Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cwpwa Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 450-9675 Fax: (714) 564-8725

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers exterior residential painting.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cwpwa Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cwpwa Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1998 Business started: 09/01/1997 Business started locally: 09/01/1997 Business incorporated 12/08/1997 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Chris Heeregen, VP of WA Region Mr. Frank Garcia, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Heeregen, VP of WA Region
Business Category

Painting Contractors

Alternate Business Names
College Works Painting Inc

Additional Locations

  • Seattle, WA 98125


    1505 E 17th St Ste 210

    Santa Ana, CA 92705


    1682 Langley Ave

    Irvine, CA 92614 (888) 450-9675


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted (6/10/16) with an employee/intern of College Works Painting to paint home, which included: -start date of August 10-15 (latest) pending extreme weather difficulties (rain) -pressure wash of home -scraping of old paint -hammering in nails, caulking, sanding/smoothing -painting of home (brush/spray/roller) -daily walk through to ensure satisfaction -daily clean up (have two children and a dog) After numerous delays due to work on one previous house, "crew issues," and broken promises of starting, had a 1:1 meeting with "E********" on 8.24.16: "Summary of today's discussion: -Communication/Transparency is the focus PLAN: -Finish door today. -12PM to 7PM, with your crew. -Returning Sunday to do work, with crew. -Goal of wrapping up Monday/Tuesday (8/30/16). The Work: -Scraping/Sanding as we discussed. -Downspouts same color as Trim (Whitetail) -Gutters --> Demo of Whitetail vs. Morning Fog so we can finalilze -No Painting of concrete foundation -Sprayed pain is NOT being thinned. -Spraying at upward angle/slow and steady application. -May apply second coat to South Facing Walls of home. Let me know if anything was missed. See you tomorrow. -****-" Door was not completed for 3 more days. 8/29/16 received Text that house may be completed by Tuesday 8.30.16. May roll into Wed 8.31.16. After two crews quit and numerous calls to CWPWA - was informed that two crews would assist on Wed 8.31.16. Received communication from neighbors that only two people worked on house while starting/completing between 8.31 and text communication received on Friday 9.2.16 @ 8.22PM stating home was complete. Upon arriving home, house appears to have none of the original contracted work completed on any 1 section. Job - unprofessional, incomplete,. Portions still remain unpainted. Back yard in unusable due to paint chips, equipment, paint on lawn, uncleaned. Back yard Motion sensor light - broken, needs replacement. Front Door Barrier with paint markings of numerous colors.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I seek either: A). Guarantee of job completion by most senior crew with job satisfaction guarantee and replacement of the Back Motion Sensor Light OR B). A Full Refund including a replacement of the motion sensor light.

Business Response:


We are very sorry for the experience you have had with us thus far. It is to our understanding that our representatives D**** and R**** have reached out to you and have scheduled a time when they are returning to your home to address all of the issues. If you are still in need of further assistance please contact us at our corporate office ************

thank you for giving us the opportunity to make things right. 


College Works Painting 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


**** ******

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A College Works representative (Andy) came to our house in March and prepared a bid to paint our house. He pressured us to accept the bid on the spot in order to get a 10% discount. We hesitated, but signed the contract and paid a $1681.41 down payment on the $6725.65 price. Andy said that he would be in contact with us in June to do the design consultation. We were never able to make contact with him. We finally called HQ and they put us in contact with Jarrod, Andy's supervisor who said that Andy was no longer with the company. Jarrod came out last week to do a walk through and at the end said that he would not be able to do the job based on the contract price. We would either have to agree to pay to do a second coat, or upgrade to a better paint. He did say that if we didn't agree to that, he could ask to have our down payment refunded. I told him that I was not comfortable making a decision on the spot. On Monday, I spoke with Chris, the owner of College Works, WA and explained the situation. I told him that I wanted them to complete the project based on the signed contract price. He said that he could only do that if we were willing to adjust to his schedule. Our contract stipulates a July/August time frame and he said that he would only be able to do it at the end of September. I told him that is not acceptable given the risk of rain and cold weather. He tried to pressure me into accepting his proposal. He even offered to pay 5% interest on the deposit if we were willing to cancel. He explained that he no longer has someone covering the area and would have to pay someone else extra money plus hotel. I hesitated and he threatened to take the 5% offer off the table if I didn't accept immediately. He then berated me for 30 minutes since I wouldn't accept. He also divulged personally sensitive information about his former employee that I found inappropriate. I then found out on Tuesday that he cancelled my contract before I even called him back with my answer.

Desired Settlement: College Works reneged on the contract and then cancelled on me in the peak painting season, am I left scrambling to try and get my house painted before the winter. I am in the midst of getting other bids but it is difficult. I expect College Pro to pay the difference between what a comparable bid from another painter is and the contract price originally quoted to me. I am losing out on the 10% discount that I implicitly paid for by paying the large down payment upfront.

Business Response: Regretfully, our representative in Mr. ****** area had to
leave our program due to a family emergency. What made this especially
challenging was that most of our covered area is in the Seattle metropolitan
area and we had no one to take Andy’s place. Mr. **** should have been
contacted sooner, and this is an oversight on our behalf. When Jared (One of our Bellingham reps) went down to talk to Mr. ****
the primary issue is that Mr. **** wants a color change but does not want to
pay for two coats of paint. Therefore to do the job to his satisfaction we
would need to collect on and apply two coats. This upset Mr. **** and is where
I (as the VP) came in. Mr. **** expressed his dissatisfaction with this
resolution.  I immediately empathized and
told him we would eat the cost of the extra work and complete the job according
to the contract. However, we would not be able to get someone to travel down to
Vancouver until Mid to late September. This infuriated Mr. ****. I then offered
a full refund. He said it was not fair that we held his money this long. I then
offered him his refund PLUS 5% interest for holding him money. He refused and
said he wanted to explore other options. Mr. **** insisted that I was only
offering options of convenience to me. I assured him that neither option was
convenient and it was simply a matter of bad luck and logistics. The only
person we have that can travel has a daughter that just got out of the hospital
and I was not prepared to ask him to leave her. Mr. **** was unmoved.  Both offers still stand. At CWP we care about
our clients and we are upset when life challenges us to complete a paint job. I
believe we offered two fair and reasonable resolutions, but both were rejected.
We continue to strive for excellence in customer service in spite of life’s
problems that occur.  

College Works Painting 
Chris H********

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This is factually inaccurate.  We did not ask College Works to do anything different than what was covered in our bid.  I think it would be a reasonable assumption that anyone painting their house would not be using an exactly identical color, otherwise what would be the purpose of painting the house be?  Our house is a light grey / beige and we have selected a slightly darker grey for the new color.  Andy, the original person who provided us the estimate explicitly told us that we could pick any color and that the one coat solution would work because it is "super paint" which is a premium product.  He originally told us that he would come in and do a design consultation in June so that we could pick the colors that we want.  I there was no color change intended in the original bid, why was this part of the process?  I'd like to verify with College Works HQ on the intent of the design consultation process if that is not the case.  The fact that Chris is now suggesting that what we are doing is outside of the original contract is simply ludicrous.  More than anything, I think this is a reflection of his integrity that he would even attempt such an argument.

The other point that I want to clarify is that I didn't reject Chris's offers.  I told him that I would have to think about it and consult with my wife before I let him know.  He said he would do that but I found out that he pre-emptively cancelled my contract and requested a refund shortly after our conversation, and before I let him know which direction I wanted to go.  I think this speaks to Chris's lack of willingness to honor his commitments.

Finally, we were pressured into accepting the original agreement in March in order to get the 10% discount.  By Chris not honoring the contract, I ended up paying the large downpayment without the benefit of the 10% discount, and left without much choice given the time of year.

As noted in Chris's reply, he no longer has a representative in Southwest Washington, making it more expensive for him to honor his commitment to customers in this area.  Both Jarrod and Chris pressured me heavily to cancel my contract, and in the end Chris did so without my consent.  This makes sense given his financial motivation, but I think it is inappropriate for businesses to try and change the terms of their contracts or cancel contracts simply because it is not convenient or profitable for them to continue.  I wonder how many other Vancouver/Camas customers are in the same boat as me, and left with no options or pressured to pay higher prices. 


****** ****

Consumer Response: We will find another painter and have College Works Painting reimburse us for the difference for a comparable bid.  We will provide College Works Painting with estimates.

Business Response: We have spoken directly to Mr. **** and are awaiting comparable estimates. 

Thank you, 
College Works Painting

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cwpwa Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)