Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Westside Moving & Storage Company Inc

Phone: (503) 684-0055 Fax: (503) 684-0160 View Additional Phone Numbers 14101 SW 72nd Ave, Portland, OR 97224 http://www.move-northwest.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company offers local, long distance and international moving and storage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Westside Moving & Storage Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Westside Moving & Storage Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Westside Moving & Storage Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 22, 1994 Business started: 07/01/1980 Business started locally: 07/01/1980 Business incorporated 01/01/1980 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Transportation
550 Capitol St NE, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/odot
Phone Number: (888) 275-6368
askodot@odot.state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jody Kilgore, Vice President Mr. Jerry Kilgore, V. President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jerry Kilgore, V. President
Principal: Ms. Jody Kilgore, Vice President
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial Transportation Services Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Alternate Business Names
Westside Mayflower Westside Moving and Storage

Additional Locations

  • 14101 SW 72nd Ave

    Portland, OR 97224 (800) 597-6683 (503) 684-0055

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First, I would like to say Mayflower did a good job with my move. My complaint involves a denied claim for an item Mayflower damaged. I am also waiting to receive a response to schedule a final repair/assembly. It has been 7+ months since my move.I hired Mayflower to move my household on 8/29/14. In our move, there were 7 noteworthy items damaged, 3 of which had substantive value, 2 desks and a wooden dining room table. Mayflower agreed to repair or provide restitution for the damaged desks but refused to provide restitution or repair the damage done to the table, or to provide restitution for a lost 32-inch flat-screen TV. For the table, a leg was damaged. The table is a heavy wooden 8-person table. The damaged leg would fall out if the table were touched. It could not be tightened to the table-top. It was unusable. Mayflower denied my claimed because they claimed the damage was "the result of the pre-existing condition which had been repaired prior to the move." I informed Mayflower that the table was perfectly sound since we purchased it new. We never repaired it. Regardless, it was only unstable after Mayflowers movers damaged it. I requested Mayflower reconsider my claim in their denial letter of 10/24/14. On 11/28/14, Mayflower denied my claim a second time with essentially a copy of the original letter. I asked the restoration expert who was contracted by Mayflower to repair the damaged desks to repair the dining room table. The repair cost was $187. I contacted Mayflower a third time to reconsider and provide restitution for the damage the Mayflower movers caused, hoping the low cost might have them reconsider. Mayflower refused.Denying the repair cost for the table leg damage is not acceptable. Mayflowers movers damaged the table leg. No one denied that. Mayflower should really take responsibility and provide restitution for the damage its movers caused. Mayflower is a good company. It needs to do the right thing.

Desired Settlement: I would like Mayflower to provide restitution for the repair of the table leg. I am happy to forward the invoice from its contractor, ***** ************ for the $187 cost of the repair.The settlement amount offered by Mayflower totaled $530. The settlement amount should total $717 (=$530+$187), That settlement amount is acceptable and would close my claim claim with them. I would close the claim as soon as the damaged queen bed is reassembled.

Business Response: We are out today reassembling the bed at Mr. ******* residence.  We have had this service scheduled on prior a prior date, Friday April 10th, and the customer was not there to meet our crew at the scheduled time.  In the claim settlement process, the third party adjuster, ***** ************ determined that the damaged item in reference could not be verified as transit damage.  It is our understanding that Mr. ***** asked for the item to be repaired anyway, and is now wanting to recoup those costs through this means.  Our coordinator and internal claims manager have on multiple occasions advised him that we can not pay a claim for something we did not do.  We have signed inventories stating the damaged item was in that condition when our driver loaded it and the third party adjuster's notes state that it was not obvious fresh transit damage.  As this was an interstate move under the authority of Mayflower Transit, the driver would be charged back for this claim, which does not seem fair to him when he inventoried the damage prior to loading and that was confirmed by the repair firm.  I have attached email coorespondance and would be happy to forward the inventories as well as the damage report if that would be helpful.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

Mayflower conflates two separate damaged items it made on my move in August 2014. I will respond first to this BBB complaint and will try to clarify the second item they note in their response.

Mayflower claims they refused to provide repair or restitution for the table they damaged because it came damaged on the move. That is simply false. The table was never broken before it was moved. Mayflower's inspector evaluated our damaged table and noted that one table leg had been previously repaired. We purchased the table new and were unaware it had had previously been repaired. Regardless, the table was sound and undamaged from the time we purchased until the time it was loaded on to the Mayflower van. Mayflower is saying they are denying our claim because the table had previously been repaired? That cannot be right. Just because it had been repaired and was in perfect working order does not imply it was damaged when the took it and then damaged it. Mayflower should provide restitution for the damage that their movers caused. Mayflower has refuses to right this wrong. I thought to take this complaint to an unbiased independent third party for assistance. This is why I filed a complaint with the BBB. I do not wish to offend them. I do not believe this complaint is unfair or inappropriate. 
Also, it is unclear why Mayflower has mentioned a bed repair that it's installers performed today. It has nothing to do with this complaint. That is a separate damaged item. I will note that I have patiently been waiting and working with Mayflower to resolve this damaged item. It has taken Mayflower almost eight (8) months to complete the repair. I do not think that is reasonable to have to wait that long. It is true my family was not present for the installers Friday. I apologized and explained to Mayflower/******* that my wife and in-laws had to take my son to the hospital on Friday. That is why no one was present. Emergencies sometimes happen. I would be more than happy to provide documentation from the doctor for the visit.
 On the subject of the bed repair, my wife informed me that the installers broke the bed siding during the repair. They told her that the bed would be okay provided we don't move it. That was disappointing/deflating to hear. Regarding this new damage, I'm going to waive the white flag, it's just not worth the time and aggravation. A lot of people worked to repair this bed/hardware and I feel any more work/cost would exceed the cost of the bed. It's just not worth it. Regardless, Mayflower will be pleased to know the repairs for the bed are finished.
To conclude with the the dining room table, however, I would ask Mayflower to please provide restitution for the damaged its movers did to my table. It would cost Mayflower so little do what is right and fair. I am less than hopeful that this will happen, but do hope for a positive outcome. 
Sincerely,

******* *****

Business Response: This complaint has been resolved outside of the BBB system due lack of response from the BBB. Westside Moving and Storage tried to contact the BBB on multiple occasions and received zero response. Mr. ***** is supposed to update his complaint to "customer satisfied with settlement".

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *****

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WestSide delivered our stored goods to our new home, and we experienced multiple items being damaged. Since the stated insurance coverage did not cover the extent of the damages, I requested that they refund the cost of the move because of their lack of quality services performed, either in storing our goods or in packing them to move, or both (I don't really know). They have offered a paltry refund amount that doesn't even replace one of the damaged items, a standing floor lamp that they broke, tried to fix before delivering it to us without telling us about it, and then delivered broken in half.

Desired Settlement: Because of their total lack of respect for the condition of our household goods they were delivering, I have asked for a total refund for the cost of the move.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/06) */ Westside did indeed inventory & load the ******'s household goods into our warehouse storage facility on 10-30-12. Their goods stayed in storage for roughly 1 year and then our crews unvaulted and reloaded them onto a truck, transported them to Klamath Falls and delivered into their new residence on 10-25-13. I will include the documents including email correspondence, bills of lading and inventories showing the 200+ items that were stored and moved and then the claim form submitted with 6 items that were damaged during the move. Claim settlement is based on the valuation coverage choices that are offered, and then chosen and signed for by our customers. I am including the written documents they were given explaining those choices and costs if requested, the estimate itself that shows the choices/potential costs, as well as the email where *** ****** confirmed that they were insured by ***** **** during the move and did not want to purchase additional un-needed coverage above the liability offered at no charge. We go to great lengths to confirm this prior to the commencing of a move so are customers can have time to make a good decision regarding the coverage they want and need during their move. As damage is always unfortunate, it is a potential during any move as furniture is made to sit stationary and not be moved on and off trucks with wheels/bumpy roads etc.. This is especially the case when storage is required, as the truck is loaded and offloaded on two separate occasions, often by different crews, vaulted and stored, and then the actual drive itself. Oregon's household goods tariff that we operate under actually provides for liability coverage in the rates and a charge should the customer need coverage, whereby, if they are covered by another entity, such as ***** **** in this case, the customer doesn't have to purchase unneeded additional coverage should a claim occur. Had the ******'s requested, signed for and purchased full value coverage, their settlement would have been much different than it is when they decline additional coverage. Due to the documented clear understanding of the type of coverage they chose, I cannot refund them the cost of their move that they are requesting. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am not disputing the language contained in the written agreements between us and the movers. And I don't accept the lazy explanation about moves to storage, out of storage, different teams, etc. We had our household goods moved prior from IL to OR without any damage whatsoever by a different company. That's an excuse to cover lazy, shoddy service. I would have expected them to realize their lack of quality service and attempt to make it right instead. I filed this complaint as this moving company has shown no respect for us as customers or provided quality services. I would expect that as a company in competition with other moving companies, with a reputation to guard in today's economy, they would have made the situation right with us, despite the signed documents. This response shows me they could care less about serving a customer. They got paid up front and that's all that matters to them now, whether the customer is pleased or not. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/17) */ What the customer is neglecting to understand is that as a regulated Oregon carrier, we have to respond to their claim according to the type of coverage they chose prior to the commencement of both moves to storage and then again from storage to Klamath Falls. The customer had indicated in writing that they were covered by another insurance carrier should damage occur, and did not want the coverage beyond liability that the Oregon tariff provides. They submitted a claim for damage to 6 items of the 200+ that were moved on 11/5/13 and that form was received by our company on 11/8/13. A settlement offer letter based on their chosen coverage was sent to them 11/20/13 for $129.00. Once they forward the signed release back to our claims department, the check will be submitted. In addition, we will be happy to offer a gesture of good will for $100.00 as we do indeed care that our customers receive quality service. As furniture is made to sit stationary, a move scenario of two seperate moves, storage and warehouse handling/vaulting requires the furniture to be on and off trucks on multiple occasions. No matter the amount of training our crews are required to go through, some pieces of furniture do not fair well in a move. Our household good Oregon tariff is written so customers can choose the kind of coverage that is best for them should a claim occur. Hopefully this meets with the customers satisfaction.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Westside Moving & Storage Company Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)