Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gold Seal Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Gold Seal Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

108 Customer Reviews on Gold Seal Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 105
Neutral Experience 2
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 108

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1967 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1967 Business incorporated 12/26/1967 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard L Dixon, President Mr. Chris Dixon, Vice President Mr. Robert Dixon, Secretary Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard L Dixon, President
Business Category

Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
Ace Plumbing and Sewer Gold Seal Mechanical, Inc. Gold Seal Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gold Seal Plumbing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5524 E Boone Ave

    Spokane Valley, WA 99212

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 03/22/16 Gold Seal installed a new hot water heater. On 04/05/16 I noticed no hot water. I investigated and found the water leaking from the new hot water heater. I called Gold Seal and informed them of the problem. I was told they would try to send a technician and would call me if they couldn't come that day. They came the next day 04/06/16. The problem was a leaking solder joint the Gold Seal technician had made when installing the new hot water heater. The repair was made and then the technician told me the problem was caused by Gold Seal not installing an "expansion tank" at the time of the installation. The technician told me if I didn't pay for the installation of an "expansion tank" he would void the 6 year warranty. I told him if this was necessary they should have installed it at the time I bought the hot water heater from them. He finished up and left the repair order (no charge) that he wrote on the warranty was void.

Desired Settlement: A written statement from the owner of Gold Seal stating they will honor the original warranty without me having to pay for additional service, equipment or modifications to the hot water heater they installed.

Business Response:

The client is correct and should not have been requested to pay any additional charge.  We are making the corrections and insuring that he has both our company and the manufacturer's warranty for the product.

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The business has contacted me directly and has gone beyond even what I asked for. I am very, very pleased with the businesses response.

I appreciate BBB's assistance in bringing my concerns to the business and I greatly appreciate Gold Seal Plumbing's response. This problem has been resolved in the most positive way imaginable.

Sincerely,

***** *****

7/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The weather was below zero and my 77 year old mother's pipes froze. She called Gold Seal by a recommendation from an acquaintance. She called in the morning of Feb 5th. The Plumber **** eventually showed up early evening. There is no time stated on the invoice ****** for arrival nor is there a times stated for departure. The invoice does state the work is not guaranteed, I have no problems with that, if in fact someone would have actually did something to help my mother in her position. She paid for the service call of $100.00 and was given a Senior discount of $25.00. The issue is the pipes were of course frozen, she has heat tape and it was not even addressed by ****. What he stated on the invoice is he used a heat gun for 1/2 hour, this of course would not even begin to "thaw" the pipes in a sub zero temperature. He left my mothers home by putting her heater, **** **** under the mobile. The fuse kept blowing and this certainly could have been a fire hazard for my mother. The pipes of course did not open. I visited my mother the next morning, Feb 6th, early of course for my concern on her behalf of still no water. No way to flush her toilet etc. I brought her water over. Then I called my son and he went to check on things. He found the heat tape in a bundle under the mobile, the area in which the pipes come in to the home, possible source of freeze, the insulation had not been moved nor was there any evidence that ****'s work was even complete. It was not an hour later when my son had the heat tape plugged in, the heater back in her home and the pipes were beginning to thaw. It is very unfortunate that a company such as your size in Spokane failed on assisting an older senior with a very needed service.

Desired Settlement: Please take in to consideration when working with seniors. Why allow a discount on failed work. So sad. thank you

Business Response: We did not do our job properly and the client had every right to be upset.  We have sent the client an apology and  a full refund. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

108 Customer Reviews on Gold Seal Plumbing
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart