Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Holmquist Hazelnut Orchards LLC

Phone: (360) 988-9240 Fax: (360) 988-6202 View Additional Phone Numbers 9821 Holmquist Rd, Lynden, WA 98264

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers hazelnut sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Holmquist Hazelnut Orchards LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Holmquist Hazelnut Orchards LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 10, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 01/30/1995 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Washington Department of Agriculture
1111 Washington St SE, Olympia WA 98501
Phone Number: (360) 902-1800

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gerald Holmquist, Member Richard Holmquist, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gerald Holmquist, Member
Customer Contact: Richard Holmquist, Member
Business Category

Nuts - Edible Tree Nut Farming (NAICS: 111335)

Additional Locations

  • 9821 Holmquist Rd

    Lynden, WA 98264 (800) 720-0895 (360) 988-9240


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Extremly slow delivery and unprofessional attitude towards its shipping policy, basiclly telling the customer thats the shipping method we use " take it or leave it" . there has been two orders in the past first delivery took 14 business days and 2nd order has yet come when order was place november 29th. it seems like will take up to 21 days to arrive.

Desired Settlement: Please state in great detail of shipping method and offer express shipping plus handling time. It will give shoppers eta in case consumer purchasing as gift or reship to a different country. it fits more to the current online commerce model which 99% of e-commerce offer express shipping and states as such on website so the consumer are well informed when conduct online shopping

Business Response:

December 16, 2015

To Whom It May Concern:

We received order# **** from Mr. **** on November 30th. His order was placed after business hours on November 29th at 8:09 PM (PST). Being that we are a small family farm, we strive to ship within 24-72 hours after receiving an order. This range of handling time is especially important during busy holiday seasons where there is high demand, which we are experiencing this time of year.

We understand the importance of keeping our customers informed. As a convenience to our customers, we express the terms and conditions on our website regarding the nature of handling and shipping times, as well as the shipping methods. To ensure that our customers don’t miss these important terms, they must select the check box which verifies they have agreed to the terms and conditions before completing their order. As stated, we require a 24-72 hour grace period to process orders. Order# **** was ready for UPS pickup on December 2nd at 6:00am, which falls within the requested time.

For online orders, we offer UPS ground shipping, as well as UPS 2nd day air customers who need faster deliveries. The customer chose UPS ground shipping for his order, which we estimate to take up to 7 business days, starting the day the package was picked up. This information is posted on our website as a suggested timeline and not a guarantee. This is a courtesy timeline for customers to make an informed decision about the delivery times when placing an order. UPS also offers a map on their website with the general representation of UPS Ground transit times. Order# **** shipped from the Pacific Northwest to a destination on the East Coast; naturally, the transit times would be longer for packages to reach a designation at the opposite end of the States. It is not possible to guarantee shipping times or prevent shipping delays through the carrier. Unfortunately, as many of us have experienced, delays do happen; that is a part of life and completely unavoidable for any business. Reviewing the customer’s shipment and tracking history, it is apparent that UPS had did encounter a delays in shipping. The first delay was due to operating conditions and the second delay was caused by an incorrect sorting of the package at the shipper’s facility. In both cases, the carrier announced a delay of at least on day and rescheduled the deliver. Order# **** was delivered on the morning of December 15th and was in transit for a total of ten days.

It is understandable that such things cause frustration and we do sympathize with our customers. On both occasions, when Mr. **** called to check on the status of his order, he communicated his feelings in the way he chose, without judgement being passed on him. We were patient and attentive to his emotional state and allowed him to vent his grievances. During the first conversation on Friday, December 11th, the customer was given the most current update on the status of his order. Every attempt was made to address the issue and even though we were not at fault for the slower transit time, we offered to reimburse him for the shipping cost. We spoke with a UPS customer service representative on his behalf and were told that it was still possible for the package to be delivered that day. The customer chose to wait for the package, but in the event he didn’t receive it, we asked him to contact us on Monday and we would again follow up on the status of his order. On Monday, we responded to the customer’s request for an update, letting him know that his package was still in transit and had been rescheduled. Under the circumstances, there was nothing we could do to speed up the arrival of the package.

We received the second call from Mr. ****, who was again irate and this time continued to yell through the entire conversation.  At the expense of his own benefit, he did not allow us to respond so that we could find a fair and realistic solution to the problem. When the customer became directly abusive and yelling profanities, and would not calm down after kindly being asked, it was necessary to end the conversation. Because we value both the customer and employees, it is important to us that we create a culture that both solves the issue for the customer, but also empowers employees to know when and how to draw the line when a customer has confrontational behavior.

Maintaining a positive representation of our company is important and we believe that good customer service is always being positive, professional, and willing to assist customers to the best of our ability. We are very sorry that Mr. **** experienced a longer than usual transit time with his order. If he is not satisfied with his purchase experience, we would be happy to work with him on a refund.


****** M****
Assistant Manager
Holmquist Hazelnut Orchards

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Holmquist Hazelnut Orchards LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)