Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cross Town Movers Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 683-5211 Fax: (541) 434-6509 1400 S Bertelsen Rd, Eugene, OR 97402 http://www.crosstownmover.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers rental equipment for moving and storage.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cross Town Movers Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Cross Town Movers Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Cross Town Movers Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 07, 2002 Business started: 10/01/1998 Business started locally: 10/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

US Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-4000

Oregon Department of Transportation
550 Capitol St NE, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/odot
Phone Number: (888) 275-6368
askodot@odot.state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Somerville, Owner Chris Gadsby
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Chris Gadsby
Principal: Mr. Michael Somerville, Owner
Business Category

Moving Equipment Rental Truck Rent & Lease Moving & Storage Company Moving Brokers Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cross Town Movers Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1400 S Bertelsen Rd

    Eugene, OR 97402 (541) 683-5211

  • 502 N Fir Street

    Medford, OR 97501

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was quoted a price of $2000.00 to move my house. I was very up front on how it took me two 26 foot trucks and a trailer to move all of my stuff 6 months prior. I informed the Lou that I would be moving the stuff in the garage myself along with the patio furniture, but that there was 12 concrete planters and a grill that would need to be moved from patio. They were to pack everyone on one day and then move the house the next. When they showed up at 9 am as scheduled I was informed that someone had canceled and that if the house I was moving into they would do it all in one day. Unfortunately, the new landlord was doing some finishing touches and wanted us to wait. They loaded one truck on day one and all left at 3 pm, so they only worked 6 hours and charged me $1300 for the packing and loading of one truck. On day two they showed up at scheduled time and a supervisor Larry can by. I showed him damage to one of the walls that they did the day before and mentioned the lack of anyone saying anything. He reply was oh that is an easy fix just put some mud on it. They he commented on how I will be saving money because they got so much done the day before. They finally finished packing, loading the truck, and getting to the new house at 2 pm. The houses are 15 mins about from each other, all country roads. At 8 pm they finally finished and as they were writing up the bill I was checking out the dry and noticed they had put three holes in the new flooring. Which they spoke to landlord and worked something out. Then I got my bill for $1700 and needless to say I was floored. I signed, gave credit card info, it was late, I was extremely angry and didn't want to get into it then. The following Monday I called to complain about the bill and the fact that we paid to have someone wrap plastic bowls in paper. We also paid for someone to remove batteries from remotes and then wrap then in paper together. I have received one call back saying looking into and

Desired Settlement: I have yet to hear anything else. I have even had my credit card company call they refused to talk to them. We feel we desire a credit between $700 to $1100

Business Response: We are sorry that you feel as if you were over charged. All local moves in Oregon are done on an hourly clock and clearly documented on our work order. The price that you were given was a ballpark for a certain amount of time and materials not an estimate. We did not schedule an appointment to give you an estimate. We would have been happy to do this if you had requested. We have a claims process for damages and also if damage occurred to your home we most certainly would repair it free of charge. I am the claims adjuster and I never received any information in regards to your move. I would be happy to assist you in this process. From the information I received recently the crew seemed as if you were happy with the relocation and they even received a tip for their hard work. We strive to make every relocation as safe and cost effective as possible. Having our Salem manager on this relocation allowed us to give you the highest quality relocation possible. We will continue to improve with feedback such as this and we are thankful for your business.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I was charged overtime for the second day and workers didn't even put in an eight hour day before.  I was fully aware that it was just an estimate, but to have an estimate be off by 50% is extremely poor business practice!!!  I was figuring the estimate was a little light and was figuring $2500.00 from the $2000.00 quote, but to be charged $3100.00.   If what world is that acceptable????

When I showed the supervisor the damage he said it was an easy fix and I should be able to handle it.  As far as a claims process, I am still finding broken stuff as I unpack.  I just finished doing my backyard and patio this weekend and found a broken glass in one of my plants.  I am missing a laptop and a large sword.  I did call back yesterday but Chris was not in and hasn't returned my call.  Is the stuff still in boxes, it could be.  We have stuff packed from multiple rooms in one box and haven't finished unpacking.  But you would think a 3 foot sword would be pretty easy to find.  

 

To make me happy....$500.00 credit applied to my credit card used.  I was very honest with the credit card company and only tried to dispute what I felt I was overcharged and because I don't have a written quote I am obligated in their eyes.  If I was dishonest person and disputed the full amount of the second charge you would be out $1700.00.


Sincerely,

******* **********

Business Response:

Dear Sir


After reading through your latest response I feel as if I must bring a few things to light

We did not charge any overtime on this relocation. I have the work orders that indicate the standard rate on day 1 for 5 men packing at a rate of $223.75 and on moving day the rate for 3 men and 1 truck is $160.20 .  I did notice on day one we neglected to charge you for any cartons used just for the labor provided. Also on day 2 the moving day we used 2 trucks which would have increased your rate from $160.20 to $186.15 but we kept you at the lower rate. This indicates we were attempting to keep your costs down throughout this entire relocation.


The work orders also indicate that we have ********* ****** signature on Day 1 as well as your signature on Day 2 which clearly indicate you understand that the final charge for service are based on rates established by ODOT and that an estimate is not a firm bid and all of the work is billed hourly. 


Your relocation was a bit larger than expected but we did everything in our power to be affordable and professional.  If you have any claims that are associated with this move you neglected to follow through with filling out a claims form or alerting our office to any loss or damage in writing . As per the rules that you are fully aware of by your signature on our work order you have 3 months to file a claim in writing after the date of delivery. I would be more than happy to assist you with this process if you choose to. I suggest unpacking everything so if you choose to file a claim we have all items claimed at once instead of suggesting theft or damage to items still in boxes.


We performed a service for you at an hourly rate. You signed at the beginning of the move you understood our charges and again at the end. This process was repeated on a 2nd day. As for the amount of time utilized for this move I feel as if you were fully aware of this relocation’s scope.  The crew indicated that they were also tipped at the end which is a pretty clear indication of a satisfied customer. We had no estimate in writing nor was an in home estimate requested.  We appreciate your business and your feedback has been noted and utilized to assist us in training our sales staff and moving team.


Thank you
Chris G
*****


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  Well, your crew is lying to you.  I never tipped them!!  Both ********* and I signed the bill and paid it, but surely doesn't constitute being happy!!!  Once I added up all the charges and started unpacking that is when the true displeasure came into play.  It has even taken you 30 days since the last reply which shows the true colors of your company, you care about one thing and one thing only, money.  To offer someone a quote of $2000.00 and then charge $3100 is absolutely unacceptable.  When I spoke with the person who quoted the job, I explained that it was a big job and that it took 2 full 26 foot uhaul trucks and a trailer to move all my stuff.  We are far from being happy and by refunding funding us some money will never makes us happy, but it would show that your company truly cares about it customers and wants repeat business.  If you think wrapping plastic bowls in paper is an acceptable practice we will never ever see eye to eye.  If you think taking batteries out of remote controls and then wrapping them in paper with the remote is acceptable practice we will never see eye to eye.  Like I said in the very first email, if I was a dishonest person the second charge would have been charged back by our credit card company.  I am in a customer base driven company and if we treated our customers this way we would be out of business.

Sincerely,

******* **********

1/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cross Town Movers picked up an entire household of items in Oregon, delivered them to their storage facility in Medford, then to California, approximately 3 1/2 months later. Before delivery to California, we were informed the company had truck issues and would deliver part of our order, remainder of order delivered approximately 30 days later sharing a truck with another client's belongings. First delivery consisted of partial sets of furniture, i.e. dining room chairs missing table; entertainment unit missing TV unit; mattress set and headboard missing bed rails and bureaus; hammock without frame; patio umbrella without stand; part of desk without hutch and numerous boxes. When second delivery arrived, we found many items did not have Bekins' identification stickers, making inventory inaccurate. Boxes and plastic tubs were crushed, we witnessed a mover drop one of our boxes while unloading it off the truck. The furniture pieces disassembled in Gold Hill were left in our designated rooms but not assembled. We had to reassemble everything ourselves. After completely unpacking, we found items missing. I was assured Cross Town Movers had experience with antiques and would take very good care of everything. That was not the case. The wheels for the bed never showed up, an antique photo frame badly chipped and in a box that had been dropped or crushed; antique sewing machine had not been carried properly and one side with the drawers was loose; large heavy mirror appeared to have been dropped and separated from its frame. Patio umbrella had a bent rod. The couch had a strong musty odor. Nothing except mattress set had been wrapped. Furniture pieces had many new chips on them. Cross Town Movers did not seem to be at all concerned and suggested I contact the claims' department at Bekins. I did that and Bekins denied all claims for lost items and very minimal reimbursement for broken items which now we will have to pay to repair (if repairable) or replace at our expense.

Desired Settlement: Prospective clients in Medford area should be aware of the lack of care, Cross Town Movers, gave our belongings. Clients should not assume items would be wrapped and stored properly, especially if they were marked "Fragile" or are antiques. Nothing was stated beforehand that we would have to reassemble our own furniture pieces, something we assumed would be done upon delivery by the movers. We expected better service from this company, especially with the Bekins name behind it.

Business Response:

BBB response regarding relocation services performed for ********* *****:

Ms. *****,

Thank you for taking the time to discuss your grievance today with me on the phone. We greatly apologize for this issues that you conveyed in your letter and over the phone.  We constantly strive to provide superior service and we take your complaints very seriously.  We have issued a check in the amount of $400.00 compensation in a good faith acknowledgement of your dissatisfaction.  We have also instituted new systems to make sure that some of the problems that we spoke about do not happen in the future. 

We will continue to improve our services and make customer service our highest priority.  We appreciate your business and would look forward to assisting you again, given the opportunity.

 Sincerely,

Chris G*****

Customer Service Manager

Cross Town Movers/Bekins

11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In a word: awful! I had them move a piano from Corvallis to Albany. When they were moving the piano out of the house in Corvallis, my partner called and said "Be warned: it's Larry, Curly, and Moe that are moving the piano". Boy, was she right. On arriving in Albany, they clearly had no idea what they were doing. When the three fellows moving the piano were half way up the steps, they nearly dropped the piano, destroying one of my (yes, old) stair railings. Piano was not damaged, but really put it out of tune. When I was negotiating for compensation for the railing, they low-balled me. Not classy at all. And, to ad insult to injury, one of the off duty employees yelled at me as he was driving by (as I was working on replacing the railing): "Nice railing" I am very unhappy with the lack of professionalism, oversight, and lack of training their moving crews have. My strong recommendation is to look elsewhere for moving services!!! I am quite unhappy with the entire experience.

Desired Settlement: Apology from employee (or manager) and just compensation for poor service and damage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/10/09) */ Whenever Cross Town Movers has a dissatisfied customer, we take it very seriously. Our reputation is generally a very good one, despite Mr *******'s experience, and we try very hard to leave everyone feeling good about our resolutions to any issues that may arise. After reviewing both sides of the story, we feel that there are mitigating circumstances on both sides. We do acknowledge that our initial offer of compensation was inadequate to satisfy Mr *******'s concerns and we are very open to discussing the issue further to come up with a mutually accepted figure. However, our numerous attempts to contact him and have not gotten a response back. We apologize for not providing Mr ******* with the level of service he expected and will do what we can to make it right. He can feel free to call us and discuss the issue further.

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was quoted $103.90 per hour. I had only 6 pieces of furniture to move, and approx 15 boxes (already packed) in my onsite 10x10 storage unit. It took them 3.5 hours to move these items from my apartment to my new residence, and then to a local storage unit (3 places within 5 miles of each other). They made phone calls re: no gas in moving truck, had no tools (used mine), took smoke breaks, and scratched my dryer. I was charged a "mandatory" 45 minute travel charge after delivery. I called *** last Saturday to complain and he has never returned my call with a result. I spoke to ***** yesterday. Still no call back. Made excuses about being too busy and staff changes.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of at least one hour ($103.90) for the unprofessional and careless attitude of the movers. I paid a total of $389.90. *** stated they only charge a 30 minute travel time which I was NEVER quoted when I originally called on January 23rd (spoke with ****** It is highly unprofessional and disrespectful to not return an unhappy customer's phone call. I am busy too, and my time is also just as valuable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/13) */ *****, I was very disturbed to read about your complaint. It is rare that we ever hear complaints about our staff and so when we do, I take them very seriously. I have spoke with my staff who performed your move at length and reminded them of our policy with breaks, and that is that any breaks that are taken are to be deducted off of our customer's bill. Also, that we are to round the drive time in our customers favor, not our favor. We do charge 15 minutes travel time each way on a local move, for a total of 30 minutes. I greatly apologize that we charged 15 minutes too much. I have since reminded all staff of these policies. Also, I have spoken with *** and ***** in regards to your comments about their handling of your dispute. This also was totally unacceptable. I have since corrected these customer service issues and it will not happen again, to you or any other Cross Town customer. Once again, I apologize for this. I have decided to refund you an hour and a half for your troubles. I will mail you a check immediately for 1.5 hours * $103.90 of $155.85. Also, I would like to offer you a $100.00 off coupon for yourself for any move in the future. If you don't plan to move, you can pass this to a friend or family member. I hope to have the opportunity to earn your trust back. Sincerely, **** ********** President


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Cross Town Movers Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart