Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mr Rooter of Salem Oregon

Phone: (503) 537-5036 Fax: (503) 538-7911 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 61, Newberg, OR 97132 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers full service plumbing and drain cleaning company, commercial and residential service offered.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr Rooter of Salem Oregon meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

24 Customer Reviews on Mr Rooter of Salem Oregon
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 24
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 24

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 19, 2010 Business started: 08/01/2006 in OR Business started locally: 08/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Oregon Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater NW, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 378-4133

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeremiah Wolff, Member Ms. Kari A Broome, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeremiah Wolff, Member
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Method(s) of Payment
cash, check, credit, debit (American Express and Discover accepted)  We also offer third party financing.
Alternate Business Names
Blackhawk Plumbing LLC Mr Rooter of McMinnville Mr Rooter of Newberg

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mr Rooter of Salem Oregon has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 61

    Newberg, OR 97132 (503) 583-2900 (503) 383-9966 (503) 537-5036


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: When our hot water heater failed in April, we called Mr Rooter. We appreciated their quick response. We told the dispatcher that it was a 40 gallon gas HWH made by ******** White, and specifically asked them to bring that model. We were told, "the plumbers carry everything they need with them, & will have one on their truck." However, when the FIELD MANAGER & his assistant arrived, they did not have one, & needed to go get one from the supplier. We were charged for their time/labor for that trip, even though we had specifically indicated what we needed. We complained at the time, to no avail. When we were presented with the bill for $1521.35, we were told that we needed to follow up with ******** ***** in order to have the ******** honored. It took us 6 months, countless phone calls & emails, 2 in person meetings with ******** ***** reps, & a BBB complaint to finally get ******** ***** to send a credit via Mr. Rooter for $369.93 -- less than 25% of what we paid Mr. Rooter. ******** ***** told us that Mr. Rooter should have processed the ******** at the time of the replacement of the defective hot water heater, & initially ******** ***** wasn't going to honor the ******** because they do not issue credits to or correspond directly with consumers. This was an incredibly frustrating, time consuming, and expensive process -- not only did we pay over $800 in 2012 for the original HWH but then paid nearly twice that to Mr Rooter in 2015 ($1521.35) for the new one = 2369.55 in 3 years. Although Mr Rooter recently sent us $369.93 (wholesale cost), we paid a total of $2000 out of pocket. We feel strongly that Mr. Rooter should reimburse us for a) the labor costs for their trip to and from the supplier to get the HWH that we had specifically named as what was needed, plus b) some reimbursement for all of our time & trouble chasing down the ******** that they were supposed to process themselves (as stated very clearly on the ******** ***** Website).

Desired Settlement: $500 refund

Business Response: We went out to **** **** *** *** ****** ** ***** on 4/8/2015.  **** ***** called because the 40 gallon gas water heater at one of her rentals needed to be replaced.  She said that ****** ******** had been out in 2012 and installed a new water heater and she was no longer doing business with them.  We got one of our service professionals to the address where service was requested at the time she wanted.  Our service professional diagnosed the water heater and found water spraying out of the flue from an internal leak.  He did not have a water heater on his truck which normally our service professionals do.  Therefor he had to go to the closest supply house and get one.  She was not charged for this.  We are a flat rate company.  We do not charge for drive time, getting material that is not stocked, ect.  We do apologize for him having to go and get the water heater when in fact she was told that he would have one on his truck.  Our service professional replaced the 40 gallon gas water heater with a new  40 gallon gas water heater ******** ***** brand.  This job required two plumbers to take the old water heater out to install the new one.  He added earthquake straps and new flex lines.  He also made a 3/4" cpvc pipe repair above the water heater on the hot side.  She also agreed to purchase our Advantage Plan Membership. I received an email from **** in May asking if I could help her with a situation where she was trying to get ******** ***** to honor their ******** for the failed hot water heater that we just went and replaced.  Given that we did not install the original failed water heater, it was under my assumption that this would be between **** and either the previous ******** company that installed the failed water heater or ******** *****.  Being as that she was now our customer I was more than happy to help her.  She forwarded me the email that was between her and ******** *****.  She was given the contact information for the local ******** ***** Representative.  She was getting the run around from them.  I continued to spend my time helping her and trying to find a solution to her issue.  After months of emailing back and forth, me being in contact with ******** ***** as well as herself being in contact with them we were finally getting somewhere.  I was instructed that ******** ***** would be issuing our supplier a credit to our account for the water heater, once that credit was issued, then we could issue the credit to ****.  I kept in contact with **** during this entire process which she was very thankful for.  When we finally received the credit from ******** ***** I sent **** out a check right away. I feel I went above and beyond to help **** with this situation.  Yes it is unfortunate that it took so long but most of it was out of my control.  We did not get to decide the credit amount for the water heater.  That was between ******** ***** and the supplier.  **** approved all work that we did for her as well as the pricing.  We do not do any work with out getting approval first.  Like I said earlier, we are a flat rate company.  We charge set prices for specific jobs.  We do not charge by the hour.  I have saved all of the emails between **** and myself if you feel you would like to look at them.  I have attached a copy of her original invoice for the work that we did.  

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

While we did appreciate the "help" with regards to the ******** process, the ******** ***** ******** **** (***** ******* & their website) indicated that it was the responsibility of the plumber installing the replacement HWH to process the ******** from the outset.  Also, although Mr Rooter said that we weren't charged "extra" for the trip to & from the supplier, we were charged a total of $1262 for the new hot water heater -- more than 3 times the amount we were reimbursed via the warranty. That seems an excessive cost, & that is why we're disputing it -- We are sure that part of that cost includes the installation time, which included that (unnecessary) trip to the supplier. When we agreed to the original bill, a) we did not know we were going to have to chase down the ******** vigorously for 6 months (with or without help), and b) we did not know we would be receiving less than 1/3 of what we were paying for the replacement HWH.

We still respectfully request that we be given a refund of $500.


***** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

24 Customer Reviews on Mr Rooter of Salem Oregon
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart