Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

DrainTech Northwest LLC

Phone: (253) 536-1925 Fax: (253) 536-7011 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 850, Spanaway, WA 98387 http://www.draintechnorthwest.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers drain cleaning, septic repair, hydro-jetting, electronic line locating, and color video pipe inspection.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DrainTech Northwest LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for DrainTech Northwest LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on DrainTech Northwest LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 30, 2003 Business started: 12/05/2003 Business started locally: 12/05/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Kirkland, Owner Ms. Jodye Howard, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jodye Howard, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. David Kirkland, Owner
Business Category

Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Pumps - Service & Repair Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning Pipe Inspection Plumbers


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 850

    Spanaway, WA 98387 (888) 236-8324 (253) 752-5545 (253) 848-4343

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our septic was not working, they came out to repair it and charged us $318.00. The man who worked on our septic even stated he wasn't sure if it was rectified when he left and that we should feel free to call him. We even installed a new timer after they had left to see if that would fix it and it is still not working. When I called the office to talk to the woman there she basically just argued with me saying that it was fixed when he left, which it was not. She said he told her it was working and I explained it only worked manually and the auto had not even had time to come on because we weren't running any water when they were here, she continued to argue with me and yelled at me asking why my husband, who was at work, wasn't calling. She refused to help and argued with everything I said. I shouldn't be charged for them fixing something that is still broken, especially when I gave them an opportunity to come back out and try to rectify it or even try to help us over the phone, but they wouldn't. She just argued that i was wrong. VERY poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: Because I have had to call a different company to fix what they failed to, I don't believe I should have to pay for their "services". All they did was reorganize the wiring with zip ties. That obviously didn't fix anything.

Business Response: In response to BBB complaint #...

We regret that we never received any notification until last
week of this complaint.  We have checked
all company emails and there were no emails concerning this complaint previous
to this which we were notified of via phone.

Our effort is to strive for 100% customer satisfaction for every
customer.  We regret to hear that we have
not met our customer’s expectations in this goal.  Initially we were contacted by Mr. **  I explained our service approach:  We charge by the hour not the job and I
specifically stated how much we charge. 
I am the Office Manager and spoke with him on the initial call and on
the subsequent call from Mrs. *. 

Our technician was dispatched to the homeowner on the date
in question and proceeded to troubleshoot an alarm issue with their septic
system.  At first the pump was not
running in the “automatic mode” but after adjusting the floats and reattaching
some wires the pump was tested and was operating in “automatic mode” as it
should.  During the service call the
technician also (cleaned and instructed the customer on how to clean) their
plugged outlet filter, reset the timer to the correct settings, checked that
the drain field ports were dry, performed a drawdown on the pump to check the
pump and the drain field, checked the tank measurements to see if it was due
for pumping and answered some basic septic questions *** * had.  After straightening the wires and adjusting
the floats the pump began working in “auto” mode and so the technician hypothesized
that since the wires had fallen down and were loose his work was all that was
needed.  Since there was nothing else he
could do at that point he concluded his work visit and presented the bill which
the customer acknowledged and paid for and the service was complete.  Our customer receipt that was provided to the
customer states exactly these things were performed and that they signed and
agreed to their satisfaction.  The claim
that all the technician did was “re-organize some wires with zip ties” is not
correct.

To continue working on a system that was now working would
not be a sound business practice and since it was working, there was nothing
left to troubleshoot.  Had the system not
been working he would have remained to continue working or would have
recommended additional work on his work receipt.  He did however; verbally tell the customer he
didn’t feel comfortable not knowing exactly why it started working other than
it may have just been the loose wires laying down on the floats preventing
proper operation or may be an intermittent issue.  He instructed them to call if they had
further issues with the septic system.   
    

At some point; I believe it was the next week **** * contacted
the office and asked to have the technician that had performed the work call her
husband.  I wanted to make sure that I
had heard her correctly and so I inquired as to whether her husband was present
and she stated that he was not there he was at work. In finding out the
appropriate time to have the technician call her it was necessary to ask when
the husband would be there due to the technician not being able to return the call
at that time.  It was explained that I
would have the technician call that evening but in an effort to help I looked
her information up to see how I might be able to explain what was done.  As I read through the report **** * appeared
to become agitated telling me it was not fixed. 
I told **** * that I could not talk to her if she was going to be angry
and that I would have the technician call at the end of his service day as she
had initially requested and our call was ended. 
There was never any yelling either by myself or by **** *.  To say otherwise is incorrect as I have never
yelled or otherwise raised my voice with a customer.  I believe I provided excellent customer service
as I listened, responded, tried to explain what was done by the service
technician that day, as well as did pass along her message that the technician
was to call *** * at the end of the day. 


The technician did return the phone call the very same day
as was promised he would.  He spoke with Mr.
* who also started the conversation with the remark that the pump was not
working in “auto mode” when the technician left and after the technician
reminded him of the events he agreed that yes it was working in “auto” mode and
they discussed that at some point after our technician left it quit working in
“auto” again so (without first contacting us again) he contacted the
manufacturer of the timer (even though the technician had tested the operation during
his service call and found it to be working 
properly) and they recommended that it was the timer; so he bought and
replaced the timer and it still was not working.  The technician told him that he thought it
might be the float but after it started working he didn’t want to keep working
on something that seemed to be working. 
Our technician was tightly booked for the next day but could come back
the day after; but of course would have to charge him to continue to working on
it at continuous time to be fair.  It
would be no different than had he continued to work on it during his first
visit. 

Unfortunately, there really is only so much that can be done
over the phone for troubleshooting pump and septic issues.   *** * said he had a friend that worked for
another company he would just call him. 
The technician asked if he would let him know what it turned out to be
or if he still needed him to come out he would schedule to come back out and
continue working on it without the first hour minimum that accompanies all
service calls.  They ended the
conversation on a good note.   At no time
did *** * ever request a refund or state that he was less than happy with the
work that had been provided by the technician.

In conclusion:  we
regret that at some point after we left the system quit operating in “auto”
mode (hence the possible intermittent issues). 
We would much more prefer that the work we did was what was needed to
fix the problem permanently.  When it
started to work it also made trying to rule out other problems unnecessary and
would only be over charging at that point. 
As for the refund; we did perform work while we were there i.e.…straightened
up the wires, adjusted the floats, cleaned the filter, reset timer, and checked
the drain field ports all of which was acknowledged we performed on our job
ticket that was signed for by *** *.  To
say otherwise now is not a truthful complaint. 
The very fact the customer has said the technician told them to call if
they had more problems indicates our willingness to address any issues or
concerns.

They were provided excellent customer service.  The office personnel did attempt to
understand and explain what had been done and what was written about their
service call and promptly relayed the message for the service technician to
return the call to *** * of which he promptly did the very same day.  We were not involved with recommending the
timer or the installation so we do not have any obligation in a responsibility
with that complaint.  With all confidence
we can assure them that the work we did was at the least; beneficial to
whatever they needed and also ultimately beneficial, in whatever the final
diagnosis might have been.  Even if we
had only cleaned the filter (and we provided much more work than that) we saved
them a potential back up and the service call which would have cost them the
same amount. 

Unfortunately, we do not believe that a full and complete
refund is a fair request nor a necessary response on our part to address their
issue.   We believe we did provide excellent service
both in the field and in the office and we did try to address their concerns
when they voiced them.  Unfortunately
they did not contact us back after their last call to communicate that they
were still dissatisfied or that another company had even solved whatever issue
they were experiencing.  Instead they filed
a complaint thereby eliminating any further work or opportunity to address their
continuing septic issues.  Our reputation
has been flawless for over 12 years.  We
have not been given any information on what another company may have found, or
what the final resolution of the issue was. 
By installing a timer after we were out we do not know if they caused
more problems to their system that were not even present when we were
there.  However, in a good faith effort
to at least show them that we respect their displeasure we would reimburse them
the additional half hour of time we were out that day.  That would reduce what we did to the minimum
charge of one hour and would have been the minimum they would pay regardless of
what we found.  It is our response that
we maintained a high level of customer service and that the customer had
expectations that could not be met due to problems that weren’t fully evident
during the service call.  Hopefully Mr. &
**** * will find the adjustment a fair and just compensation for their time and
effort.    

*** * was charged a reasonable 1 ½ hours of work and a reduced
trip charge for the extra travel in getting to his residence plus sales tax as
required.  We propose to refund the extra
half hour of our service call plus the sales tax for the half hour for a total
of $ 92.44 back to the*** via a check. 
I have also attached a copy of the service ticket that the customer signed and acknowledged. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I reject this response because it is dishonest.  At this point,  we see more insulted by the fact that the office manager is saying things again that are untrue.  We had another compact come out and they found and fixed the issue within twenty minutes.  All that was wrong is that the wire nuts were not silicone filled.  A company who had been doing this business for twelve years should certainly have seen that the electric tape around the wire nuts was loose and should not have even been there to begin with. The timer we purchased and replaced did no damage to the system and was actually returned because the original timer worked fine.  However,  the pump never worked in auto mode and my husband never said that.  The woman in the office did shout at me and accused me of shoouting at her.  I told her at that time over the phone how dissatisfied we were with the service we received.  I guess I should've emailed so I could prove that I had complained to her about her service since she is clearly trying to act dismayed. It's not even about the money,  if this woman weren't si incredibly disrespectful it would be much easier to handle m We called a company,  not a friend,  to fix the issue.  We had to pay them as well,  but their cost was a third of yours and actually rectified the problem.  
I am appalled at how much the story was bent in the rebuttal from the business.  The technician even told us at our door before he left that he was uneasy about the system because it hadn't worked in automatic. Which it couldn't possibly have since he even told us it would need much more water to turn on automatically. The office manager got angry with me as I explained that too her and that's when she asked for my husband to call. I have never felt so utterly disrespected. It's unfortunate that we couldn't resolve this between ourselves and the company.  Had they made efforts to actually come out and rectify the issue and been polite about it there would be no issues.  The fact of the matter is that what the office manager is saying is inn complete contradiction with what the technician told us.  
Sincerely,

******* ********

Business Response: We regret that our communications
with this customer seems to have broken down. 
We apologize for any inconvenience the customer has experienced and that
the customer was still having septic issues after our initial visit. 

However if you examine the service ticket
from the technician is it clearly stated that the system was working in automatic
mode when he completed the job that day. 
Had it not been working he would have continued to investigate for
further problems.  And as a service note:  The technician did not need time to run water
in order to test that the system was working in the automatic mode.  The only statement that was made by the
technician at the end of the job was that he would feel more comfortable
knowing exactly what he had done to get the system working again.  After he adjusted the wires and it started
working there was nothing left for him to continue troubleshooting.  Also if you examine the service ticket there
was much more work done during his service call than simply adjusting and
moving wires.      

As for the statement that they gave
us every opportunity to come back out to work on the problem: that is incorrect.
  When the technician that worked on the
system returned *** *’s phone call he was informed then, that they had already
scheduled another company for a visit the very next day.  It was stated incorrectly that they had a
friend coming to look at it in our previous response; we recall now that the
customer stated something differently and there was no attempt to mislead with
our previous response.  We can assure the
customer that had we been given an opportunity to, we would have returned and
stated this fact to them.  Unfortunately
it was the customer who gave us no opportunity to return and continue working
on their system.  As for trying to help
them over the phone….the technician did suggest a couple of things it might be
but we cannot accurately troubleshoot septic problems over the phone nor would
a majority of septic companies.  However,
their phone call was returned showing that we took their concerns as seriously
as we could and that we were available and trying to work with them on this
issue.  

As for the office communication with
the office manager there are other witnesses in the office that can and have confirmed
there was no shouting.  Nor has DrainTech
Northwest ever accused the customer of shouting either over the phone or in our
response.  Initially the office manager
was only confused over the request for the technician to call her husband and
not over the complaint.  Once it was understood
she was calling because her husband was at work and could not call; the
customer was asked how she could be helped and it was stated that she wanted
all her money refunded.  It is the job of
the office manager to gather information and relay what information she might
have in the customer’s service ticket.  The
information that was signed for is in the records and that has not changed
since the work took place.  There is
simply no reason for DrainTech Northwest to bend the story as we have been
accused because we have tried working with the customer every step of the
way.  It is the policy of the Office
Manager and CSR’s to not engage in arguing or shouting and to end the call if
the customer were to become abusive. 
That is not the case in this situation. 
  

DrainTech Northwest would be more
than happy to refund every single cent had another company found that something
we had checked had turned out to be the problem but that is not what has
happened here.  Since it is now known to
us that it was something we didn’t check we do not believe they deserve a full
refund of their money.  Had the
technician been given the opportunity to return then we are confident we too
would have found the problem.  We are in
agreement that had we continued to look for more problems and checked the J-Box
we might well have found that it was a problem as well.  But again to work on a system that started
functioning would not be something that would make sense.

It is our position that in
refunding the customer for the additional time spent over the one hour service
call would be sufficient enough of compensation for their time since it was
well stated and not disputed that we have a one hour service call minimum and
travel charge.  We believe we have
responded and tried to negotiate an acceptable offer of refund and have only been
met with resistance and no counter offer from the customer.  Therefore it would seem that the customer has
rejected our offer we can only request that the Better Business Bureau consider
this case close as the customer has rejected our offer. 

We are grateful for the opportunity
to work through Better Business Bureau to try and redeem our relationship with
this customer and regret that we were not able to do that in this matter or meet
our personal level of 100% satisfaction for every customer.  We apologize for any miscommunication at the
time of the repair or during our phone conversation(s).    We are indeed happy to hear the customer
was able to return their used electrical device for a refund.  If the customer would still like to have the
refund initially offered we will stand by that offer. 

I have attached the job invoice from
the service technician (omitting any identifying information) from the work
that was performed for this customer.  It
was signed and acknowledged that the service technician had performed these
tasks.  Please note that it is plainly written
on the job ticket that the system was working on “auto” after moving the wires
off of the floats.  Supporting both what
the technician and the office manager have both stated.

We thank you for your time and
attention.

Sincerely,

DrainTech Northwest, LLC


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on DrainTech Northwest LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)