Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Shred It USA Inc

Phone: (503) 443-3830 Fax: (503) 443-4820 19670 SW 118th Ave, Tualatin, OR 97062 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.shredit.com/_miniSites/portland/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers onsite confidential document disposal for home and business.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Shred It USA Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Shred It USA Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Shred It USA Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 05/01/1997 Business started locally: 05/01/1997 Business incorporated 01/23/2003 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brent Webb, General Manager Mr. Robert Warshauer, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brent Webb, General Manager
Business Category

Paper & Document Shredding Rubbish & Garbage Removal Paper Shredding Machines Garbage Disposal Equipment - Industrial & Commercial

Alternate Business Names
Shred It

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Shred It USA Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 19670 SW 118th Ave

    Tualatin, OR 97062

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 14 I contacted the Shred it company by e-mail regarding prices, pick-up times and any special instructions concerning their services. Received call 7-15-14 from ***** ******** Position ISE phone XXX XXX-XXXX with verbal quotes on pricing. Was told next p/u date was 7-23-14. We agreed verbally on the phone for the date and price. Was emailed contract on 7-15-14 1:12PM.I Signed contract and e-mailed back to Shred it at 4:24 pm 7-16-14. I called ***** on Friday July 18 just to verify the date and time was told by ***** he could not make good on the contract. He had made a mistake in the price quote as he was new employee. I asked to talk to his supervisor and he asked me to hold while he did so. When he returned to phone call he stated his boss Mr. ***** ******* ********** had relayed the message that the contract would not be honored as it was their policy of collecting minimum $125.00. I held a contract for Collection "C" of 10 boxes at $7.50 per box Total price $75.00 and again ***** stated Mr. ******* would not let the contract thru. On Monday July 21 I spoke to Mr ***** ****** about this matter. Mr ****** stated that Mr ******* had been back east the week of July 14-18 therefore not in the office with *****. He also said ***** was new and did not do his job properly but also would not honor contract.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to honor their contract with me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/28) */ The complaint contains accurate information. It was an honest mistake by ***** ******** - he quoted pricing below the threshold allowed and once it was discovered he relayed this error to the customer who became very upset. Unfortunately this is our pricing and there are safeguards in our system that prevent us from going below the coporate mandated amount of $125. We offered to still complete the job at the higher minimum. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It seems to me that it would be unethical not to accept a signed contract by a business that perhaps put a inexperienced employee in a job site. My only issue is that I called to verify date and time. Had I not called would they have just not shown at the prearranged date and time? If I had received notification about this error from the Shred It office themselves before my call I would have agreed to the flat rate. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/04) */ As previously mentioned there are systems in place that prevent us from offering a lower minimum - the $125 minimum will have to stay in place. That being said, we can honor the $7.50/box which would allow for 16 boxes. Is their a possibilty of waiting until you there is more material to shred or allow the employess to bring in some material from home to include in project? I sincerely apologize for our error and hope that this suggestion will help resolve the issue.

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I talked to a sales man (***** ******** at this location and signed up for their service under the agreed price for independent contract ***** **** agents. I was told that the price is the same whether I get serviced once or twice a month, I'm paying the same. I started receiving two bills every month and was told by the company that the salesman was not properly informed and couldn't offer me that price, it was per service, not month. They did offer to extend the time in between services and forgive the bills that were in question to resolve the issue, which I accpeted. My very next bill has a surcharge on it for being 0.1 miles (10.1 total miles) away from the servicing location's 10 mile radius. When I called and talked to ***** at the location he told me that this was a negotiated price between them and ***** **** despite having a separate agreement with me as an independent contractor, they were going to have to start charging me this and if I wanted I can buy out the contract I signed. I inquired that the contract I signed did not include this extra fee and I was given the customer service telephone number and told nothing else could be done by him at this time. He did state that I could offer to buy out the contract from them by paying for the years of service I agreed to in advance in order to terminate the service from them now and stop receiving bills.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to either charge the price that they told me and I signed up for in the contract they keep referring to or terminate this contract without the referenced buyout, as it appears I am the only party that has to honor it by either continuing service at the price they give me for that month or buying it out.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/06/03) */ Shred-it was able to eliminate the distance charge from the customers invoice so they will not be seeing this charge in the future.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Shred It USA Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart