Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

A-1 Plumbing Inc

Phone: (503) 585-2009 Fax: (503) 587-0675 1940 Mcgilchrist St SE, Salem, OR 97302 http://www.a1plumbinginc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential plumbing services and repair, and drain and sewer cleaning.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for A-1 Plumbing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on A-1 Plumbing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 30, 2004 Business started: 10/01/2003 in OR Business started locally: 10/01/2003 Business incorporated 01/05/2006 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Carl Hagan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carl Hagan, President
Business Category

Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Plumbers Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Products & Services

A-1 Plumbing Inc sells the following brand(s): Rheem, Toto, American Standard, Bradford White, Kohler, Delta, Moen

A-1 Plumbing Inc offers the following product(s): Water Heaters, toilets, faucets, sinks, hose bibs

Method(s) of Payment
All methods

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A-1 Plumbing Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1940 Mcgilchrist St SE

    Salem, OR 97302 (503) 585-2009

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 27, 2014, I paid A-1 Plumbing Inc for a service call to understand why my bathtub faucet was leaking a slow drip. I understood that I needed to pay a $39 service fee for a quote to repair. After stepping foot into my bathroom and spending just moments without actually looking at anything, I was informed I had to rebuild and/or replace the tub valve. Additionally, I was told that this fix would only last about 10 months. As the rebuild quote was over $300 and the new quote was approximately $1K, I informed the technician that I could not afford this. The technician proceeded to spend more time talking to me about different payment plans than actually diagnosing the problem. It felt like a scam and so I called two other companies to receive quotes and they each provided a summary of issue which was that new washers were needed. Total fix was $100. I called A-1 as they tout "100% guarantee money back" and was informed that here was nothing that they would do as I received the service I paid for. I didn't receive the service as the quote was far from legitimate.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $39 service fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/03) */ A-1 was contacted regarding a leak in a tub faucet on the date listed above and *** ******* was quoted the $39 service fee ahead of time which she agreed upon. We sent a licensed plumbing professional out to her rental property and he did a full diagnosis which he quoted a repair price and a replacement price. Never was anything written about a 10 month guarantee so that is hearsay. We only state that a repair is never the ultimate fix or solution to a problem with a faucet of that age. The customer then declined the repair price and we collected the $39 fee for the trip charge. Call time on this job was 12:05pm - 12:55pm which is tracked via our GPS systems in the vehicles. This job was done on October, 27 and **** ******* did not contact our office until the last week in November wanting a refund. Our invoice clearly states that the 100% money back guarantee is on "Repairs" which means it does not pertain to trip charges. We were not provided with any proof that another professional had made said repairs and the stated price of $100 so I feel this complaint is unjustified.

11/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted business specifically to have secondary drain line cleaned using a jetting method. Issue and age of house and size of drain line were provided to A-1 representative. I was ensured that they could do this type of process since they had multple sizes of jetters. Tech showed up and said they could not do this work but could only cable the line. They still wanted their 40$ for the service call. I felt put in a hard spot and did not feel right to argue with the tech after stating what was communicated to me by their rep. He was just doing his job. I have called and was given the mangers voicemail and waited 2 days for a response, then I followed with an email and it have been 2 days without any repsonse from the business. Therefore I would not have made the appointment if I was not told they could use the jetting method as assured when the appointment was made.Their information was inaccurate and wasted both our time and delayed getting my drain line unclogged. I would have kept my original appointment with another company.

Desired Settlement: As I stated to the business in the voicemail and email I would like the 40$ returned since they have already deposited my check.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/07) */ The $39 service fee was refunded on 11/5/13. Customer emailed back saying "Thank you" and that he was satisfied. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on A-1 Plumbing Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart