Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rover.Com

Phone: (888) 453-7889 View Additional Phone Numbers 2101 4th Ave  Ste 400, Seattle, WA 98121 http://www.rover.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers dog sitting, care, walking and boarding services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rover.Com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Rover.Com include:

  • 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

17 Customer Reviews on Rover.Com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 16
Total Customer Reviews 17

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 16, 2012 Business started: 06/01/2011 in WA Business started locally: 06/01/2011 Business incorporated 10/19/2011 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Aaron Easterly, CEO Brandie Gonzales, Director of PR
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aaron Easterly, CEO
Business Category

Pet Sitting Services Pet Day Care Dog Daycare Pet Shops Advertising - Internet Online Social Media/Networking Pet Services

Alternate Business Names
A Place For Rover Inc Rover.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rover.Com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2101 4th Ave
    Ste 400

    Seattle, WA 98121

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked a sitter through Rover.com who in felted my puppies with roundworm. It has caused severe trauma to all of them, cost me significant money, and left several items in my house ruined due to contamination with feces. Also, rover.com does not release sitter info, so I had to do detective work myself on the sitter. I discovered that she has a vast criminal record including arrest and jail just days after I picked up my puppies.

Desired Settlement: Complete refund of all charges, reimbursement for current and continuing vet bills plus additional funds for damage in my house and personal trauma.

Business Response:

Hi *****, We’re so sorry to hear about the stress this has caused you and your family. Dog safety is always our top priority, and we take complaints about a sitter whose services are listed on Rover very seriously. As you know, our Trust & Safety team has been investigating the situation and will continue working with you to learn more. Unfortunately the insurance offered with Rover stays doesn’t cover pre-existing illnesses that are unrelated to the stay. If you have any questions at all, don’t hesitate to follow up directly with our Trust & Safety team.

 

All the best,

 

Courtney

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
****** they are aware, my puppies have received regular vet checks and we're on preventative Medicine. However, they do not require the sitter to hold to those standards and therefore, as puppies, they are more susceptible to getting roundworms if exposed heavily. I asked if the sitter had to report treating there dogs and they would not answer the question. My pups were in the vet days before going to the sitter and we're perfectly healthy. The sitter has at least 3 dogs of her own plus took in other dogs. No one wants to show proof of pre-treatment, as I gave my pups. Therefore Rover.com is responsible for the health care plus approving a criminal to watch my dogs. Even after reporting her criminal activity and the fact that she was arrested days after I picked up my pups, she is still listed as a viable sitter. To top that, she is in jail currently and they have allowed her active on their site. They are willfully allowing pets to be placed in a home that should not be approved or active.
Sincerely,

***** ********

Business Response:

Hi *****,


We apologize for the confusion. To clarify, Rover does not verify information of Service Care Providers. It is the user’s sole responsibility to determine the identity and suitability of others who you may contact by means of the service. We do not endorse any persons who use or register for our Services, including Pet Care Service Providers. Rover specifically disclaims liability and responsibility for any loss or damage resulting from anyone’s reliance on information.


Furthermore, in accordance with section 2.5.2 of Rover’s Terms of Service, Rover won’t cover cost for medical bills as a result of illness, pre-existing condition or recurrence thereof. At its crux, users acknowledge and agree that Rover.com has no obligation to verify the status of any pet vaccinations.


Please feel free to reach out to us for further clarification, or visit our Terms of Service for more information.


All the best.


Courtney

9/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired a dogs sitter to sit Friday after before 430 to sat 400. I met her she advices me that she was not taking zoology in college and doesn't know about vet school. I picked her because this is what rover had in her bio. I proceeded to introduce her and asked if she was able to be here the entire time we were gone as the dogs get stressed being in their cages long periods of time. She assured me she would be here the entire time. She never showed I text her and rover no response from rover she text me and hour later said she was here but someone was here so she left. She knew my daughter would be here till she came she hadn't come. My daughter fed the dogs, sitter came and was here 40 min and left. I text her asked how the dogs were she said real good I asked if she was at my home she said I am. Well I have a security system and camera, she wasn't there it was after 9pm and she lied. I text rover again no response. I had to call everyone I could find give them the code to my house to get them in so someone could car for my dogs. The sitter had come to my house for that 20 min took a shower left clothes all over my bathroom and bedroom and went out . I text her she was fired and told her to go get her stuff. Text rover a third time NO response. The next day on my way home called rover emergency line cause no one would answer customer service line, they told me they would call me back that was 9am no call it's 130 pm. This company is allowing people to be on their site telling consumers like me that their sitters are checked but what indeed they only do is a criminal check and let the sitter get references which can be family and friends no info is verified including school experience ect. My dogs are sick with diarrhea today from this stress., and my husband took off work for this trip which was cut short because of negligence on rover.com

Desired Settlement: Rover needs to state info on suffers is Not verified And hired at your own discretion . They need to state only criminal records are checked and no other info is verified, including references.

Business Response:

Hi *******,


Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback. Pet safety is our top priority, and we want to assure you that this is not the typical Rover experience. We do our best to only approve sitter profiles that meet our high standards, and sincerely apologize that this sitter didn’t meet that bar—we’re taking action to prevent this behavior going forward. We appreciate your feedback about the way Rover communicates the independent contractor status of sitters on the site. Feedback from our community is important to us, and we take it into consideration when making updates. If you have any remaining questions or concerns, don’t hesitate to let us know.


All the best,


Courtney


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I feel they aren't address specifically the problem. Forget are not addressing how they improve anything. I feel they need to specify how, possible verify information, follow up with information given not just assume people are telling the truth. These people are going into people's homes and caring for their animals. If something happens due to not checking out your people I assume there would be quite a law suit.

Sincerely,

******* ****

Business Response:

We do our best to only approve sitter profiles that meet our high standards, and sincerely apologize that this sitter didn’t meet that bar—we’re taking action to prevent this behavior going forward. We appreciate your feedback about the way Rover communicates the independent contractor status of sitters on the site. Feedback from our community is important to us, and we take it into consideration when making updates. If you have any remaining questions or concerns, don’t hesitate to let us know.


8/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We made last-minute dog sitting reservations with a sitter via rover.com. The sitter and I exchanged a few messages, then she requested full payment in advance to confirm the reservation. She ignored us for a full 8 hours after receiving payment, which resulted in our decision to cancel our booking. We simply did not have a good feeling about leaving our dogs with this woman. The sitter's cancellation policy states the following: " A full refund is available if a client cancels by 12:00pm the day before the service begins. 12:00pm is determined by the sitter's time zone. If canceled later than 12:00pm the day before the service begins, a 50% refund is available for the first seven days of the service, and a 100% refund is available for any additional days." Please notice that the cancellation policy is without a clause for same-day/last-minute bookings. When I asked the sitter for clarification she replied with, "Not sure I understand your question. The timing of the reservation doesn't really impact a cancellation." Beyond sending a few text messages, the sitter did absolutely no work. No service was given in exchange for the money. I called rover.com customer service to remedy the situation. The associate apologized, but also sided with the sitter. From what I've gathered, the company wants to keep the referral fee and could care less about my experience. They have refunded only $173.87 of $327.75 that was originally paid.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that I receive the remaining $153.88 of my refund.

Business Response:

Hi *****,


Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re so sorry for any confusion regarding sitter cancellation policies, and please know that feedback from pet owners like you is super important to us. To clarify, Rover sitters manage everything about their businesses, including their own cancellation policies. We’re also here for you 24/7 if you have questions or need help, so don’t hesitate to reach back out anytime.


All the best,

 

Courtney

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

8/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I scheduled my dog to stay with a rover sitter. My dog got sick the night before the scheduled day and I contacted the sitter to let her know. She told me that she would not take him. So I cancelled the sitting through the app. I still got charged for the sitting. When I contacted Rover asking what is their policy on charging the customer even if the sitter refuses to take the dog, they stopped responding to my emails. When I called Rover and spoke to them, they refused to tell me what their refund policy is when the sitter refuses to take the dog. I asked to speak to a supervisor, they told me that they will not let me speak to a supervisor or anyone else. They then threatened to hang up on me.

Desired Settlement: I deserve to be refunded in full for the original day scheduled

Business Response:

Hi *****,


Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re so sorry for the frustration you experienced and for any confusion about sitter cancellation policies. Each Sitter on Rover is running their own small business and sets their own cancellation and refund policies, which you can read about at rover.com/help. If you have a concern about a cancellation or refund, we encourage you to contact your sitter for resolution first, and I see that your sitter has approved a 100% refund for this stay. If you have any further questions or concerns, don’t hesitate to let us know.


All the best,


Courtney


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
***** *********

5/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a terrible experience with the company and will NEVER recommend this service to anyone. First, I had a very difficult time finding a sitter anyways using this service which is discouraging to begin with because they advertise themselves as "reliable" unfortunately this is just where my problem started. To begin with we had booked a sitter and she had informed me that she was unavailable however, her grandpa could watch him, which was a little weird but when I met him he seemed normal so I proceeded with the drop off. Upon receiving my beloved animal back my boyfriend had spotted some very visible bumps on our pet who clearly could not stop scratching while going home which was weird because the sitter NEVER told us about any abnormalities with our pet (which of course made us question the level of care that he was even given), and considering this service has "insurance to cover your pet" we didn't know why we were not contacted especially since this could have been something that could have potentially done permanent if not fatal damage to our pet. We had taken him to an animal hospital where they had informed us that this was just an allergic skin issue which relieved us yet we could still see the pain in our pets face. We had not known how long our innocent animal had been scratching in such pain. When we had contacted Rover to inform them of all of this they gave me credit for my "next sitting service from their site" it wasn't until I demanded a refund for this service and payment for his medical bills we wouldn't have had to other wise pay had it not been for the gross negligence in care given to our pet upon which they gave me only my money back for the service and told me if I spend more than $500 then they could give me anything above that I will never use or recommend this service again.

Desired Settlement: Refund.

Business Response:

Hi *****,

As pet parents and dog lovers ourselves, we’re so sorry for any discomfort your dog experienced from his allergic reaction. We completely understand your frustration, and while the insurance offered with every booking has a minimum deductible that this situation unfortunately does not meet, please know that we’re here for you. If you have any questions at all, don’t hesitate to follow up directly with our Trust & Safety team.


All the best,

Courtney


4/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went through Rover and hired Cecilia (Cece) S. to care for my dogs and home for 4/17- 4/21/16 for overnight stays and extra time during the day with an agreement that the dogs were not to be left alone longer than 4.5 hrs at a time. It is unclear when Cece was in my home on 4/17. At 11pm, my neighbor sent me a text and asked how often the sitter should be coming. I said she was doing overnights, spending time during the day, etc. ***** let me know that she had not seen Cece coming/going during the day but ***** did feel like the house was unoccupied for some time because the hall light and the backyard light were the only lights on. I began to call and text Cece. As time passed I began to worry and finally asked ***** to go knock on the door. She did several times and Cece did not answer. ***** entered my home at approx. 12:15am (I was on the phone) called for Cece and walking through the house. My dogs were alone. The food and wine gifts I had left for Cece had been consumed, but the cash tip and a gift certificate were still the basket I had put everything in. My dogs were without water and frantic. There was urine on the floor were one of my dogs was enclosed. And my back door was open : VERY unsafe! By 1am and no word for Cece, I was booking an emergency flight home. Around 8am, Cece finally did call me. She very casual and absurdly curt. She never apologized and told me she had been the hospital all night and was just finishing up. I said we both knew she was lying and that she was to return my keys immediately. Shortly after 9am, my friend Amy entered my house to feed my dogs, etc. Shortly after her arrival, Cece knocked at the door; Amy allowed her collect her bike and computer, Cece did not return my keys as asked. Before leaving, I told Amy to take the cash and gift certificate for her time, Amy said there was nothing there. So, between 1:30am and Amy’s arrival, Cece returned to my home just to take the cash and gc: HORRIBLE!!

Desired Settlement: All in all, this has been a horrible experience that cost me a bit of money, a large of amount to stress, a large amount of wasted time, and my poor dogs undo stress and pain (ie my dog with the leg injury and separation anxiety). Rover needs to refund me for my original ticket and for the emergency return ticket.. These items total $366.20; copies have been provided to Rover, along with a very detailed statement which outlines the other things Cece did. My friend, *** **** spent a total of 14 hours driving to and from airports that cost him a bit in gas, which would have been fine in the long run but NOT for just spending a few hours with someone. Those receipts I will also submit once *** provides them to me; they are currently pending in his account but are estimated to be $70. That brings the money Rover and Cece need to reimburse to $436.20 Cece should be removed from Rover as other consumers need to be protected! She (and Rover) poses a danger to homes and pets.

Business Response:

Hi *****,


As pet parents and dog lovers ourselves, we understand your frustration and worry. We expect the highest level of care and professionalism from sitters and will no longer be offering this sitter’s services on our site. While we’re unable to assist with travel costs, our Trust & Safety team has been investigating the situation and is eager to reconnect with you. We’ll reach out to you via email, but please don’t hesitate to contact our Trust & Safety team in the meantime at 888-727-1140.

All the best,

Courtney 


Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Rover most certainly should cover my travel expenses as a result of their employee's lack of care.  I had to pay extra money to return home to insure my pets would be feed, given water, able to go outside, etc.  This is unacceptable.  I receive phone calls and emails asking to rate my experience at Rover but my concerns are being ignored.  Rover needs to reimburse me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

4/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Rover.com in order to locate and hire a pet sitter to perform drop-in visits according to the guidelines set out in their website of a set fee (in my case $10) for each 30 minute visit which is paid directly to Rover.com. I identified a sitter, met the sitter, exchanged the key and gave her instructions for caring for my animals and completed the necessary hiring procedure via Rover.com website. I did not further discuss length of visit as the guidelines offered online were sufficient. Upon reviewing the sitters visits via my security system logs, the sitter's visits averaged 15 minutes (out of 55 total visits) with 10 visits being 10 minutes or less. I asked the company for review and refund for incomplete service and they have stated that I needed to seek refund from the sitter directly. They argue that the sitter visited my home 4 times a day as hired to do and that I did not notify the sitter during her contracted period that I was unhappy with her service, therefore they would not be offering me a refund but a $40 credit for future sitting needs. This resolution seems backwards as I paid in advance for a service that I did not receive in full. Refund should be made without the need to further employ this agency or its agents since I cannot trust them to fulfill terms of service which are clearly stated on their website.

Desired Settlement: I paid $729.25 for 55 visits that should have been 30 minutes each (1650 minutes of service total). I received 55 visits that averaged 15 minutes each or 821 actual minutes of service. I would like a refund of half of my paid fees or $364 to account for actual services received.

Business Response:

Hi *****,


Thank you for reaching out. We understand your frustration, and we’re so sorry about your experience. Sitters on Rover and owners who book their services must be transparent about the level of care expected and communicate any discrepancies. After reviewing this entire incident, we won’t be honoring a refund as your sitter provided premium care to the best of her knowledge and your specifications. I understand that this is not the outcome you expected. Please feel free to reach out with any further questions or concerns.


We wish you all the best,

Courtney


Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

Your guidelines are clearly stated online.  If I had wanted only 3-5 minute visits from the sitter, I would have clearly stated it and we would have arranged a different fee agreement. Instead, I expected her to follow the very clearly stated guidelines provided by you and paid her (through your site) accordingly.  I love how you mention that she provided premium service during her 3 minute visits. I will be sure to let everyone know that you consider this premium service .


Sincerely,

***** *******

4/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a sitter stay at my home to take care of my dog for the weekend. The sitter had a visitor stay at my home. I have camera that took pictures showing him and her in my living room. I came back and asked the sitter if she had anyone stay at the house she stated no. I contacted rover and all they did is ask for the pictures and gave me a 35 credit. I told them I want a refund as I am not using the service again. Since then my account has been deleted but as far as the sitter all they did is flag her account. This is more of a safety issue for my dog and my home. Now her boyfriend and the sitter know where I live. I am afraid or retaliation and all rover did is offer 35 credit.

Desired Settlement: Please provide refund and more empathy. If safety is your top concern for your clients then show it.

Business Response:

Hi ******,


Thanks so much for reaching out again. We’re so sorry about your experience--please know this isn’t what we expect from sitters on Rover and we take any safety concerns seriously. This is why we honored your request to deactivate your account, as well as contacted your sitter to discuss your concerns with her. Furthermore, that sitter is no longer able to list her services on Rover.com.


We hope that you give us another try. If you decide to, please get in touch so we can help you choose the perfect sitter for you and your dog.


We wish you all the best,


Courtney


Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Although Rover provided a rover bucks of $35 I am not longer using the service.  I rather have a cash value of the $35.00 since I am not able to get a full refund.  Security should be a top priority for your clients as I have said before. 
Sincerely,

****** *******

2/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our dog became ill requiring hospitalization after eating something she was not suppose to while under the care of a Rover.com sitter. Rover quickly sent me an email requesting further information for their information and to file a claim with their insurance provider. They stated that they would "advocate" on my behalf with said insurance company. I have been misled on this process since the start. While still attempting to gather information from the vet, I was told my claim did not qualify under insurance guidelines of injury vs illness and no further option was provided. I had to seek out information on the appeals process. I also requested a copy of all communication that had occurred between Rover and their 3rd party insurance company, in an effort to prepare for an appeal, should it be needed. I was informed that "We are unable to provide you with a copy of all of Rover's communication with our 3rd party insurance regarding this claim, due to our privacy policy, as it is internal documentation." While in further emails Rover refused to answer direct questions I asked, I gathered that no claim had been initiated and no information had been shared with the 3rd party insurance company prior to my request for said documentation. I was led to believe that this was the company that handled the claim from the start. The claim only starts if the customer pushes Rover hard enough and then the customer is left to handle it all on his/her own. When is the advocating promised by Rover suppose to begin? I paid a premium to book through Rover.com to be covered by their customer service and insurance. Both are lacking.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a payment of $1,023.61 to cover the vet bill that occurred while our dog was under the care of a Rover.com sitter (total vet bill was $1,273.61 minus $250 deductible = $1,023.61).

Business Response:

Hi ******,


We know how scary and stressful having an ill pet can be, and we’re so sorry you had to go through this. Upon learning of your dog’s illness, our Trust & Safety team opened an investigation right away. We consulted with your veterinarian, who determined that your dog’s illness wasn't directly caused by the stay with a Rover sitter. The insurance offered with Rover stays and walks (which is detailed in Rover’s Terms of Service) doesn’t cover illnesses unrelated to the stay, so unfortunately this claim is ineligible for coverage.


We recognize this is not the resolution you were hoping for, and we sincerely apologize for your frustration.


All the best,

Courtney

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I do agree that the Trust and Safety team contacted me quickly. They informed me that they would be advocating on my behalf,  which most certainly did not happen.

After I filed this complaint, our veterinarian, after several attempts, was finally able to reach a Trust and Safety supervisor  on 01/29/16. Per the veterinarian on a voicemail left for us on 01/29/16, this supervisor refused to take any further documentation from the vet's office. The only documentation they had prior to this was the initial intake form, before any real work-up had been done. Our veterinarian most certainly never stated "your dog’s illness wasn't directly caused by the stay with a Rover sitter." All of my communications with Rover had been filled with lies, half-truths and statements intended to mislead.

I am very frustrated with the poor customer service. Reading further reviews and complaints about Rover, I see this is nothing new. With communication from the sitter in recent days, I understand that Rover is treating parties on both sides of the issue poorly.

Sincerely,

****** ******

1/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My dog died as a result of using Rover.com services. I didn't receive compensation except for a refund and proposal to compensate aftercare. I left my precious Pomeranian boy with a sitter found on Rover.com when leaving for vacation. In a couple of days I was contacted by sitter's mother and said that my dog died because it was bitten to death by another dog. Rover.com expressed condolences and proposed to compensate aftercare (cremation) and to refund stay. And that's all. No compensation for our loss. This case is a clearly a neglect both by Rover.com and a sitter. They should not allow sitter to take multiple dogs at once. They also should provide a descent compensation in case of such a tragedy.

Desired Settlement: I appreciate that State of New York does not recognize moral suffering from loose of pet companionship, so I can't pretend for a compensation of a moral suffering, though I think that we clearly deserve it. However, I want at least a compensation for buying another dog of the same breed and market value. My dog was a pure bred Pomeranian dog that I bought for ~1500$ in another country 3 years ago. In New York such a puppy costs ~2500$. Though our loss can't be replaced, we do need a dog in our house. My daughter wants to buy another Pomeranian puppy.

Business Response:

Hi *******,

We're deeply saddened about your dog’s passing. As pet parents ourselves, we can’t even imagine the heartache you and your family must be going through.


At Rover, dog safety is our top priority. Upon learning of the incident, our Trust and Safety team immediately launched an investigation. We know there's nothing we can do to bring your beloved dog back, but we will continue to work with you and help out in any way we can. No matter what, we're here to support you and your family during this incredibly difficult time.


All the best,

Courtney


Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Actually, Rover agreed to compensate me 1000$ in exchange of revoking any claims I have or can submit against them in the future per this incident. I have accepted that offer. Thanks.

 

Sincerely,

******* *******

11/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Written Statement provided to Rover To your knowledge, what happened? (what events lead up to ****** & ******** requiring veterinary attention?) During our time away our Pet Sitter, Eva, informed us that ******** had an upset stomach and had thrown up 1 night and diarrhea another night. We figured he might of had too many treats so we asked Eva to not give them any more treats which she agreed to do. We arrived to our apartment at the time we informed Eva of. When we arrived she was not prepare for our arrival and was still cleaning up. After she was finished cleaning up we had a friendly conversation as she was leaving. She did not provide us with any information other than the dogs did well. After she left we had found marijuana and smoking devices (smoking bowl and marijuana grinder) on our coffee table. Once we saw those items, we realized the smell in the apartment wasn’t from the dogs but rather the smell of marijuana and drugs. We were initially concerned about this as ***** and I both have jobs that require drug testing. The other concern was that we live in a smoke free building in our apartment complex. We kept a close eye on ****** and ******** throughout the day as we were concerned what impacts marijuana could have on the dogs. They were very lethargic and slept all day. When it came time to have dinner ****** was not acting himself. ****** is usually very excited to eat doing circles as we are pouring his food. ****** was not excited at all for dinner on 10/13/2015 and did not eat any of his food. We became very concerned at this point and began to schedule a vet appointment for the next day. Our primary concern was around ****** as ******** ate his food without any hesitation but was still lethargic. We asked Eva how was ******’s eating habits throughout her stay and she said he was hesitant to eat. We wish we were notified of this from the beginning. The night we left, we fed them without any issues.

Desired Settlement: Request refund for the services of the sitter as the sitter was impaired and should not be taking care of animals while under the influence as well as pay for the Vet Bills which have been sent to Rover.

Business Response:

Hello *****,

We're incredibly sorry about the experience you, ******, and ******** had. In no way, shape, or form does this represent the expectations we have of sitters that share their services on the Rover site.

We know our dedicated Trust & Safety team is already working with you directly. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to respond directly to their emails or give them a call at ************.

Sincerely,

Rover Support

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I would like to keep this complaint open until all actions are completed by the company. 


Respectfully,

***** ******

Business Response:

Hi *****,

Thanks for following up. We checked with our Trust & Safety team, and the claim that was opened has recently been resolved: You've been refunded in full and your insurance claim has been approved.

If you have additional questions and/or concerns, please call our Trust & Safety team directly at ************. They'd be happy to answer your questions and make sure you have everything you need.

All the best,

10/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I find a dog sitter thru Rover.com since I had to go to California to take care of my mom who has Alzheirmer's. The stay was originally supposed to be for 2 weeks. A week and a day into to the stay, I get a call late night from the sitter that apparently my dog got out thru a window and was attacked by another dog while the sitter and his wife were at the gym. I should mention that the sitter had 3 dogs himself which he hid from me at the time I dropped my dog off.The sitter took my dog to a 24 hour emergency vet where he was told that my dog had extensive injuries and would not survive. To me, this is a classical case of negligence and Rover.com and their sitter should be held accountable for this.

Desired Settlement: Compensation for emotional stress

Business Response:

Hello ****,

We are all incredibly saddened about ****** passing. From all of us at Rover.com, where our pets are our families, please accept our heartfelt sympathies for your loss.

Although it will not bring your beloved dog back, please know that pet safety is taken seriously at Rover, and the sitter in question was removed from our platform.

We would sincerely like to connect with you directly, so should you feel ready, please do not hesitate to call our Trust & Safety team at************, email us at *****@Rover.com, or respond directly to the email we sent on September 19, 2015. Our thoughts are with you.

Sincerely,

Rover Support

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ******

10/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday, July 15, i dropped off my sweet family dog to a verified sitter from Rover.com. I went on vacation for 5 days and picked him up on July 21. When i picked him up he looked sick and wasn't eating. He was laying around, very lethargic. I took him to the vet and they told me he had ingested something toxic and was going into kidney failure. I admitted him into the hospital immediately to try and save his life. Unfortunately our efforts were unsuccessful and my sweet baby was unable to be saved. He passed away. I have contacted Rover.com to do a safety check on the housing premises for the sitter who watched my precious family dog. I had also requested for the thousands of dollars i spent to try to save my sweet dogs life to be covered by their insurance as they have insurance for pets who get sick/injured due while staying with the host sitter. The insurance company has since denied my request. No amount of money could ever bring back my sweet angel and i'm devastated this happened. I don't want it to happen to anyone else. Please beware when booking through this agency as i feel they aren't checking the hosts home for dangerous chemicals laying around, etc. RIP sweet **.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money i have spent in medical bills to be refunded. It would be great to have my sweet angel back however he is gone now. I would also like the host sitters house be checked for harsh chemicals or conditions for other pets. Thank You.

Business Response: Dear *****,

As pet parents ourselves, we’re devastated any time a dog gets sick. We're deeply sorry that your dog, **, has passed away, and we also want to apologize for any additional frustration added to your existing grief caused by insurance issues. We know insurance is the last thing you want to worry about when your beloved pet has passed away.

As we explained in our previous communication, the claim submitted was deemed ineligible by our insurance provider due to, but not limited to, the timeframe that passed before it was reported and the inconclusive results of the root cause of **** passing. We know this wasn't the answer you were hoping for, and we'd love to help answer any more questions you have. Please don't hesitate to continue our original email thread, email us at *****@Rover.com, or call ************. We're happy to help in any way we can.

Sincerely,

10/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the Rover Protection Package back in July when I started pet sitting on Rover. They cancelled my account last week and now the amount that I paid for the protection package needs to be refunded given it was good for one year and they cancelled my account after two months.

Desired Settlement: They need to refund the $49.95 that I paid.

Business Response: Hi ******,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We also received your email, and we've refunded you the full $49.95 via the ****** account you had on file with Rover. We hope this resolves the issue!

Best,

Rover Support

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reserved a stay for my pet at one of Rover.com providers. On the day of the drop off the Rover.com provider refused to honor the boarding commitment and canceled the stay. The provider claimed my pet was too big. However, the provider's page indicated that they accept pet's much bigger and did not raise any objections when the pet;s size was disclosed in the very first email. My issue here is, I want to be able to leave feedback on the provider's page. Rover does not allow me to do so.

Desired Settlement: Allow me to leave feedback on the provider's profile page regarding my experience

Business Response: Hi *******,
We're sorry you had such a poor experience with a Rover sitter. We take last-minute cancellations very seriously, and we know it's disappointing and frustrating when a sitter cancels at the last minute. We did reach out to you about finding another sitter, but we know it may have been too late.

At this time, we only allow pet parents to leave reviews for completed stays. That being said, we're always looking to improve our site, so we'll be sure to share your feedback with our product team.

Thank you so much for leaving your feedback. We hope you give Rover another shot in the future, but we understand if not. If you have any questions, please call us at ************ or email *******@rover.com.
All the best,Rover Support

Consumer Response: Hi Rover Team,

Thank you for the quick response. Given that the Rover Service is about putting Canine parents in touch with care givers and one of the key decision criteria that canine parents use when selecting a caregiver is how others rated their experience, not being able to accurately reflect such an experience does not hold to the spirit of the service. While we did not have this caregiver sit our canine, the resulting poor experience is not reflected because of the inability to leave feedback.

I believe a fair resolution would be, the simple ability to leave feedback and explicitly mention that we did not have the caregiver sit the dog. That way, it is reflective that the feedback is on the communication and how poorly the caregiver handle the communication and not the dog.
 



Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

******* *********

Business Response: Hi *******,

Thank you for your response. At this time, we're unable to allow leaving reviews without a stay first. We did pass along your suggestion to our product team, and they'll take it into account as they continue to improve the site.

Leaving feedback is a valuable part of the pet parent experience, and we appreciate your reaching out to share yours.

Sincerely,
Rover Support

7/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm retired mom and my son signed me up with "rover.com" for sitting dog business because I love dogs and I had priced my service from May 18 to May 28, 2015 for 10 day and the people pay rover $250 for service and rover.com take $40 for there fee and should sent me $210 for my work but until now I did not received anything I been call rover.com three time June 6, June 17, June 23. They told me check in the mail, and I don't thing rover.com want to pay me, I hope with this information bbb can help avoid that happen to other dog lover

Desired Settlement: I thing rover.com should pay my service

Business Response: Thank you for reaching out. We're sorry to hear you had a negative experience with Rover. To follow up on our earlier conversation, we would love to help you get your money directly deposited into your bank account. Please let us know if you have any trouble getting the information you need. We're happy to help!

We're dedicated to helping our sitters grow their dog-sitting businesses, and your feedback helps us learn what we can do better. If you have any more questions, please reach out to us at ************ or *******@Rover.com.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******** *** 

4/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rover.com refunded someone the money after it says striced and they only wanted me to sit the dog while they was at work so I did and the owner lied and they refunded 50% when I pet sit the dog that's not fair when I pet sit the dog refund them half just because they lied and said they didn't leave them with us they did.

Desired Settlement: I want all the money back from the pet owner since we did do what they asked and no fees token out because of the issues.

Business Response: Hi ******,

Thank you for reaching out to us. We refund owners based on the cancellation policy the sitter has in place. Your strict cancellation policy states that:

A full refund is available to the owner if they cancel by 12:00 p.m. one week before the stay begins (12:00 p.m. is determined by the sitter's time zone). If the stay is cancelled later than 12:00 p.m. one week before the stay begins, a 50% refund is available to the owner for the first remaining seven days of the stay and a 100% refund is available for any additional days. The sitter receives the 50% cancellation fee collected from the owner minus any Rover fees.

The Rover fee is agreed upon at the time you first sign up, so unfortunately, we aren't able to refund that. However, I understand you were able to connect with our support team and come to a mutual agreement. I'm happy we were able to help. Please let us know if you have any further feedback you would like to share.

Best,

Rover

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No i set the dog for 1 day while he was at work so it doesnt matter maybe he didn't see whiole at work then i dont know but thats all what he wanted so that what i did.

Business Response:

Hi ******,

Our support team followed up with you on February 17, 2015 regarding the details of this stay. It's our understanding that you were paid in full for the daycare minus Rover fees and a charge for administering medication. I hope we've fully addressed your questions and concerns, but you can always reach out directly to our support team at ************ or *******@Rover.com if you have any further questions.

Best,

The Rover Team

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: i want a full refund with out rover fees token out because of the problem and io want you to talk to customer care about being nice and not rude to people.

Sincerely,

****** *******

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: they didn't call me or emailed me so give me all of the money that i earned 

Sincerely,

****** *******

2/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ive been doing very well then all of a sudden through just an minor oversight, rover deactivated my account!! I give THEM business and this is how I get treated!! I should just do my business elsewhere!!

Desired Settlement: I want them to reactivate my account and stop charging the ridiculous 15% fee! Is that really necessary?? 5% seems more like it!

Business Response: Hi **,

We appreciate your feedback. We were unable to find an account associated with the details provided. Without this information, we can't speak to the reasons why this account was deactivated.

The fee allows Rover to cover premium insurance for all booked stays, 24/7 emergency support, and regular promotion of sitter profiles. Although we aren't considering lowering our fee at this time, we're happy to pass your feedback along.

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to complete a simple job application for over a week -- for dog sitting (secondary enployment) services. The website can;t be found no matter what browser issues I may or may not have - the customer service people seem to think this is amusing. I am not amusyed,. I am computer saavy - am a paralegal in Midtown Manhhattan. I believe the website is a scam!! I have even tried to log-in from my primary job but can't. I am fed up.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Explain why this should happen. I am not 14 years old - but I feeel like it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/20) */ ****, We apologize for the difficulties you've experienced while trying to complete your sitter application. We do our best to assist with technical issues, and we're sorry that we haven't been able to provide a solution for you. Though we searched, we were unable to identify when you received assistance from our support team. Please contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX or *******@Rover.com and we will do our best to assist with these technical issues. We're committed to helping our customers, and if you could provide a little more information, we'll work with you to identify why you weren't able to locate our website.

