiled food, which I haven't heard anything because ***** no longer works for BCI.its crazy how rent is due by the 3rd or late fees are added but when repairs are due we as tenants have no choice but to wait and deal with it.

Desired Settlement: I AM SEEKING NO SETTLEMENT . ALL I WANT IS FOR MY REPAIRS TO GET FIX !!!!!!!!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/17) */ The tenant reported on 5/2/14 that her refrigerator was not working and on 5/2/14 a new refrigerator was delivered. The issue regarding the other repairs has been assigned to a vendor on 5/29/14 and also to a plumbing vendor. I did call the vendors and they are scheduled to be dealt with this week, they are really busy. The reason she moved from the first home is because BCI could not get the owner to repair the bathroom, so we moved her for her own safety.

6/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented from BCI Properties for a year and a half. I was served with a 20-Day Notice to move due to the owner selling the property. I moved out early and was told by BCI that I would be reimbursed for a weeks worth of rent, because I had moved out earlier and there was an agreement to that effect. Not only have they never repaid my rent, they also never returned my deposit or even send a letter explaining why my deposit had been withheld. It has now been one month and I have not received anything.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like me security deposit and rental refund. If you cannot help with this matter, I would like to file a complaint with regard to their lack of customer service and professional ethical abilities.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/30) */ We have a USPS Certified receipt to prove we mailed the tenants Deposit Settlement statement on time, dated 3-31-14. The tenant file is currently in collections for $3,697.61 that she owes the owner of her rental for damages, which include pet feces and urine, broken blinds, holes in the walls, missing screens, bent towel fixtures in the bathroom and missing light bulbs. Repairs were needed to fix broken pantry door, bathroom countertop with burn marks and replacement of broken refrigerator drawer. Food and garbage left behind plus yard clean up due to animal feces on deck and yard. Microwave had a fire inside, burned and unusable, replacement was required. This important information was not reported to the BCI property manager when it happened as a deliberate attempt to avoid a damage claim. A professional cleaner was required. See documentation. We have photos and full documentation. Her rent was pro-rated for a refund, but it was applied to her damage invoice along with an unpaid water bill from City of Fircrest. If the frivolous small claims is not removed immediately, we will file a counter claim for the $3,697.61 plus legal and Admin fees. We have not lost a case, not one.., in 30 years. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never received any notice on the repairs, or I would have addressed this with BCI. They did not follow the proper procedures and I will me in court on May 28, 2014 to mediate this issue. This is an ongoing issue and I NEVER received any notice from BCI AT ALL. I was sent straight to collections with no course of due process once so ever!! Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/05/29) */ Attached is the documents to confirm our position with ****** ******* complaint. You will see that she was properly sent by Certified USPS her Disposition of Deposit. Thank you, ****** ** ******** & ******** ** ***** Managing Broker / Accounts Manager ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Not only did they counter-sue me for WAY more then the amount listed on their response, but they did not even apply the $1000 deposit or $250 pet deposit to the list. This is not a detailed list or up to RCW standards. Yet, they sent me straight to collections. I have yet to see their proof that they EVER mailed me notice (copy of their confirmation, nor does the US Postal Office have it on file) of deposit monies being held or a listing of each itemized detailed charge.

5/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have always paid my rent early, the one time I pay partial and then need to pay remainder on next pay day, I get a pay or vacate in 3 days. How absurd. No acknowledgement on paying early but penalize when late ONE time. IT would help if they had a comment field on the online site to give them notice of late payment when they got most of the rent.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I don't want to hear their excuses and maybe waiving fee for being good tenants.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/08) */ Please remember.., we DO NOT own this property nor any of the other 580+ properties we manage. The owner has a Mortgage to pay to the Bank. If he has been on time with payments for 20 years, but is late ONE TIME...the bank will charge a late fee and begin Foreclosure. The owner needs their payments on time. We are sorry if tenants feel bad that they have paid on time but get a late fee when late just once. If you have a perfect driving record but happen to speed just once and get caught..., most likely you will get a ticket. Your response would be to tell the BBB that the police should have given you a break? It is not their fault, they just do their job. Your being late is not our fault. Sorry you feel bad, but give me an idea of how we could have handled that better ok? We just do our job, or the property owners will fire us and hire a company that will do the job. Thank you, *** ***** Sr. / ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I understand his reasoning and I am not stupid and don't need to be spoke to as if I am. I was a homeowner at one time. The owner was more understanding than the buisness. To serve a 3 day vacate notice I feel is a bit extreme. I have been in their office and some of the staff are good people and some of them need some buisness manners with they way they talk about their tenants who bring them the business. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/11) */ Owners hire us to do a job that they are often times not able or not willing to do themselves. This is because they will agree with tenants and let them off with slow or no payments, when we will not. We have a set protocol and owners expect us to stick to it. An owner will tell us; "Thank you for being tough and getting my rent paid finally from that nice tenant, I just could not bring myself to be so mean." BUT THEN, when the tenant contacts an owner outside of dealing with us, then of course the owner will again be nice to the nice tenant. Everyone is nice, but in reality...the owners want their money and expect us to deliver. When we do not deliver, we get terminated by owners who move on to another PM company who will be tough and deliver. Tenants who take offence and complain because we are doing our job, should realize that if they were the owner.., they would do the same as this owner and expect us to do our job. In the end, we manage almost 600 rentals. The 3-Day Notices to Pay or Quit are generated by computer, so later or partial payments would not have stopped the notice from going out anyway. This tenant had partially paid and the notice would have been rescinded. It does not mean **** is a bad tenant, it is just an automated process. At least you can see how such notices can be a help in getting our rents paid by errant tenants. **** just got caught up in the automated process by paying late or not in full. Even our best tenants like **** can get a notice. I feel this is enough discussion on this topic.

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Almost since day one I had issues with BCI Properties. I was assigned **** as my 'property manager.' My house was rented out in November of 2012 for $800. I was told the washer/dryer unit did not work so I paid to have that repaired and was told that it did indeed work in December 2012. It was always hard to get a hold of ****. I noticed that I had not been receiving rent so I tried to contact ****. I was told by BCI that **** was no longer there and that ******** would be my new property manager. I never did talk with ********* I was then told that the tenant was not making the rent and that I could pay $500 to start the eviction process. Per my statement the total eviction costs were $1200 (the other $700 was taken out of rent and my deposit). The tenant was finally evicted in (I think) June 2013. During the eviction process I was told that **** was back and again my property manager. He contacted me and said that they had lost the key to my house and asked if I had another one. I then gave my only key to **** to aid in the eviction. I was told that they had to go to court (which I never saw any sort of paperwork showing that they really did go). Upon eviction, I asked over and over again for an estimate to clean the house for the next tenant. I was informed that they just gave the tenant $200 of my deposit money without my approval. I was also informed (after the fact) that I was being charged $246.38 for 'make ready' charges as there was debris that needed to be taken to the dump. This never happened as I never saw a receipt to the dump even though I asked for one and the most current tenant ******** provided me with a photo of a bicycle that was left in the house even though I paid for supposed 'dump fees.' I also paid for 'carpet cleaning' however ****** said that they did not come until after her furniture was inside so they 'spot' cleaned around her furniture. I had also asked for an estimate on this before doing the cleaning but they went ahead without my approval yet again. No one with BCI did a walk through upon eviction of my property. I was told by **** that my house would be listed to rent for $850 to reconcile some of the money that I had lost through the eviction. Upon signing of the lease, I was then told that BCI made a mistake and listed it for $800. ****** moved in on July 5, 2013. After I received my first statement after she moved in I noticed that the rent was only $770. BCI had approved some sort of package for her to pay less rent without my approval. After I brought this to their attention and that I would not eat the $30 per month after all of this they agreed that they would talk to the tenant and tell her the rent was to stay $800. She stated to me that no one with BCI did a walk through upon her move in either. She did the walk through herself but *** ***** (owner of BCI) signed off on it. Upon move in, it was brought to ****' attention by ****** that the washer/dryer was not working. Had a proper inspection been done, then I would have been able to either get repairs made or not advertised a washer/dryer in the unit. I paid for another trip by the repairman to be told that the unit could not be repaired. I received a call at work by *** saying that I should replace the unit because the tenant is 'nice.' I told him that I would not pay to have someone else go out there to tell me the same exact thing that it cannot be repaired however I was not given a timeframe as set forth in the RCW for repairs or replacement. *** advised the tenant to break the lease without my approval. ****** stated to me that he said he would allow her to break the lease if she rented with BCI again but that her experience with them was so bad that she would not do that. Since the repairman did not show up in a timely manner (as scheduled by BCI), ****** terminated her lease. Until I heard her side of the story, I was not willing to giver her the deposit back but after hearing it I decided that it is BCI that should be paying me back for that. I received an email from *** stating that he was going to terminate my contract with BCI. In order to protect myself and my property, I went to the house and left a note for ****** asking her to give me a call. After hearing her side and she hearing mine, we agree that BCI has been a TERRIBLE experience for both owner and tenant. *** was very rude and unprofessional and I have copies of all email correspondence. He tried to threaten and use scare tactics as to keep me from contacting the tenant. In the email I also asked for my complete file (including receipts, photos from walk throughs, eviction paperwork, lease paperwork, etc) to be included in my exit package and only received the walk through that ****** did on her own and her lease.

Desired Settlement: In hiring a property manager, my intent was to be able to step away from managing my home. I feel that I paid for nothing. All fees paid to BCI 9% of $800 per month ($72 x 10 = $720) Deposit from ****** $700 $1200 for eviction costs Make Ready $246.38 Cleaning $200 Carpet Cleaning $125.27 7.31.13 Repair and maintenance of washer/dryer that they said couldn't be repaired $104.03 Annual Fee $25 'Other expenses' from 11.17.12-1.17.13 $65 12.13.12 Repairs $98.55 1.5 month rent (half of Sept and October since unoccupied home) $1200 Difference in rent stated for July, August, and Sept ($850-$800 x 3)= $150 Total: $4834.23

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/17) */ In regards to the issue of the washer/dryer, right after the tenant moved in the house on 7/5/2013, it went bad. On 7/6/2013 it was noted on the tenant's history that a complaint was received and a work order was issued. Ever since then, ***** ****, refuses to get it repaired because it had already been repaired when the former tenant lived there. It did work for about six months. But because it is a used machine and who knows how old it is, machines do go out. The tenant was very upset because it was advertised with a washer and dryer and she expected that the owner should either repair it or replace it with a new one. This was the reason the tenant moved out and we have it documented in tenant's history notes. She has exercised her right as noted in RCW 59.18.070 regarding landlord failing to remedy defective condition. On July 31st, the tenant asked to be released from her lease. BCI had no choice but to agree. It was the tenant's choice of action to move out. In regards to property managers, there is only one property manager on record and that is *** ***** - Managing Broker. The other people she mentioned were assistants. As far as what rent to charge, on the Exclusive Residential Property Management Contract with Real Estate Agency & Power of Attorney contract that ***** **** signed, she wrote on line #597, page 14 that her preferred rent amount is $800.00 and her lowest acceptable rent is $750.00. The tenant was being charged $800.00 which is the rent that she wanted in the first place. As far as eviction, the eviction did not take place because the tenant finally decided to move out. The owner did receive $500.00 back which is the reserve amount she gave us for the eviction. It is all documented and all statements and invoices have already been given to her. As property managers, we have to play the role of a mediator between owner and tenant. If owner refuses to repair, then the tenant has the option to move out as prescribed by the Law. Both owners and tenants were advised of the consequences and what can take place. Yes, the tenant had a terrible experience in her rental, but it was because the owner was not considerate of tenant's rights and feelings. All she asked for was the washer and dryer to be fixed or replaced. Don and the staff of BCI has always treated the owner and the tenant in a business-like manner. As a matter of fact, the tenant thought that it was the owner who was rude. Owner is billing BCI for work done after the tenant moved out. The tenant condition move-in report shows how bad the house was inside. It was the same condition when the tenant moved out. The tenant was only there for two months. Also, the owner e-mailed us giving us instruction to give all of the deposit back to the tenant when they moved out. By doing that, she is therefore taking all of the responsibility in meeting all the costs and she has herself to blame and not BCI In conclusion, we have history notes in the tenant's account, owner's account, e-mails, invoices, lease contracts, and management contracts. Everything is documented as stated above in black in white. ***** ***** BCI Properties, LLC Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There were two tenants and I repeatedly asked for my complete file but did not receive that in the exit package as promised per email. Tenant said that she would file a complaint as well as she has read the email correspondence between myself and *** ***** and said that he was very rude to his 'customers.' I never received anything showing that BCI ever checked out the house upon move out of first tenant or completed reviews of the house as promised per contract (not even to make sure the yard was maintained per contract). If nothing else, please bring down their A+ rating that they hold so high as they are definitely not that. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/28) */ This was a simple problem that could have been easily resolved. The tenant complained about getting the washer and dryer fixed or replaced. ***** **** refused to do so because she had already repaired it before during a prior tenancy. This tenant just moved into the place and should have a good working washer and dryer as was promised to her. Because it did not get fixed, the tenant asked to be released from her lease agreement. We agreed to this in order to conform to the RCW law which states that she can be released from her lease if the owner does not remedy the defective condition. We have pleaded with ***** **** to take care of the problem on behalf of the tenant, but she refuses to do so. So, why would the tenant file a complaint against BCI when we let her out of her lease? It doesn't make sense that she would do so. She was happy to move and not be liable for the remainder of her lease. All documentation have been sent to ***** ****. We have no problem in resending her all documents again. I believe BCI have done all we could do to try to resolve the problem. ***** **** chose not to repair it and thus lost a tenant. Respectfully submitted ***** *****

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After leaving a substantial deposit to a home that was only in okay condition upon move in, over only a 6 month period of tenancy my security deposit was withheld and additional charges applied. I made maintenance requests that went unanswered. I sent a request online about that stove that went unanswered. The homeowners were negligent in the care of their own property and the leasing agent was a lying and manipulative creep who didn't even bother to respond or be present for a move out inspection. As soon as my spouse deployed and they were left with just me to deal with both the owner of BCI and leasing agent were intimidating and threatening. They over charged me for move out fees and flat out charged me for damage that existed upon move in. Those nasty steps were already crumbling. We did NOT break one. I left that property in better condition than I found it and This company owes me back my deposit.

Desired Settlement: Reverse the charges and return my deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/23) */ In response to the complaint that was filed against BCI Properties, after reviewing our files, we found that upon move in and also speaking with the owner of the property, the stove cook top was NOT cracked and needed to be replaced by the tenant. BCI has a move in inspection sheet and a move out inspection sheet and both were compared together and there was no mention of the broken step, or the stove. BCI also did not charge the tenant for moving out early. The front wooden step was not broken when the tenant moved in. The condition of the yard was overgrown and needed to be cut back considerably. We represent the owner and collect his rent, we do not make decisions for him. We have pictures to back up the damages. We also support our military and would not take advantage.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

18 Customer Reviews on B C I Properties LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart