Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Royal Alaskan Movers LLC

Phone: (877) 618-4756 Fax: (907) 868-4813 View Additional Phone Numbers 2216 N Post Rd, Anchorage, AK 99501 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.royalalaskanmovers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers local, interstate, and international moving and transportation services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Royal Alaskan Movers LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Royal Alaskan Movers LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Royal Alaskan Movers LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 26, 2010 Business started: 08/18/2010 in AK Business started locally: 08/18/2010 Business incorporated 08/18/2010 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

US Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-4000

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brad Chapman, Member Mr. Eric Zybura, Member Mr. Richard DeWitt, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Chapman, Member
Principal: Mr. Eric Zybura, Member
Business Category

Movers Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Additional Information

According to information provided to BBB on January 9, 2012, Royal Alaskan Movers LLC has been a victim of business identity theft. The company reports a business claiming to offer the shipment of puppies has been using their name and contact information without authorization. If consumers have concerns regarding their experience purchasing a puppy, they can be reported to the Federal Trade Commission at www.ftc.gov.


Additional Locations

  • 2216 N Post Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99501 (907) 868-4756 (800) 533-4826 (877) 618-4756

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Royal Alaska was hired by the US Government to move our household goods. They showed up with only TWO loader/packers. They also showed up with a 53 ft container on a container chassis. Container chassis have no suspension to support Fragile goods, and the roads in Alaska are less than favorable at the best of times. It took FOUR days for our goods to be packed and loaded. I can say almost certainly that the trip back to Anchorage which was 400 miles from our domicile being moved was not taken with any care at all. Next our CONTAINER was put on a barge to Seattle, which was then put on a train to Charleston SC. The goods were then stored at Royal Alaska's warehouse in Charleston for two months before being transferred to a truck and delivered to our storage container as our house was not finished being built at the time. During unloading we noted on the manifests the damage to our household goods, which was ALOT. We were told during this time we had ONE year to file a claim for the damages. We have since filed said claim, and waited for they agent to come out and verify the damages which was done. All this too have our claim of over $6000.00 REJECTED. The reason given for this decision was because our belongings were delivered to a storage container and not a domicile WE damaged the goods ourselves and Royal Alaska was not liable for any of the claim. We have only received $300.00 for all this, and Royal Alaska which was paid an EXHORBITANT amount of money wants to walk away with the rest. The reasoning behind their denial of this claim is nothing less than pure theft. I have never heard of a more asinine excuse. WHY on earth would we want to damage our own valuables we worked so hard to acquire? Royal Alaska saw HUGE money and took the cheapest route possible to make the most of this move.

Desired Settlement: I would like the claim to be PAID IN FULL, as any reputable company would

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/04) */ RE: BBB Complaint - Case ID: XXXXXXXX Several statements in Mr. ******'s complaint are inaccurate. Our company was not hired by the US Government to move his HHg's. Our company was hired by a private household goods relocation company. We were asked to provide a bid to this company with only the knowledge of the origin city and destination city, and an estimated weight. This relocation company as a normal course of business solicits bids from 2-3 Carriers like ourselves and selects the best valued bid to assign the move to. It is only at that point we are made aware of the shippers name and given contact information to schedule the dates of the move, to perform surveys to confirm the estimated weight of the shipment. In the end we were not paid by the government for our services. Mr. ******* move originated in a remote location of Alaska, on the road system approx 400 miles from Anchorage, AK. It is normal procedure to send 2 - 3 men to remote job site as this was. Industry standard is to pack/load 4500 lbs per day. Mr. ******'s shipment was almost 18000 lbs. Our crew arrived on the 28th and completed the job on the 31st as evidenced by the signature on the ppwk. 90 - 95% of all goods moving between Alaska and CONUS moves over the water, that is a fact. All the Food, TV's, electronics, house wares, furniture that is sold in Alaska comes over the water from Seattle/Tacoma on Barge & Steamship. Much of that is moved in 53' containers from all points of the US, by road, rail water and any combination of them all. Mr. ******s shipment was placed into storage in South Carolina for approximately 60 days. When the ******'s called to have their shipment delivered, they asked for it to be delivered to a mini-storage unit. The ******'s shipment was provided with a liability protection plan that guarantee's repair or replacement of any loss or damaged item up to a maximum value of $105,960.00. This Protection is in place while under our chain of control, care and custody. Once the shipment is delivered, the shipper has the responsibility to provide the carrier (Royal Alaskan Movers ) notice of damage and intent to file a claim. The time limits for which a shipper has to file their claim varies based on the following, are they an individual shipper arranging the shipment of the household goods themselves, 9 months; if they are with the government or DOD it is 75 days; if it is with a non-government account the time limit is based on the language of the individual carriage contract. If Mr. ******'s move was provided to him at no cost by the US Government, then he would also be supplied with this Rights and Responsibilities which informs him of how long he has to file a claim for a household goods move. As stated earlier, this shipment was not booked with Royal Alaskan Movers by the government, and as such we allowed the shipper the longer period of 9 months to file a claim. Even so the shipper still took longer than 9 months to file the claim, (shipment was delivered on May 3, shipper dated their claim Nov 3 and was not received in our office until Nov 13th) and we still honored it. The statement that the shipper documented all the damage at the time of delivery is not true. Supporting documents show that most of the annotations made at the time of delivery mainly indicate that many of the inventory stickers had fallen off individual items and was annotated as "Item - NO #". In fact we were only able to distinguish 6 items on the delivery documents that may have incurred damage during transit and only one of those items was on the final claim filed by the ******s. The main issue we had with the claim was as follows. Our chain of custody ended when we delivered the shipment to the requested delivery sight which was Swamp Fox Mini storage. Mrs. ******, the actual transferee, and the one we communicated with the most, was informed at the time of delivery to the storage unit, that this would serve as the termination of her shipment. Sometime later, the ******'s had their shipment moved again, from the mini-storage to their residence. The ******s waited until after the shipment had been moved again to file a claim. Their claim was for damage to items for which no annotations were made at the time of delivery to the mini-storage. Because the shipment had been handled again, Royal Alaskan Movers is powerless to determine when the damage may have occurred, and there was no supporting documentation provided to clearly show the damage happened while in our care and custody. **** ******* Royal Alaskan Movers. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It very plain to see that Royal Alaskan Movers wanted us to unpack every damaged box before we put it into storage because our house was not built at time of delivery. I KNOW how freight gets to Alaska, as i was employed by a trucking company while there. Regardless of who did what when ECT as you wasted so much time explaining that fact of the matter is YOUR company moved us. The manifests that the damages were written on our YOURS. Needless to say i have since found other options to deal with this matter. A very underhanded company, as we have heard from others that had the misfortune of dealing with them as well.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Royal Alaskan Movers LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)