1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for rover.com and was excited to get started. I called, as my info was not being accepted. I needed to speak to someone for assistance and got the runaround. I reached ****** who listened to the issues that I have had for almost 5 months and yes, I was frustrated but not angry until he wrote me off. I called in September and now, still trying to get in...the system is not correctly working. I explained that I had to continuposly re-enter info and 4+ months later, I am again trying to get my background check done and it won't accept my info. He hemmed and hawed and then tried to give me another phone # to start over...getting rid of me. I made it clear I didn't want to start again. I asked for a warm call with him on the line and all I got was, "Ma'am, ma'am...!Then ***** (Supervisor?) took over, stating she heard the entire conversation...then she said she heard part, then only the end. She began calling me degrading names like abusive and hung up. I tried to call back-I just want to list my business and work. It should not take 4+ months. They blocked my phone # and today, I find, after receiving a wonderful testimonial, I have been removed from their database with no knowledge. Rover.com boasts great service but I got abuse-fraud.

Desired Settlement: I want to be put back on the site. I want problems fixed. I want good service instead of a bunch of kids who feel empowered, berating me and costing me money. It's simple...give what they advertise.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/12) */ Rover's customer calls are recorded for quality assurance and we have reviewed the conversations that took place with ***** on December 4th. ***** called and expressed that she was experiencing issues completing her profile on Rover. She was experiencing issues entering in her social security number to complete a background check. All background checks completed for Rover are done through First Advantage to ensure that our users privacy is protected. The agent she was speaking with offered the phone number to ***** ********** so ***** could get assistance to complete her background check. When the agent offered the phone number ***** refused to take the number. As *****'s call progressed, she became more and more escalated and frustrated. She was transferred to a supervisor who offered to assist with the issues that she was experiencing on the site. ***** was asked numerous times how we could help and support with the issue she called about. After offering to help and support, ***** was not willing to take the support we were offering and proceeded to call our agent names. As a policy, we do not allow our agents to sustain this type of language and requested that ***** continue all future support requests by email. ***** was not treated inappropriately or unprofessionally by any member of our team. This type of behavior is a pattern with ***** as this is not the first time that she was inappropriate with an agent trying to assist her. Based on *****'s inappropriate behavior and conduct with our agents we came to final conclusion to not list *****'s dog sitting services on our site. Communication is a large part of our site and community and we are not confident that ***** will be professional and respectful when interacting with other users on our platform. We stand by this decision and will not be reinstating *****'s account.

11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We left ****** and our other dog (**), in ****'s care because we were out of the country for nearly two weeks. **** contacted us the second week and told us she had taken a shower and left ****** out of his kennel (which we provided with many additional items to keep him safe and occupied when she couldn't be with him). While she was in the shower, ****** knocked over her purse and accessed ****'s prescription medication (inhaler). **** was concerned that he had ingested a large amount of this steroid so she contacted our vet at ******** ********. Apparently there was not a doctor available and they suggested that she take ****** to the emergency vet which she did. ******'s heart rate was almost double his normal rate and they had to keep him overnight. **** was asked to pay a deposit which she did and then came back the next day to pick ****** up once he was released and paid the difference. When we returned we had to also take ****** back in for a follow up appointment to learn that this could have been an even more tragic ending if he hadn't been treated right away. We left our dogs in the care of **** and provided her with everything she would need to keep them safe and out of harms way, including his kennel. We trusted **** to use the kennel to keep ****** safe when she was unable to watch him. He is a naturally active and curious puppy and should not be left unsecured access to anything that could harm him, as in this case, ****'s prescription medicine. We specifically brought the kennel we use for ****** at home to ****, to prevent such an incident. Additionally, **** stated in previous messages regarding this incident, that ****** was starting to chew on a shoe and a pillow which we think should have been a clear message to **** not to leave him outside the kennel unsupervised. We are thankful that ****** appears to be fine at this point but clearly this could have had a much more serious ending. We would respectfully question why the pet owner would be responsible for the deductible when **** was provided with everything required to keep our dogs safe. If ****** or ** had a medical problem while we were away, we, as the pet owners, would be responsible for the incurred costs. However, we paid for a service in good faith and left two healthy and happy dogs under ****'s care. We then received a message while on vacation that one of our pets was ill due solely to ****'s decision to leave ****** unsupervised and exposed to potentially harmful medication. **** has apologized and taken responsibility for this mistake and we feel very strongly that we should not be held financially responsible for any of the additional cost associated with this mistake including the deductible. We sincerely hope that we will be able to come to a mutually acceptable resolution. Now Rover.com has repaid **** and we have been asked to pay for her mistake - in addition we have insurance and a program with ******** Hospital which would have covered this cost. We could have been disussing the death of our dog due to a negliant mistake from our dog sitter and even though she has taken complete responsibility now the company is refusing to do what is right.

Desired Settlement: Quite honestly, this experience has become increasingly problematic as it appears that now we are expected to characterize the facts to Rover.com as they already know them to be able to satisfy their insurance company. As we understand the definition of negligence, it is the failure to behave with the level of care that someone of ordinary prudence would have exercised under the same circumstances. If we agree that is the definition, than yes, this resulted from a negligent act by ****. Having said that, we see this being resolved one of two ways. Either **** refunds the amount she was paid for ******'s care directly to us and we will pay the deductible or she can refund it to you with the same result. In either case, we are extremely frustrated and concerned not only by what happened to ****** while in ****'s care, but by the way this is now being handled.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/06) */ Dear *****, First of all, thank you for reaching out and explaining this situation. There's nothing more important to us than the health and safety of Rover dogs. We're sorry to hear about your experience, and grateful that our pet insurance plan was in place to cover the majority of ******** expenses. Our insurance plan dictates that the deductible be the responsibility of the pet parentbut we understand your unique situation and we'd like to help further by waiving the cost of your deductible. Under these circumstances, we're able to supersede our insurance plan and incur the deductible cost ($250). We don't want you to shoulder any of the insurance costs associated with this incident. We will work directly with our insurance company to have this deductible paid on your behalf. There's no further action necessary for you. Thank you again for contacting us about this difficult situation. We're glad we were able to assist with this matter, and especially heartened to hear that ****** is doing well. If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to contact us. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/11/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We know that there are more instances than not that would require the pet-parent to pay but as you stated this was a unique circumstance and I appreciate Rover.com taking care of us as customers. It does make us feel much more inclined to use the service again. I am only disappointed that it took this complaint to fix this situation as we have had three other opportunities to board our dogs and have had to use other services because we weren't sure how this would turn out. We greatly appreciate your quick response and your understanding that this situation was not typical. Thank you for taking care of this Rover.com and BBB.

9/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rover advertised on Facebook with a link to become a dog walker or pet sitter. You follow link electronically enter all information. Then I contacted the main customer service number to ask them the day I put in my electronic application and all personal and business info on there. Resume etc etc. SS# etc etc. I spoke with customer service and a supposed recruiter on the phone the day I started my rover page and application. The csr/recruiter advised that I didnt need a license or an EIN or anything to start as a dog walker. Nothing. However when reading according to VA state requirements different information posted and ********** ******* ****** advised me of different information. I was told I need a license to be a Walker DBA Rover or sitter as sole proprieter-even as an employee. On their website you had to check off if licensed bonded or other such options or certifications. I was told several phone calls no license as employee. I would just walk client dogs. Then told I had to get business or clients in Centreville. In other words I created page with rover. Paid for and passed background screen. Paid for Bond. Have to pay for business cards on their site eith their printer. POst tutorials which I did 2 from family. Had to post pics of my home pets I had -foster/owner etc. I did. I had to create a rover email and special URL code to offer discounts to get clients. I did and posted on facebook and twitter. I tried and URL invalid Email invalid. My face and all personal info on there. Costs of all flyers, cards, posting to webpages. Background check. Putting flyers up at local businesses. NO phone calls. NO contacts. No clients. I was told to then reduce my rates all of them to 30.00 for overnight sitting, puppies or adult dogs. Not competetive and with cost of living here. VA. ALso told many false information and mislead that I was employee so would receive paycheck. Then hourly rate I post on site for clients. Not so. Cost of gas, bond, flyers, cards, having to create sales to attract clientel, never told proper insurance, tax form or important business as employee information. Mislead to beleive they had a set number of cleints here and would walk dogs for a set fee competetive with others here in VA. NOt so. They hen proceeded to post on Twitter and when I tweeted my questions and concern with costs and no business. They private messaged me and said they would get back to me and never did. I had to call several times left on long holds. Bad customer service turnaround and bad information. Costed me time and money and no paycheck plus false advertisement of my name and invalid url codes and email address. Please advise thank you **** ******

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of time to create page. Bad customer service turnaround. Twitter feed false advertisement and ussage of my name and time line. I helped them to get business. Cost me to join as a pet sitter dog walker and loss of any salary due to false and bad business advertisement and bad information. Plus my reputation on line. I got my bond, Pet first aid CPR class certificate. In process of getting insurance and when I can start my own business all paperwork in order to do so. I wanted to walk dogs while attending college and Mom to 2 elementary school children. Im very disappointed, upset and frustrated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/29) */ As a marketplace website, Rover.com seeks to provide dog sitters with an outstanding website to help them advertise and run their pet-sitting businesses. We are always disappointed when a sitter has a confusing experience with our site. We assisted Ms. ****** with many aspects of using our site over the course of August 5 through August 19. Throughout this process, it became clear that Ms. ****** misunderstood the intention of the site and mistakenly believed that she was applying for employment. We made several attempts to clarify that our site is a marketplace website, as well as to help Ms. ****** improve her site profile to attract clients to her business. We also advised her that we require sitters to comply with their local laws and regulations. During especially busy periods, we apologized for long wait times and offered to schedule dedicated time to answer Ms. ******'s questions. On August 10, Ms. ****** asked Rover to help her remove her listing for her sitter services, which we did. Again, we are very sorry that Ms. ****** had a poor experience using Rover.com. We wish her the best in her pet-sitting business.

7/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Place For Rove, Inc. (Rover.com) website continues to publish false, defamatory, and misleading information about myself and my services. In particular, the Rover.com website states that "Sitter rarely sends photos" which is false. They have been told both verbally on 6/25/14 and in writing on 7/27/14 that their statements are false and damages my good reputation but they continue the false and misleading publication.

Desired Settlement: As of the time of this complaint I ask only an apology and they agree to cease making false statements which cast my good reputation in a poor light.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/11) */ Rover.com is a website where dog sitters can list their dog-sitting services and dog owners can search for a dog sitter. On June 25, Rover added a statistic to dog sitters' profiles listing the frequency with which dog sitters send photos to dog owners. We added this statistic in response to feedback from dog owners, to help provide dog owners with the information that they need to make a decision about hiring a dog sitter. The wording on this feature was initially imprecise, and therefore incorrect, as it did not specify that the sitter sent a photo through the Rover.com site. We have now updated the language to be clear that the statistic describes the percent of stays (dog-sitting reservations) that include a dog-sitter's photo sent through the Rover.com site. We have also made other improvements to the feature based on feedback from Mr. ****** and other sitters. For instance, because the feature is new, we have set the statistic to default to 100% on sitter profiles, and sitters will be evaluated on future services only. Mr. ******'s profile now shows: "100% of stays: Sitter sends photos through Rover on every stay." We have spoken and corresponded via email with Mr. ****** several times to listen to his feedback and apologize for his experience. We look forward to continuing the conversation.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

17 Customer Reviews on Rover.Com
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart