Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Newport Plumbing Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 265-7030 Fax: (541) 265-6328 940 SW 10th St, Newport, OR 97365

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers full service plumbing company.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Newport Plumbing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Newport Plumbing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 10/01/1978 Business started locally: 10/01/1978 Business incorporated 01/13/1981 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621

Oregon Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater NW, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 378-4133

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. John Reniker, President Mrs. Deborah Reniker, Secretary
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Deborah Reniker, Secretary
Principal: Mr. John Reniker, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Refund and Exchange Policy
1 year warranty on labor and parts.

Additional Locations

  • 940 SW 10th St

    Newport, OR 97365

  • PO Box 1473

    Newport, OR 97365


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Previous attempt to resolve issue:Within 2-3 days after receiving the invoice (#XXXXXX) I spoke with two male employees at the office of Newport Plumbing and requested consideration of reduction in the fee for the service provided on 12-27-13. I was told by the individual who sits in the front office that the individual at the front desk would have to make that decision. That individual said that they wanted to be sure that customers were satisfied that a bill was fair. I explained the reason for my request (see below) in the presence of both men and gave them a copy of the invoice. The decision-maker looked at the invoice and informed me that he had not been there the date of the service and the first individual would have to make the decision. That person made a copy of the invoice and said he would call me after talking with the plumber who performed the work. No one from Newport Plumbing has called me. On January 21, 2014 I telephoned and left a message with the female who answered. I provided my phone number, the invoice number, and a description of the individual who said he would call me back, and asked to be called. To date no one from Newport Plumbing has contacted me about my request.Issue:Not having received a reply from Newport Plumbing to my request (see above) for a reduction in fee for serviced charged for 12-27-13 (invoice #XXXXXX), on January 23, 2014 I left my check (# ***** with payment of the invoice in full ($212.90) at the office of Newport Plumbing (I gave it to the male who said he would call me (see above)).On 12-27-13 a Newport Plumbing worker cleared debri from the commode fill valve that he said was caused by his having connected a new line and valve between the wall and the tank on his previous repair visit of 12-24-13 (when he also installed a new fill valve). On 12-24-13 within about two hours and a couple of commode flushes after the Newport Plumbing worker had left, the commode malfunctioned. Water was overflowing down the overflow pipe and water would not stop flowing from the fill valve into the pipe. The Newport Plumbing worker had informed me that the company was closing at 1pm that day (Christmas Eve). It was 1pm when the water flow in my commode would not shut off so I turned off the valve at the wall to shut off the water to the commode. Also, I had to leave town at 1pm 12-14-13. I was away until late evening of 12-26-13 and called Newport Plumbing early on 12-27-13 and informed them of the problem. In addition to flushing the fill valve on 12-27-13, the Newport Plumbing worker also installed a new flapper. On 12-24-13 he said he had not done so because he said he did not have one with him in the truck. In my opinion, on 12-24-13 Newport Plumbing should have flushed the fill valve to remove any debri from the line and fill valve and also obtained a new flapper from Newport Plumbings office to install at that time (their office is less than a 10-minute drive from my residence). Newport Plumbings failure to properly perform all of the necessary work on 12-24-13 should not result in me having to pay a $95.00 fee for a second visit on 12-27-13 to finish their incomplete work.I have been a good customer of Newport Plumbing, including previously hiring them for a costly major repair. As a continuing customer I had expected better service from Newport Plumbing, at least the courtesy of calling me as they had promised. I know that many businesses on the Central coast are not known for quality in customer service but I had hoped for a higher level of service from a member of the Better Business Bureau.Thank you for your consideration

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I request a refund from Newport Plumbing of the $95.00 charged for the billed service on 12-27-13; lacking that, an explanation of the reasons they will not provide the refund, and an apology for not calling me as promised.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/11) */ On February 3, 2014 the owner of Newport Plumbing contacted me and visited my residence to inspect the work done by the company on December 24 and 27, 2013. He apologized for not getting back to me as promised, taking responsibility himself as owner. He stated that he agreed with me that the work should have all been done during the first visit, and he provided me a check for a refund of the full labor charge for the second visit. He said that he had discussed the situation with employees involved, would check with the answering service to see why the company did not receive the message that I had called, and indicated that procedures for addressing customer concerns would be revised. The owner was courteous, apologetic, stated his intent to resolve the issue to my satisfaction, and indicated interest in obtaining my future business. I consider the issue satisfactorily resolved.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Newport Plumbing Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)